We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Iquique hostels

Reviews of Backpacker's Hostel Iquique

Hostel | Amunategui 2075, Iquique, Chile .

91.0% Overall Rating

191 out of 210 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/08/2014)

"The warm and welcoming atmosphere, the extremly comfy beds, the breakfast, the other guests and of course the staff!"

Read all Backpacker's Hostel Iquique reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 5.83
  • Towel USD 1.67

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Iquique?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Iquique

Hostel hostal Sunset
9.16 USD

Guesthouse 58.9% 18 reviews
La Casona 1920
9.99 USD

Hostel 83.4% 51 reviews
Pälm Hostal
29.97 USD

Hostel 81.1% 5 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.0%

Overall Rating

191 out of 210 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Backpacker's Hostel Iquique'

Atmosphere
92.8%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
88.0%
Cleanliness
87.2%
Staff
92.8%
Value
90.4%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 148 of 170 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Aysan Molaei

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Shopping

03 November 2014 Aysan would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: They charge you 5% extra if you pay with credit card. However, you don't know about this extra charge untill checking out.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The warm and welcoming atmosphere, the extremly comfy beds, the breakfast, the other guests and of course the staff!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, very helpfull staff, great bbq evenings, comfy rooms, some of them with balcony, nice roof top, 10 meters from the beach

Disliked: In the showers you have no space for your stuff

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Kelly Kretschmar

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway

10 July 2014 Kelly would recommend this property

Liked: Nice hostel with good facilities. Huge kitchen, rooms are spacious, ideal location, fun atmosphere(in the summer- was dead in winter), and friendly staff.

Disliked: There was no hot water, which was a bummer in winter. Our room smelled like the sheets were not washed.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

31 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice location close to beach, best kitchen ever, breakfast included

Disliked: -

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great - really close to the beach. The kitchen facilities are awesome.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aurélie morgenthaler

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2014 Aurélie would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is great! The kitchen is the best I've seen until now. Everythig was clean and the staff very nice and helpfull.

Disliked: Nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

natalie petrou

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 March 2014 natalie would recommend this property

Liked: Location and good kitchen

Disliked: Very loud music at night. breakfast was crappy bread and bit of jam, juice..

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Esther Silberkuhl

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 March 2014 Esther would recommend this property

Liked: großeküche und viel sitzbereiche

Disliked: die duschen waren in den toiletten. war sehr unpraktisch und das frühstück war rationiert

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Osment

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 March 2014 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: i arrived at 4am and Marcello looked after me. gave me and another girl who arrived early a blanket and said we could sleep on the couch in the bar area. i was in room 8 and it is the coolest room ever. only 5 beds and views of the water from the balcony. beds were so so good. i want to stay here longer. right on the beach and a few blocks from a huge supermarket. Carla was super friendly and helped me out with all my questions. if i had 4 weeks to spare i would take the job at the bar but sadly my trip is coming to a fast ending. i loved iquique and backpackers hostel. thanks !!!

Disliked: solar hot water service isn't great.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Robert Benson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 January 2014 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: Clean room, comfy bed, good shower. Close to the beach and supermarket and restaurants. Friendly and helpful staff - great with setting up excursions. Kitchen facilities very good.

Disliked: Although the room was very clean when we checked in, the room was not cleaned once during our 4 night stay, not even the toilet bin. When I asked to have the room swept and the bin emptied, I was told that they don't do a daily service but would empty the bin, which never happened. This was a private room. We are not dirty people, but it was by the beach and no matter how much you might rinse off before going to your room, sand gets everywhere.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostels I've stayed at - clean rooms, really cool communal area with bar, pool table, table football, table tennis, good WiFi. Beds are comfortable and well-ventilated, and the lockers are big enough to sleep in.

Disliked: Hot water wasn't always consistent, depending on the time of day you shower. Quite a way from the centre, but near one of the best surfing beaches.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Shopping

28 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable and enjoyed a lot.

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Fuchs

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 April 2013 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Very kind staff There werent that many people there at this time but it still had a fairly good vibe. Loving the roof terrasse, nice views at sunset. If u want a nicer beach tho go to the other one walkin away to your left from the hostel for about 5min. There are not that many dogs there either! If you comin on TurBus its a good 15min walk. You cant miss it. Supermarket is around the corner!

Disliked: The WiFi is a pain. Only works 4 - meters from the reception. Only cold showers!!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Alejandro Peralta

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

30 January 2013 Alejandro would recommend this property

Liked: Free Umbrellas for the beach and the roof overlooking the beach.

Disliked: No free ticktes to the clubs, the kitchen closes at 11 pm, wifi only working in the front desk area, no fans on the rooms and the breakfast its always the same thing every single morning.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Dani Eagle

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 January 2013 Dani would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the beach!!!!!!!!

Disliked: kitchen needs to be open longer hours for cooking

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Luke Durston

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 January 2013 Luke would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice homely hostel located perfectly for playa cavancha which is a great beach. Always lots going on and we were there for New Years Eve which was great, the hostel had a bbq and everyone got involved. The staff were very helpful, especially as we arrived in the middle of the night from a night bus and they were there to let us in and allowed us to doze on the sofas :)

Disliked: Luke left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

05 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very close to the beach. Infact you can hear the ocean at night it is so close!

Disliked: the shower is in the bathroom stall. I don't like the idea of the shower and the tolite being in the same stall.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sean Wrigley

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 September 2012 Sean would recommend this property

Liked: Great fun place with big kitchen. Had a great time and loved it.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thomas Corson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 August 2012 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: Top notch hostel. Safe, clean, modern, beautiful

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms are really nice and clean. The location of the hostel is good, close to the beach and the center.

Disliked: Toilets get a bit dirty sometimes when the showers are in the same room.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is great! It's right on the beach, I could hear the waves crashing at night from my bedroom! It is sociable and has great common areas. People staying here seemed to have booked for 2 days but end up staying longer because the hostel and town are both great!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Tanya Weyers

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 July 2012 Tanya would recommend this property

Liked: Great vibe and atmosphere, close to the beach and great value for money.

Disliked: showers aren't great

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff, Location, Facilities

Disliked: The breakfast is a joke: a bun, a tiny amount of jam that isn't even enough for the bun, and everything is portioned. Buy your own stuff, if you don't want to leave the hostel hungry... Also my dorm didn't have enoug lookers for the number of beds in it...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Juane Vargas

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
City break
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 July 2012 Juane would recommend this property

Liked: My best days since a long long time. This spot had so good vibes, very well located just a couple of steps of the main beach (cavancha) and surf spots. Dani, Vinko, Paolo, Tabata and always loyas OUSO is are very warm and confy team. Thanks for everything and keep Going Juane

Disliked: Nothing, just having to leave so soon, I was really enjoyin..


See all Iquique hostels