We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Urban Hideaway Guesthouse

Guesthouse | 581 Richards Street, Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada V6B-2Z5

93.9% Overall Rating

207 out of 212 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/11/2014)

"Nice (but small) kitchen with everything you could want for breakfast (i.e. you can make yourself cerial, pancakes, eggs, bacon etc). Cozy rooms, clean bathrooms, helpful owners."

Read all The Urban Hideaway Guesthouse reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Communal kitchen
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Rooms will be reserved until 8pm on the specified day. (If you require a later check-in please notify us in advance). We do not charge a cancellation fee if you let us know ahead of time. In the event that adequate 7day notice is not given, we reserve the right to charge your stay.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Vancouver?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Vancouver

St. Clair Hotel - Hostel
20.59 USD

Hostel 75.0% 271 reviews
The Cambie International Hostel - Seymour
28.20 USD

Hostel 73.9% 190 reviews
Days Inn Hotel Downtown
115.47 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
The Cambie International Hostel - Gastown
25.06 USD

Hostel 68.8% 145 reviews
YWCA Hotel
36.70 USD

Hotel 3 star 96.0% 5 reviews
Hostelling International Vancouver Central
23.44 USD

Hostel 83.9% 642 reviews
SameSun Backpacker Lodges - Vancouver
25.96 USD

Hostel 84.2% 466 reviews
Hotel Ambassador
29.09 USD

Hotel 2 star 80.6% 109 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.9%

Overall Rating

207 out of 212 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Urban Hideaway Guesthouse'

Atmosphere
95.2%
Location
99.2%
Facilities
89.6%
Cleanliness
96.0%
Staff
98.4%
Value
86.4%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 165 of 172 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 November 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice (but small) kitchen with everything you could want for breakfast (i.e. you can make yourself cerial, pancakes, eggs, bacon etc). Cozy rooms, clean bathrooms, helpful owners.

Disliked: very expensive when travelling on a backpackers budget.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Richard Ayre

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

06 September 2014 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: Location, location, location

Disliked: Very tight staircase. Crowded when all patrons are breakfasting at same time.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Evelyn Yung

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2014 Evelyn would recommend this property

Liked: It's very clean and comfortable. I stayed in the shared dome and it's fun meeting the new people. This was the first time I've ever stayed in a hostel. Good experience!

Disliked: The street light was bright and it would be nice if there was a blind.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: super-friendly and helpful staff

Disliked: a common room would be nice

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

15 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Relaxed, friendly environment. Clean, quirky, west-coast, mix and match decore.

Disliked: The quirkiness extends to low ceilings and awkward stairs.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is right in the middle of Vancouver and so well-placed for sightseeing. We were given good advice about places to visit and area to eat in. Breakfast is a communal experience and is a good opportunity to meet up with other travellers, which is fun. The hostel cats are also very welcoming!

Disliked: Inevitably, because it is in the middle of the city there is some road noise at night.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

16 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Place is beautiful and located on a very nice area. If you want to rest this is the place to stay. Ken and Eva are wonderful hosts and extremely friendly

Disliked: If you are traveling alone and expecting to meet people/socialize then probably this is not the place for you. For me it work out as I needed a break.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

13 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Owner is fantastic, incredibly helpful. Great resource for learning about what's happening and where to go.

Disliked: Depending on which room you're in, street noise can be an issue. But then again, you're in downtown Vancouver... what do you expect?

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

06 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff/owners (Ken and Janine). Really helpful advice about tourism and dinner, etc. Nice and comfortable house. Only 6(app) rooms, so the 2 shared bathrooms are sufficient, never had to wait.

Disliked: The patio was on renovation, so we couldn't use it. :-(

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tina Lin

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

25 September 2012 Tina would recommend this property

Liked: The location was fantastic, the hosts were helpful and friendly, the free breakfast was delicious and plentiful and the bed was the most comfortable I have ever slept in!

Disliked: The showers were tricky because they heated up extremely quickly, so be warned!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great character! Great location! Great host!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Super friendly, home away from home, very nicely done up house, all neat and tidy.

Disliked: It seems a bit nit picky I know, but the blind in the window of my room just wasn't big enough so it never got dark. I feel that fitting curtains or bigger blinds would make it just a bit more comfortable for jetlagged guests! Also there is no longer a computer for the internet as it seems everyone's more technologically advanced than me and brings their own...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel has a very positive personal vibe about it. You can tell that the hostel owners have put a lot of work into it and they're making you feel very welcome. The location is excellent: Right in the middle of downtown Vancouver, in a historical house which has been nicely refurbished. The breakfast offer is better than other standard offers. There are two cats which we found great but if you're allergic you might wanna check that out first.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

27 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A very nice and cozy House - beautifully equipped with nice furniture and all kinds of material (like for example lots of DVDs, that make you want to stay in doors, although you are actually on holyday and have planned to visit Vancouver ;-)) It is comparatively quiet inside the house, concearning that it's right down town - maybe it is because the house itself is rather hidden from the street, which makes the place a kind of cool secret in a way...^^. The do-it-yourself-breakfast contains lots and lots of opportnities that keep your meals in the morning a pleasure - it also is so much fun cooking in the kitchen. The staff is absolutely competent in giving hints and recommendations for all kinds of activities in Vancouver and also all over BC and always good for a nice litte (or even long^^) chat. Also they really make you feel like a friend at home!!! - thank you so much, Janine and Ken; we enjoyed it so much at your place!!!!!

Disliked: ...because of the weather during winter-times, we were unable to have brakfast on the comfortable-looking terrace/garden...^^

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This guesthouse was perfect for a short stay in Vancouver; I loved everything about it. Excellent location downtown, handy for getting around. The owners are very friendly and helpful and made us feel right at home. The house itself is very clean, quiet, and comfortable. I definitely recommend staying here!

Disliked: Unfortunately depending what room you're staying in, there might not be a view or even much sunlight since the guesthouse is bracketed by tall buildings, but that is the only fault I can find with it. It's a great place to stay and I'd definitely visit again.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

14 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff and guests. There is a big difference in room size so check what you are booking. In room basin was good.

Disliked: The need to prop the windows open for ventilation is a bit of a disadvantage and window did not lock.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

17 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location and breakfast were good. Im not sure you could get much better for right in the city. Bathrooms are clean although may need new locks. Our room had a sink in it which is always good when bathrooms are shared.

Disliked: I asked for a room with a double bed and our room had 2 single beds. It also had 2 windows both internal facing. Would have been better if we could have got a better room but i understand they were full for the busy summer season...

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lots of character, friendly owners, great rooms (we stayed in 2 of them), wifi, access to Vancouver Centre only a 5min walk. Good to be able to use the kitchen for breakfasts and even better that milk, eggs, bacon, cereal etc is all provided for you. Much like a home from home, not like a normal guest house at all. Added bonus is they have a massive DVD collection and players/tv's in every room so on quiet nights you could always grab a movie or box set to while away some time.

Disliked: Nothing substantial only one minor quibble which is that breakfast room is only open from 8-10:30am. So for early starts, such as when leaving early in the morning on out last day for our flight home it would have been good to get access earlier. Having said that I am sure that if you made a special request to the owners they might let you go in early.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A nice and warm place to be. Super location for exploring the city.

Disliked: Nothing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

29 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location, helpful & friendly, neat room :-)

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference

10 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It felt like a real home, nice and quite.

Disliked: Brackfast started at 8am, if you're here for buiseness that is a pity, altough I was allowed to take some food the night before.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

11 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: So charming and full of character. Welcoming and beautiful house, great location, forget you're in the city. Ideal.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Georgina Cole

Alone

Business / conference

22 March 2011 Georgina would recommend this property

Liked: Very accommodating and friendly staff, quaint architecture, extremely clean. Some rooms are a bit nicer than others - the view room is lovely. The two resident cats are charming.

Disliked: Given its age (which is part of its charm) the house is not completely sound proof, so there was a lot of giggling to be heard from neighbouring rooms.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

15 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It has a very nice atmosphere and friendly and helpful host couple. A nice place to relax and meet people!

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

18 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere. Smack in the middle of the city and still and quiet place. Very friendly and helpful owners. Breakfast is not just a slice of dry bread, cheap cereal and some watered down juice like in other hostels that include breakfast but instead a full selection of eggs, bacon and the lot!

Disliked: nothing