HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Arica Surf House Arica Hostel

O'Higgins 661, Arica, Chile

Atmosphere 89%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 87%

Location 88%

Safety 90%

Staff 97%

Value 85%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Games Room
  • Hot Showers
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Towels for hire
  • Wheelchair Friendly
  • WiFi

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 10.60USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Arica?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 89%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 87%

Location 88%

Safety 90%

Staff 97%

Value 85%

Showing 41-12 of 12 reviews

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Cleanliness

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Dec 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Central location, nice staff, good breakfast and services

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Nov 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Business / conference, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Its character and the friendliness of the staff

Disliked: Sometimes showers were too hot.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Nov 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: cosy and good breakfast

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Nov 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: once I had gotten over the shock of accommodation prices in Chile, I found the hostel to be good value. Good size rooms, great chill out area (complete with wide screen TV and comfortable sofas), fast WiFi and proper coffee (for free) in the morning

Disliked: nada

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Nov 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Probably one of the best hostels we have stayed in South America. Extremely friendly and helpful staff. The pipe had broken in our room (double ensuite) just before we came and we couldn't stay there because of the smell. Instead they gave us one night free in double room with shared bathroom and the next night gave us the best ensuite they had. Extremely generous! Very good breakfast and excellent coffee, good location, very nice common area with pingpong table, couches, kitchen, tv, DVDs and cafeteria.

Disliked: In the shared bathroom there were only one toilet for ladies and not much privacy. Can't lock the toilet doors.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Oct 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The large common area with lots of sun and sofas and the large kitchen

Disliked: Nothing to dislike

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Oct 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing

Liked: It has a huge common area to hang out in with couches, ping pong table, hammocks, and a TV. It is a great place to hang out and relax after a day at the beach.

Disliked: The dorm is huge, 14 beds.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Breakfast was included, and was a choice of yogurt and cereal, or scrambled eggs, either way served with toast, OJ, and tea or coffee. There's free internet on the in-house terminals, and also wifi, there's a kitchen area open to all, if you want to just buy groceries and make your own meals, and a grocery in easy walking distance. Bed was comfortable, and there's hot water all day. The desk clerk was friendly, spoke fluent English, and was able to point us in the right direction for everything we needed (groceries, restaurants, taxis). We were able to switch to a matrimonial suite after arrival even though we booked a twin room, no trouble at all.

Disliked: We got the ensuite bathroom, so really can't comment on the communal bathroom situation. There was no toilet paper, but since we brought our own anyway, this was not a problem. Really, no complaints.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Friendly staff - even at 5.30am. Basic (it is a hostel not a hotel!) but clean and with a good vibe. I´d stay here again.

Disliked: Only one female toilet!

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability