HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Sunset Beach Iquique Hostel

Vivar 1770, Iquique, Chile

Atmosphere 48%

Cleanliness 40%

Facilities 39%

Location 89%

Safety 60%

Staff 73%

Value 47%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Airport Transfers
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • Elevator
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 15.99USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Not Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Iquique?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 48%

Cleanliness 40%

Facilities 39%

Location 89%

Safety 60%

Staff 73%

Value 47%

Showing 1-2 of 2 reviews

40% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 20%
40% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The staff is friendly

Disliked: It's really dirt and cold no kitchen or anyone who speaks english

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: The staff was extremely helpful and friendly, as well as extremely vigilant to ensure only guests had access to the hostel. They really did their best to make guests feel welcome and safe.

Disliked: The lack of cleanliness was fairly off-putting. The bedding was extremely worn and smelled sour, and the blankets were inadequate for the nighttime chill. The hot water was sporadic at best (of the three nights I stayed there, I only got 1 hot shower). Guests had to provide their own toilet paper. Lastly, the shower stalls were not only tiny (about 2.5 feet square) and bare of shelves/hooks/spaces for clothing, towels, and toiletries, they were also covered in black mildew.

29% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
29% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location was good - close to the beach

Disliked: As above

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 20%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing

Liked: Only the staff

Disliked: Everything was dirty, no cutlery in the dirty kitchen, the room was the smallest ever, it actualy was a piece of land with 2 beds, close with a locker. Too much for that money. The bathrooms were dirty

34% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
34% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: it was close to the beach

Disliked: Staff were very unhelpful, and uninterested.When we left (7.30am), the receptionist was asleep on the couch!The communal bathrooms and kitchen were very dirty, there was no toilet paper in the bathrooms and the kitchen had no gas, and therefore no cooking facilities.

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great location, helpful and nice staff

Disliked: though there was a locked gate, they left the back door open whilst brought in noise and didn't make me feel the safest. Also walls are quite thin so i got spooked in middle of the night when i could clearly hear a guy talking on the phone and thought he was in my room! But its more a case of locking your door, and not neccesarily a problem. the 4 bed dorm was small and luckily its low season so i was the only girl in it or else it would have very intimiate if i was actaully other girls!

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Booked a shared room and end up in a private for the same price

Disliked: Showers aren't that clean

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Dec 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: THe room we ended up in was good, had wifi and a private bathroom.

Disliked: Terrible dorms and rooms. Freezing or scalding showers.

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 20%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Jul 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: the locaton, in front of the bbeach

Disliked: too expansive

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Jun 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: location nice - pretty close to the beach; friendly staff!

Disliked: not very clean, strange smell in the rooms and no paper in toilets....no really nice common area

Check Availability