We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Iquique hostels

Reviews of La Casona 1920

Hostel | Barros Arana , Iquique, Chile 1585

83.4% Overall Rating

46 out of 51 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/01/2013)

"Good location 5 blocks from beach, and 1 block from supermarket. Dorm beds were comfortable. Staff were nice although very funny about letting us leave our bags in the hostel during the day of check in-a must imo"

Read all La Casona 1920 reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Iquique?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Iquique

Hostel hostal Sunset
9.16 USD

Guesthouse 58.9% 18 reviews
Backpacker's Hostel Iquique
12.49 USD

Hostel 91.0% 210 reviews
Pälm Hostal
27.47 USD

Hostel 81.1% 5 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.4%

Overall Rating

46 out of 51 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'La Casona 1920'

Atmosphere
80.0%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
75.2%
Cleanliness
81.6%
Staff
87.2%
Value
84.8%
Safety
87.2%
Refine your results Showing 41 of 50 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Stephan Rabathaly

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 June 2013 Stephan would recommend this property

Liked: Good location

Disliked: No hot water, but fortunately not very cold. The wifi is a bit slow, and breakfast is served a bit late, from 8:30am.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 January 2013

Liked: Good location 5 blocks from beach, and 1 block from supermarket. Dorm beds were comfortable. Staff were nice although very funny about letting us leave our bags in the hostel during the day of check in-a must imo

Disliked: No atmosphere. Kitchen was awful, no hobs worked during our visit there which made cooking difficult. On our last night a guy was sleeping in our room, and no one (including the staff) had any idea who he was, and staff didnt seem to really want to do anything about it.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Emily Mitchard

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 November 2012 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: It was a good location and the staff were really friendly and helpful. The facilities were good. It was about a 2 min wlk from the beach which is great for body boarding and soaking up the sun!

Disliked: It could really do with a good clean to make it even better.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sherilee Kahui

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway

13 November 2012 Sherilee would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were friendly and helpful. The patio was nice. The kitchen was spacious.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nevena Pencheva

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 September 2012 Nevena would recommend this property

Liked: Everyone was extremely nice and helpful, going out of their way to help and make my stay as comfortable as possible.

Disliked: Nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were extremely helpful and we were greeted by a happy and enthusiastic girl at midnight when we arrived. The hostel was empty so we each had a dorm to ourselves. The showers were nice and hot. The owner was extremely helpful in the morning giving us good information on Chile and even phoning up to book accommodation for our next destination.

Disliked: It is a bit run down and the bathrooms could definitely do with some refurbishment. They do not have milk for breakfast which we found quite strange seen as though they had cereals. Maybe water was the answer!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Louise Morgan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 June 2012 Louise would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is in a good location, near to both the "touristy" street and the beach. The room was comfortable with a good-sized locker per person. The showers were clean and always had hot water. Free wifi. The receptionist was friendly and accommodating of me wanting to extend my stay a day at a time.

Disliked: There are several staff who seem to live here, and at times it felt like they take over the place. Also, I only managed to have breakfast twice during my stay of five days - the staff member responsible for breakfast overslept one day and hadn't been shopping, wasn't there another day/etc.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marc Pick

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 May 2012 Marc would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were extremely friendly and welcoming. I cant stress enough how nice it is to have a good welcome when you come off a long bus ride, and the hostel did such a good job of this. The location is good, a few minutes from the beach and the main markets. Wifi was fast and worked well even in the rooms. Showers were extremely good and the hostel was generally very clean.

Disliked: My ipod charger was removed from the plug socket in my room, which was odd as I was the only one sleeping in that dorm!

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Stephen Mark

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

07 May 2012

Liked: Location was close to the center of Iquique. Staff helped me out with booking a taxi for the following day.

Disliked: Rules were posted about quiet hours and were summarily ignored the night I stayed there, with noise continuing several hours later than directed (in this case after 2 a.m.). The private room I was given was directly over the commons area and impossible to sleep under the circumstances. Room was the poorest I had over the entire 6 week trip.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: atmosphere

Disliked: kitchendrawers need fixing, can be noisy at night, don't expect miracles on the pooltable...it s totally worn down

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pamela Ross

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 March 2012 Pamela would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. The very secure ladder to the top of the triple bunk. Good breakfast.

Disliked: Seemed unaware when I confirmed my booking that I even had a booking. Women's shower/bathroom on second floor didn't lock and I couldn't get hot water. Lots of confusion about whether I could or couldn't get a tour I wanted. The bunk beds need tightening up with metal L-supports in every corner at all levels to keep them from shaking when folks turn over in the night. Noisy guests coming in at 5 am need reminding to be quiet as others are sleeping.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Carolina Thunander

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife

15 February 2012 Carolina would recommend this property

Liked: You can find a lot of things to do at La Casona. They have pooltable, foozball, a guitar and other things. The staff was really friendly and breakfast is included and open until 10.30 so there is no stress to get up in time. The best thing was the atmosphere. Everyone is hanging out in the hostel every night and doing stuff together!

Disliked: Nothing

57.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Bettina Kellerer

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 February 2012 Bettina would recommend this property

Liked: q

Disliked: Q

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

michael hamilton

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 January 2012 michael would recommend this property

Liked: nice and chilled atmosphere, great to have use of a kitchen with great facilities and only a blocks walk from major supermarket. owner and staff are super friendly and helpful. showers are hot and bathrooms are clean. it really felt like home. will definately be back again next year!

Disliked: that i couldnt stay longer

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good size, not too busy, decent back yard and kitchen.

Disliked: Young German staff live in the hostel and somewhat dominate the house due to lack of other travellers.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

nicolas denazis

Alone

City break

10 November 2011 nicolas would recommend this property

Liked: atmosphere and very to close to the beach

Disliked: no commetns

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean hostel with friendly staff.

Disliked: Nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

09 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good value for money, well organized and very helpful staff- decent location and great setup, it's simple but conducive to a quieter easygoing hostel with plenty of local knowledge- thanks to Isabelle, Susan and Jacob well done- micko

Disliked: The remote control for the common room tv is bit dodgy other than that great

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very cool building.spiral staircases, big rooms .breakfast is here is awesome.

Disliked: more locals here than back packers.but hey ,is there country after all.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ken Jordan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 August 2011 Ken would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were great and mostly spoke english.

Disliked: Cold Showers!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly helpful staff who gave lots of information about the area. Rooms were clean and well-maintained. Good common area to meet others.

Disliked: They didn´t have my reservation when I arrived.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 August 2011

Liked: Staff was friendly ( but during the night NOT in controle, see below)

Disliked: During the night staff was not in control. We can live with noise for some time of a group returns after drinking. After two hours being awake because of the noise we complained. Staff asked the other "guests" to go to sleep. After 15 minutes (0200 hours AM) they started to play a guitar which the staff also must hear. They only took action after we asked again. At around 0230 it was finally silent.. We did not sleep half the night and left the next morning. One night like this is enough. Beds are clean. Whole place is outdated and shabby. Floors of bathrooms are therefore difficult to be kept clean.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was very helpful and accommodating. Great big house with a lot of areas to relax, read, watch TV, etc. Awesome breakfast and a big, modern kitchen that was always clean. Close to the beach and 15 minutes from Baquedano.

Disliked: the bathrooms were on a different floor if you had a room on the top floor only accessible via a precarious spiral staircase - dangerous especially in the middle of the night.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Rannoch Yule

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 June 2011 Rannoch would recommend this property

Liked: Owners were great hosts and made me feel welcome and met some great people here. Beds were decent and had lockers, plus supermarket just around the corner.

Disliked: None

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sofie Wambeke

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 April 2011 Sofie would recommend this property

Liked: This place rocks!!! I liked the old and "homey" colonial style house, the friendly atmosphere, the cleanliness, the breakfast, the location...

Disliked: nothing!


See all Iquique hostels