HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Castro hostels

Reviews of Hostel Entretenido

Guesthouse | Almirante Latorre 139, Castro, Chile 065

75.4% Overall Rating

21 out of 30 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/02/2014)

Stijn Cornelis thinks…

"Small wooden (crooked) house in the centre and near the bus terminal with a lovely owner and a nice and cosy atmosphere."

Read all Hostel Entretenido reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 3.39

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Castro?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
75.4%

Overall Rating

21 out of 30 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Entretenido'

Atmosphere
72.8%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
62.4%
Cleanliness
72.0%
Staff
82.4%
Value
70.4%
Safety
77.6%
Refine your results Showing 25 of 30 reviews
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Stijn Cornelis

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 February 2014 Stijn would recommend this property

Liked: Small wooden (crooked) house in the centre and near the bus terminal with a lovely owner and a nice and cosy atmosphere.

Disliked: As it is badly isolated it can get quite cold in the colder months of the year. Thank god we had tripple blankets on our bed :)

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

clemy vyncke

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

31 December 2013 clemy would recommend this property

Liked: Good bed and tv in the room

Disliked: The owner couldnt give us any information at all about the region

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2013

Liked: It is 200 meters away from the main square. The owner is very nice and helpful.

Disliked: The building itself is due for some reconstruction. On the other hand, it is fun to be staying in a hostel where no floor is even and you can open the door to your room simply by stepping on floor too close to the door :-)

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, helpful staff - good location

Disliked: Kitchen very basic

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very close to the centre of town. The staff were lovely.

Disliked: Only one bathroom

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

ARIANE MORAES

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 September 2012

Liked: Good location, nice breakfast and a good shower that works properly.

Disliked: The house is pretty old, had mold in the room and it smelled quite strong, I felt the house shake a couple times and got scared, there is no heater for all accomodations, there is only one bathroom for all people and at the occasion in which I stayed here the son of the owner spent all day long using the only available computer and guests had to almost beg to use it.... I found that an absurd.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: near main square and Cruz del Sur bus terminal; owner is very friendly

Disliked: room, bathroom and kitchen were very cold (in July); in the mornings the owner didn't show up before 9 a.m., so leaving early in the morning was only possible if you had paid the evening before

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 June 2012

Liked: friendly staff & cat, near the bus terminal

Disliked: Small kitchen if there were other guests, no real living room, dark- would class it as a hospedaje not a hostel

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

28 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its a family run hostel, and Sylvia provides a very fun & friendly, typically Chiloen welcome. Also lovely views of the bay and very cosy with wood fires.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location and clean facilities. Lovely owner and very helpful

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

RAQUEL GURGEL

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 April 2012 RAQUEL would recommend this property

Liked: i would highly recommend this hostel in castro... it´s super well located (next to the main plaza), my room was big, with good lockers, a sofa, bedside tables with reading lamps... everything was very clean, and the house is beautiful and the kitchen is well equiped. also silvia, the owner, is a really nice person and makes you feel comfortable all the time.

Disliked: nothing.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 March 2012

Liked: The location is good, the double room was ok. Nice hostes, when we left a day early we didn't had to pay for the other night we booked.

Disliked: It's very, very noisy. We couldn't get any sleep, you hear everything: noice from the other guests and noice from the street. There is only one bathroom, wich means you have to waith to take a shower or go to the toilet. And when someone is havind a shower, you can't go to the toilet.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place was very close to the bus station and was just as described on the website. Although when I first arrived the woman who ran the place seemed very busy but she was helpful nonetheless. I did´t have many questions for here but she seemed nice and helpful where she could be.

Disliked: Disliked that it wasn´t a very communal atmosphere. More like just sharing a room in someones house than a hostel. But overall not a bad thing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: More of a hospedaje than hostel (its someones house). Nice enough place with ´character´ i.e. its on a lean, quite small, one bathroom, but good value for Castro. Lovely owner, not much english spoken.

Disliked: Waiting for the bathroom.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

richard j

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 February 2012 richard would recommend this property

Liked: Only one night was available, so the owner went out of her way to ask and phone round and found another hostel for the following night. Also owner was very keen to make a good impression, but perhaps she is working against the odds as the roof leaked onto the bed during a storm, there is only one bathroom and the walls are paper thin, I do not put these as negatives as for me it was a good nights sleep during a storm (and power cut) in high season. Certainly full of character! Make sure you ask if breakfast is provided (at a small cost) or not Hostelbookers people seem to get a choice, others do not.

Disliked: Just glad to get a bed for the night!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

psyche law

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 February 2012 psyche would recommend this property

Liked: lovely vew from the kitchen, owner is so friendly and helpful.

Disliked: psyche left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

01 January 2012

Liked: the staff is kind and its located near the port, we could go there by walk and the view is good.

Disliked: there were no toalla and no beakfast. and the staff was always busy.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

31 October 2011

Liked: An interesting building and a good view. Beautiful cats.

Disliked: Its rundown and I get the feeling that the owner has taken on too much. the communal area is very small and the kitchen, while adequte for a single person or a very small family, is not suitable for the needs of backpackers. there is only one bathroom. I was very cold here. I was unable to shut my window. In the morning, when I checked out three days early, the owner showed me how to shut the window. However, nobody was available when I went to bed.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Glynn Dean

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 May 2011 Glynn would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and very friendly hostess

Disliked: The walls were very thin which meant you could hear everything, nothing a pair of ear plugs didnt sort though

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a family house. I was the only tourist there. The owner is very friendly and helpfull. I met her kids too.

Disliked: It's a bit old, but it's clean.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Kirstie Adshead

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 March 2011

Liked: Quirkiness; in that the building had a tilt and moved slightly as you walked around.

Disliked: It is in need of some restoration.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: feels like home!

Disliked: nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

17 January 2011

Liked: The Hostel owner is very, very friendly, and she knows where to find good restaurants and activities in the area. The hostel is full of fun little games to play along with a TV available in the common room.

Disliked: The hostel is in a pretty old building, so it certainly shows the wear and tear of having been around for a long time. The owner has two cats that run around in the hostel, so if you're allergic or just don't like cats (like me) this could be a problem. Also, like most places in the Los Lagos district, the hostel was pricey for what we got.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anat Krispin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 January 2011 Anat would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms are very big and the beds are soft and comfortable.There is a very nice view of the bay from the kitchen and the lving room and also the room I stayed in. the wifi reception was good in the room aswell

Disliked: The floors are a little squicky and you need to be carful when you climb up the steep stairs entering the hostel from the street with a big backpack

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Kieran Geraghty

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 September 2010 Kieran would recommend this property

Liked: Nice cosy beds and made to feel very welcome.

Disliked: Kieran left no negative feedback.


See all Castro hostels