HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of St. Clair Hotel-Hostel Vancouver Hostel

577 Richards St., Vancouver, Vancouver, Canada

Atmosphere 75%

Cleanliness 76%

Facilities 68%

Location 97%

Safety 81%

Staff 90%

Value 81%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Steam room
  • Towels Included
  • Washing machine

Important Information

"OUR RECEPTION HOURS ARE FROM 9 AM - 9 PM SUN. TO THURS. AND 9 AM - 8 PM FRI. AND SAT. IF YOU NEED TO CHECK IN AFTER THESE TIMES, PLEASE INFORM US WHEN MAKING YOUR BOOKING.

PLEASE NOTE, ALL PRICES DO NOT INCLUDE TAX. TAX RATES ARE 15% FOR PRIVATE ROOMS AND 5% FOR DORM BEDS."

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Vancouver?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 75%

Cleanliness 76%

Facilities 68%

Location 97%

Safety 81%

Staff 90%

Value 81%

Showing 41-49 of 49 reviews

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: stayed here for 4 nights , close to granville station 5 minute walk, fairly close to downtown vancouver , clean rooms ,

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: staff were pleasant,rooms clean,good location.Showers and toilets clean,plenty of hot water

Disliked: Our room was by the stairs so a bit noisy.Fridge needed an empty out

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The staff there are really friendly, and the location is good. In terms of the price, it's the reason I want to stay there.

Disliked: The facility there isn't really good. They don't have a kitchen and there isn't a place to wash our hands in the washroom. I couldn't sleep for the whole night. It was so noisy outside. I could hear people shouting and parting outside. I tried to open the window because it's stuffy inside, but I didn't because I am afraid those men downstairs might climb up. Better not for single women.

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Hostel had charme, was centrally located, possibility to store baggage.

Disliked: No real kitchens, quite some stairs - but still nice stay, clean and friendly.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Clean, cheap, and location is fantastic! Food places downstairs are convenient and good. Bathrooms always clean, but we really wished there was a sink for us to wash our hands instead of using the hand sanitiser (which was sometimes empty).

Disliked: No sink at bathroom. Room wasn't well ventilated so we kept window open. That's fine with us if it wasn't for the noise from a nightclub right behind us. We used earplugs to go to sleep, so I have to say we were ok.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Its nice and friendly and relatively central to everything; it's a bit like ronseal - does what it says on the tin!! At low cost

Disliked: The rooms were small in size and it didn't infer that a three bed dorm would incorporate a sing and a double but that was only a minor thing. A vending machine with cold drinks would be nice - would help when it gets warm!!!

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: I enjoyed the entire stay. But, I would have to say my favorite part about staying here was the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff.

Disliked: There wasn't a refrigerator on the floor I was on. There were 3 floors of rooms and the above 2 floors had refrigerators. It might have been that something was wrong with the one for the floor I was on and it was out for repair or they were awaiting the replacement.

Customer would recommend this property

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, City break, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Friendly staff.

Disliked: Toilets were often very dirty. No privacy feeling.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The location is really central , room was clean and bathrooms as well ... Good value

Disliked: The kitchen is not a real kitchen , not lift ( stairs really narrow ).

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, City break, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Location, hairdryer, electrical kettle, washbasin in the room

Disliked: Extra charge for changing the type of room (from twin to double), absence of normal stationary internet, fungus in the shower, old furniture, creaky beds, noise both in the hotel and under the windows. It is not solidly for so rich country to have so "poor" hotel-hostel.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability