HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of HI-Vancouver Central Vancouver Hostel

1025 Granville Street, Vancouver, Vancouver, Canada

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 78%

Facilities 78%

Location 89%

Safety 87%

Staff 92%

Value 79%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine

Important Information

**Taxes not included. Rates quoted are for HI members. Non-members may purchase a membership at check-in or pay a 10% non-member surcharge.**

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Vancouver?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 78%

Facilities 78%

Location 89%

Safety 87%

Staff 92%

Value 79%

Showing 1-10 of 68 reviews

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great bathrooms everything really clean

Disliked: Lack of cooking facilities

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: clean and quiet roomsfriendly staffgood breakfast

Disliked: poor WiFicomputer use very expensive (2 CAD per 20 minutes)

Customer would recommend this property

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Staff were very friendly. The location was convenient.

Disliked: The facilities were not suitable for the number of guests. You had to wait a long time to get access to a washroom in the morning (a big problem if you needed the toilet!) and getting breakfast in the tiny kitchen with everybody scrambling for the facilities was a nightmare.The hostel is located in a dodgy neighbourhood with lots of homeless people that harass you and a general feeling of insecurity. I didn't feel comfortable walking down the street at any point in the day (morning, lunch, evening or night)

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location and breakfast.

Disliked: The rooms smell really bad. Maybe you want to exchange that disguisting carpet where probably a lot of things have happened already.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Brilliant location for young people- on the main party street in Vancouver which was really useful. Bathrooms shared but because so big (shower and toilet in a big room) felt like a private bathroom. Staff were incredibly helpful and friendly and overall I just felt very safe and in good hands.

Disliked: Nothing!

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: People are honoust and helpful.In the city center, close to much locations we wanted to see.

Disliked: Way to less seating during the breakfast time, many people were unable to find a seat, so took it into their rooms (so did we).

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: Cleanest and most well kept bathrooms I have experienced in a hostel. Clean and seemingly fresh linen. Decent breakfast. Really great location, walking distance of all the important spots. 4 bunks per room is a pleasure.

Disliked: Atrocious internet - no matter the time of day or night I struggled to get a stable connection. Speeds fluctuate between 2mb/s and 60mb/s but regardless of speed I had to continuously go to coffee shops to get a stable connection. Annoying.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Friendly staff very helpfull ... Good location ... Good breakfast ... Good Wifi ... Lift ... Safe in the room ... Conditionnal air in the room ... Washrooms clean !

Disliked: Bed not ready for Check in (5pm) ... Room realy dirty with strange smell ...

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Free wifi, secure free luggage storage immediately before or after check out, they let some people in their rooms early if they were ready, large bathrooms so you could get changed and your clothes wouldn't get wet, free towels!!, super friendly staff, free breakfast, staff suggested places I check out, the description on how to get to the hostel was accurate and super easy to use the train from the airport, lockers in rooms were big enough for my suitcase- though I didn't use them, very clean.

Disliked: Wifi didn't reach my room, though I was pretty far away from the centre of the hostel and it worked just outside my door

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 May 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, City break, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Great location to everything I wanted to walk to see. Super friendly and helpful staff. Free breakfast.

Disliked: The street it's located on is full of fast food joints and bars, also super noisy. Might be the place for some but I didn't enjoy walking down it.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability