We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Arica hostels

Reviews of Arica Surf House Hostel

Hostel | O'Higgins 661, Arica, Chile .

91.1% Overall Rating

177 out of 183 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/07/2014)

"Awesome breakfast. Friendly staff and big lockers in the dorms and a lot if space"

Read all Arica Surf House Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 11.75

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Arica?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Arica

Mirador El Buey
16.62 USD

Hostel 81.9% 3 reviews
Hotel Casa Kolping
24.00 USD

Guesthouse 74.4% 22 reviews
Residencial Tres Soles
15.11 USD

Hostel 83.1% 66 reviews
Beach House Ponderosa
13.43 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hostel Casa de Huéspedes Doña Inés
15.00 USD

Hostel 82.3% 92 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.1%

Overall Rating

177 out of 183 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Arica Surf House Hostel'

Atmosphere
90.4%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
90.4%
Cleanliness
88.0%
Staff
97.6%
Value
89.6%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 147 of 163 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly helpfull staff and very clean

Disliked: kitchenware à little old, but Theresia was enough

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Relaxed atmosphere, and very good coffee! Nice big open dorm, with single beds, makes a chnage from bunkbeds!

Disliked: Not much to dislike...

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good kitchen, good rooms,great place for surfers

Disliked: not so great if you´re not a surfer, showers and bathroom.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Rachael Hoggarth

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 June 2011 Rachael would recommend this property

Liked: Good common space, lovely staff, brilliant breakfast, fastest internet that we have found in ages. We were allowed to check in at 8am.

Disliked: Average bathrooms for the girls, apparently the men had more showers but only 2 for the girls and 1 toilet. Bit far from the beach.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Was open and airy in the heat. Rooms were a good size. Staff were friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Only one set of open bathrooms that were a bit wet and dirty most of time

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Huge common area, excellently equipped kitchen, clean bathrooms, great dorm with huge lockers and no bunkbeds! :) Cool and relaxed place to hang out, close to city center, with easy surf board rental. Breakfast is yummy. Though a bit pricey, still very recommendable.

Disliked: Staff lost a little bag in the laundry service and i found my sweater "drying" on the floor in front of the dorm...laundry seems a bit unorganized.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The dorm was awsome. I didn't appreciate just how good "no bunk beds" was until after a nights sleep. huge secure lockers at the foot of every bed. Breakfasts were good also.

Disliked: Showers were average (no hot water on one of my two days) but that's par for the course when traveling around.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely feel - nice social areas and excellent facilities.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emma Halliday

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 April 2011 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: I absolutely loved this property, the owner Kurt was amazing, so friendly and helpful. We stayed in the dorm and was amazed to see no bunk beds but large singles. The breakfast was so good a choice of pancakes, cereal and yoghurt and yummy scrambled eggs and tes or different coffees. The kitchen was large and well equiped with many tables to sit and eat at and a chill out sofa with huge tv. Everyone who stayed here was friendly.

Disliked: Nothing. One of the best hostels I've stayed in.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Matt Nicholls

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 April 2011 Matt would recommend this property

Liked: An excellent hostel at an excellent price. The 10 bed dorm is huge, which means there are no bunk beds and that it is possible to come in later and not wake people up. The lockers at the end of the bed are massive, and the shower and toilet facilities are also good. The hostel has a really cool surfhouse vibe, with a spacious kitchen and a large outer yard where you can play table tennis and watch TV, which has satellite. The breakfast was the best we´ve had yet on our trip, as the coffee shop in the reception rea served awesome scrambled eggs. The guy running the place was also exceptionally friendly, on one day he even gave us a ride to the beach in his van as he was going there himself. The location means it´s only a 5 min walk to the main strip which has plenty of cashpoints and supermarkets; all in all a great hostel in a great city.

Disliked: Nothing to complain about.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: all good !

Disliked: all good

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, good staff, good atmosphere, single beds in a dorm nice for a change.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ellen Lynch

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

02 April 2011 Ellen would recommend this property

Liked: It is very clean and spacious, i stayed in the dorm which is a huge room with single beds which is great as i don´t like bunkbeds! It has a lovey chill out area with kitchen at the back. Staff are so friendly and helpful it was a pleasure to stay there.

Disliked: No dislikes, for me it was the perfect stopover.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jackson Lore

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

30 March 2011 Jackson would recommend this property

Liked: staff very friendly and helpful, good value, good location

Disliked: woman's washroom showers not working well

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff were excellent, very clean and nice place to hang out. nice breakfast too!

Disliked: bit far from the north beach to go surfing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great Common Areas, Fantastic Breakfast, Helpful Staff

Disliked: Not that close to the beach

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Thomas Welsh

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 March 2011 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: great staff - really helpful, great surf leasons. fun hostel, nice breakfast, good vibe!

Disliked: nowt!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Well organized.Great coffee

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice big dorm, feels like good personal space. Great, helpful and friendly staff. Brilliant breakfast

Disliked: Loads of light bulbs missing in the dorm - none in my bedside lamp or the main light near the bed. So nearly pitch black at nightfall. Mentioned to staff on first morning but nothing done about it in the four days i was there

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is very nicely laid out: the dormitory is upstairs, spacious, and has big trunks where you can store your own stuff (bring your own lock) and there are clotheslines for drying. The kitchen and common area is nice and well stocked with cooking supplies and plenty of fridge space for storing. There were two computers with free hi speed access internet. I liked the breakfast too! You can choose between latte and expresso if you're a coffee drinker and tea and scrambled eggs are provided with jam and toast. During a previous stay I liked being able to organize a trip to Lauca Natl park. The bus even picked us up and dropped us off at the hostel.

Disliked: The location is a little far from town center and the beach and the street outside can be noisy at night. Otherwise, not too much to complain about.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

02 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: dorm is huge, no bunk beds, big lockers. kitchen is big and better than most hostels. expresso and latte's

Disliked: breakfast should be included.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Blake J. Boles

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year

18 February 2011 Blake J. would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! Staff are super helpful and speak English. Fantastic open-air common area.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The kitchen was amazing, staff were friendly and very helpful and the hostel had the best family feeling.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The laid back feel and the largest most spacous dorm we have stayed in so far making it a good stay. A good hostel with friendly, helpful staff.

Disliked: The price is on the higher end, but it was nice nonetheless and similar in price to others in the area

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice, funny house, nice people, friendly staff

Disliked: not that close to the sea


See all Arica hostels