HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Urban Hideaway Guesthouse

Guesthouse | 581 Richards Street, Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada V6B-2Z5

95.2% Overall Rating

198 out of 203 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/10/2013)

"Owner is fantastic, incredibly helpful. Great resource for learning about what's happening and where to go."

Read all The Urban Hideaway Guesthouse reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Communal kitchen
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Rooms will be reserved until 8pm on the specified day. (If you require a later check-in please notify us in advance). We do not charge a cancellation fee if you let us know ahead of time. In the event that adequate 7day notice is not given, we reserve the right to charge your stay.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Vancouver?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Vancouver

St. Clair Hotel - Hostel
18.13 USD

Hostel 73.8% 235 reviews
The Cambie International Hostel - Seymour
30.81 USD

Hostel 73.9% 190 reviews
Days Inn Hotel Downtown
51.89 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
The Cambie International Hostel - Gastown
25.38 USD

Hostel 68.8% 145 reviews
YWCA Hotel
36.25 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
SameSun Backpacker Lodges - Vancouver
25.83 USD

Hostel 89.8% 428 reviews
Hostelling International Vancouver Central
23.74 USD

Hostel 84.7% 615 reviews
Hotel Ambassador
24.92 USD

Hotel 2 star 79.9% 103 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
95.2%

Overall Rating

198 out of 203 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Urban Hideaway Guesthouse'

Atmosphere
97.6%
Location
100.0%
Facilities
91.2%
Cleanliness
95.2%
Staff
98.4%
Value
88.8%
Safety
95.2%
Refine your results Showing 158 of 163 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

13 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Owner is fantastic, incredibly helpful. Great resource for learning about what's happening and where to go.

Disliked: Depending on which room you're in, street noise can be an issue. But then again, you're in downtown Vancouver... what do you expect?

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

06 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff/owners (Ken and Janine). Really helpful advice about tourism and dinner, etc. Nice and comfortable house. Only 6(app) rooms, so the 2 shared bathrooms are sufficient, never had to wait.

Disliked: The patio was on renovation, so we couldn't use it. :-(

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tina Lin

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

25 September 2012 Tina would recommend this property

Liked: The location was fantastic, the hosts were helpful and friendly, the free breakfast was delicious and plentiful and the bed was the most comfortable I have ever slept in!

Disliked: The showers were tricky because they heated up extremely quickly, so be warned!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great character! Great location! Great host!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Super friendly, home away from home, very nicely done up house, all neat and tidy.

Disliked: It seems a bit nit picky I know, but the blind in the window of my room just wasn't big enough so it never got dark. I feel that fitting curtains or bigger blinds would make it just a bit more comfortable for jetlagged guests! Also there is no longer a computer for the internet as it seems everyone's more technologically advanced than me and brings their own...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel has a very positive personal vibe about it. You can tell that the hostel owners have put a lot of work into it and they're making you feel very welcome. The location is excellent: Right in the middle of downtown Vancouver, in a historical house which has been nicely refurbished. The breakfast offer is better than other standard offers. There are two cats which we found great but if you're allergic you might wanna check that out first.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

27 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A very nice and cozy House - beautifully equipped with nice furniture and all kinds of material (like for example lots of DVDs, that make you want to stay in doors, although you are actually on holyday and have planned to visit Vancouver ;-)) It is comparatively quiet inside the house, concearning that it's right down town - maybe it is because the house itself is rather hidden from the street, which makes the place a kind of cool secret in a way...^^. The do-it-yourself-breakfast contains lots and lots of opportnities that keep your meals in the morning a pleasure - it also is so much fun cooking in the kitchen. The staff is absolutely competent in giving hints and recommendations for all kinds of activities in Vancouver and also all over BC and always good for a nice litte (or even long^^) chat. Also they really make you feel like a friend at home!!! - thank you so much, Janine and Ken; we enjoyed it so much at your place!!!!!

Disliked: ...because of the weather during winter-times, we were unable to have brakfast on the comfortable-looking terrace/garden...^^

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This guesthouse was perfect for a short stay in Vancouver; I loved everything about it. Excellent location downtown, handy for getting around. The owners are very friendly and helpful and made us feel right at home. The house itself is very clean, quiet, and comfortable. I definitely recommend staying here!

Disliked: Unfortunately depending what room you're staying in, there might not be a view or even much sunlight since the guesthouse is bracketed by tall buildings, but that is the only fault I can find with it. It's a great place to stay and I'd definitely visit again.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

14 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff and guests. There is a big difference in room size so check what you are booking. In room basin was good.

Disliked: The need to prop the windows open for ventilation is a bit of a disadvantage and window did not lock.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

17 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location and breakfast were good. Im not sure you could get much better for right in the city. Bathrooms are clean although may need new locks. Our room had a sink in it which is always good when bathrooms are shared.

Disliked: I asked for a room with a double bed and our room had 2 single beds. It also had 2 windows both internal facing. Would have been better if we could have got a better room but i understand they were full for the busy summer season...

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lots of character, friendly owners, great rooms (we stayed in 2 of them), wifi, access to Vancouver Centre only a 5min walk. Good to be able to use the kitchen for breakfasts and even better that milk, eggs, bacon, cereal etc is all provided for you. Much like a home from home, not like a normal guest house at all. Added bonus is they have a massive DVD collection and players/tv's in every room so on quiet nights you could always grab a movie or box set to while away some time.

Disliked: Nothing substantial only one minor quibble which is that breakfast room is only open from 8-10:30am. So for early starts, such as when leaving early in the morning on out last day for our flight home it would have been good to get access earlier. Having said that I am sure that if you made a special request to the owners they might let you go in early.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A nice and warm place to be. Super location for exploring the city.

Disliked: Nothing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

29 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location, helpful & friendly, neat room :-)

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference

10 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It felt like a real home, nice and quite.

Disliked: Brackfast started at 8am, if you're here for buiseness that is a pity, altough I was allowed to take some food the night before.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

11 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: So charming and full of character. Welcoming and beautiful house, great location, forget you're in the city. Ideal.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Georgina Cole

Alone

Business / conference

22 March 2011 Georgina would recommend this property

Liked: Very accommodating and friendly staff, quaint architecture, extremely clean. Some rooms are a bit nicer than others - the view room is lovely. The two resident cats are charming.

Disliked: Given its age (which is part of its charm) the house is not completely sound proof, so there was a lot of giggling to be heard from neighbouring rooms.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

15 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It has a very nice atmosphere and friendly and helpful host couple. A nice place to relax and meet people!

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

18 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere. Smack in the middle of the city and still and quiet place. Very friendly and helpful owners. Breakfast is not just a slice of dry bread, cheap cereal and some watered down juice like in other hostels that include breakfast but instead a full selection of eggs, bacon and the lot!

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

julia soumilas

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 February 2011 julia would recommend this property

Liked: Our room was lovely and it felt like staying in someones home

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Samantha Barnett

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 January 2011 Samantha would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff

Disliked: -

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room, the shower, the kitchen, the dvd range, the owners were fantastic.

Disliked: n/a

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

12 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Loft suite is extremely cool, it's like having your own downtown apartment. Can't recommend highly enough. Spend a little extra, if you can.Very central location.Friendly and helpful people (Jeanine and Karen were great).

Disliked: The breakfast service is a little disappointing. Hard to find things, nowhere to sit, the place doubles up as the owner's home so we weren't sure what fridge to use, what milk was theirs, ours etc. Don't let this put you off though. It's a very cool place. Just go out for brekkie and see more of Vancouver! The immediate block the hostel is on is a bit dark at night with a few miscreants hanging around, but we had no troubles. 100 yards west and you're into downtown.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway

31 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It felt that we were invited to someones home.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful place, central location and lovely hosts. Met nice people her, enjoyed the breakfast, loved the room and all the little details. Perfect for my start in Canada. Would love to stay longer and will definitely be back. Thanks Janine, Martina and Kris

Disliked: What is there to dislike? Nothing, absolutely nothing!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture
Family Holiday

24 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is in a great location and is a really lovely and relaxed place to stay

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.