HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of St. Clair Hotel-Hostel Vancouver Hostel

577 Richards St., Vancouver, Vancouver, Canada

Atmosphere 75%

Cleanliness 76%

Facilities 68%

Location 97%

Safety 81%

Staff 90%

Value 81%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Steam room
  • Towels Included
  • Washing machine

Important Information

"OUR RECEPTION HOURS ARE FROM 9 AM - 9 PM SUN. TO THURS. AND 9 AM - 8 PM FRI. AND SAT. IF YOU NEED TO CHECK IN AFTER THESE TIMES, PLEASE INFORM US WHEN MAKING YOUR BOOKING.

PLEASE NOTE, ALL PRICES DO NOT INCLUDE TAX. TAX RATES ARE 15% FOR PRIVATE ROOMS AND 5% FOR DORM BEDS."

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Vancouver?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 75%

Cleanliness 76%

Facilities 68%

Location 97%

Safety 81%

Staff 90%

Value 81%

Showing 61-52 of 52 reviews

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It was centrally located within walking distance of most attractions.

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Work / volunteering

Liked: Clean, quiet

Disliked: No public areas or lounges.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Common room, lot of bathrooms, cheap laundry service, location, quite, good chill out area

Disliked: needs a better kitchen facility

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The reception staff were helpful when I checked in and even found me a room on the reception floor so I didnt have to lug my bags up more flights of stairs. The room itself was clean.

Disliked: The walls were paper thin and every floorboard squeaked. I was leaving very ealry in the morning (more like middle of the night) and even being as quiet as I could, had to feel sorry for the person in the room across from me. While only a few blocks from Granville Street I would go back to the Hostelling International rather than stay here again. The area just seemed a bit seedy and there wasnt anything that special to bring me back here.

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The location is good

Disliked: The staff wasn't very friendly or helpfull (not really welcoming) and in my opinion it was quit dirty everywhere, especially the showers

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Quiet yet nicely located.

Disliked: Quite small room without lockers.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Very friendly staff, great location and all facilities provided you could possibly need except a kitchen (they have a fridge, microwave, toaster and teapot). Good value for money.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Did not have a party atmosphere which is great for quieter people like myself. The nautical theme is great with some really nice artwork and stained glass windows. The facilities were good as well and the staff friendly.

Disliked: Nothing really to complain about.

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Beds were comfortable. Rooms had sinks in them. Location was good- close to down town Vancouver & close to public transport.

Disliked: There was no kitchen, only a microwave & toaster. Not enough common room space so the only people I really met were the ones in my own room cos everyone was in their rooms. Lockers were not in the rooms. There wasn't much space for 4 people & our luggage in the room.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I liked the large rooms and wide hallways. The property was in a central location and yet was very quiet. The staff were helpful and friendly.

Disliked: Not enough toilets and showers to cater for the amount of beds.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability