HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Arica hostels

Reviews of Hostel Casa de Huéspedes Doña Inés

Hostel | Manuel Rojas 2864.Av., Chapiquiña con Blest Gana, Arica, Chile .

82.3% Overall Rating

75 out of 92 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (09/01/2013)

Daniel Hope thinks…

"Great atmosphere, lots of things to do in the communal area. There is a supermarket just around the corner and breakfast is until 12pm, awesome! Also, it may be far away from town, but the area is…"

Read all Hostel Casa de Huéspedes Doña Inés reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Arica?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Arica

Beach House Ponderosa
14.19 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Residencial Tres Soles
15.96 USD

Hostel 82.5% 64 reviews
Hotel Casa Kolping
24.00 USD

Guesthouse 74.4% 22 reviews
Arica Surf House Hostel
15.07 USD

Hostel 90.6% 182 reviews
Mirador El Buey
17.56 USD

Hostel 81.9% 3 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.3%

Overall Rating

75 out of 92 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Casa de Huéspedes Doña Inés'

Atmosphere
89.6%
Location
63.2%
Facilities
83.2%
Cleanliness
78.4%
Staff
92.8%
Value
80.8%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 69 of 73 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

24 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Top class staff, very helpful indeed !!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

David Kelly

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 March 2013 David would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was very helpful, loved the swing, had a pool table, room was decent.

Disliked: David left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Julia Oliveira Rosa

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 February 2013 Julia would recommend this property

Liked: The owners were lovely! Great barbecue and the place has a great vibe.

Disliked: Julia left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Daniel Hope

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 January 2013 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, lots of things to do in the communal area. There is a supermarket just around the corner and breakfast is until 12pm, awesome! Also, it may be far away from town, but the area is safe, and being in a normal neighbourhood makes it feel more homely.

Disliked: It is far from downtown, but as has been mentioned here, it's really easy and cheap to get into town any time of the day or night. Also, I did walk from centro to the hostel, it took 40 mins and was a nice stroll, I felt completely safe and at home along the whole route.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Emma Uys

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 November 2012 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: Roberto and Bryan are brilliant hosts! Roberto greeted us with beer and escorted us around town when the local football team won their division for the first time in 27 years! The beds are SO comfortable!

Disliked: Nothing!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

10 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed only for the night, but the staff was really helpful! I had to leave before regular breakfast starts, so I cant say anything about that. But the owner got up and gave me some croissants and juice. Really helpful and flexible!

Disliked: There are no lockers or anything in the room.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Noora Ottela

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2012 Noora would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is great! The staff is really friendly and helpful, rooms are big and clean and the atmosphere is good. We enjoyed our stay there very much. We love our staff

Disliked: Noora left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 April 2012

Liked: It is really hard to review this place because the owner is soooo helpful and friendly. We arrived on the night bus from San Pedro at 7:00am and even though check in wasn't until 12:00pm he let us sleep in an empty dorm with no extra costs - the people who were staying in there had checked out earlier. We were given a free breakfast too. The owner has great information on the city and the border crossing with Peru (which is easy). All rooms have TV and a fridge. Wifi very strong in communal area. Location is not great but the shared taxis are easy to negotiate and only cost 500CLP per person.

Disliked: Kitchen was a disgrace, I didn't even attempt to use it. Really small and filthy. Our bathroom wasn't very clean and the bed sheets didn't seem to have been changed - there were "bits" and hairs in the sheets and they looked "slept in" . Breakfast is supposed to be served 9-12. We went down at 10am one day and no one was about so we gave up.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Roberto is very nice and helpful. The breakfast was good with fruits and Joghurt. Good that they have a kicker and a pool table!!!

Disliked: its far away from the centre but there is a good bus connection.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Roberto is awesome, such a friendly and welcoming host. Great place for a party! Such good value, definitely one of the best hostels we've stayed at in Chile!

Disliked: Its a taxi ride into town, although as there is not much to do in downtown Arica this isn't necessarily a problem!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Brenton James

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 January 2012 Brenton would recommend this property

Liked: Place is excellent, Roberto is a stand up gentleman and host, the other staff were excellent and really informative, helped us out with everything and even gave up their beds so they didn't have to turn anyone away, you don't feel like a guest you feel like a friend and Nino is brilliant but dangerous

Disliked: Brenton left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 January 2012

Liked: The staff was friendly

Disliked: Bad organisation, really unproffesional, we couldnt get in for more than 1 hour because of drunken staff (they did not hear the doorbell). Really far from everything.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Leigh Henderson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 September 2011 Leigh would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff / happy to help, good facilities - heaps of games pool table etc...Nice room, clean nd tidy. Supermarket near by... Very relaxed atmosphere.

Disliked: Not much to dislike, only let down is location, its a little bit away from main center, but its easy, quick and cheap to get to the main center.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Kristina Auxtova

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 July 2011 Kristina would recommend this property

Liked: Had a great time in this hostel, the staff is really friendly and helpful, the rooms are nice, clean, great place overall...

Disliked: A little too far...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Cian Mac Neill

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2011 Cian would recommend this property

Liked: Very cool place with plenty to do - pool table, table tennis etc. Freindly owners

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

18 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I felt very welcome upon arriving. The night we got there, they were having an asado. It was a fun hostel.

Disliked: It was far from the center. It was a lot farther from the center than what everybody had told me about it. Morew than a '20 minute' walk.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It has a nice big courtyard common area with tables, ping pong, TV and pool table. The staff are nice and seem down to party, though it was fairly quite when we were there. Wifi was fast, but only worked in the common areas.

Disliked: The kitchen is pretty small and it would be hard to have more than two people in there at a time, but it is well stocked with pot/pans, etc. It is located a ways away from the main part of town (40 mins walking) and the beach (about 20 min walking) but the collectivo taxis are very easy to use and cost 450 pesos per person.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

12 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful atmosphere. ..Roberto loves to talk and interact with visitors...be ready for a "mean" game of ping pong and a great BBQ (BBQ costs extra but is worth it)!

Disliked: Rooms are a bit dark and may not have a fan.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Miles Golson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 February 2011 Miles would recommend this property

Liked: This a great place to meet great people. Roberto and Marcia are a lot of fun, and that doesn't stop them from running their business smoothly. I will definitely return to this place!

Disliked: A little far from the beach, but getting a colectivo is really easy and not expensive.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 January 2011

Liked: - Every room has its own bathroom - The patio is really nice - Roberto is really helpfull when he is sober

Disliked: - The owner was really drunk and inpolite when we arrived - There is no wifi nor a computer - Location is really bad, far from the busstation, far from the beach, far from the city centre - There were no lockers in the room - There is a really intresting picture behind the bar....

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Derek Smith

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 December 2010 Derek would recommend this property

Liked: It is good fun and Roberto is very entertaining and provided us with loads of information. He makes a great bbq too!! The bedroom was huge and very clean. Would definately recommend this hostel.

Disliked: It is pretty far out of town but the collectivo taxis are very cheap and regular so it is not an issue. The kitchen could do with a bit of a clean though. The internet didnt work as they were changing provider which was a bit annoying having to run out to internet cafes.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Stephen Green

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 November 2010

Liked: If you are into partying host liked to be one of the lads.

Disliked: Very ,difficult to find, miles from anywhere

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Igor Leite

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 September 2010 Igor would recommend this property

Liked: Arica and the hostel are fantastic! The owner is really a great guy and willing to help you any second of the day. The decoration of the place is fantastic and the rooms are clean and cozy. I cant think of a better place to stay in Arica.

Disliked: Igor left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

cavat remi

29 January 2010 cavat would recommend this property

Liked: Great place, not far from the beach. The rooms are very clean, and the place is very friendly, with barbecue, ping pong table, hamac!!! really a good place to enjoys the beach!

Disliked: cavat left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John Noble

25 January 2010 John would recommend this property

Liked: Roberto, you are awesome and the rest of the guests and staff were great people as well, we had a blast. Only problem was the location was too far from downtown, beach was only a 30 minute walk.

Disliked: John left no negative feedback.


See all Arica hostels