HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of St. Clair Hotel-Hostel Vancouver Hostel

577 Richards St., Vancouver, Vancouver, Canada

Atmosphere 77%

Cleanliness 79%

Facilities 69%

Location 97%

Safety 82%

Staff 90%

Value 82%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Steam room
  • Towels Included
  • Washing machine

Important Information

"OUR RECEPTION HOURS ARE FROM 9 AM - 9 PM SUN. TO THURS. AND 9 AM - 8 PM FRI. AND SAT. IF YOU NEED TO CHECK IN AFTER THESE TIMES, PLEASE INFORM US WHEN MAKING YOUR BOOKING.

PLEASE NOTE, ALL PRICES DO NOT INCLUDE TAX. TAX RATES ARE 15% FOR PRIVATE ROOMS AND 5% FOR DORM BEDS."

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Vancouver?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 77%

Cleanliness 79%

Facilities 69%

Location 97%

Safety 82%

Staff 90%

Value 82%

Showing 1-10 of 43 reviews

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Aug 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Age Range:
31-40

Liked: location,

Disliked: a full bathroom would be better

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: It was very conveniently located!

Disliked: The bathrooms are very odd. Right in front of someone's room, it's just odd.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Quiet and friendly, great location.

Disliked: The kitchen is a bit piecemeal. No stove.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Room was brigh and pretty warm

Disliked: Staff is really nice and calm, Manager, she fixed every misunderstanding!Thnks guys

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 80%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: I had booked a 4 bed female dorm but got a 2 bed which was nice. The room was clean and secure, the location is great!

Disliked: The staff were a bit rude. I arrived at 10am and check in wasn't until 2 so I left and came back at 2.30. When I checked in I asked the girl if there were any activities with the hostel like a pub crawl or city tour. She basically ignored the question and when I pressed her she pointed to the wall and said it was all there, (there was a single poster on the wall for a ghost tour of some kind) then after getting all my things the cleaner refused to let me into the room even though it was half an hour after check in time. She was very rude and could see that I was struggling with my luggage. I made a point that it was after the check in time and I had the key. She explained the floors were were wet and stood in front of the door so i physically couldn't get in, after a 3 minute heated discussion i got into the room and the floors were dry.. This is not a hostel with facilities, The 'kitchen' is just some kitchen related things in the corridor near the rooms.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: This property is very convenient to the some of the best parts of Vancouver. Three blocks from the Gas Light District, 6 blocks from the Canada Center, 2 blocks from the library, 3 blocks from the Canada Line Vancouver Centre Station Security is good and the dorms are clean, although small. Very quiet at night. I slept very well on the top bunk each night.

Disliked: Food in Vancouver is much more expensive than I had realized. I would have liked access to one meal a day or at least to discounts on local fast food restaurants and such. Not much room to sit and eat, so I had to time it to be at the table for 2 when no one else was around.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: Great location and friendly staffs

Disliked: The room is a little bit too warm at summer night.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: The building itself is very quaint and is a historical landmark. It has all the amenities of all good hostels.

Disliked: The rooms don't have air conditioning which was miserable in the summer heat. Also we parked our car in front of the hostel overnight, making sure we didn't leave anything in the car that would provoke thieves, yet our car was still broken into (we were only parked there for six hours). Not the hostels fault, but just be wary about parking in the city. It's better to spring for the extra protected parking than pay for a $300 window.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 May 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very good location in the center of Vancouver.

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 May 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Quiet and calm environment.

Disliked: Kitchen. Fridge was dirty and it was too small.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability