HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of St. Clair Hotel-Hostel Vancouver Hostel

577 Richards St., Vancouver, Vancouver, Canada

Atmosphere 75%

Cleanliness 76%

Facilities 68%

Location 97%

Safety 81%

Staff 90%

Value 81%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Steam room
  • Towels Included
  • Washing machine

Important Information

"OUR RECEPTION HOURS ARE FROM 9 AM - 9 PM SUN. TO THURS. AND 9 AM - 8 PM FRI. AND SAT. IF YOU NEED TO CHECK IN AFTER THESE TIMES, PLEASE INFORM US WHEN MAKING YOUR BOOKING.

PLEASE NOTE, ALL PRICES DO NOT INCLUDE TAX. TAX RATES ARE 15% FOR PRIVATE ROOMS AND 5% FOR DORM BEDS."

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Vancouver?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 75%

Cleanliness 76%

Facilities 68%

Location 97%

Safety 81%

Staff 90%

Value 81%

Showing 21-30 of 47 reviews

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I enjoyed very much..Location and Security are very god.

Disliked: I have nothing of dislike.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: location is the best, unique building, not expensive

Disliked: we rented a private room for 2, the room was tiny and next to the toilets.the windows didn't open, but who cares, it's an old building. no real complaints

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: I liked that they have a microwave and plates and stuff like that

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, City break, Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: It's a beautiful old building. I mean it is old so there are going to be a few issues like it is a bit musky smelling and plumbing is old as well as the door locks. But we very much so enjoyed our stay. The location is perfect for getting to anywhere. Stanley park is a little ways and Granville is a good 25 min walk but the walk is wonderful and so many different routes to take. It was a bit hard to find the hostel when we were driving in but the reception was very good at helping me find my way over the phone. Parking is a bit of a hassle but I worked out that as long as you arrive at the lot after 6pm you can pay for overnight parking that will last until 6pm the next day for $13 which is t bad for being downtown and half a block from the hostel. The staff were very helpful when we were locked out of our room because the lock broke ( they are replacing all the locks on the door shortly as I guess they are having some issues with the current locks.) the price of this hostel, the location, the staff and the heritage of the building are all amazing aspects of the place and I would reccomend it to anyone even if they have never stayed in a hostel before. A hotel may have a few more amenities but for the people you meet and the price you pay St. Clair hostel hotel was a great stay and we are so happy to have found it over any of the other hostels. The location is actually perfect it's just far enough from Granville st. To have some peace and quiet but close enough to be able to stumble home after a night at the bar. Best place to stay and worth every penny.

Disliked: Already stated above

Customer would recommend this property

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 80%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It was in a good location and cheap

Disliked: The bed was ridiculous, so squeaky and felt like it would just fall apart, the room looked like it hadn't had a good clean for a while, same with the showers that were dingy. The kitchen facilities weren't great either.

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Nice little hostel located in the heart of downtown vancouver makes getting around easy. Located clise to pleanty of bars and places to eat means theres pleanty on offer. Also many buses to different points of interest all over the city as well as the free shuttles to grouse mountain.

Disliked: Practically nothing. Anyone whose stayed in hostels before will have a pleasnt stay here. The only thing I guess I can mention is the lack of any cooking facilities. There are kettles and microwaves but no oven or stoves available. While that didnt bother me for my short stay just a ppint to mention that might be a bigger deal to other travellers.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Nice old school feel. Easily accessible to city centre.

Disliked: Room was a bit stuffy. No communal kitchen area, sink the room had to do for all water needs/

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Good location and very friendly staff

Disliked: Very old dull building

Customer would recommend this property

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great location! It's easy to walk around downtown.

Disliked: Shower smells bad. Washroom doesn't have a place to wash your hand. Instead, there is a wash stand in the room.

Customer would recommend this property

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: Great location

Disliked: Very basic. No sinks in the washrooms and very rudimentary kitchen areas

Check Availability