HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Urban Hideaway Guesthouse

Guesthouse | 581 Richards Street, Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada V6B-2Z5

94.4% Overall Rating

204 out of 209 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/08/2014)

Evelyn Yung thinks…

"It's very clean and comfortable. I stayed in the shared dome and it's fun meeting the new people. This was the first time I've ever stayed in a hostel. Good experience!"

Read all The Urban Hideaway Guesthouse reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Communal kitchen
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Rooms will be reserved until 8pm on the specified day. (If you require a later check-in please notify us in advance). We do not charge a cancellation fee if you let us know ahead of time. In the event that adequate 7day notice is not given, we reserve the right to charge your stay.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Vancouver?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Vancouver

St. Clair Hotel - Hostel
21.19 USD

Hostel 74.6% 264 reviews
The Cambie International Hostel - Seymour
29.02 USD

Hostel 73.9% 190 reviews
Days Inn Hotel Downtown
52.74 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
The Cambie International Hostel - Gastown
25.79 USD

Hostel 68.8% 145 reviews
YWCA Hotel
46.52 USD

Hotel 3 star 95.7% 4 reviews
Hostelling International Vancouver Central
27.64 USD

Hostel 85.4% 637 reviews
SameSun Backpacker Lodges - Vancouver
29.48 USD

Hostel 85.3% 460 reviews
Hotel Ambassador
39.15 USD

Hotel 2 star 82.7% 107 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
94.4%

Overall Rating

204 out of 209 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Urban Hideaway Guesthouse'

Atmosphere
96.8%
Location
99.2%
Facilities
88.8%
Cleanliness
95.2%
Staff
98.4%
Value
88.8%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 163 of 169 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

11 May 2007 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Ken & Janine are amazing staff. Such friendly people. The house is just like you have stepped into your own home. Great feel, lovely rooms, and kitchen.Thanks for such a great time.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

08 May 2007 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I felt like I was staying at the house of a friend who's really low-maintenance. It's awesome because they just throw you the keys and show you around and they just want you to be comfortable. The two proprietors were really awesome and friendly and lovely. Other guests were the same. It's not a party hostel, thankfully, as I'm not into that, but it was a warm home-base, and I really felt privileged to be there.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

02 April 2007 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and pleasant place. Highl recommended!!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

14 March 2007 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Homeliness, great location, hidden away, unique

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kellie Ward

22 February 2007 Kellie would recommend this property

Liked: Felt like you were in your own place. Very comfortable and great locations.

Disliked: Kellie left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

19 February 2007 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: room, service, atmosphare, location, owner

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

02 February 2007 would recommend this property

Liked: location, atmosphere, kitchenfacilities, staff!

Disliked: left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ian Meyer

30 January 2007 Ian would recommend this property

Liked: relaxed atmoshere and very homely

Disliked: Ian left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Priest

27 January 2007 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet atmosphere, the couple who run it are super friendly and helpful, lots of character, feels more like a bed and breakfast than a hostel.

Disliked: Daniel left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

20 January 2007 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, home athmosphere, I felt safe and my room and the whole place was clean

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

10 January 2007 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A wonderfully affordable retreat to get away to. The room was lovely as was the breakfast facilities and the internet access

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

13 December 2006 would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, gracious hosts and clean comfortable accommodations. I especially liked the kitchen privileges. They keep a cupboard and fridge stocked with wholesome breakfast foods and give you free reign of the kitchen.

Disliked: left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

07 December 2006 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very cosy, homely, friendly staff, great breakfast

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

06 December 2006 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Family atmosphere, no smoking, no dirty shoes, beautiful old house and furniture, free breakfast self made, room with tap, location central

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

30 November 2006 would recommend this property

Liked: really friendly owner, clean and comfortable room

Disliked: left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

29 November 2006 would recommend this property

Liked: The location, owners, use of their wonderful kitchen, video selections and a DVD player in each room! Qauint, overall perfect. I do have a problem with that party question, which seems to appear on all your questionnaires and of course it has to be answered or it won't go. Therefore, my answer is only there so that the survey will go, it does not reflect my views on it, as that was not my purpose. An N/A option might be adviseable.I would return to this hostel in a heart beat! They were wonderful!

Disliked: left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

05 November 2006 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly hosts. Great location & beautiful room. Even though it was located in the middle of the city, it's tucked away and feels very private. I would definitely book this hostel again in future.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

25 October 2006 would recommend this property

Liked: The owners are very nice and accomidating.

Disliked: left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

24 October 2006 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Access to cooking facilities at all time More like a home than a hostel

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

03 October 2006 would recommend this property

Liked: The owners were fantastic!If you want a homely atmosphere, then stay here.Great vibe - for young or old visitors. I am in my 30's but there was also people in their 60's (at one point) staying there.

Disliked: left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

24 September 2006 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpfull and nice owners. Great location, fantastic atmosphere. It was the best place we ever stayed. Anita & Roy

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

24 September 2006 would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere was great. I saved money by buying my own food and then cooking most nights at the Guesthouse. I met other fellow travelors, and we all had such a wonderful time staying there. It truly was a home away from home. I recommend the Guesthouse to anyone and everyone.

Disliked: left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

12 September 2006 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

05 September 2006 would recommend this property

Liked: atmosphere, location, cleanliness

Disliked: left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

02 September 2006 would recommend this property

Liked: The of time spent on detail was value enough

Disliked: left no negative feedback.