HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Urban Hideaway Guesthouse

Guesthouse

581 Richards Street, Vancouver, Canada

Atmosphere 92%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 87%

Location 96%

Safety 92%

Staff 94%

Value 83%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Ceiling fan
  • DVDs
  • Direct Dial Telephone
  • Dishwasher
  • Dryer
  • Express check-in / out
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Fridge Freezer"
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Microwave
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Reading Light
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Washing machine
  • WiFi

Important Information

Rooms will be reserved until 8pm on the specified day. (If you require a later check-in please notify us in advance).

We do not charge a cancellation fee if you let us know ahead of time. In the event that adequate 7day notice is not given, we reserve the right to charge your stay.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Vancouver?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 92%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 87%

Location 96%

Safety 92%

Staff 94%

Value 83%

Showing 21-19 of 19 reviews

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Great character! Great location! Great host!

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Super friendly, home away from home, very nicely done up house, all neat and tidy.

Disliked: It seems a bit nit picky I know, but the blind in the window of my room just wasn't big enough so it never got dark. I feel that fitting curtains or bigger blinds would make it just a bit more comfortable for jetlagged guests! Also there is no longer a computer for the internet as it seems everyone's more technologically advanced than me and brings their own...

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The hostel has a very positive personal vibe about it. You can tell that the hostel owners have put a lot of work into it and they're making you feel very welcome. The location is excellent: Right in the middle of downtown Vancouver, in a historical house which has been nicely refurbished. The breakfast offer is better than other standard offers. There are two cats which we found great but if you're allergic you might wanna check that out first.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Relaxation / spa, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: A very nice and cozy House - beautifully equipped with nice furniture and all kinds of material (like for example lots of DVDs, that make you want to stay in doors, although you are actually on holyday and have planned to visit Vancouver ;-)) It is comparatively quiet inside the house, concearning that it's right down town - maybe it is because the house itself is rather hidden from the street, which makes the place a kind of cool secret in a way...^^. The do-it-yourself-breakfast contains lots and lots of opportnities that keep your meals in the morning a pleasure - it also is so much fun cooking in the kitchen. The staff is absolutely competent in giving hints and recommendations for all kinds of activities in Vancouver and also all over BC and always good for a nice litte (or even long^^) chat. Also they really make you feel like a friend at home!!! - thank you so much, Janine and Ken; we enjoyed it so much at your place!!!!!

Disliked: ...because of the weather during winter-times, we were unable to have brakfast on the comfortable-looking terrace/garden...^^

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Nov 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: This guesthouse was perfect for a short stay in Vancouver; I loved everything about it. Excellent location downtown, handy for getting around. The owners are very friendly and helpful and made us feel right at home. The house itself is very clean, quiet, and comfortable. I definitely recommend staying here!

Disliked: Unfortunately depending what room you're staying in, there might not be a view or even much sunlight since the guesthouse is bracketed by tall buildings, but that is the only fault I can find with it. It's a great place to stay and I'd definitely visit again.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very friendly staff and guests. There is a big difference in room size so check what you are booking. In room basin was good.

Disliked: The need to prop the windows open for ventilation is a bit of a disadvantage and window did not lock.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: The location and breakfast were good. Im not sure you could get much better for right in the city. Bathrooms are clean although may need new locks. Our room had a sink in it which is always good when bathrooms are shared.

Disliked: I asked for a room with a double bed and our room had 2 single beds. It also had 2 windows both internal facing. Would have been better if we could have got a better room but i understand they were full for the busy summer season...

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

We just wish to set clear that YOU booked a room with two single beds (Twin Bedroom) and not a room with a doublebed. We did try to reallocate you into a room with a doublebed, but as you mention we were already fully booked. Hopefully next time there will be a room with a doublebed available for you, best to book a good couple months ahead of arrival date, we do tend to book up fast. Cheers! :D

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Jun 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: A nice and warm place to be. Super location for exploring the city.

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability