We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Urban Hideaway Guesthouse

Guesthouse | 581 Richards Street, Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada V6B-2Z5

93.6% Overall Rating

215 out of 220 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/08/2015)

"This place have several important pluses: 1. Great location downtown Vancouver. Many of the city's main attractions in walking distance, Gastown with its cool bars and restaurants just around the corner. 2. With private…"

Read all The Urban Hideaway Guesthouse reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Communal kitchen
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Rooms will be reserved until 8pm on the specified day. (If you require a later check-in please notify us in advance). We do not charge a cancellation fee if you let us know ahead of time. In the event that adequate 7day notice is not given, we reserve the right to charge your stay.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Vancouver?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Vancouver

St. Clair Hotel - Hostel
18.74 USD

Hostel 79.7% 280 reviews
Days Inn Hotel Downtown
165.82 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
YWCA Hotel
38.62 USD

Hotel 3 star 94.0% 10 reviews
Hostelling International Vancouver Central
28.97 USD

Hostel 82.7% 657 reviews
SameSun Backpacker Lodges - Vancouver
31.80 USD

Hostel 89.5% 499 reviews
Hotel Ambassador
33.69 USD

Hotel 2 star 82.3% 113 reviews
C and N Backpackers - Vancouver
21.20 USD

Hostel 65.1% 296 reviews
C and N backpackers (Central Station Hostel)
21.20 USD

Hostel 64.8% 126 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.6%

Overall Rating

215 out of 220 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Urban Hideaway Guesthouse'

Atmosphere
95.2%
Location
97.6%
Facilities
89.6%
Cleanliness
96.8%
Staff
97.6%
Value
84.8%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 173 of 180 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place have several important pluses: 1. Great location downtown Vancouver. Many of the city's main attractions in walking distance, Gastown with its cool bars and restaurants just around the corner. 2. With private rooms equipped with comfy beds and nice furniture it feels more like a hotel or B&B rather than a typical hostel. You only need to share the bathroom (there are 2 for 6 rooms, always clean, never needed to wait to take a shower) and kitchen. 3. The host, Patrick, really cares about the satisfaction of his customers. The place is super-clean, kitchen is fully equipped (you make your own breakfast from a mountain of quality ingrediences provided by the host), and the atmosphere always friendly. Ask Patrick for tips on where to go and what to see, and follow his advice. You might discover a few interesting places that were not on your schedule! 4. The price is right for the service you get.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kate Griffiths

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 August 2015 Kate would recommend this property

Liked: Patrick was a great host - very knowledgeable about the city and had some great suggestions. He also helped me with recommendations for hostels in other cities I was to visit. Great hostel, lovely breakfast, good showers and 3 resident cats to pet! And free bike loans to get around.

Disliked: Nothing!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

13 July 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Sehr gute, zentrale Unterkunft im Herzen von Vancouver. Das Personal ist sehr freundlich und gibt gerne umfangreiche Tipps zu Restaurants und Ausflugszielen in der Umgebung (abseits der üblichen Touristenattraktionen). In der Gemeinschaftsküche kann man nicht nur super kochen, sondern auch Menschen aus allen Teilen der Welt kennenlernen. Insgesamt haben wir uns bei unserem Aufenthalt sehr wohl gefühlt und würden hier definitiv gerne wieder übernachten :)

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Allen Pauly

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

30 June 2015 Allen would recommend this property

Liked: Very cute and clean ~ friendly atmosphere. Patrick went out of his way to make us feel welcome and give suggestions for touring Vancouver. Would definitely stay there again!

Disliked: Allen left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Ease of access to venues and parks as well as parking. We were treated like a relative who finally came to visit. Patrick and Ava provided wonderful recommendations per our needs. World maps around the house. Cozy, colorful garden sitting area Cats

Disliked: The squeeky staris (in attempt to not arouse other guests).

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Lukas Kamm

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 March 2015 Lukas would recommend this property

Liked: It actually IS home away from home!

Disliked: -

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Old house with lots of character Only a few rooms Excellent location

Disliked: The room was cold at times No breakfast included if stayed in dorm Kitchen and fridge small if you actually wanted to cook a dinner Cats running around

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very homely and welcoming place with great staff and comfy beds. Breakfast was great and location was perfect too.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 November 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice (but small) kitchen with everything you could want for breakfast (i.e. you can make yourself cerial, pancakes, eggs, bacon etc). Cozy rooms, clean bathrooms, helpful owners.

Disliked: very expensive when travelling on a backpackers budget.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Richard Ayre

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

06 September 2014 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: Location, location, location

Disliked: Very tight staircase. Crowded when all patrons are breakfasting at same time.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Evelyn Yung

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2014 Evelyn would recommend this property

Liked: It's very clean and comfortable. I stayed in the shared dome and it's fun meeting the new people. This was the first time I've ever stayed in a hostel. Good experience!

Disliked: The street light was bright and it would be nice if there was a blind.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: super-friendly and helpful staff

Disliked: a common room would be nice

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

15 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Relaxed, friendly environment. Clean, quirky, west-coast, mix and match decore.

Disliked: The quirkiness extends to low ceilings and awkward stairs.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is right in the middle of Vancouver and so well-placed for sightseeing. We were given good advice about places to visit and area to eat in. Breakfast is a communal experience and is a good opportunity to meet up with other travellers, which is fun. The hostel cats are also very welcoming!

Disliked: Inevitably, because it is in the middle of the city there is some road noise at night.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

16 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Place is beautiful and located on a very nice area. If you want to rest this is the place to stay. Ken and Eva are wonderful hosts and extremely friendly

Disliked: If you are traveling alone and expecting to meet people/socialize then probably this is not the place for you. For me it work out as I needed a break.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

13 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Owner is fantastic, incredibly helpful. Great resource for learning about what's happening and where to go.

Disliked: Depending on which room you're in, street noise can be an issue. But then again, you're in downtown Vancouver... what do you expect?

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

06 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff/owners (Ken and Janine). Really helpful advice about tourism and dinner, etc. Nice and comfortable house. Only 6(app) rooms, so the 2 shared bathrooms are sufficient, never had to wait.

Disliked: The patio was on renovation, so we couldn't use it. :-(

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tina Lin

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

25 September 2012 Tina would recommend this property

Liked: The location was fantastic, the hosts were helpful and friendly, the free breakfast was delicious and plentiful and the bed was the most comfortable I have ever slept in!

Disliked: The showers were tricky because they heated up extremely quickly, so be warned!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great character! Great location! Great host!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Super friendly, home away from home, very nicely done up house, all neat and tidy.

Disliked: It seems a bit nit picky I know, but the blind in the window of my room just wasn't big enough so it never got dark. I feel that fitting curtains or bigger blinds would make it just a bit more comfortable for jetlagged guests! Also there is no longer a computer for the internet as it seems everyone's more technologically advanced than me and brings their own...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel has a very positive personal vibe about it. You can tell that the hostel owners have put a lot of work into it and they're making you feel very welcome. The location is excellent: Right in the middle of downtown Vancouver, in a historical house which has been nicely refurbished. The breakfast offer is better than other standard offers. There are two cats which we found great but if you're allergic you might wanna check that out first.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

27 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A very nice and cozy House - beautifully equipped with nice furniture and all kinds of material (like for example lots of DVDs, that make you want to stay in doors, although you are actually on holyday and have planned to visit Vancouver ;-)) It is comparatively quiet inside the house, concearning that it's right down town - maybe it is because the house itself is rather hidden from the street, which makes the place a kind of cool secret in a way...^^. The do-it-yourself-breakfast contains lots and lots of opportnities that keep your meals in the morning a pleasure - it also is so much fun cooking in the kitchen. The staff is absolutely competent in giving hints and recommendations for all kinds of activities in Vancouver and also all over BC and always good for a nice litte (or even long^^) chat. Also they really make you feel like a friend at home!!! - thank you so much, Janine and Ken; we enjoyed it so much at your place!!!!!

Disliked: ...because of the weather during winter-times, we were unable to have brakfast on the comfortable-looking terrace/garden...^^

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This guesthouse was perfect for a short stay in Vancouver; I loved everything about it. Excellent location downtown, handy for getting around. The owners are very friendly and helpful and made us feel right at home. The house itself is very clean, quiet, and comfortable. I definitely recommend staying here!

Disliked: Unfortunately depending what room you're staying in, there might not be a view or even much sunlight since the guesthouse is bracketed by tall buildings, but that is the only fault I can find with it. It's a great place to stay and I'd definitely visit again.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

14 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff and guests. There is a big difference in room size so check what you are booking. In room basin was good.

Disliked: The need to prop the windows open for ventilation is a bit of a disadvantage and window did not lock.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

17 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location and breakfast were good. Im not sure you could get much better for right in the city. Bathrooms are clean although may need new locks. Our room had a sink in it which is always good when bathrooms are shared.

Disliked: I asked for a room with a double bed and our room had 2 single beds. It also had 2 windows both internal facing. Would have been better if we could have got a better room but i understand they were full for the busy summer season...

The property's response is...