HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Aji Verde Hostel

Hostel | Vicuña 415 La Serena Centro, La Serena, Chile 1710104

75.5% Overall Rating

127 out of 149 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/08/2014)

Therese Gjellestad Nundal thinks…

"Superhelpfull staff great property, loved the roof terraces easy to meet other travelers"

Read all Aji Verde Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 5.00
  • Towel USD 0.83

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to La Serena?

Contact us directly

See other properties in La Serena

Hotel del Cid
30.53 USD

Hotel 3 star 87.3% 29 reviews
Hostal Balmaceda
17.48 USD

Guesthouse 91.4% 10 reviews
Hostal El Arbol
14.15 USD

Hostel 93.8% 96 reviews
Hostal Maria Casa
13.32 USD

Guesthouse 89.4% 36 reviews
Andes Hostal Serena
10.82 USD

Hostel 83.5% 9 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
75.5%

Overall Rating

127 out of 149 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Aji Verde Hostel'

Atmosphere
76.0%
Location
80.8%
Facilities
67.2%
Cleanliness
66.4%
Staff
84.0%
Value
73.6%
Safety
80.8%
Refine your results Showing 123 of 138 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cool place to meet people

Disliked: Nothing that bad

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Matt Kitson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 October 2010

Liked: I'm afraid we have very little positive to say about the hostel.

Disliked: On arrival there seemed to be a problem with our booking which involved us having to get out our laptop to find the confirmation and the girl on duty making a ‘phone call. We have no idea what the problem was but unsurprisingly were starting to get a bit concerned to which we were told ‘tranquilo’, not what you need to hear after a long bus journey! The hostel is very noisy both at night and in the morning, we could have said something to the hostel staff but as it appeared to be them and their friends making the noise, there didn’t seem to be much point. The showers are more like hosepipes and only suitable for those 5foot and under and the water temperature was also a problem. We used the laundry service as we were told it would only take a couple of hours. We gave our laundry in at 11.30am, at 9pm we asked if it was ready and were told it wasn’t quite dry and needed another 10 mins. At 8am the next day, we could see our clothes in the tumble dryer..when we got back at 6 they were still there, and we finally managed to retrieve them! They also have the distinction of being the laundry service in South America to make all our white clothes a dingy grey! The room wasn’t cleaned during the three nights we were there (despite a daily cleaning service being advertised on their flyer) and the bathroom bin wasn’t emptied (kind of important in South America). A note of warning to any couples who book a twin room as they want a private bathroom – you’ll be sleeping in bunk beds! All in all, this hostel was really disappointing and nothing like the standard we have found elsewhere in Chile. It was also pretty expensive and we’re sure you could get better value for money elsewhere in La Serena.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kathleen Richardson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 September 2010 Kathleen would recommend this property

Liked: This is a lovely hostel with very friendly and helpful staff. We stayed at many hostels before this that claimed 'wireless available in rooms' which wasn't often the case. Here the wireless internet did work, so it's great for catching up with family. A really lovely hostel, and only a few minutes from town. Has heaters in the room too :)

Disliked: Kathleen left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

18 August 2010

Liked: nice roof terrasse

Disliked: This is the noisiest place in the universe, the staff contributing quite a bit to the noise level. Forget about sleeping (or hot showers)

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Sam Lovetro

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

03 August 2010 Sam would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is all young and helpful. Mostly bilingual and very aware of the needs of the guests. They are also some of the coolest people we met on the trip.

Disliked: The location wasn't as central as could have been and it was expensive, but the cheapest we could find in La Serena.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

18 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place close to city centre. Good kitchen, nice bathrooms and cool common areas! It was good place to meet people but one biig minus goes to staff´s lack of interest in bedbugs in at least one dorm room!!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Sam Weaver

11 April 2010

Liked: Reception staff are more interested in partying than helping guests. Located in a very dodgy neighbourhood and sometimes you get left waiting outside because reception staff are downstairs drinking instead of sitting on reception. Had a cold shower for 2 mornings running. Nothing good to say about this hostel- dont stay here unless you have to.

Disliked: Sam left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

DIMITRA CHATZIIOANNIDOU

07 April 2010 DIMITRA would recommend this property

Liked: nice hostel, clean and in a great place...the stuff is amazing! very friendly and willing to help you in everything. muchas gracias chicos por todo!

Disliked: DIMITRA left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Karen Ranestad

24 March 2010 Karen would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the relaxed atmosphere, great place for meeting people if you`re traveing alone!

Disliked: Karen left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

01 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Almost perfect, almost because:The staff has too much to do beside their reception work. Took them 2 hours to answer an email. When I was there I could understand why.Reception staff = cleaning personal. Not the best solution in my eyes.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

15 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very helpful and the atmosphere was relaxed and friendly.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

danielle capon

12 February 2010 danielle would recommend this property

Liked: the place has a great atmosphere! the staff are ever helpful and kind. the kitchen and bathroom facilities were new, clean and ubove reproach. and their pillows are among the best i have seen in south america ;) i´d stay there again anytime

Disliked: danielle left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

01 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: ALL

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

samantha fosberry

31 January 2010 samantha would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: samantha left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

dean john

30 January 2010

Liked: The reception person was friendly and helpful and genuinely upset about the night time noise issue. Other than that not a lot to recommend it from my point of view. There seemed to be no attempt to promote consideration for other guests and the ground rules for keeping the noise down after hours were minimal.

Disliked: dean left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

23 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice roof top terrace. Close to the old town and there is a big supermarket very close. It´s a long walk or taxi/bus ride to the beach.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sophia Marriott

18 January 2010 Sophia would recommend this property

Liked: ads

Disliked: Sophia left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Vilma Marchitelli

18 January 2010 Vilma would recommend this property

Liked: ..

Disliked: Vilma left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mick Foster

16 January 2010 Mick would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean all over, rooms, toilets ect..A small but very well equiped and clean kitchen. Staff very helpful and a great place to meet a variety of travellers.Would certainly stay there again

Disliked: Mick left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Fernanda Varas

27 December 2009 Fernanda would recommend this property

Liked: Very, very friendly staff and good location!! very clean bathrooms and beedrooms!!

Disliked: Fernanda left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

25 December 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful rooms, terrace, kitchen, bathrooms. Everything a good hostel needs. Really liked staying there. Excellent friendly staff! They helped me out a lot!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

19 December 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet yet central location. Has rooftop chill-out area which has a nice view over the town.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

maeve o reilly

13 December 2009 maeve would recommend this property

Liked: great location. friendly staff.good communal space. good kitchen. clean bathrooms.

Disliked: maeve left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

John Whitty

05 December 2009

Liked: The staff were not helpful. Receptionist was asleep when we went to enquire about our room. They mixed up our booking which meant moving us to a twin room for our second night. They couldn´t offer us a valid explanation for the mix-up. They offered us money off a wine tour we had not interest in as compensation. We declined our second night and moved onto another hostel.

Disliked: John left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ben Clifton

26 November 2009 Ben would recommend this property

Liked: Nice roof terrace

Disliked: Ben left no negative feedback.