We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of St. Clair Hotel - Hostel

Hostel | 577 Richards Street, Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada V6B 2Z5

77.6% Overall Rating

233 out of 278 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (06/04/2015)

"This place was exactly what I was looking for--great location, really wonderful staff; it's possible to get a private room for a very reasonable price; it's got refrigerator, microwave, kettles, and a toaster, plus…"

Read all St. Clair Hotel - Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

"OUR RECEPTION HOURS ARE FROM 9 AM - 9 PM SUN. TO THURS. AND 9 AM - 8 PM FRI. AND SAT. IF YOU NEED TO CHECK IN AFTER THESE TIMES, PLEASE INFORM US WHEN MAKING YOUR BOOKING. PLEASE NOTE, ALL PRICES DO NOT INCLUDE TAX. TAX RATES ARE 15% FOR PRIVATE ROOMS AND 5% FOR DORM BEDS."

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Vancouver?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Vancouver

The Urban Hideaway Guesthouse
31.78 USD

Guesthouse 93.7% 217 reviews
Days Inn Hotel Downtown
166.07 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
YWCA Hotel
40.52 USD

Hotel 3 star 96.7% 6 reviews
Hostelling International Vancouver Central
28.33 USD

Hostel 83.2% 653 reviews
SameSun Backpacker Lodges - Vancouver
30.19 USD

Hostel 92.2% 488 reviews
Hotel Ambassador
37.74 USD

Hotel 2 star 82.3% 113 reviews
C and N Backpackers - Vancouver
22.25 USD

Hostel 67.1% 291 reviews
C and N backpackers (Central Station Hostel)
22.25 USD

Hostel 64.7% 123 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
77.6%

Overall Rating

233 out of 278 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'St. Clair Hotel - Hostel'

Atmosphere
74.4%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
64.0%
Cleanliness
69.6%
Staff
86.4%
Value
78.4%
Safety
77.6%
Refine your results Showing 204 of 237 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Danish Mehboob

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

31 March 2013 Danish would recommend this property

Liked: It was well located near the hustle and bustle of the city. Walking around town from here was no trouble at all, and you get to see quite bit. The staff were friendly enough. They were open to small talk and helped however they could. Not much to say, it's really just a convenient place if you don't have intentions on spending a lot of money and being home all day. Good for shorter timed traveling. and

Disliked: Finding this place could prove challenging, since it has very little recognition where it is located and the entrance is very small. Extremely easy to miss. The sinks were located in your room and weren't in the restrooms. The restrooms are public and weren't in that good of a condition. Everything was working though.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paulius Satas

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

29 March 2013 Paulius would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, friendly and proffesional staff, clean and well kept and of course an unbeatable price, especially when considering the location.

Disliked: Squeeky beds was a little issue for my partner, though it wasn't a big deal.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Megan Wilson

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

15 March 2013 Megan would recommend this property

Liked: Very cute and cozy place!

Disliked: Megan left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was centrally located within walking distance of most attractions.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

09 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, quiet

Disliked: No public areas or lounges.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Common room, lot of bathrooms, cheap laundry service, location, quite, good chill out area

Disliked: needs a better kitchen facility

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 January 2013

Liked: The reception staff were helpful when I checked in and even found me a room on the reception floor so I didnt have to lug my bags up more flights of stairs. The room itself was clean.

Disliked: The walls were paper thin and every floorboard squeaked. I was leaving very ealry in the morning (more like middle of the night) and even being as quiet as I could, had to feel sorry for the person in the room across from me. While only a few blocks from Granville Street I would go back to the Hostelling International rather than stay here again. The area just seemed a bit seedy and there wasnt anything that special to bring me back here.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 January 2013

Liked: The location is good

Disliked: The staff wasn't very friendly or helpfull (not really welcoming) and in my opinion it was quit dirty everywhere, especially the showers

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet yet nicely located.

Disliked: Quite small room without lockers.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Gerard Matthews

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 November 2012 Gerard would recommend this property

Liked: Did not have a party atmosphere which is great for quieter people like myself. The nautical theme is great with some really nice artwork and stained glass windows. The facilities were good as well and the staff friendly.

Disliked: Nothing really to complain about.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, great location and all facilities provided you could possibly need except a kitchen (they have a fridge, microwave, toaster and teapot). Good value for money.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beds were comfortable. Rooms had sinks in them. Location was good- close to down town Vancouver & close to public transport.

Disliked: There was no kitchen, only a microwave & toaster. Not enough common room space so the only people I really met were the ones in my own room cos everyone was in their rooms. Lockers were not in the rooms. There wasn't much space for 4 people & our luggage in the room.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the large rooms and wide hallways. The property was in a central location and yet was very quiet. The staff were helpful and friendly.

Disliked: Not enough toilets and showers to cater for the amount of beds.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly personal!

Disliked: It has got not stove; not always clean

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

19 September 2012

Liked: Located two blocks from Vancouver City Station, walking distance from Grandville St (entertainment district). If you're on a budget and don't mind the spotty internet connection.

Disliked: Broken toilet on the 2nd floor (two per floor), no sink in the shared washrooms, one fridge shared between 3 floors. If you're a light sleeper then look elsewhere as you can here people's conversation, toilet flushing, showering, microwave etc. Now my biggest beef is with the spotty WiFi connection which barely go past the other half of the hallway. I lucked out because I was booked on the 2nd floor, room 18, and got 2 out of 3 bars on my iPad but the signal would intermittently be cut off every 2 minutes or so. I've seen others, however, sit/stand near the reception area to get signal coverage.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central. Blake was friendly

Disliked: no private baths

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

06 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good value for money. Great location. We stayed one night, had absolutely no problems. Room was clean, washrooms as well.

Disliked: No elevator, but I guess thats ok :) The Wifi is not working inside the rooms. You have to go towards the stairs to catch a signal.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Kathryn Raw

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 September 2012 Kathryn would recommend this property

Liked: Great location.

Disliked: Very loud in the morning with the garbage trucks backing into the alley. Wifi wasn't working.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

05 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: showers are clean

Disliked: no kitchen :(

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 August 2012

Liked: The hostel has a great location. Very convenient to get to Canada Place, Gas Town etc

Disliked: The showers and communal rooms had no windows or ventilation.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Erin LaNinfa

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

26 August 2012 Erin would recommend this property

Liked: Location was right downtown and it was easy to walk everywhere. The staff were really helpful in giving directions and suggestions. Pretty clean and quiet.

Disliked: Rooms on the third floor were a bit stuffy. I appreciated having an option to check in despite it being 11pm, but the process was a bit wonky and frustrating.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

YONGSU SHIN

Alone

City break
Shopping

25 August 2012 YONGSU would recommend this property

Liked: thank you.. very clean

Disliked: YONGSU left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hafiz Karmali

Alone

Work / volunteering

10 August 2012 Hafiz would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, nice decor, clean rooms.

Disliked: Hafiz left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Christina Jeanette Moll

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 July 2012 Christina Jeanette would recommend this property

Liked: Location, sink in room, double room for the price of a dorm bed in other hostels

Disliked: The Place needs a Kitchen/Common Room! People mee.t in the hallways which makes it quite noisy

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jeanne Smith

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

09 July 2012 Jeanne would recommend this property

Liked: Superb location central to everything in downtown Vancouver

Disliked: Moldy, urine-smelling showers