HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Arica hostels

Reviews of Arica Surf House Hostel

Hostel | O'Higgins 661, Arica, Chile .

90.6% Overall Rating

176 out of 182 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (04/03/2014)

Norm Flemington thinks…

"It was a surprise to walk into after having driven through the city. Very open with lots of common spaces."

Read all Arica Surf House Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 12.41

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Arica?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Arica

Mirador El Buey
17.56 USD

Hostel 81.9% 3 reviews
Hotel Casa Kolping
24.00 USD

Guesthouse 74.4% 22 reviews
Residencial Tres Soles
15.96 USD

Hostel 82.5% 64 reviews
Beach House Ponderosa
14.19 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hostel Casa de Huéspedes Doña Inés
19.00 USD

Hostel 82.3% 92 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.6%

Overall Rating

176 out of 182 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Arica Surf House Hostel'

Atmosphere
89.6%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
89.6%
Cleanliness
87.2%
Staff
97.6%
Value
89.6%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 146 of 162 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
51.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Some of the staff were alright. The atmosphere was ok people made the place ok. The breakfast was good, and they had hot showers.

Disliked: The staff were mostly incompitant they didnt even know how to use the card machine! Our room wasnt perticularly clean. The window in the room opened out to the main corridor it was not properly secure it only had a piddly latch which wasnt even on properly. and the room was sweltering and the staff didnt even offer a fan!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Mirjan De Vos

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 March 2012 Mirjan would recommend this property

Liked: There are no bunkbeds, the dorm is massive, the hostel is realy spread out, there's à nice communal area to hang out!! Close to the centre! The breakfast is good!! I took à surf lession up here, I had à realy Good private teacher who explained realy well and the things hè teached fits to my person level!!

Disliked: There is just one toilet for females if you use the dorm

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Samuel Mccready

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 March 2012 Samuel would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere and really helpful staff. Arica surf house had a really good vibe to it and an extraordinary breakfast too. Would recommend to all.

Disliked: Samuel left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Norbert Lindner

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 March 2012 Norbert would recommend this property

Liked: good facilities

Disliked: Norbert left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

viviana Rozas

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

29 February 2012 viviana would recommend this property

Liked: Very simple rooms with great facilities within the hostel.

Disliked: not as close as some ppl may assume- but the centro is within walking distance.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very spacey dorm

Disliked: too expensive

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Tim Porter

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 January 2012 Tim would recommend this property

Liked: This was a great hostel with a good social area and big rooms. The breakfast was really good too with freshly made scrambled eggs on offer. The very best thing about this hostel though was the staff who were all excellent and very helpful, particularly Chez. We left our Ipod at the hostel and Chez arranged to have it sent on to us in Santiago. Now that´s good service!

Disliked: Tim left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Georgia Almeida

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 January 2012 Georgia would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness

Disliked: Georgia left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central location, nice staff, good breakfast and services

Disliked: nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Danielle French

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 January 2012 Danielle would recommend this property

Liked: Location, it was close to the beach. Had a good breakfast included and nice staff.

Disliked: The girls showers were broken and only had one toilet for all girls. In renovation process.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Brad Anderson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 January 2012 Brad would recommend this property

Liked: No bunk beds! Everyone gets there one bed in the dorm! Awesome staff, some of the best I have come across in over 2 months. Great breakfast (with eggs)! Sweet big outdoor common area to enjoy the great Arica weather.

Disliked: One of the pricier hostels I have stayed at for a dorm bed.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its character and the friendliness of the staff

Disliked: Sometimes showers were too hot.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cosy and good breakfast

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: once I had gotten over the shock of accommodation prices in Chile, I found the hostel to be good value. Good size rooms, great chill out area (complete with wide screen TV and comfortable sofas), fast WiFi and proper coffee (for free) in the morning

Disliked: nada

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Probably one of the best hostels we have stayed in South America. Extremely friendly and helpful staff. The pipe had broken in our room (double ensuite) just before we came and we couldn't stay there because of the smell. Instead they gave us one night free in double room with shared bathroom and the next night gave us the best ensuite they had. Extremely generous! Very good breakfast and excellent coffee, good location, very nice common area with pingpong table, couches, kitchen, tv, DVDs and cafeteria.

Disliked: In the shared bathroom there were only one toilet for ladies and not much privacy. Can't lock the toilet doors.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The large common area with lots of sun and sofas and the large kitchen

Disliked: Nothing to dislike

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

17 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It has a huge common area to hang out in with couches, ping pong table, hammocks, and a TV. It is a great place to hang out and relax after a day at the beach.

Disliked: The dorm is huge, 14 beds.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

13 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast was included, and was a choice of yogurt and cereal, or scrambled eggs, either way served with toast, OJ, and tea or coffee. There's free internet on the in-house terminals, and also wifi, there's a kitchen area open to all, if you want to just buy groceries and make your own meals, and a grocery in easy walking distance. Bed was comfortable, and there's hot water all day. The desk clerk was friendly, spoke fluent English, and was able to point us in the right direction for everything we needed (groceries, restaurants, taxis). We were able to switch to a matrimonial suite after arrival even though we booked a twin room, no trouble at all.

Disliked: We got the ensuite bathroom, so really can't comment on the communal bathroom situation. There was no toilet paper, but since we brought our own anyway, this was not a problem. Really, no complaints.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff - even at 5.30am. Basic (it is a hostel not a hotel!) but clean and with a good vibe. I´d stay here again.

Disliked: Only one female toilet!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

markus edin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 August 2011 markus would recommend this property

Liked: Badass hostel! The dorm is top class (big, only single beds, gigantic lockers at every bed) and the location is great. The kitchen got everything you need and the bar is cool! There is loads of surfboards and a few bikes and a ping pong table.

Disliked: If anything at all then the place could do with a bit of music.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

12 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice setup of living room

Disliked: mosquitos.. but not really their fault :D

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: My stay at Arica Surfhouse has been the most memorable so far. The staff are extremely helpful, the hostel is relaxed and friendly. It is laid out in such a way that you can sit and chat with other travellers, or watch tv, or sleep and do so in a seperate area. I came here to earn how to surf, so it is ideal if that is one of your priorties.

Disliked: There was nothing that I disliked about my stay here.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and felt like i was back home, awesome staff, great breakfast!

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice athmosphere, great breakfast, a lot of space in the dorm

Disliked: number of bathrooms could be a problem, a bit more privacy in the bathrooms could be good

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly helpfull staff and very clean

Disliked: kitchenware à little old, but Theresia was enough


See all Arica hostels