HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of St. Clair Hotel-Hostel Vancouver Hostel

577 Richards St., Vancouver, Vancouver, Canada

Atmosphere 75%

Cleanliness 76%

Facilities 68%

Location 97%

Safety 81%

Staff 90%

Value 81%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Steam room
  • Towels Included
  • Washing machine

Important Information

"OUR RECEPTION HOURS ARE FROM 9 AM - 9 PM SUN. TO THURS. AND 9 AM - 8 PM FRI. AND SAT. IF YOU NEED TO CHECK IN AFTER THESE TIMES, PLEASE INFORM US WHEN MAKING YOUR BOOKING.

PLEASE NOTE, ALL PRICES DO NOT INCLUDE TAX. TAX RATES ARE 15% FOR PRIVATE ROOMS AND 5% FOR DORM BEDS."

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Vancouver?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 75%

Cleanliness 76%

Facilities 68%

Location 97%

Safety 81%

Staff 90%

Value 81%

Showing 11-20 of 56 reviews

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: A nice little clean hostel in an awesome location.

Disliked: Was nice for just a one night stay whilst in transit, however was very quiet and not a lot going on. I wouldn't recommend to solo travelers wanting to meet others

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: This place was exactly what I was looking for--great location, really wonderful staff; it's possible to get a private room for a very reasonable price; it's got refrigerator, microwave, kettles, and a toaster, plus sinks and a place to hang up clothes in every room. I arrived early, just hoping to drop my luggage off, but the receptionist said that since the room hadn't been used the night before, I could go up then. That was so great! It was quiet--no rowdy people. It's not a place to go if you want to party, but I didn't! They have free wifi and also have computers available.

Disliked: The computers weren't working while I was there, but the receptionist not only tried really hard to get them to work; she also told me how to get a free visitor's pass to the nearby public library to use their computers, and there are also at least three convenience stores/internet cafes within a few blocks.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff was very helpful and welcoming! Everything was very clean and neat! They even had dishes, a refrigerator, and a microwave for use with laundry. The price was unbeatable for the value and services that they provide. Would definitely recommend.

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: Location and character! The staff were nice and very helpful

Disliked: Overall size, pretty tight space

Customer would recommend this property

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Oct 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location

Disliked: Only 2 plugs in a 4 people dorm. Unfortunately the plugs can only can used by one person when it comes with a converter. Absolutely impossible to charge my battery.The washrooms stinks. Smell awful.

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Great location. Friendly, helpful staff. Clean. Good facilities.

Disliked: Dorm rooms were very crowded, hardly room for luggage. Top bunk was hot and no ventilation. Closeness and city street made it quite noisey.

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Nothing except that it's cheap.

Disliked: Room ridiculously small. Never seen anything like that.

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Nice hostel, good location. Staff were friendly and helpful. Dorm was a decent size. Some outside noise because of age of the building and showers could do with modernizing. Overall good value for money.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Good location, friendly staff, good internet connection. Pretty basic rooms.

Disliked: Booking was initially lost and there wasn't a room, which was a bit of a hassle as we had to move into the common room for a day and then change rooms during our stay. Staff was friendly though and gave us a bigger room than we initially paid for after 1 day.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Location and fair price.

Disliked: It was STIFLING in the room. No ventilation, fan, or a/c. So hot that I couldn't sleep. Had to keep door and window open all night just to try to get fresh air.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability