HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Ocean Island Inn | Backpackers | Suites Victoria Hostel

791 Pandora Avenue, Victoria, BC, Victoria, Canada

Atmosphere 79%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 80%

Location 89%

Safety 85%

Staff 90%

Value 79%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Parking
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Restaurant
  • Steam room
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 5.83USD
  • Towel 0.84USD

Important Information

Free continental breakfast.
Please note that the listed prices do not include taxes.
You must let us know before 18:00 (6pm) the day before your arrival if you need to cancel, otherwise you will be charged for one night.

ACCESSIBILITY: Our four floor historic building does not have an elevator, however baggage assistance is available. Please make a request on your reservation if you would like to stay on the first or second floor.

PARKING: Limited parking on site $10/day & unlimited parking 100m away $12/day

* Please note that all prices are subject to taxes.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Victoria?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 79%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 80%

Location 89%

Safety 85%

Staff 90%

Value 79%

Showing 11-20 of 22 reviews

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: .

Disliked: .

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 May 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very nice and helpful staff, not too noisy, very good and affordable food in the lounge and free live music. Overall a good value for the price. Also, it was conveniently located downtown, there was storage for bags and bikes, and there were some great little cafes for breakfast nearby.

Disliked: No particular complaints. The room was a bit small, but that was expected. The room was as pictured on the website.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break

Liked: Handy location, good facilities on offer. Staff were friendly and helpful, nice social atmosphere

Disliked: Only common area was the bar\\cafe

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: single bed in my room would have been wonderful

Disliked: read above

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Friendly staffGreat entertainment/activities such as live musicVery close to centre Lovely city with lots I independent shops and cafes

Disliked: Very tiny rooms

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Good location, it was clean and didn't smell weird (like many low-priced lodgings). When i needed a towel, the girl at the counter waived the rental fee. I liked seeing older people staying there too - it wasnt only for 20 somethings. The fridge in the room was a useful surprise.

Disliked: There were some displaced individuals hanging around outside the entrance and kicking it up in the street outside the window at night but we never felt unsafe - it was just a little noisy.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Awesome bar, nightlife with friendly helpful staff. Best hostel wifi in the whole of Canada.

Disliked: Nothing that was an issue

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Clean and all we needed

Disliked: Room was pretty hot and no aircon, just a fan, but still all we needed was there

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Could have included breakfast in the price but the food on offer was reasonably priced and a decent range including vegetarian stuff throughout the day. All staff were very friendly and helpful with good local knowledge and when I was there there was a really good band on in their bar. Bathrooms and rooms all nice and clean and they stored all your bags for free even after you'd checked out. They were all very helpful- would definately recommend

Disliked: Nothing major but I had the top bunk and access to my ladder was blocked by the lockers so I had to use the bed underneath to boost myself up- fine as the person underneath me was still awake when I got back but maybe annoying if i'd woken them up.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Romantic getaway, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It is located downtown. The rooms are nice and clean. The bathrooms are clean. We had a really good stay there !

Disliked: In the afternoon, the room was very very warm because of the sun. Taking a nap was not possible at that time and on this side of the building.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability