HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Urban Hideaway Guesthouse Guesthouse

581 Richards Street, Vancouver, Canada

Atmosphere 93%

Cleanliness 95%

Facilities 89%

Location 96%

Safety 93%

Staff 96%

Value 86%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cots available
  • DVDs
  • Direct Dial Telephone
  • Dryer
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Fridge Freezer"
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Iron / Ironing Board"
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Microwave
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Reading Light
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Washing machine
  • WiFi

Important Information

Rooms will be reserved until 8pm on the specified day. (If you require a later check-in please notify us in advance).

We do not charge a cancellation fee if you let us know ahead of time. In the event that adequate 7day notice is not given, we reserve the right to charge your stay.

We share the house with two friendly felines
We close the street-side gates at 6pm sharp, so you'll have to give us a quick call if you're checking in after 6pm.
Prices do not include Cdn Tax.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 11:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Vancouver?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 93%

Cleanliness 95%

Facilities 89%

Location 96%

Safety 93%

Staff 96%

Value 86%

Showing 11-18 of 18 reviews

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very homely and welcoming place with great staff and comfy beds. Breakfast was great and location was perfect too.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Nice (but small) kitchen with everything you could want for breakfast (i.e. you can make yourself cerial, pancakes, eggs, bacon etc). Cozy rooms, clean bathrooms, helpful owners.

Disliked: very expensive when travelling on a backpackers budget.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location, location, location

Disliked: Very tight staircase. Crowded when all patrons are breakfasting at same time.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It's very clean and comfortable. I stayed in the shared dome and it's fun meeting the new people. This was the first time I've ever stayed in a hostel. Good experience!

Disliked: The street light was bright and it would be nice if there was a blind.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: Relaxed, friendly environment. Clean, quirky, west-coast, mix and match decore.

Disliked: The quirkiness extends to low ceilings and awkward stairs.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: super-friendly and helpful staff

Disliked: a common room would be nice

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The hostel is right in the middle of Vancouver and so well-placed for sightseeing. We were given good advice about places to visit and area to eat in. Breakfast is a communal experience and is a good opportunity to meet up with other travellers, which is fun. The hostel cats are also very welcoming!

Disliked: Inevitably, because it is in the middle of the city there is some road noise at night.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Place is beautiful and located on a very nice area.If you want to rest this is the place to stay.Ken and Eva are wonderful hosts and extremely friendly

Disliked: If you are traveling alone and expecting to meet people/socialize then probably this is not the place for you.For me it work out as I needed a break.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Owner is fantastic, incredibly helpful. Great resource for learning about what's happening and where to go.

Disliked: Depending on which room you're in, street noise can be an issue. But then again, you're in downtown Vancouver... what do you expect?

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Friendly staff/owners (Ken and Janine).Really helpful advice about tourism and dinner, etc.Nice and comfortable house. Only 6(app) rooms, so the 2 shared bathrooms are sufficient, never had to wait.

Disliked: The patio was on renovation, so we couldn't use it. :-(

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability