HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Aji Verde Hostel

Hostel | Vicuña 415 La Serena Centro, La Serena, Chile 1710104

75.5% Overall Rating

127 out of 149 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/08/2014)

Therese Gjellestad Nundal thinks…

"Superhelpfull staff great property, loved the roof terraces easy to meet other travelers"

Read all Aji Verde Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 5.14
  • Towel USD 0.86

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to La Serena?

Contact us directly

See other properties in La Serena

Hotel del Cid
31.40 USD

Hotel 3 star 87.3% 29 reviews
Hostal Balmaceda
17.99 USD

Guesthouse 91.4% 10 reviews
Hostal El Arbol
14.56 USD

Hostel 93.7% 95 reviews
Hostal Maria Casa
13.70 USD

Guesthouse 89.4% 36 reviews
Andes Hostal Serena
11.13 USD

Hostel 82.9% 8 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
75.5%

Overall Rating

127 out of 149 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Aji Verde Hostel'

Atmosphere
76.0%
Location
80.8%
Facilities
67.2%
Cleanliness
66.4%
Staff
84.0%
Value
73.6%
Safety
80.8%
Refine your results Showing 123 of 138 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Therese Gjellestad Nundal

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 August 2014 Therese Gjellestad would recommend this property

Liked: Superhelpfull staff great property, loved the roof terraces easy to meet other travelers

Disliked: the breakfast

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

05 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: all good!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: They actually have two properties. We stayed in the quieter building next door as our booking on Hostelbookers came through wrong. We booked a 6 bex mixed dorm but they only had a female dorm. The staff were lovely though and upgraded us to a two person dorm. The kitchen facilities were great and there is a lovely little courtyard outside.

Disliked: The breakfast wasn't great - just a few rolls and jam and it didn't seem to have much atmosphere, but that may have been because we were in the second building, which isn't where the activities and bars are.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean and has a rooftop reading sunroom that is very nice.

Disliked: slightly hard to find.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Stead

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 December 2013 James would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, easy to find, good atmosphere, good rooms, nice breakfast too and kitchen available for use, excellent hostel

Disliked: nothing

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Chris Stripp

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 December 2013 Chris would recommend this property

Liked: Wifi is good and could get it in our room, it was close to the main part of La Serena. Staff spoke gd english and were helpful.

Disliked: Bit of walk from the bus station about 20 mins. Breakfast was quite basic. And were doing work on the roof terrace so we couldnt use that.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

19 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good roof terrace & wifi

Disliked: Not very clean! Had to ask them to turn the hot water on for the showers. Had to wait out the front several times until we were let in. It is about 45mins walk to the beach. You can hear the noise from common areas in all rooms.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lillian Clements

With friends / other travellers

City break

03 April 2013 Lillian would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was near everything in el centro but in a funky neighborhood next to a local fish market-it was neat to walk through. They had at least 3 bathrooms and the whole time I was there it felt like enough. The staff was always helpful to me and my friends and there is a lot of space in the hostel to hang out, in the dining room and the two rooftop areas. It was pretty cloudy and chilly when we were in La Serena and the hostel always had tea, it was so nice!

Disliked: The breakfast person was really unfriendly and there was a bed mix up in our room because no one properly changed the sheets so just confirm which bed is yours before you sleep in it...

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good Location

Disliked: Noisy in courtyard making sleep difficult.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We have no complaints with this hostel, although neither would I say it is the best we have stayed. The dorm rooms have lockers in them and we thought the beds were comfy and had a good nights sleep. There are three bathrooms which seemed to be plenty so we never had to wait for a shower. There is also hot water and good water pressure. There is free wi-fi throughout which seemed to always be working.

Disliked: The only things that may be a problem is that our dorm room was right next to the communal area and it would possibly get loud in the mornings and at night if people were talking outside, however we have found this to be the case everywhere we have stayed in South America so far. In addition, the breakfast is only basic - white bread and jam, coffee and tea, however it is only a hostel - not a hotel, so what do you expect.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Secure lockers, free WiFi and computer, decent location

Disliked: Only two toilets for entire hostel, of which the doors lock poorly. Room smelled like gas.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 March 2013

Liked: Neue Duschen, der einzige Pluspunkt.

Disliked: Alles ist schmutzig, abgenutzt, Küche schlecht ausgestattet. Unser Zimmer roch nach Diesel! Wirklich kein Ort zum Wohlfühlen, lieber 5 € mehr investieren!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice atmosphere, Staff is helpfull and very easy going. The Rooms and Beds are good, 3 showers for a lot of people can be sometimes in the morning difficult, but no real problem. Terrace with 2 floors, nice yard, kitchen is ok, free herbs if you like. I would stay again here, because of the atmosphere. And they really into recycling, saving water & electricity -> very good!

Disliked: Dont expect the cleanest bathrooms ever, nothing really dirty but not 100% clean (no real problem). One thing i disliked, that the guy who did the service at night stepped into our room at 4 o clock in the morning turning the lights on and explaining something to guests that arrived at this time. No problem when guests arrive late at a dorm, but i found it a bit weird, that the guy did not explain them everthing outside the room and just let them enter quietly without turning the lights on in the middle of the night. The only unpleasant experience.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 March 2013

Liked: The staff are nice enough. There is a nice view from the roof terrace. Near supermarket, 20 min walk to bus station.

Disliked: The place may have been nice 10 years ago but it's not been maintained. The beds are falling apart, they look like they were built as a woodshop project. The room we stayed in was so damp it stunk and all our clothes felt damp after being in there one day. It's not clean, the bedding, Walls and all facility's are grimey. I have been traveling a year, 2 months of that was camping on a blowup mattress but I have never had such a bad sleep it was unreal. It's like they are just stuffed with cottenwool and sag in the middle, Both my partner and I woke on the second night with severe back pain. The room we stayed in is next to the courtyard so there was no chance of sleeping before 12 as everyone was talking outside our roomand the radio is on. But the most annoying noise came from the staff in the morning. At 6-7 am they come down to start getting breakfast ready. The kitchen is just off the courtyard, I was woken every morning by things getting slammed around and at 8am the radio goes on. And there goes your chance for a lie- in. This place may be cheap but I've stayed in cheaper that have higher standards. I couldnt wait to get out of here and get on out 25 hour bus journey. That says it all.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kerstin Spahn

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

09 February 2013 Kerstin would recommend this property

Liked: Für mich mal wieder eine Perle unter den Hostels. Keine Massen-Unterbringung, sondern ein Ort zum entspannen, Kochen, leute Treffen... Terasse & Aufenthalsraum kreativ & gemütlich her gerichtet. Das Personal wirkt manchmal etwas gestresst, sind aber nicht unorganisiert oder unfreundlich. Bad/Dusche sauber & gepflegt (ok bis auf den Dreck & Sand, den jeder selbst mit rein trägt...) Küche ein bisschen eng, wenn dort mehr als 2 Leute kochen wollen.

Disliked: Sie sind uU etwas voreilig mit dem aufräumen des Kühlchranks. Meine Sachen waren zwar bechriftet, dem wurde aber zunächst keine wirkliche beachtung geschenkt und ich fand meinen angebrochenen Käse im Müll und dem Rest als free food wieder.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are very friendly and really helpful. The kitchen area is also very sweet.

Disliked: It was very noisy on the wed night, we´d had a long day and were ready for bed, but our room was right underneath the where the bar area was, and loads of people were being really drunk and loud, and they didn´t leave the building til about 2am.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a rather cute hostel, with lots of attention for detail: from the binoculars on the rooftop terrace, over the collection of shopping bags so you don't need to use more plastic to the herbs they grown in the garden that you can use for cooking. The common areas are nice and staff was very friendly and helpful. Also there was some information regarding vegetarian food options in La Serena, rather surprising in South America.

Disliked: The bunk beds are a bid rickety and our dorm got super hot over night.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great set up with a good atmosphere. Comfortable if slightly rickety dorm beds. The central downstairs courtyard area is great for socializing and an upstairs TV as well. The breakfast is also good.

Disliked: Tempermental hot water in the showers of which there weren't quite enough of. If you have the downstairs rooms you'll be woken up or kept awake by whatever's going on inthe couryard.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

31 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was well located and had all the basics. The staff was nice and they had an outside balcony to just sit and overlook the entire city.

Disliked: There were no activities with the hostel and we were more on our own for ideas.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very pleasant and helpful. Our room was clean, we liked the numerous floors and areas to relax. Location was absolutely ideal for what we wanted but it is a fair distance from the beach. Also free tea and coffee was on offer all day.

Disliked: Breakfast was very basic

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 September 2012

Liked: Reasonably quiet after hours

Disliked: Unclean room and bathroom, common areas need a update.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great - Quite close to La Serena Centro. They have two upper decks (one enclosed for the cold/rainy nights) which have a great view of the city. The rooms are clean and comfortable.

Disliked: The common kitchen was a little bit dirty (cutlery, plates etc.) - but nothing that a bit of water and soap couldn't fix. We booked a room with a double bed, but got a room with bunks - not a huge deal really, but it wasn't what we expected.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: On first appearance this hostel looks a little shabby, but it's a deceptively good hostel with excellent hang out areas, very clean bathrooms, comfy beds with lockers in the room and a decent kitchen.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the hostel looks very nice. breakfast is basic but ok. the staff is very friendly.

Disliked: I was the only guest but it's low season so they can't help it but Iike to meet more people.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Well well well, it was a pleasure Aji Verde. Great selection of sharp knives in the kitchen and a great dartboard in the bar area! Always clean, lots of nice open spaces etc.

Disliked: wobbly beds but all good fun