HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Ocean Island Backpackers Inn

Hostel | 791 Pandora Avenue, Victoria, British Columbia, Canada V8W 1N9

85.9% Overall Rating

138 out of 162 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/06/2014)

"Basic but clean we had a fridge and plenty of storage space in a rather small room plenty of shared bathroom facilities"

Read all Ocean Island Backpackers Inn reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 5.47
  • Towel USD 6.44

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Victoria?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Victoria

The Turtle Hostel
27.43 USD

Hostel 64.5% 144 reviews
HI Victoria Hostel
24.96 USD

Hostel 82.3% 60 reviews
Super 8 Saanichton Victoria Airport
25.06 USD

Hotel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.9%

Overall Rating

138 out of 162 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Ocean Island Backpackers Inn'

Atmosphere
84.8%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
80.0%
Cleanliness
84.0%
Staff
93.6%
Value
80.8%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 110 of 124 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Basic but clean we had a fridge and plenty of storage space in a rather small room plenty of shared bathroom facilities

Disliked: Small compact room and no air conditioning made it quite hot at night time

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: .

Disliked: .

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

robert boden

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 June 2014 robert would recommend this property

Liked: The service is good.

Disliked: Rooms are very small.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

29 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice and helpful staff, not too noisy, very good and affordable food in the lounge and free live music. Overall a good value for the price. Also, it was conveniently located downtown, there was storage for bags and bikes, and there were some great little cafes for breakfast nearby.

Disliked: No particular complaints. The room was a bit small, but that was expected. The room was as pictured on the website.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ross Penman

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

26 March 2014 Ross would recommend this property

Liked: Handy location, good facilities on offer. Staff were friendly and helpful, nice social atmosphere

Disliked: Only common area was the bar\cafe

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

LYNETTE LAWRY

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 November 2013

Liked: single bed in my room would have been wonderful

Disliked: read above

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

28 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, it was clean and didn't smell weird (like many low-priced lodgings). When i needed a towel, the girl at the counter waived the rental fee. I liked seeing older people staying there too - it wasnt only for 20 somethings. The fridge in the room was a useful surprise.

Disliked: There were some displaced individuals hanging around outside the entrance and kicking it up in the street outside the window at night but we never felt unsafe - it was just a little noisy.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

19 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff Great entertainment/activities such as live music Very close to centre Lovely city with lots I independent shops and cafes

Disliked: Very tiny rooms

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome bar, nightlife with friendly helpful staff. Best hostel wifi in the whole of Canada.

Disliked: Nothing that was an issue

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

03 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and all we needed

Disliked: Room was pretty hot and no aircon, just a fan, but still all we needed was there

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Helen Corry

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 July 2013 Helen would recommend this property

Liked: Could have included breakfast in the price but the food on offer was reasonably priced and a decent range including vegetarian stuff throughout the day. All staff were very friendly and helpful with good local knowledge and when I was there there was a really good band on in their bar. Bathrooms and rooms all nice and clean and they stored all your bags for free even after you'd checked out. They were all very helpful- would definately recommend

Disliked: Nothing major but I had the top bunk and access to my ladder was blocked by the lockers so I had to use the bed underneath to boost myself up- fine as the person underneath me was still awake when I got back but maybe annoying if i'd woken them up.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is located downtown. The rooms are nice and clean. The bathrooms are clean. We had a really good stay there !

Disliked: In the afternoon, the room was very very warm because of the sun. Taking a nap was not possible at that time and on this side of the building.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere with friendly and helpful staff on reception. Cheap food at the bar/cafe, free wi-fi, colourful room (no noise at night), close to everything. Reception has discount cards for Budget car hire, which was useful! Have already recommended this hostel to others.

Disliked: Room we stayed in was quite small and bar staff not so friendly.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location.

Disliked: Rooms are very small, even the doubles.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

17 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - Very clean bathrooms. - Normal hostel activities w/ some unique twists. - Fridge in the rooms. - They have live music quite a bit (not something I normally want from a hostel, though).

Disliked: - Everything costs money (wifi, towel (you give a deposit and get some of it back), food (no free breakfast), drinks (no outside alcohol), etc.). - Very little space in the rooms. - It's a tourist trap focused on backpackers.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Vera Mayer

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

22 May 2013 Vera would recommend this property

Liked: The Ocean Island Hostel offers cheaper accomodation and food in exchange for working there! That's just a great idea and excellent for travellers :)

Disliked: In some rooms, you hear all the noise from the street, even by night. But if you're a good sleeper, just bring ear plugs, or ask nicely for another room, that's not much pf a problem ;)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joel Grady

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 April 2013 Joel would recommend this property

Liked: It was great! the staff were great, the location was perfect! and the overall experience was good value for money!

Disliked: Nothing i was happy overall !

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome location in town, really warm when it was sooo cold.outside. cute rooms with lots of character

Disliked: None

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean rooms. On site Laundry.

Disliked: Not enough shared bathrooms.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Ocean Island is in a great location, just off of the main street of Victoria. The beds are okay, and lockers are secure and spacious. Shared bathrooms were really clean and well equipped.

Disliked: The dinner special was very average. The wifi broke on my last day but they offered free vouchers for the desktop computers.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It´s charming and has a bar right downstairs

Disliked: I missed a livingroom, you just can hang out in the lobby, but it wood be nice to have another room

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean and safe, discount to eat there

Disliked: Location 15 min from city centre, too small parking, few bathrooms

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very characteristic house :) good to find

Disliked: bathrooms not that clean

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Daniel Offer

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 October 2012 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Seemed a fairly average hostel, that said, it did offer fantastic internet speeds/internet. Best I've seen in a hostel. It seems to be the best in Victoria according to those that I spoke with - many problems at other hostels in the area. Clean, safe good location.

Disliked: Bar was expensive, and didn't let you consume own alcohol. Smoking allowed outside property meant that whilst sleeping you were disturbed (11pm-7am).

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff attitude and friendliness.

Disliked: Location near problem area of city - especially that homeless drug users feel no shame about approaching. I'm a single female traveller and didn't like to go out at night alone.