We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Urban Hideaway Guesthouse

Guesthouse | 581 Richards Street, Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada V6B-2Z5

93.6% Overall Rating

215 out of 220 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/08/2015)

"This place have several important pluses: 1. Great location downtown Vancouver. Many of the city's main attractions in walking distance, Gastown with its cool bars and restaurants just around the corner. 2. With private…"

Read all The Urban Hideaway Guesthouse reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Communal kitchen
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Rooms will be reserved until 8pm on the specified day. (If you require a later check-in please notify us in advance). We do not charge a cancellation fee if you let us know ahead of time. In the event that adequate 7day notice is not given, we reserve the right to charge your stay.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Vancouver?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Vancouver

St. Clair Hotel - Hostel
18.73 USD

Hostel 79.7% 280 reviews
Days Inn Hotel Downtown
165.70 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
YWCA Hotel
38.59 USD

Hotel 3 star 94.0% 10 reviews
Hostelling International Vancouver Central
28.27 USD

Hostel 82.7% 657 reviews
SameSun Backpacker Lodges - Vancouver
36.32 USD

Hostel 89.5% 499 reviews
Hotel Ambassador
33.67 USD

Hotel 2 star 82.3% 113 reviews
C and N Backpackers - Vancouver
21.18 USD

Hostel 65.1% 296 reviews
C and N backpackers (Central Station Hostel)
21.18 USD

Hostel 64.8% 126 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.6%

Overall Rating

215 out of 220 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Urban Hideaway Guesthouse'

Atmosphere
95.2%
Location
97.6%
Facilities
89.6%
Cleanliness
96.8%
Staff
97.6%
Value
84.8%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 173 of 180 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

29 November 2006 would recommend this property

Liked: The location, owners, use of their wonderful kitchen, video selections and a DVD player in each room! Qauint, overall perfect. I do have a problem with that party question, which seems to appear on all your questionnaires and of course it has to be answered or it won't go. Therefore, my answer is only there so that the survey will go, it does not reflect my views on it, as that was not my purpose. An N/A option might be adviseable.I would return to this hostel in a heart beat! They were wonderful!

Disliked: left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

05 November 2006 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly hosts. Great location & beautiful room. Even though it was located in the middle of the city, it's tucked away and feels very private. I would definitely book this hostel again in future.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

25 October 2006 would recommend this property

Liked: The owners are very nice and accomidating.

Disliked: left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

24 October 2006 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Access to cooking facilities at all time More like a home than a hostel

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

03 October 2006 would recommend this property

Liked: The owners were fantastic!If you want a homely atmosphere, then stay here.Great vibe - for young or old visitors. I am in my 30's but there was also people in their 60's (at one point) staying there.

Disliked: left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

24 September 2006 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpfull and nice owners. Great location, fantastic atmosphere. It was the best place we ever stayed. Anita & Roy

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

24 September 2006 would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere was great. I saved money by buying my own food and then cooking most nights at the Guesthouse. I met other fellow travelors, and we all had such a wonderful time staying there. It truly was a home away from home. I recommend the Guesthouse to anyone and everyone.

Disliked: left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

12 September 2006 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

05 September 2006 would recommend this property

Liked: atmosphere, location, cleanliness

Disliked: left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

02 September 2006 would recommend this property

Liked: The of time spent on detail was value enough

Disliked: left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

30 August 2006 would recommend this property

Liked: We loved the warm, friendly atmosphere, and the opportunity to meet so many different world travelers. Also, loved the location, and the beauty of the home itself, with its gorgeous patio. The owners have fostered a quiet, safe environment, and one in which we could truly relax, cook our breakfast in the lovely kitchen, and just sit and kibbutz. Excellent location for our vacation!

Disliked: left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

15 August 2006 would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and open atmosphere with wonderful hosts, Ken and Jeanine! Location is fantastic, close to Vancouver harbor, Gastown and China Town.

Disliked: left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

05 August 2006 would recommend this property

Liked: Gorgeous room. Plants. Great location in downtown area. Extremely helpful owners and staff.

Disliked: left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

03 August 2006 would recommend this property

Liked: What a fantastic place to stay! Urban-Hdeaway is more a guest house than a hostel. The owners are so friendly and welcoming. It was very clean and centrally located. I can't wait to stay there again!

Disliked: left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

03 July 2006 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: ken and Janine , the owners, are an absoltely fabulous couple. they are so full fo information and very friendly.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

21 June 2006 would recommend this property

Liked: The deck had an amazing garden! The kitchen was roomy and nice for socializing. Eggs, toast, VEGTABLES, and all other normal breakfast foods were provided for if you wanted to make something. I could not have stayed in a better place.

Disliked: left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

18 June 2006 would recommend this property

Liked: Very charming place. Very nice hosts. A pretty little garden with lots of flowers. A kitchen with everything you need for breakfast. Lots of DVD-films in the "living room".

Disliked: left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

12 June 2006 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It felt like staying with friends. The garden is lovely, and the owners are knowledgeable, helpful but not intrusive, and a pleasure to talk to.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

12 June 2006 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff and guests, beautiful open kitchen space

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

10 June 2006 would recommend this property

Liked: warm familiar atmosphere, feeling welcome in a nearly private environment, the experience of an old victorian house

Disliked: left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

04 June 2006 would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful!!!

Disliked: left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

03 June 2006 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Within walking distance of Gastown and Seabus and Skytrain station.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

29 May 2006 would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere, the friendly owner's, the proximity to all amenities downtown

Disliked: left no negative feedback.