HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostelling International Vancouver Central

Hostel | 1025 Granville Street, Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada V6Z 1L4

84.3% Overall Rating

576 out of 614 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/03/2014)

"Staff was very obligent after a mistake for their part which was due to misunderstanding (concerning the price)"

Read all Hostelling International Vancouver Central reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Wake-up calls
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Rates quoted are for Hostelling International members. Non-members may purchase a membership at check-in or pay a 10% non-member surcharge. Mixed dorms can be reserved for couples or mixed-sex groups only. Single travellers should reserve into the appropriate male or female dorm.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Vancouver?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Vancouver

SameSun Backpacker Lodges - Vancouver
25.90 USD

Hostel 88.2% 427 reviews
Hotel Ambassador
24.99 USD

Hotel 2 star 79.9% 103 reviews
Landis Hotel & Suites Vancouver
52.85 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
Best Western Plus Hotel Downtown Vancouver
43.61 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Days Inn Hotel Downtown
52.02 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
The Urban Hideaway Guesthouse
40.43 USD

Guesthouse 95.2% 203 reviews
St. Clair Hotel - Hostel
18.17 USD

Hostel 73.8% 235 reviews
YWCA Hotel
36.34 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.3%

Overall Rating

576 out of 614 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostelling International Vancouver Central'

Atmosphere
80.0%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
76.8%
Cleanliness
83.2%
Staff
88.0%
Value
84.0%
Safety
84.0%
Refine your results Showing 426 of 462 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 17 | 18   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Had a good location and many events held by the hostel

Disliked: No parking available

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

25 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: downtown location

Disliked: heating the room took a long time

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was very obligent after a mistake for their part which was due to misunderstanding (concerning the price)

Disliked: There were many homeless people and clubs with drunk people near by the hostel.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendliness and kindness

Disliked: Old building

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

03 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: kitchen without fire for cooking

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

17 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central location, having own shower room was great. Breakfast very good.

Disliked: It appears this hostel lets local Vancouver people stay at it, so you will not necessarily be bunking with travellers who are as friendly or up to the same things you are. I had two canadians staying in the room one of which had some kind of mental illness. I did not feel safe and happy while he was there. Waking up to someone having conversations with themself was not the best introduction to Vancouver! I'm sure I could have asked to switch room but he left after a few days so it's just something to be aware of.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

11 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nothing to complain about, it is a good place to meet lots of new people and in a good location!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

26 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: stuff I met was very friendly and kind. They were willing to help customers. Very good location. in front of the bus stop. Free breakfast There are 4 shared bath rooms on each floor. I never waited to use it. The bath room was bigger than i expected, and it was clean. On the first floor, there is a meeting room. I met many nice people there, and enjoyed talking with them until very late night.

Disliked: wifi was not fast, and every time you open the laptop, I was required to put the password. Shower head was cheap one. There is small kitchen on 1st floor. You can use electric kettle, micro wave. Since the kitchen was small, you can't cook something for yourself. I used the top of bunk bed , and the ladder was not good one. there wasn't enough space to put my feet. I recommend to use the bottom of the bunk bed if it's possible to book.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

03 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, the free breakfast, tours and activities available

Disliked: the internet isn't very good

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Aiken

Alone

Visiting friends or family

26 November 2013 David would recommend this property

Liked: The friendly staff and location. Its warm too.

Disliked: Nothing so far.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

JUAN YRUELA CASTILLO

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 November 2013 JUAN would recommend this property

Liked: Almost everything

Disliked: Nothing

37.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Jode Lessard

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 November 2013 Jode would recommend this property

Liked: Good if you wanna relax, really calm

Disliked: Not a big common place, not exactly the good place if you wanna meet people And limited table for the breakfast

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Joachim Doll

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 November 2013 Joachim would recommend this property

Liked: Central location. Friendly staff

Disliked: Joachim left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff. Great location. Nice sized rooms with a sink and mirror in the room. Good continental breakfast.

Disliked: Just wish it had a bit more of a kitchen so you could cook and more room to sit for breakfast.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

22 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's central location, and ability to meet loads of different people from all over the world

Disliked: -

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicole Bertrand

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

21 October 2013 Nicole would recommend this property

Liked: The location was amazing, very clean and I felt safe. I thought it was great value for money

Disliked: More bathrooms, but the bathrooms were still nice.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

lakshminarasimman parasuraman

Alone

Business / conference

03 October 2013 lakshminarasimman would recommend this property

Liked: i am really impressed................

Disliked: nothing much

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

30 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff, solo bathrooms, comfy blankets, clean kitchen. you can always tell the quality of a hostel by the tone set in the kitxhen

Disliked: nothing really. it was a very typical, comfortable hostel.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lisa Repola

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

29 September 2013 Lisa would recommend this property

Liked: So clean, so convenient, I felt safe and happy, fantastic experience!

Disliked: Really I can't think of one thing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

28 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

25 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are hugely knowledgable, personable and genuinely happy to help out and interact with guests.

Disliked: There's not a lot of space in the dorm rooms to spread out our stuff.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central. Great fre tours and breakfast. Good air con.

Disliked: Crazy pp on street outside hostel to avoid.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ashlea Wheeler

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2013 Ashlea would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, comfortable bed, much less street noise than the last hostel we stayed at in Vancouver.

Disliked: The 10% extra charge for not being a member was a nasty surprise, I went back into the booking page afterwards to make sure that Hostelbookers actually mentioned it, and it was hidden in the 'important information' section with the cancellation policy and check out times, which I don't normally check if I'm not planning on cancelling.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really good location, close to the shops and other main sights. We booked a double private which was really nice and spacious. The breakfast was good with a nice variety.

Disliked: The seating area in the kitchen needs to be bigger and there is just a microwave so you can’t cook properly which was a shame but otherwise we had a great stay.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Helen Dorn

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2013 Helen would recommend this property

Liked: bedroom with 4 beds not more

Disliked: Breakfast was crowded.