We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of St. Clair Hotel - Hostel

Hostel | 577 Richards Street, Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada V6B 2Z5

76.7% Overall Rating

226 out of 270 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (20/09/2014)

Oliver Cahill thinks…

"Nice hostel, good location. Staff were friendly and helpful. Dorm was a decent size. Some outside noise because of age of the building and showers could do with modernizing. Overall good value for…"

Read all St. Clair Hotel - Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

"OUR RECEPTION HOURS ARE FROM 9 AM - 7 PM SUN. TO THURS. AND 9 AM - 8 PM FRI. AND SAT. IF YOU NEED TO CHECK IN AFTER THESE TIMES, PLEASE INFORM US WHEN MAKING YOUR BOOKING. PLEASE NOTE, ALL PRICES DO NOT INCLUDE TAX. TAX RATES ARE 15% FOR PRIVATE ROOMS AND 5% FOR DORM BEDS."

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Vancouver?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Vancouver

The Urban Hideaway Guesthouse
31.33 USD

Guesthouse 94.4% 211 reviews
The Cambie International Hostel - Seymour
28.20 USD

Hostel 73.9% 190 reviews
Days Inn Hotel Downtown
120.84 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
The Cambie International Hostel - Gastown
25.06 USD

Hostel 68.8% 145 reviews
YWCA Hotel
36.70 USD

Hotel 3 star 96.0% 5 reviews
Hostelling International Vancouver Central
23.44 USD

Hostel 83.0% 640 reviews
SameSun Backpacker Lodges - Vancouver
27.75 USD

Hostel 82.1% 467 reviews
Hotel Ambassador
26.85 USD

Hotel 2 star 80.6% 109 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
76.7%

Overall Rating

226 out of 270 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'St. Clair Hotel - Hostel'

Atmosphere
70.4%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
60.8%
Cleanliness
70.4%
Staff
85.6%
Value
78.4%
Safety
76.0%
Refine your results Showing 196 of 229 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Richard Lett

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 September 2013 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: The convenient to downtown.

Disliked: A little dirty..not enough outlets in room.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

16 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff were pleasant,rooms clean,good location.Showers and toilets clean,plenty of hot water

Disliked: Our room was by the stairs so a bit noisy.Fridge needed an empty out

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Ya-Li Hsu

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 August 2013

Liked: The staff there are really friendly, and the location is good. In terms of the price, it's the reason I want to stay there.

Disliked: The facility there isn't really good. They don't have a kitchen and there isn't a place to wash our hands in the washroom. I couldn't sleep for the whole night. It was so noisy outside. I could hear people shouting and parting outside. I tried to open the window because it's stuffy inside, but I didn't because I am afraid those men downstairs might climb up. Better not for single women.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mathias Merz

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 August 2013 Mathias would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel had charme, was centrally located, possibility to store baggage.

Disliked: No real kitchens, quite some stairs - but still nice stay, clean and friendly.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff.

Disliked: Toilets were often very dirty. No privacy feeling.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Robert Moore

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 July 2013 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: Its nice and friendly and relatively central to everything; it's a bit like ronseal - does what it says on the tin!! At low cost

Disliked: The rooms were small in size and it didn't infer that a three bed dorm would incorporate a sing and a double but that was only a minor thing. A vending machine with cold drinks would be nice - would help when it gets warm!!!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Elaine Weiss

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2013 Elaine would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, cheap, and location is fantastic! Food places downstairs are convenient and good. Bathrooms always clean, but we really wished there was a sink for us to wash our hands instead of using the hand sanitiser (which was sometimes empty).

Disliked: No sink at bathroom. Room wasn't well ventilated so we kept window open. That's fine with us if it wasn't for the noise from a nightclub right behind us. We used earplugs to go to sleep, so I have to say we were ok.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lissa Brown

Alone

Business / conference

15 July 2013 Lissa would recommend this property

Liked: I enjoyed the entire stay. But, I would have to say my favorite part about staying here was the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff.

Disliked: There wasn't a refrigerator on the floor I was on. There were 3 floors of rooms and the above 2 floors had refrigerators. It might have been that something was wrong with the one for the floor I was on and it was out for repair or they were awaiting the replacement.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

florence fonder

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 July 2013 florence would recommend this property

Liked: The location is really central , room was clean and bathrooms as well ... Good value

Disliked: The kitchen is not a real kitchen , not lift ( stairs really narrow ).

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Bekki Spratford

Alone

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

10 July 2013 Bekki would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly atmosphere, really helpful staff, awesome location - short walk anywhere

Disliked: The cleaner kept waking me up though I was sleeping during the day because of jet lag

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, hairdryer, electrical kettle, washbasin in the room

Disliked: Extra charge for changing the type of room (from twin to double), absence of normal stationary internet, fungus in the shower, old furniture, creaky beds, noise both in the hotel and under the windows. It is not solidly for so rich country to have so "poor" hotel-hostel.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

04 June 2013

Liked: Location.

Disliked: Old building.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Dana Batelkova

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2013 Dana would recommend this property

Liked: location is really perfect

Disliked: no lift

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

24 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms are clean, the location is central and in a very nice area of Vancouver, gas town. The rooms are basic and a bit small but the beds are comfortable and there are sinks in the room which are very useful. There is laundry facilities which is also useful and a nice common room to socialise in.

Disliked: Not much space in the room or storage for your possessions

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 20% Facilities - 100% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location downtown Vancouver within walking distance of the Convention Center, waterfront, and Gastown.

Disliked: When we checked in, we asked the staff for a recommendation of a cheap and secure parking garage nearby. An employee recommended Parkwell Parking Plaza just a block away so we parked there. On the second night our vehicle was parked there, a window was broken and items in the vehicle were stolen. We were very disappointed with the recommendation made by the staff of the hostel.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

clive koffman

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 May 2013 clive would recommend this property

Liked: it is very closed to all the amenities, things to visit and transport hub.

Disliked: We stayed twice in this hostel. The first time our room on the 1st floor was nice and clean. However tis time we are in the 3rd floor and the room is not very clean, there were some dodgy stain the sheets, the 'kitchen' was dirty. I am saying 'kitchen' as there isn't a kitchen but 1 microwave + 1 toaster + 1 kettle. On our 1st stay, some guys were smoking so it did smell in the middle of the night. There isn't any staff on site at night so the clients can do what they want. It is a shame as the place has so much potential.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a little different from the run of the mill hostels. It has character. Good showers too and free towels

Disliked: It looks a little run down and the lack of a kitchen area is a real issue. No fridge, stove or oven really limits your ability to self cater. Couldn't even find a spoon!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Danish Mehboob

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

31 March 2013 Danish would recommend this property

Liked: It was well located near the hustle and bustle of the city. Walking around town from here was no trouble at all, and you get to see quite bit. The staff were friendly enough. They were open to small talk and helped however they could. Not much to say, it's really just a convenient place if you don't have intentions on spending a lot of money and being home all day. Good for shorter timed traveling. and

Disliked: Finding this place could prove challenging, since it has very little recognition where it is located and the entrance is very small. Extremely easy to miss. The sinks were located in your room and weren't in the restrooms. The restrooms are public and weren't in that good of a condition. Everything was working though.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paulius Satas

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

29 March 2013 Paulius would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, friendly and proffesional staff, clean and well kept and of course an unbeatable price, especially when considering the location.

Disliked: Squeeky beds was a little issue for my partner, though it wasn't a big deal.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Megan Wilson

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

15 March 2013 Megan would recommend this property

Liked: Very cute and cozy place!

Disliked: Megan left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was centrally located within walking distance of most attractions.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

09 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, quiet

Disliked: No public areas or lounges.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Common room, lot of bathrooms, cheap laundry service, location, quite, good chill out area

Disliked: needs a better kitchen facility

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 January 2013

Liked: The reception staff were helpful when I checked in and even found me a room on the reception floor so I didnt have to lug my bags up more flights of stairs. The room itself was clean.

Disliked: The walls were paper thin and every floorboard squeaked. I was leaving very ealry in the morning (more like middle of the night) and even being as quiet as I could, had to feel sorry for the person in the room across from me. While only a few blocks from Granville Street I would go back to the Hostelling International rather than stay here again. The area just seemed a bit seedy and there wasnt anything that special to bring me back here.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 January 2013

Liked: The location is good

Disliked: The staff wasn't very friendly or helpfull (not really welcoming) and in my opinion it was quit dirty everywhere, especially the showers