We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostelling International Vancouver Central

Hostel | 1025 Granville Street, Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada V6Z 1L4

83.2% Overall Rating

612 out of 654 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/07/2015)

"Cleanest and most well kept bathrooms I have experienced in a hostel. Clean and seemingly fresh linen. Decent breakfast. Really great location, walking distance of all the important spots. 4 bunks per room is a…"

Read all Hostelling International Vancouver Central reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Wake-up calls
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

**Taxes not included. Rates quoted are for HI members. Non-members may purchase a membership at check-in or pay a 10% non-member surcharge.** Rates quoted are for Hostelling International members. Non-members may purchase a membership at check-in or pay a 10% non-member surcharge. Mixed dorms can be reserved for couples or mixed-sex groups only. Single travellers should reserve into the appropriate male or female dorm.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Vancouver?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Vancouver

SameSun Backpacker Lodges - Vancouver
32.47 USD

Hostel 91.8% 489 reviews
Hotel Ambassador
36.72 USD

Hotel 2 star 82.3% 113 reviews
Best Western Plus Hotel Downtown Vancouver
154.63 USD

Hotel 3 star 92.1% 4 reviews
Days Inn Hotel Downtown
192.52 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
The Urban Hideaway Guesthouse
30.93 USD

Guesthouse 93.7% 218 reviews
St. Clair Hotel - Hostel
19.14 USD

Hostel 77.8% 279 reviews
YWCA Hotel
39.43 USD

Hotel 3 star 96.3% 7 reviews
C and N Backpackers - Vancouver
21.65 USD

Hostel 67.1% 291 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.2%

Overall Rating

612 out of 654 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostelling International Vancouver Central'

Atmosphere
79.2%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
80.8%
Cleanliness
76.0%
Staff
91.2%
Value
79.2%
Safety
87.2%
Refine your results Showing 451 of 502 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 18 | 19   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

30 July 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanest and most well kept bathrooms I have experienced in a hostel. Clean and seemingly fresh linen. Decent breakfast. Really great location, walking distance of all the important spots. 4 bunks per room is a pleasure.

Disliked: Atrocious internet - no matter the time of day or night I struggled to get a stable connection. Speeds fluctuate between 2mb/s and 60mb/s but regardless of speed I had to continuously go to coffee shops to get a stable connection. Annoying.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Samir Aït-Djoudi

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 July 2015 Samir would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff very helpfull ... Good location ... Good breakfast ... Good Wifi ... Lift ... Safe in the room ... Conditionnal air in the room ... Washrooms clean !

Disliked: Bed not ready for Check in (5pm) ... Room realy dirty with strange smell ...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free wifi, secure free luggage storage immediately before or after check out, they let some people in their rooms early if they were ready, large bathrooms so you could get changed and your clothes wouldn't get wet, free towels!!, super friendly staff, free breakfast, staff suggested places I check out, the description on how to get to the hostel was accurate and super easy to use the train from the airport, lockers in rooms were big enough for my suitcase- though I didn't use them, very clean.

Disliked: Wifi didn't reach my room, though I was pretty far away from the centre of the hostel and it worked just outside my door

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Adrienne Swanson

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

31 May 2015 Adrienne would recommend this property

Liked: Great location to everything I wanted to walk to see. Super friendly and helpful staff. Free breakfast.

Disliked: The street it's located on is full of fast food joints and bars, also super noisy. Might be the place for some but I didn't enjoy walking down it.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2015

Liked: I liked that a free breakfast was included.

Disliked: The place was not visibly friendly nor was the staff. The hallways were dark and gloomy and so were the rooms. The location is ideal for those who want to party as it is located right on the strip with clubs and bars that does however mean that it isn't the safest place at night. I woke up in the middle of the night to police car lights. You could hear drunk people hollering from the streets and I was on the top floor. Also the hostel does not have any parking and I was advised it's pretty unsafe to leave the car out on the streets.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Dennis Pal Dua

Alone

Business / conference
Visiting friends or family

15 May 2015 Dennis Pal would recommend this property

Liked: Right downtown. Safe and secure. Friendly and helpful staff.

Disliked: Breakfast is just average.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Martin Requena

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

30 April 2015 Martin would recommend this property

Liked: Es muy confortable

Disliked: la señal de wi fi

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, really good breakfast, friendly staff, good location

Disliked: No stove in the kitchen, so you need to walk 12 minutes to the other HI to cook

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Marc Perrot

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

24 February 2015 Marc would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast was good, wifi is fast, lockers in the room are big. The bathrooms have sink, shower and toilet all in the same room.

Disliked: Check-in seemed long, but otherwise I thought it was a good hostel.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to many attractions and friendly staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

SEOEUN KIM

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

08 November 2014 SEOEUN would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast is best! And I can use refrigerator for free. And they served towels for free. And given some coupons are useful to visit attractions around here.

Disliked: In washrooms, there are a little bit of differences. For example, strongness of water, time of hot water getted. And some washrooms are dirty.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

31 October 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good breakfast, friendly helpful staff

Disliked: Poor wifi in rooms on 3rd floor

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 September 2014

Liked: location

Disliked: it smells very bad.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

SEONYOUNG SONG

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 August 2014 SEONYOUNG would recommend this property

Liked: value for money. great location. great breakfast.

Disliked: dirty carpet. little smelly. i dont know why. but great~~~~ location. i recommend this place overall,

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Noah Alzayer

Alone

Work / volunteering

15 August 2014 Noah would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to find, comfortable beds

Disliked: A little run down but not too bad

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

09 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The beds were very comfortable.

Disliked: shortage of seating space for breakfast.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central location, friendly staff, comfortable beds and activities aplenty.

Disliked: Some homeless people seem to keep to Granville st due to it's high foot traffic. Pretty common for such a central area though.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife

25 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and easy to get to

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked the location of the hostel and that there were several bathrooms available on our floor so we never had to wait for one. Also, the fact that they were separate was nice.

Disliked: It seemed a little dirty especially the bathrooms but that was a minor concern.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

20 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome location, comfy bed and the staff seemed nice

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Billy Davison

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 April 2014 Billy would recommend this property

Liked: This place is perfect. Central Location. I have travelled to 71 countries and stayed in many many hostels, this place has the best breakfast hands down compared to anywhere I have stayed, Bagels, Cereal, Fruit, Muffins, Scones, Orange Juice etc. There are 4 bathrooms on each floor with showers that felt like being back at home. If you're coming to Vancouver this is exactly where you should stay.

Disliked: Nothing.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel rooms are nice, beds comfortable and there was a sink in the room which was handy for brushing of teeth! I chose the hi because I wanted a quiet night in and made the right choice. Breakfast was good.

Disliked: Some of the staff were definitely not as friendly/eager to help as I have experienced on average at other hostels. Not a very social hostel- if you would rather socialise than have a nice bed definitely go to the samesun across the road

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location. Breakfast best I've had in a hostel.

Disliked: Could use more seating in common areas

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Matt Browne

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 April 2014 Matt would recommend this property

Liked: It's pretty standard for a hostel. Building looks a little run down, but its all clean and the beds are comfortable. Free breakfast was good and the location is central for Downtown Vancouver

Disliked: It's located on a poor section of Granville St. If you want to hit the bars and don't mind the what the area is like, stay here. If you want to stay somewhere in a calmer area but still near shops, bars & restaurants, go for HI's Downtown hostel - better facilities and better location if you don't want bars literally at the door.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome staff and people staying there. Great location!

Disliked: Could be cleaner.