HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Aji Verde Hostel

Hostel | Vicuña 415 La Serena Centro, La Serena, Chile 1710104

76.1% Overall Rating

126 out of 148 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/03/2014)

"They actually have two properties. We stayed in the quieter building next door as our booking on Hostelbookers came through wrong. We booked a 6 bex mixed dorm but they only had a female dorm. The staff were lovely…"

Read all Aji Verde Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 5.36
  • Towel USD 0.89

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to La Serena?

Contact us directly

See other properties in La Serena

Hotel del Cid
32.73 USD

Hotel 3 star 87.3% 29 reviews
Hostal Balmaceda
18.75 USD

Guesthouse 91.7% 9 reviews
Backpackers La Serena
10.71 USD

Hostel 76.3% 10 reviews
Hostal El Arbol
15.18 USD

Hostel 93.9% 87 reviews
Hostal Maria Casa
14.28 USD

Guesthouse 89.4% 35 reviews
Andes Hostal Serena
17.85 USD

Hostel 82.9% 8 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
76.1%

Overall Rating

126 out of 148 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Aji Verde Hostel'

Atmosphere
76.0%
Location
81.6%
Facilities
68.0%
Cleanliness
68.0%
Staff
84.8%
Value
73.6%
Safety
80.8%
Refine your results Showing 122 of 137 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Aline Ataulo Fernandes

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

13 September 2011 Aline would recommend this property

Liked: The place is very nice, and ideal to make friends. Everything is very colorful and clean, very different from other hostels I've visited.

Disliked: Breakfast wasn't a great deal, could be better, since they offered a very simple one. One day we had stiff bread available.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked aji verde because the staff was really nice, the girl helped me with my excursions and plans for the whole city and wrote everything down, extremely friendly!!! Furthermore I loved the roofterrace, with a view of the whole city. The kitchen is good and the rooms are spacious and have big and good lockers (bring a lock!).

Disliked: I had to wait a long time untill they opened the door, that was at 6.00 in the morning. One shower changes from extremely hot to extremely cold. In spite of that they cleaned the place well every day, there were still a lot of flies..

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good helpful people. They seemed to have sorted the hot water out!!

Disliked: did wait at the door.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was very big and clean. Staff was very friendly. There was a heater in the room.

Disliked: Our room was located on the outside, so whenever we needed to go to the bathroom we had to cross the yard, which was freezing in the night. The Wifi didn't work at all during the first day, in the late evening of the second day somehow it was working. But if you have to rely on it to book anything it can be quite frustrating. Bathroom could have been a little more cleaner.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really relaxed, staff were great..

Disliked: Nothing

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Allison southgate

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 June 2011

Liked: Staff were helpful. Good internet access.

Disliked: Shower ran cold & then split second of scalding hot. Breakfast very poor, bread roll with jam or some semi-rotten fruit. Dog barking constantly in early hrs.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bryan Davis

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 June 2011 Bryan would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff

Disliked: The shower downstairs does not seem to have hot water. The shower upstairs does though, albeit sometimes intermittent. Ditto, the wifi can come and go. No big deal though.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good lockers, nice kitchen/dining area.

Disliked: Bunk bed was very wobbly, bit cold as dining area outside.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Cal Lewis

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 May 2011 Cal would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent triple dorm room. Friendly staff and good location

Disliked: While they have free WiFi, it was down most of the time which proved frustrating as it was required.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It has a lot of space to hang around, it is clean and close to the center

Disliked: The kitchen is outdoors, which is no problem in summer and during daytime, but quit cold and this time of year after sunset.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

benjamin king

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 April 2011 benjamin would recommend this property

Liked: great place to stay. excelent staff. We ended up staying longer. they have great outdorr area and multiple places to chillout. LOVED IT

Disliked: long way to the beach but most cheap places are

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is close enough to town and there is good tours on offer. Nice communal area right beside the kitchen.

Disliked: All in all pretty good.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice hostel, well located, quite clean, nice staff, very nice breakfast. I would recomend to stay there.

Disliked: The water of the shower, it was cold.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good breakfast, decent beds, clean bathrooms, location, kitchen area.

Disliked: It was a hassle for them to tell us if we could stay another night, noise from courtyard straight into dorms, you can get private rooms for slightly cheaper and nicer area, so we moved.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Mikael Kristensen

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 March 2011 Mikael would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpfull staff, okay breakfeast.. location far from water, but in center of town..

Disliked: Could be more clean, dorms a bit smelly and beds screaky..

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

10 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice staff who spoke perfect English but were happy to speak to you in Spanish if you preferred that, friendly and relaxed vibe, close to the main shopping area

Disliked: quite a walk from the beach, the wifi kept dropping off, guests seemed to open the door more often than staff, very close to the fish market and the smell made me gag in the end, beds not great

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Emily Aitkins

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

31 January 2011 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, friendly staff. Good roof terrace. Reasonably priced double rooms and discounts for HI members.

Disliked: The wi-fi is unreliable, it doesn't support more than a couple of computers so the staff had to keep resetting the router to boot people off the network, also there are only 3 bathrooms in the whole place (no separate toilets) which made grabbing a shower in the morning a bit tricky.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

adrian richardson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 January 2011 adrian would recommend this property

Liked: It has just a great atmosphere. A fun place to meet others and hang out. The staff are really nice as well.

Disliked: nothing...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 January 2011

Liked: Near the city center. Easy to get to most places. Quite large and usually has beds available even when other hostels in the area are full. Good mattresses.

Disliked: Could use a good cleaning. Only two bathrooms for a large hostel (one on each floor) means waiting often. Downstairs rooms are quite loud. They are around a public area where breakfast (bread, tea, coffee) is served and where people cook and hang out at night, so there is noise at all hours.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Alex Hughes

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 January 2011 Alex would recommend this property

Liked: Big outdoor common areas, that contained the noise well. Indoor tv room with a selection of films. Located close to the main square. Decent sized lockers, could fit day bag and ruck sack in them. Good kitchen facilities but a little small.

Disliked: Inconsistent hot water. We asked one member of staff if we could extend our stay 3 extra nights, they confirmed it with the manager, and on the morning of the third night we where told we had to be out of the room as there was no evidence of the booking, they did however find room for the two of us in different rooms, when one of the dorms had 2 spare beds!! The smell of the fish market a few door down!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Wendy Van dijk

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 January 2011 Wendy would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and English speaking staff. Nice surrounding to meet people, internet was also available.

Disliked: none

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are very nice and helpful. Has some good rooms and great outside areas.

Disliked: Nothing.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Allan Beard

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 December 2010 Allan would recommend this property

Liked: The location is excellent! a 5 minute walk from the main square and there are plenty of food options just around the corner including a huge supermarket. The room we had was excellent with a very comfy queen size bed. Staff are very helpful and warm.

Disliked: The staff although nice are very noisy and don't seem to consider the sleeping patterns of their guests. Also, the upstairs terrace is a mess and under construction, this noise goes on all day! They should have made note of the potential noise generated by the renovations.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

02 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good breakfast, good bathrooms with hot showers, close to some cheap restaurants.

Disliked: felt like we were staying in someones home rather than a hostel.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cool place to meet people

Disliked: Nothing that bad