HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of St. Clair Hotel-Hostel Vancouver Hostel

577 Richards St., Vancouver, Vancouver, Canada

Atmosphere 77%

Cleanliness 79%

Facilities 69%

Location 97%

Safety 82%

Staff 90%

Value 82%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Steam room
  • Towels Included
  • Washing machine

Important Information

"OUR RECEPTION HOURS ARE FROM 9 AM - 9 PM SUN. TO THURS. AND 9 AM - 8 PM FRI. AND SAT. IF YOU NEED TO CHECK IN AFTER THESE TIMES, PLEASE INFORM US WHEN MAKING YOUR BOOKING.

PLEASE NOTE, ALL PRICES DO NOT INCLUDE TAX. TAX RATES ARE 15% FOR PRIVATE ROOMS AND 5% FOR DORM BEDS."

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Vancouver?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 77%

Cleanliness 79%

Facilities 69%

Location 97%

Safety 82%

Staff 90%

Value 82%

Showing 51-43 of 43 reviews

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, City break, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Location, hairdryer, electrical kettle, washbasin in the room

Disliked: Extra charge for changing the type of room (from twin to double), absence of normal stationary internet, fungus in the shower, old furniture, creaky beds, noise both in the hotel and under the windows. It is not solidly for so rich country to have so "poor" hotel-hostel.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: Friendly atmosphere, really helpful staff, awesome location - short walk anywhere

Disliked: The cleaner kept waking me up though I was sleeping during the day because of jet lag

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 May 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location.

Disliked: Old building.

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 May 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: location is really perfect

Disliked: no lift

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 May 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Family Holiday, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The rooms are clean, the location is central and in a very nice area of Vancouver, gas town. The rooms are basic and a bit small but the beds are comfortable and there are sinks in the room which are very useful. There is laundry facilities which is also useful and a nice common room to socialise in.

Disliked: Not much space in the room or storage for your possessions

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 100%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 May 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Great location downtown Vancouver within walking distance of the Convention Center, waterfront, and Gastown.

Disliked: When we checked in, we asked the staff for a recommendation of a cheap and secure parking garage nearby. An employee recommended Parkwell Parking Plaza just a block away so we parked there. On the second night our vehicle was parked there, a window was broken and items in the vehicle were stolen. We were very disappointed with the recommendation made by the staff of the hostel.

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 May 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: it is very closed to all the amenities, things to visit and transport hub.

Disliked: We stayed twice in this hostel. The first time our room on the 1st floor was nice and clean. However tis time we are in the 3rd floor and the room is not very clean, there were some dodgy stain the sheets, the 'kitchen' was dirty. I am saying 'kitchen' as there isn't a kitchen but 1 microwave + 1 toaster + 1 kettle. On our 1st stay, some guys were smoking so it did smell in the middle of the night. There isn't any staff on site at night so the clients can do what they want. It is a shame as the place has so much potential.

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It's a little different from the run of the mill hostels. It has character. Good showers too and free towels

Disliked: It looks a little run down and the lack of a kitchen area is a real issue. No fridge, stove or oven really limits your ability to self cater. Couldn't even find a spoon!

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: It was well located near the hustle and bustle of the city. Walking around town from here was no trouble at all, and you get to see quite bit.The staff were friendly enough. They were open to small talk and helped however they could. Not much to say, it's really just a convenient place if you don't have intentions on spending a lot of money and being home all day. Good for shorter timed traveling. and

Disliked: Finding this place could prove challenging, since it has very little recognition where it is located and the entrance is very small. Extremely easy to miss. The sinks were located in your room and weren't in the restrooms. The restrooms are public and weren't in that good of a condition. Everything was working though.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Excellent location, friendly and proffesional staff, clean and well kept and of course an unbeatable price, especially when considering the location.

Disliked: Squeeky beds was a little issue for my partner, though it wasn't a big deal.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability