We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostelling International Vancouver Central

Hostel | 1025 Granville Street, Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada V6Z 1L4

83.3% Overall Rating

599 out of 639 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (27/05/2014)

"I really liked the location of the hostel and that there were several bathrooms available on our floor so we never had to wait for one. Also, the fact that they were separate was nice."

Read all Hostelling International Vancouver Central reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Wake-up calls
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

**Taxes not included. Rates quoted are for HI members. Non-members may purchase a membership at check-in or pay a 10% non-member surcharge.** Rates quoted are for Hostelling International members. Non-members may purchase a membership at check-in or pay a 10% non-member surcharge. Mixed dorms can be reserved for couples or mixed-sex groups only. Single travellers should reserve into the appropriate male or female dorm.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Vancouver?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Vancouver

SameSun Backpacker Lodges - Vancouver
31.59 USD

Hostel 80.7% 464 reviews
Hotel Ambassador
38.36 USD

Hotel 2 star 82.3% 108 reviews
Best Western Plus Hotel Downtown Vancouver
171.50 USD

Hotel 3 star 92.1% 4 reviews
Days Inn Hotel Downtown
51.67 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
The Urban Hideaway Guesthouse
36.10 USD

Guesthouse 94.4% 211 reviews
St. Clair Hotel - Hostel
20.76 USD

Hostel 74.5% 268 reviews
YWCA Hotel
45.58 USD

Hotel 3 star 96.0% 5 reviews
The Cambie International Hostel - Seymour
28.43 USD

Hostel 73.9% 190 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.3%

Overall Rating

599 out of 639 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostelling International Vancouver Central'

Atmosphere
79.2%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
80.8%
Cleanliness
77.6%
Staff
84.0%
Value
83.2%
Safety
84.8%
Refine your results Showing 439 of 486 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 17 | 18   Next
Reset filter
54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 September 2014

Liked: location

Disliked: it smells very bad.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

SEONYOUNG SONG

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 August 2014 SEONYOUNG would recommend this property

Liked: value for money. great location. great breakfast.

Disliked: dirty carpet. little smelly. i dont know why. but great~~~~ location. i recommend this place overall,

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Noah Alzayer

Alone

Work / volunteering

15 August 2014 Noah would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to find, comfortable beds

Disliked: A little run down but not too bad

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

09 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The beds were very comfortable.

Disliked: shortage of seating space for breakfast.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central location, friendly staff, comfortable beds and activities aplenty.

Disliked: Some homeless people seem to keep to Granville st due to it's high foot traffic. Pretty common for such a central area though.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife

25 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and easy to get to

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked the location of the hostel and that there were several bathrooms available on our floor so we never had to wait for one. Also, the fact that they were separate was nice.

Disliked: It seemed a little dirty especially the bathrooms but that was a minor concern.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

20 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome location, comfy bed and the staff seemed nice

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Billy Davison

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 April 2014 Billy would recommend this property

Liked: This place is perfect. Central Location. I have travelled to 71 countries and stayed in many many hostels, this place has the best breakfast hands down compared to anywhere I have stayed, Bagels, Cereal, Fruit, Muffins, Scones, Orange Juice etc. There are 4 bathrooms on each floor with showers that felt like being back at home. If you're coming to Vancouver this is exactly where you should stay.

Disliked: Nothing.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel rooms are nice, beds comfortable and there was a sink in the room which was handy for brushing of teeth! I chose the hi because I wanted a quiet night in and made the right choice. Breakfast was good.

Disliked: Some of the staff were definitely not as friendly/eager to help as I have experienced on average at other hostels. Not a very social hostel- if you would rather socialise than have a nice bed definitely go to the samesun across the road

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location. Breakfast best I've had in a hostel.

Disliked: Could use more seating in common areas

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Matt Browne

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 April 2014 Matt would recommend this property

Liked: It's pretty standard for a hostel. Building looks a little run down, but its all clean and the beds are comfortable. Free breakfast was good and the location is central for Downtown Vancouver

Disliked: It's located on a poor section of Granville St. If you want to hit the bars and don't mind the what the area is like, stay here. If you want to stay somewhere in a calmer area but still near shops, bars & restaurants, go for HI's Downtown hostel - better facilities and better location if you don't want bars literally at the door.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome staff and people staying there. Great location!

Disliked: Could be cleaner.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Had a good location and many events held by the hostel

Disliked: No parking available

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

25 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: downtown location

Disliked: heating the room took a long time

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was very obligent after a mistake for their part which was due to misunderstanding (concerning the price)

Disliked: There were many homeless people and clubs with drunk people near by the hostel.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendliness and kindness

Disliked: Old building

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

03 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: kitchen without fire for cooking

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

17 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central location, having own shower room was great. Breakfast very good.

Disliked: It appears this hostel lets local Vancouver people stay at it, so you will not necessarily be bunking with travellers who are as friendly or up to the same things you are. I had two canadians staying in the room one of which had some kind of mental illness. I did not feel safe and happy while he was there. Waking up to someone having conversations with themself was not the best introduction to Vancouver! I'm sure I could have asked to switch room but he left after a few days so it's just something to be aware of.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

11 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nothing to complain about, it is a good place to meet lots of new people and in a good location!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

26 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: stuff I met was very friendly and kind. They were willing to help customers. Very good location. in front of the bus stop. Free breakfast There are 4 shared bath rooms on each floor. I never waited to use it. The bath room was bigger than i expected, and it was clean. On the first floor, there is a meeting room. I met many nice people there, and enjoyed talking with them until very late night.

Disliked: wifi was not fast, and every time you open the laptop, I was required to put the password. Shower head was cheap one. There is small kitchen on 1st floor. You can use electric kettle, micro wave. Since the kitchen was small, you can't cook something for yourself. I used the top of bunk bed , and the ladder was not good one. there wasn't enough space to put my feet. I recommend to use the bottom of the bunk bed if it's possible to book.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

03 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, the free breakfast, tours and activities available

Disliked: the internet isn't very good

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Aiken

Alone

Visiting friends or family

26 November 2013 David would recommend this property

Liked: The friendly staff and location. Its warm too.

Disliked: Nothing so far.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

JUAN YRUELA CASTILLO

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 November 2013 JUAN would recommend this property

Liked: Almost everything

Disliked: Nothing

37.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Jode Lessard

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 November 2013 Jode would recommend this property

Liked: Good if you wanna relax, really calm

Disliked: Not a big common place, not exactly the good place if you wanna meet people And limited table for the breakfast