HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of St. Clair Hotel - Hostel

Hostel | 577 Richards Street, Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada V6B 2Z5

74.1% Overall Rating

222 out of 263 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/07/2014)

"It's a beautiful old building. I mean it is old so there are going to be a few issues like it is a bit musky smelling and plumbing is old as well as the door locks. But we very much so enjoyed our stay. The location is…"

Read all St. Clair Hotel - Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

"OUR RECEPTION HOURS ARE FROM 9 AM - 7 PM SUN. TO THURS. AND 9 AM - 8 PM FRI. AND SAT. IF YOU NEED TO CHECK IN AFTER THESE TIMES, PLEASE INFORM US WHEN MAKING YOUR BOOKING. PLEASE NOTE, ALL PRICES DO NOT INCLUDE TAX. TAX RATES ARE 15% FOR PRIVATE ROOMS AND 5% FOR DORM BEDS."

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Vancouver?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Vancouver

The Urban Hideaway Guesthouse
36.47 USD

Guesthouse 94.4% 209 reviews
The Cambie International Hostel - Seymour
28.72 USD

Hostel 73.9% 190 reviews
Days Inn Hotel Downtown
52.19 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
The Cambie International Hostel - Gastown
25.53 USD

Hostel 68.8% 145 reviews
YWCA Hotel
46.04 USD

Hotel 3 star 95.7% 4 reviews
Hostelling International Vancouver Central
30.54 USD

Hostel 85.4% 637 reviews
SameSun Backpacker Lodges - Vancouver
29.17 USD

Hostel 85.3% 460 reviews
Hotel Ambassador
38.75 USD

Hotel 2 star 82.7% 107 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
74.1%

Overall Rating

222 out of 263 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'St. Clair Hotel - Hostel'

Atmosphere
67.2%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
56.8%
Cleanliness
67.2%
Staff
81.6%
Value
76.0%
Safety
76.8%
Refine your results Showing 192 of 222 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Kathryn Kuypers

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

13 August 2014 Kathryn would recommend this property

Liked: Location and fair price.

Disliked: It was STIFLING in the room. No ventilation, fan, or a/c. So hot that I couldn't sleep. Had to keep door and window open all night just to try to get fresh air.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

10 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I enjoyed very much..Location and Security are very god.

Disliked: I have nothing of dislike.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

29 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location is the best, unique building, not expensive

Disliked: we rented a private room for 2, the room was tiny and next to the toilets.the windows didn't open, but who cares, it's an old building. no real complaints

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Yannick Hain

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 July 2014 Yannick would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that they have a microwave and plates and stuff like that

Disliked: Yannick left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a beautiful old building. I mean it is old so there are going to be a few issues like it is a bit musky smelling and plumbing is old as well as the door locks. But we very much so enjoyed our stay. The location is perfect for getting to anywhere. Stanley park is a little ways and Granville is a good 25 min walk but the walk is wonderful and so many different routes to take. It was a bit hard to find the hostel when we were driving in but the reception was very good at helping me find my way over the phone. Parking is a bit of a hassle but I worked out that as long as you arrive at the lot after 6pm you can pay for overnight parking that will last until 6pm the next day for $13 which is t bad for being downtown and half a block from the hostel. The staff were very helpful when we were locked out of our room because the lock broke ( they are replacing all the locks on the door shortly as I guess they are having some issues with the current locks.) the price of this hostel, the location, the staff and the heritage of the building are all amazing aspects of the place and I would reccomend it to anyone even if they have never stayed in a hostel before. A hotel may have a few more amenities but for the people you meet and the price you pay St. Clair hostel hotel was a great stay and we are so happy to have found it over any of the other hostels. The location is actually perfect it's just far enough from Granville st. To have some peace and quiet but close enough to be able to stumble home after a night at the bar. Best place to stay and worth every penny.

Disliked: Already stated above

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

graham rutherford

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 July 2014

Liked: It was in a good location and cheap

Disliked: The bed was ridiculous, so squeaky and felt like it would just fall apart, the room looked like it hadn't had a good clean for a while, same with the showers that were dingy. The kitchen facilities weren't great either.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Christopher Oldham

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

30 June 2014 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: Nice little hostel located in the heart of downtown vancouver makes getting around easy. Located clise to pleanty of bars and places to eat means theres pleanty on offer. Also many buses to different points of interest all over the city as well as the free shuttles to grouse mountain.

Disliked: Practically nothing. Anyone whose stayed in hostels before will have a pleasnt stay here. The only thing I guess I can mention is the lack of any cooking facilities. There are kettles and microwaves but no oven or stoves available. While that didnt bother me for my short stay just a ppint to mention that might be a bigger deal to other travellers.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

23 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and very friendly staff

Disliked: Very old dull building

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice old school feel. Easily accessible to city centre.

Disliked: Room was a bit stuffy. No communal kitchen area, sink the room had to do for all water needs/

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location! It's easy to walk around downtown.

Disliked: Shower smells bad. Washroom doesn't have a place to wash your hand. Instead, there is a wash stand in the room.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

08 June 2014

Liked: Great location

Disliked: Very basic. No sinks in the washrooms and very rudimentary kitchen areas

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 June 2014

Liked: Close to city center.

Disliked: Very, very dirty. Even if a hostel is cheap it can be cleaned properly. It was beyond disgusting: toilets, showers and bowls/cups/microwave ALL VERY DIRTY.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

19 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Room size was good, small numbers. Well located not too far fro shops and bars.

Disliked: No lockers in rooms and no shelves for top beds.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great

Disliked: The wifi was pretty unstable

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Teresa Leese

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 May 2014 Teresa would recommend this property

Liked: Great location!

Disliked: Bathrooms a bit old and grimey and hostel can be loud at night

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

08 April 2014

Liked: Easy to get around, right down town.

Disliked: No kitchen and once you arrive they charge you taxes on top of the booking price. Also reception closes at 8

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Welcoming feel, good facilities, great location.

Disliked: Shower and toilet facilities could have been better.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Anthony Lot

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 March 2014

Liked: the staff were super friendly and helpful. location was also great. thats kind of it though.

Disliked: there were tiny rooms, terrible beds, no sinks/washing facilities in the bathroom and nowhere to really do anything else. hate to say it but the place sucked. there were places nearby for less than half the price with the same level of accommodation.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome place, great vibe, amazing staff, pretty much all you can ask for.

Disliked: N/A

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

12 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Charming decor

Disliked: Nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Gavin Collins

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 September 2013 Gavin would recommend this property

Liked: stayed here for 4 nights , close to granville station 5 minute walk, fairly close to downtown vancouver , clean rooms ,

Disliked: Gavin left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Richard Lett

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 September 2013 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: The convenient to downtown.

Disliked: A little dirty..not enough outlets in room.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

16 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff were pleasant,rooms clean,good location.Showers and toilets clean,plenty of hot water

Disliked: Our room was by the stairs so a bit noisy.Fridge needed an empty out

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Ya-Li Hsu

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 August 2013

Liked: The staff there are really friendly, and the location is good. In terms of the price, it's the reason I want to stay there.

Disliked: The facility there isn't really good. They don't have a kitchen and there isn't a place to wash our hands in the washroom. I couldn't sleep for the whole night. It was so noisy outside. I could hear people shouting and parting outside. I tried to open the window because it's stuffy inside, but I didn't because I am afraid those men downstairs might climb up. Better not for single women.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mathias Merz

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 August 2013 Mathias would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel had charme, was centrally located, possibility to store baggage.

Disliked: No real kitchens, quite some stairs - but still nice stay, clean and friendly.