HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Urban Hideaway Guesthouse

Guesthouse | 581 Richards Street, Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada V6B-2Z5

94.4% Overall Rating

204 out of 209 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/08/2014)

Evelyn Yung thinks…

"It's very clean and comfortable. I stayed in the shared dome and it's fun meeting the new people. This was the first time I've ever stayed in a hostel. Good experience!"

Read all The Urban Hideaway Guesthouse reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Communal kitchen
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Rooms will be reserved until 8pm on the specified day. (If you require a later check-in please notify us in advance). We do not charge a cancellation fee if you let us know ahead of time. In the event that adequate 7day notice is not given, we reserve the right to charge your stay.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Vancouver?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Vancouver

St. Clair Hotel - Hostel
21.16 USD

Hostel 73.8% 265 reviews
The Cambie International Hostel - Seymour
28.98 USD

Hostel 73.9% 190 reviews
Days Inn Hotel Downtown
52.67 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
The Cambie International Hostel - Gastown
25.76 USD

Hostel 68.8% 145 reviews
YWCA Hotel
46.46 USD

Hotel 3 star 96.0% 5 reviews
Hostelling International Vancouver Central
27.60 USD

Hostel 85.4% 637 reviews
SameSun Backpacker Lodges - Vancouver
29.44 USD

Hostel 85.3% 460 reviews
Hotel Ambassador
39.10 USD

Hotel 2 star 82.7% 107 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
94.4%

Overall Rating

204 out of 209 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Urban Hideaway Guesthouse'

Atmosphere
96.8%
Location
99.2%
Facilities
88.8%
Cleanliness
95.2%
Staff
98.4%
Value
88.8%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 163 of 169 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

carol davies

23 July 2008 carol would recommend this property

Liked: friendliness and the excellent service

Disliked: carol left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Claire Egan

21 July 2008 Claire would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was absolutely lovely, it was like a home not a hostel, really loved it and we stayed in 4 of the different rooms all of them were lovely, especially the loft, u get fresh fluffy towels and the kitchen its really cool, u make ur own breakfast, they also have dvd player n tv and u can choose from their selection of hundreds of dvds, i would definitely recommend staying here. Also u can walk everywhere. The owners were so helpfull and friendly.

Disliked: Claire left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Heather Matty

17 July 2008 Heather would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the location! The building itself is a huge surprise and joy to stay in. There was a fire across the street one of the nights we were staying there, and thus ended up with out power for a portion of our stay. The kitchen was lite with Candles! It made it a real cozy and enchanting experiance. Next time I'm in town this is where i'm staying!!

Disliked: Heather left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Gijsbert Jansen

13 July 2008 Gijsbert would recommend this property

Liked: hospitality

Disliked: Gijsbert left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Matz Sell

30 June 2008 Matz would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly and we felt more like in a friends house than in a hostel, hotel, b&b. You come in and feel like at home.

Disliked: Matz left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ailsa Dobbs

26 June 2008 Ailsa would recommend this property

Liked: handy to everything and city and the friendly staff

Disliked: Ailsa left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rosa Koenraadt

29 April 2008 Rosa would recommend this property

Liked: Everything, it was a great hostel

Disliked: Rosa left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

24 April 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it is cute and historical building

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Wendy Bridges

22 April 2008 Wendy would recommend this property

Liked: The Staff are amazing. Very kind and laid back. I really liked being so local--if you want to be right smack in the center of downtown, this is the place. I liked that this place was not a place to "party". It was a place to meet people, however. I went in the off season and it was really quiet-- and cold. brrr. But I loved my down comforter and my big fresh towels. I would recommend bringing earplugs fom random house sounds as well as some flipflops for the shower room. I felt very at home here. I can't wait to get back.

Disliked: Wendy left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

07 April 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, kitchen

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

27 March 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and homelyness and friendliness of staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Verena Schmidle

21 March 2008 Verena would recommend this property

Liked: It was increadable clean and our room was so cute!

Disliked: Verena left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Viivi Urpilainen

20 March 2008 Viivi would recommend this property

Liked: That it really feel like home not hostel.

Disliked: Viivi left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

charlotte eaton

13 March 2008 charlotte would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly hosts, beautiful place, uplifting, truly an urban hideaway!

Disliked: charlotte left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

07 March 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: a great and friendly place to stay

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

brad hughes

27 February 2008 brad would recommend this property

Liked: the people are very friendly, good location

Disliked: brad left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

23 February 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean comfortable bed, no 'yuck' sensation in the bathrooms, B&B type feeling, Friendly hosts.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mona Adler

22 February 2008 Mona would recommend this property

Liked: It was a great place to stay. Close to everything in Vancouver. We had a great view. We had amazing days. My boyfriend said that he wants to come back at our honeymoon because he loved everything.The breakfastoffer is also great.The staff ist so nice and if you need help there is everytime somebody there for you. It is such a friendly atmosphere after a few minutes you feel like home. Janine and Ken are really friendly and they take time to help you with every question (not only about the hostel) also about the city ect. We really want to come back

Disliked: Mona left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

18 February 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the uniqueness, style and room size and the privacy

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Renaye Stokes

15 February 2008 Renaye would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable bed with the cosiest duvet we've had in ages! Very homely and relaxed place to stay.

Disliked: Renaye left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

02 February 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location, price, friendly

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

29 December 2007 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: perfect location, friendly owners and just a great relaxing place to stay for the price

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

sang yup lee

22 December 2007 sang yup would recommend this property

Liked: kind

Disliked: sang yup left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chris Bowles

30 November 2007 Chris would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly owners and staff. Very clean. Quiet. Good atmosphere.

Disliked: Chris left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

26 November 2007 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The character of the place and the central location, without being very commercial

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.