We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of St. Clair Hotel - Hostel

Hostel | 577 Richards Street, Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada V6B 2Z5

79.7% Overall Rating

235 out of 280 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/07/2015)

Savannah Evans thinks…

"The building itself is very quaint and is a historical landmark. It has all the amenities of all good hostels."

Read all St. Clair Hotel - Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

"OUR RECEPTION HOURS ARE FROM 9 AM - 9 PM SUN. TO THURS. AND 9 AM - 8 PM FRI. AND SAT. IF YOU NEED TO CHECK IN AFTER THESE TIMES, PLEASE INFORM US WHEN MAKING YOUR BOOKING. PLEASE NOTE, ALL PRICES DO NOT INCLUDE TAX. TAX RATES ARE 15% FOR PRIVATE ROOMS AND 5% FOR DORM BEDS."

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Vancouver?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Vancouver

The Urban Hideaway Guesthouse
30.29 USD

Guesthouse 93.6% 220 reviews
Days Inn Hotel Downtown
165.82 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
YWCA Hotel
38.62 USD

Hotel 3 star 94.0% 10 reviews
Hostelling International Vancouver Central
28.97 USD

Hostel 82.7% 657 reviews
SameSun Backpacker Lodges - Vancouver
31.80 USD

Hostel 89.5% 499 reviews
Hotel Ambassador
33.69 USD

Hotel 2 star 82.3% 113 reviews
C and N Backpackers - Vancouver
21.20 USD

Hostel 65.1% 296 reviews
C and N backpackers (Central Station Hostel)
21.20 USD

Hostel 64.8% 126 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.7%

Overall Rating

235 out of 280 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'St. Clair Hotel - Hostel'

Atmosphere
76.8%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
68.0%
Cleanliness
72.0%
Staff
88.8%
Value
80.0%
Safety
77.6%
Refine your results Showing 206 of 239 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 June 2014

Liked: Close to city center.

Disliked: Very, very dirty. Even if a hostel is cheap it can be cleaned properly. It was beyond disgusting: toilets, showers and bowls/cups/microwave ALL VERY DIRTY.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

19 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Room size was good, small numbers. Well located not too far fro shops and bars.

Disliked: No lockers in rooms and no shelves for top beds.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great

Disliked: The wifi was pretty unstable

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Teresa Leese

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 May 2014 Teresa would recommend this property

Liked: Great location!

Disliked: Bathrooms a bit old and grimey and hostel can be loud at night

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

08 April 2014

Liked: Easy to get around, right down town.

Disliked: No kitchen and once you arrive they charge you taxes on top of the booking price. Also reception closes at 8

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Welcoming feel, good facilities, great location.

Disliked: Shower and toilet facilities could have been better.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Anthony Lot

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 March 2014

Liked: the staff were super friendly and helpful. location was also great. thats kind of it though.

Disliked: there were tiny rooms, terrible beds, no sinks/washing facilities in the bathroom and nowhere to really do anything else. hate to say it but the place sucked. there were places nearby for less than half the price with the same level of accommodation.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome place, great vibe, amazing staff, pretty much all you can ask for.

Disliked: N/A

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

12 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Charming decor

Disliked: Nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Gavin Collins

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 September 2013 Gavin would recommend this property

Liked: stayed here for 4 nights , close to granville station 5 minute walk, fairly close to downtown vancouver , clean rooms ,

Disliked: Gavin left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Richard Lett

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 September 2013 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: The convenient to downtown.

Disliked: A little dirty..not enough outlets in room.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

16 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff were pleasant,rooms clean,good location.Showers and toilets clean,plenty of hot water

Disliked: Our room was by the stairs so a bit noisy.Fridge needed an empty out

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Ya-Li Hsu

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 August 2013

Liked: The staff there are really friendly, and the location is good. In terms of the price, it's the reason I want to stay there.

Disliked: The facility there isn't really good. They don't have a kitchen and there isn't a place to wash our hands in the washroom. I couldn't sleep for the whole night. It was so noisy outside. I could hear people shouting and parting outside. I tried to open the window because it's stuffy inside, but I didn't because I am afraid those men downstairs might climb up. Better not for single women.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mathias Merz

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 August 2013 Mathias would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel had charme, was centrally located, possibility to store baggage.

Disliked: No real kitchens, quite some stairs - but still nice stay, clean and friendly.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff.

Disliked: Toilets were often very dirty. No privacy feeling.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Robert Moore

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 July 2013 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: Its nice and friendly and relatively central to everything; it's a bit like ronseal - does what it says on the tin!! At low cost

Disliked: The rooms were small in size and it didn't infer that a three bed dorm would incorporate a sing and a double but that was only a minor thing. A vending machine with cold drinks would be nice - would help when it gets warm!!!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Elaine Weiss

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2013 Elaine would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, cheap, and location is fantastic! Food places downstairs are convenient and good. Bathrooms always clean, but we really wished there was a sink for us to wash our hands instead of using the hand sanitiser (which was sometimes empty).

Disliked: No sink at bathroom. Room wasn't well ventilated so we kept window open. That's fine with us if it wasn't for the noise from a nightclub right behind us. We used earplugs to go to sleep, so I have to say we were ok.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lissa Brown

Alone

Business / conference

15 July 2013 Lissa would recommend this property

Liked: I enjoyed the entire stay. But, I would have to say my favorite part about staying here was the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff.

Disliked: There wasn't a refrigerator on the floor I was on. There were 3 floors of rooms and the above 2 floors had refrigerators. It might have been that something was wrong with the one for the floor I was on and it was out for repair or they were awaiting the replacement.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

florence fonder

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 July 2013 florence would recommend this property

Liked: The location is really central , room was clean and bathrooms as well ... Good value

Disliked: The kitchen is not a real kitchen , not lift ( stairs really narrow ).

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Bekki Spratford

Alone

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

10 July 2013 Bekki would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly atmosphere, really helpful staff, awesome location - short walk anywhere

Disliked: The cleaner kept waking me up though I was sleeping during the day because of jet lag

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, hairdryer, electrical kettle, washbasin in the room

Disliked: Extra charge for changing the type of room (from twin to double), absence of normal stationary internet, fungus in the shower, old furniture, creaky beds, noise both in the hotel and under the windows. It is not solidly for so rich country to have so "poor" hotel-hostel.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

04 June 2013

Liked: Location.

Disliked: Old building.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Dana Batelkova

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2013 Dana would recommend this property

Liked: location is really perfect

Disliked: no lift

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

24 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms are clean, the location is central and in a very nice area of Vancouver, gas town. The rooms are basic and a bit small but the beds are comfortable and there are sinks in the room which are very useful. There is laundry facilities which is also useful and a nice common room to socialise in.

Disliked: Not much space in the room or storage for your possessions

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 20% Facilities - 100% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location downtown Vancouver within walking distance of the Convention Center, waterfront, and Gastown.

Disliked: When we checked in, we asked the staff for a recommendation of a cheap and secure parking garage nearby. An employee recommended Parkwell Parking Plaza just a block away so we parked there. On the second night our vehicle was parked there, a window was broken and items in the vehicle were stolen. We were very disappointed with the recommendation made by the staff of the hostel.