HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Aji Verde Hostel La Serena Hostel

Vicuaa 415, La Serena, Chile

Atmosphere 79%

Cleanliness 71%

Facilities 73%

Location 85%

Safety 85%

Staff 86%

Value 76%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meeting Room
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 4.54USD
  • Towel 0.76USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 13:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to La Serena?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 79%

Cleanliness 71%

Facilities 73%

Location 85%

Safety 85%

Staff 86%

Value 76%

Showing 11-10 of 10 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: This hostel was near everything in el centro but in a funky neighborhood next to a local fish market-it was neat to walk through. They had at least 3 bathrooms and the whole time I was there it felt like enough. The staff was always helpful to me and my friends and there is a lot of space in the hostel to hang out, in the dining room and the two rooftop areas. It was pretty cloudy and chilly when we were in La Serena and the hostel always had tea, it was so nice!

Disliked: The breakfast person was really unfriendly and there was a bed mix up in our room because no one properly changed the sheets so just confirm which bed is yours before you sleep in it...

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good Location

Disliked: Noisy in courtyard making sleep difficult.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: We have no complaints with this hostel, although neither would I say it is the best we have stayed.The dorm rooms have lockers in them and we thought the beds were comfy and had a good nights sleep. There are three bathrooms which seemed to be plenty so we never had to wait for a shower. There is also hot water and good water pressure.There is free wi-fi throughout which seemed to always be working.

Disliked: The only things that may be a problem is that our dorm room was right next to the communal area and it would possibly get loud in the mornings and at night if people were talking outside, however we have found this to be the case everywhere we have stayed in South America so far. In addition, the breakfast is only basic - white bread and jam, coffee and tea, however it is only a hostel - not a hotel, so what do you expect.

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Secure lockers, free WiFi and computer, decent location

Disliked: Only two toilets for entire hostel, of which the doors lock poorly. Room smelled like gas.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Really nice atmosphere, Staff is helpfull and very easy going. The Rooms and Beds are good, 3 showers for a lot of people can be sometimes in the morning difficult, but no real problem. Terrace with 2 floors, nice yard, kitchen is ok, free herbs if you like. I would stay again here, because of the atmosphere. And they really into recycling, saving water & electricity -> very good!

Disliked: Dont expect the cleanest bathrooms ever, nothing really dirty but not 100% clean (no real problem). One thing i disliked, that the guy who did the service at night stepped into our room at 4 o clock in the morning turning the lights on and explaining something to guests that arrived at this time. No problem when guests arrive late at a dorm, but i found it a bit weird, that the guy did not explain them everthing outside the room and just let them enter quietly without turning the lights on in the middle of the night. The only unpleasant experience.

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The staff are nice enough. There is a nice view from the roof terrace. Near supermarket, 20 min walk to bus station.

Disliked: The place may have been nice 10 years ago but it's not been maintained. The beds are falling apart, they look like they were built as a woodshop project. The room we stayed in was so damp it stunk and all our clothes felt damp after being in there one day. It's not clean, the bedding, Walls and all facility's are grimey. I have been traveling a year, 2 months of that was camping on a blowup mattress but I have never had such a bad sleep it was unreal. It's like they are just stuffed with cottenwool and sag in the middle, Both my partner and I woke on the second night with severe back pain.The room we stayed in is next to the courtyard so there was no chance of sleeping before 12 as everyone was talking outside our roomand the radio is on. But the most annoying noise came from the staff in the morning. At 6-7 am they come down to start getting breakfast ready. The kitchen is just off the courtyard, I was woken every morning by things getting slammed around and at 8am the radio goes on. And there goes your chance for a lie- in. This place may be cheap but I've stayed in cheaper that have higher standards. I couldnt wait to get out of here and get on out 25 hour bus journey. That says it all.

29% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
29% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Neue Duschen, der einzige Pluspunkt.

Disliked: Alles ist schmutzig, abgenutzt, Küche schlecht ausgestattet. Unser Zimmer roch nach Diesel! Wirklich kein Ort zum Wohlfühlen, lieber 5 € mehr investieren!

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Für mich mal wieder eine Perle unter den Hostels. Keine Massen-Unterbringung, sondern ein Ort zum entspannen, Kochen, leute Treffen... Terasse & Aufenthalsraum kreativ & gemütlich her gerichtet. Das Personal wirkt manchmal etwas gestresst, sind aber nicht unorganisiert oder unfreundlich. Bad/Dusche sauber & gepflegt (ok bis auf den Dreck & Sand, den jeder selbst mit rein trägt...) Küche ein bisschen eng, wenn dort mehr als 2 Leute kochen wollen.

Disliked: Sie sind uU etwas voreilig mit dem aufräumen des Kühlchranks. Meine Sachen waren zwar bechriftet, dem wurde aber zunächst keine wirkliche beachtung geschenkt und ich fand meinen angebrochenen Käse im Müll und dem Rest als free food wieder.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The staff are very friendly and really helpful. The kitchen area is also very sweet.

Disliked: It was very noisy on the wed night, we´d had a long day and were ready for bed, but our room was right underneath the where the bar area was, and loads of people were being really drunk and loud, and they didn´t leave the building til about 2am.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It's a rather cute hostel, with lots of attention for detail: from the binoculars on the rooftop terrace, over the collection of shopping bags so you don't need to use more plastic to the herbs they grown in the garden that you can use for cooking. The common areas are nice and staff was very friendly and helpful. Also there was some information regarding vegetarian food options in La Serena, rather surprising in South America.

Disliked: The bunk beds are a bid rickety and our dorm got super hot over night.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability