We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of St. Clair Hotel - Hostel

Hostel | 577 Richards Street, Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada V6B 2Z5

76.7% Overall Rating

226 out of 270 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (20/09/2014)

Oliver Cahill thinks…

"Nice hostel, good location. Staff were friendly and helpful. Dorm was a decent size. Some outside noise because of age of the building and showers could do with modernizing. Overall good value for…"

Read all St. Clair Hotel - Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

"OUR RECEPTION HOURS ARE FROM 9 AM - 7 PM SUN. TO THURS. AND 9 AM - 8 PM FRI. AND SAT. IF YOU NEED TO CHECK IN AFTER THESE TIMES, PLEASE INFORM US WHEN MAKING YOUR BOOKING. PLEASE NOTE, ALL PRICES DO NOT INCLUDE TAX. TAX RATES ARE 15% FOR PRIVATE ROOMS AND 5% FOR DORM BEDS."

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Vancouver?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Vancouver

The Urban Hideaway Guesthouse
31.33 USD

Guesthouse 94.4% 211 reviews
The Cambie International Hostel - Seymour
28.20 USD

Hostel 73.9% 190 reviews
Days Inn Hotel Downtown
120.84 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
The Cambie International Hostel - Gastown
25.06 USD

Hostel 68.8% 145 reviews
YWCA Hotel
36.70 USD

Hotel 3 star 96.0% 5 reviews
Hostelling International Vancouver Central
23.44 USD

Hostel 83.0% 640 reviews
SameSun Backpacker Lodges - Vancouver
27.75 USD

Hostel 82.1% 467 reviews
Hotel Ambassador
26.85 USD

Hotel 2 star 80.6% 109 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
76.7%

Overall Rating

226 out of 270 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'St. Clair Hotel - Hostel'

Atmosphere
70.4%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
60.8%
Cleanliness
70.4%
Staff
85.6%
Value
78.4%
Safety
76.0%
Refine your results Showing 196 of 229 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet yet nicely located.

Disliked: Quite small room without lockers.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Gerard Matthews

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 November 2012 Gerard would recommend this property

Liked: Did not have a party atmosphere which is great for quieter people like myself. The nautical theme is great with some really nice artwork and stained glass windows. The facilities were good as well and the staff friendly.

Disliked: Nothing really to complain about.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, great location and all facilities provided you could possibly need except a kitchen (they have a fridge, microwave, toaster and teapot). Good value for money.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beds were comfortable. Rooms had sinks in them. Location was good- close to down town Vancouver & close to public transport.

Disliked: There was no kitchen, only a microwave & toaster. Not enough common room space so the only people I really met were the ones in my own room cos everyone was in their rooms. Lockers were not in the rooms. There wasn't much space for 4 people & our luggage in the room.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the large rooms and wide hallways. The property was in a central location and yet was very quiet. The staff were helpful and friendly.

Disliked: Not enough toilets and showers to cater for the amount of beds.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly personal!

Disliked: It has got not stove; not always clean

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

19 September 2012

Liked: Located two blocks from Vancouver City Station, walking distance from Grandville St (entertainment district). If you're on a budget and don't mind the spotty internet connection.

Disliked: Broken toilet on the 2nd floor (two per floor), no sink in the shared washrooms, one fridge shared between 3 floors. If you're a light sleeper then look elsewhere as you can here people's conversation, toilet flushing, showering, microwave etc. Now my biggest beef is with the spotty WiFi connection which barely go past the other half of the hallway. I lucked out because I was booked on the 2nd floor, room 18, and got 2 out of 3 bars on my iPad but the signal would intermittently be cut off every 2 minutes or so. I've seen others, however, sit/stand near the reception area to get signal coverage.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central. Blake was friendly

Disliked: no private baths

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

06 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good value for money. Great location. We stayed one night, had absolutely no problems. Room was clean, washrooms as well.

Disliked: No elevator, but I guess thats ok :) The Wifi is not working inside the rooms. You have to go towards the stairs to catch a signal.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Kathryn Raw

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 September 2012 Kathryn would recommend this property

Liked: Great location.

Disliked: Very loud in the morning with the garbage trucks backing into the alley. Wifi wasn't working.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

05 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: showers are clean

Disliked: no kitchen :(

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 August 2012

Liked: The hostel has a great location. Very convenient to get to Canada Place, Gas Town etc

Disliked: The showers and communal rooms had no windows or ventilation.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Erin LaNinfa

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

26 August 2012 Erin would recommend this property

Liked: Location was right downtown and it was easy to walk everywhere. The staff were really helpful in giving directions and suggestions. Pretty clean and quiet.

Disliked: Rooms on the third floor were a bit stuffy. I appreciated having an option to check in despite it being 11pm, but the process was a bit wonky and frustrating.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

YONGSU SHIN

Alone

City break
Shopping

25 August 2012 YONGSU would recommend this property

Liked: thank you.. very clean

Disliked: YONGSU left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hafiz Karmali

Alone

Work / volunteering

10 August 2012 Hafiz would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, nice decor, clean rooms.

Disliked: Hafiz left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Christina Jeanette Moll

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 July 2012 Christina Jeanette would recommend this property

Liked: Location, sink in room, double room for the price of a dorm bed in other hostels

Disliked: The Place needs a Kitchen/Common Room! People mee.t in the hallways which makes it quite noisy

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jeanne Smith

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

09 July 2012 Jeanne would recommend this property

Liked: Superb location central to everything in downtown Vancouver

Disliked: Moldy, urine-smelling showers

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Irina Pototskaya

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

09 July 2012 Irina would recommend this property

Liked: We have spent two nights at this property, nobody and nothing disturbed our sleeping. Considering money we payed and a really good location of the property it was a bargain .

Disliked: Irina left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Kai-chieh Sang

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

07 July 2012 Kai-chieh would recommend this property

Liked: Nice staff and location, good atmosphere and good value. A good place to stay again!

Disliked: Nothing.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: .

Disliked: Internet didn't work

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

27 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: St Clair has an awesome central location, is a really fun place. I came late at night, and even thou the main desk was closed, there was still staff to help me out. I booked the hostel for the wrong dates, and they were able to accomodate me that night and gave me recommendations for the next night. The staff is there is really helpful and professional :)

Disliked: The bathroom doesn't have a sink, but there was a sink in the room itself.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Richard Kenny

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 June 2012 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: Everything.

Disliked: No kitchen

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: For the price, it is in a good location, friendly fellow guests and is a pretty safe and secure place.

Disliked: However, the building has clearly seen better days, parts are dirty, the staff were not particularly helpful and there is not much of an atmosphere for getting to know people.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 June 2012

Liked: The location is downtown and conveniently close to the sytrain and waterfront, but I felt insecure at night walking there.

Disliked: - I tried to avoid the washrooms at all cost. There is no sink in the washrooms and the hand sanitizers are "broken". Rationed toilet paper. The staff did a bad job at maintenance. Put it this way: I preferred using the public washrooms at the bus station over the "hotel". - Loud at night (due to other visitors) - bring earplugs. - Everything was so old and gross - There are 3 mice in the building and the staff are aware and don't do anything about them. Another guest demanded a refund for the mice in her room. - Although the staff are extremely nice and approachable, sometimes they aren't the most helpful.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 June 2012

Liked: Nothing much

Disliked: The location is pretty centralised and near to the local metro station. However, the area is kind of sketchy. Internet connection in this place is extremely bad. There is no connection at all in your rooms so you will see people crowding in the small lounge to use their laptops and phones. The lounge is very small with only 2 sofas so you will see people along the corridors to use the internet as the internet around the lounge area is the strongest. Even at the lounge, the internet connection is intermittent. There are very few toilets for the number of people that stay there. No cooking facilities. they only have a microwave and electric kettle. Toilets dont have sinks so you have to return to your room to wash your hands. The room was very small and old. I had bug bites all over my legs and arms the day after i checked out of the hostel. I wonder if its from their beds though. The glass windows in my room to the emergency exit behind the building do not have locks. When inquired, the reception told me to use a wooden stick to block the window. I find this ridiculous as the area is kinda sketchy and once i look out of my room window, its the back alley of the building and theres a ladder that leads to the ground of the back alley from my window. Didnt really felt that it was safe. The staff werent friendly either. They charged to my credit card twice but refunded the 2nd charge. Definitely wont return here again.