HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of St. Clair Hotel - Hostel

Hostel | 577 Richards Street, Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada V6B 2Z5

72.0% Overall Rating

215 out of 256 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/07/2014)

"It's a beautiful old building. I mean it is old so there are going to be a few issues like it is a bit musky smelling and plumbing is old as well as the door locks. But we very much so enjoyed our stay. The location is…"

Read all St. Clair Hotel - Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

"OUR RECEPTION HOURS ARE FROM 9 AM - 7 PM SUN. TO THURS. AND 9 AM - 8 PM FRI. AND SAT. IF YOU NEED TO CHECK IN AFTER THESE TIMES, PLEASE INFORM US WHEN MAKING YOUR BOOKING. PLEASE NOTE, ALL PRICES DO NOT INCLUDE TAX. TAX RATES ARE 15% FOR PRIVATE ROOMS AND 5% FOR DORM BEDS."

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Vancouver?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Vancouver

The Urban Hideaway Guesthouse
37.26 USD

Guesthouse 95.3% 204 reviews
The Cambie International Hostel - Seymour
29.34 USD

Hostel 73.9% 190 reviews
Days Inn Hotel Downtown
53.33 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
The Cambie International Hostel - Gastown
28.87 USD

Hostel 68.8% 145 reviews
YWCA Hotel
47.04 USD

Hotel 3 star 94.3% 3 reviews
Hostelling International Vancouver Central
32.60 USD

Hostel 86.2% 625 reviews
SameSun Backpacker Lodges - Vancouver
29.81 USD

Hostel 86.4% 453 reviews
Hotel Ambassador
41.45 USD

Hotel 2 star 81.9% 105 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
72.0%

Overall Rating

215 out of 256 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'St. Clair Hotel - Hostel'

Atmosphere
64.0%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
54.4%
Cleanliness
68.0%
Staff
83.2%
Value
70.4%
Safety
74.4%
Refine your results Showing 188 of 215 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

06 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good value for money. Great location. We stayed one night, had absolutely no problems. Room was clean, washrooms as well.

Disliked: No elevator, but I guess thats ok :) The Wifi is not working inside the rooms. You have to go towards the stairs to catch a signal.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Kathryn Raw

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 September 2012 Kathryn would recommend this property

Liked: Great location.

Disliked: Very loud in the morning with the garbage trucks backing into the alley. Wifi wasn't working.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

05 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: showers are clean

Disliked: no kitchen :(

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 August 2012

Liked: The hostel has a great location. Very convenient to get to Canada Place, Gas Town etc

Disliked: The showers and communal rooms had no windows or ventilation.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Erin LaNinfa

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

26 August 2012 Erin would recommend this property

Liked: Location was right downtown and it was easy to walk everywhere. The staff were really helpful in giving directions and suggestions. Pretty clean and quiet.

Disliked: Rooms on the third floor were a bit stuffy. I appreciated having an option to check in despite it being 11pm, but the process was a bit wonky and frustrating.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

YONGSU SHIN

Alone

City break
Shopping

25 August 2012 YONGSU would recommend this property

Liked: thank you.. very clean

Disliked: YONGSU left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hafiz Karmali

Alone

Work / volunteering

10 August 2012 Hafiz would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, nice decor, clean rooms.

Disliked: Hafiz left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Christina Jeanette Moll

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 July 2012 Christina Jeanette would recommend this property

Liked: Location, sink in room, double room for the price of a dorm bed in other hostels

Disliked: The Place needs a Kitchen/Common Room! People mee.t in the hallways which makes it quite noisy

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jeanne Smith

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

09 July 2012 Jeanne would recommend this property

Liked: Superb location central to everything in downtown Vancouver

Disliked: Moldy, urine-smelling showers

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Irina Pototskaya

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

09 July 2012 Irina would recommend this property

Liked: We have spent two nights at this property, nobody and nothing disturbed our sleeping. Considering money we payed and a really good location of the property it was a bargain .

Disliked: Irina left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Kai-chieh Sang

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

07 July 2012 Kai-chieh would recommend this property

Liked: Nice staff and location, good atmosphere and good value. A good place to stay again!

Disliked: Nothing.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: .

Disliked: Internet didn't work

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

27 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: St Clair has an awesome central location, is a really fun place. I came late at night, and even thou the main desk was closed, there was still staff to help me out. I booked the hostel for the wrong dates, and they were able to accomodate me that night and gave me recommendations for the next night. The staff is there is really helpful and professional :)

Disliked: The bathroom doesn't have a sink, but there was a sink in the room itself.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Richard Kenny

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 June 2012 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: Everything.

Disliked: No kitchen

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: For the price, it is in a good location, friendly fellow guests and is a pretty safe and secure place.

Disliked: However, the building has clearly seen better days, parts are dirty, the staff were not particularly helpful and there is not much of an atmosphere for getting to know people.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 June 2012

Liked: The location is downtown and conveniently close to the sytrain and waterfront, but I felt insecure at night walking there.

Disliked: - I tried to avoid the washrooms at all cost. There is no sink in the washrooms and the hand sanitizers are "broken". Rationed toilet paper. The staff did a bad job at maintenance. Put it this way: I preferred using the public washrooms at the bus station over the "hotel". - Loud at night (due to other visitors) - bring earplugs. - Everything was so old and gross - There are 3 mice in the building and the staff are aware and don't do anything about them. Another guest demanded a refund for the mice in her room. - Although the staff are extremely nice and approachable, sometimes they aren't the most helpful.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 June 2012

Liked: Nothing much

Disliked: The location is pretty centralised and near to the local metro station. However, the area is kind of sketchy. Internet connection in this place is extremely bad. There is no connection at all in your rooms so you will see people crowding in the small lounge to use their laptops and phones. The lounge is very small with only 2 sofas so you will see people along the corridors to use the internet as the internet around the lounge area is the strongest. Even at the lounge, the internet connection is intermittent. There are very few toilets for the number of people that stay there. No cooking facilities. they only have a microwave and electric kettle. Toilets dont have sinks so you have to return to your room to wash your hands. The room was very small and old. I had bug bites all over my legs and arms the day after i checked out of the hostel. I wonder if its from their beds though. The glass windows in my room to the emergency exit behind the building do not have locks. When inquired, the reception told me to use a wooden stick to block the window. I find this ridiculous as the area is kinda sketchy and once i look out of my room window, its the back alley of the building and theres a ladder that leads to the ground of the back alley from my window. Didnt really felt that it was safe. The staff werent friendly either. They charged to my credit card twice but refunded the 2nd charge. Definitely wont return here again.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice location, friendly staff, good atmosphere.

Disliked: We had a room at the frontside of the building, next to the street and the staircase, so it was a bit noisy.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

09 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Charakter of the property

Disliked: A bit loud, but being in the middle of downtown, it'ok. Toilets out of order, but is a general canadian problem.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a really good value! It's simple but nice. Bathrooms are clean. Towels are provided free of charge. There's dishes and refrigerators available for use. The staff are nice and helpful to provide suggestions. Thanks for the good stay.

Disliked: It's a good place if you want to do your own thing. It's not the best place if you want to meet other travellers.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

KYUNGBAE KIM

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 May 2012 KYUNGBAE would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff- very understanding and resourceful. Nice lounge to hangout

Disliked: No kitchen.-\

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Franziska Steiner

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 May 2012 Franziska would recommend this property

Liked: It is a very safe hostel and close to downtown. The prize is unbeatable and its a quiet hostel with free wifi.

Disliked: I wish there were sinks in the bathroom.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

23 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location, very clean, great price very quiet

Disliked: While towels are provided free of charge, they are only available from the reception desk which is staffed from 9am to 9pm - so don't arrive late without a towel.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Lian Lok

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

02 May 2012 Lian would recommend this property

Liked: In Downtown area and close to where iwanted,and value for money.

Disliked: Do not have own toilet / bathroom.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Thanks for a great weekend.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.