We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of SameSun Backpacker Lodges - Vancouver

Hostel | 1018 Granville Street, Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada V6Z 1L5

91.8% Overall Rating

437 out of 489 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/06/2015)

James Cooke thinks…

"Friendly staff,good bar/restaurant large TV for sports reasonably priced beers/food,good wi fi & dorm rooms."

Read all SameSun Backpacker Lodges - Vancouver reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Vancouver?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Vancouver

Hostelling International Vancouver Central
28.13 USD

Hostel 83.2% 655 reviews
Hotel Ambassador
40.44 USD

Hotel 2 star 82.3% 113 reviews
Best Western Plus Hotel Downtown Vancouver
154.07 USD

Hotel 3 star 92.1% 4 reviews
Days Inn Hotel Downtown
191.82 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
The Urban Hideaway Guesthouse
30.81 USD

Guesthouse 93.7% 218 reviews
YWCA Hotel
39.29 USD

Hotel 3 star 96.3% 7 reviews
St. Clair Hotel - Hostel
19.07 USD

Hostel 77.8% 279 reviews
C and N Backpackers - Vancouver
21.57 USD

Hostel 67.1% 291 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.8%

Overall Rating

437 out of 489 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'SameSun Backpacker Lodges - Vancouver'

Atmosphere
92.0%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
91.2%
Cleanliness
84.8%
Staff
95.2%
Value
89.6%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 371 of 426 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 14 | 15   Next
Reset filter
62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

André van Neer

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2015 André would recommend this property

Liked: To meet other travelers from the whole world.

Disliked: The host is so expensive.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Giordano Neuenschwander

Alone

City break

29 June 2015 Giordano would recommend this property

Liked: Nice offer of daily activities.

Disliked: Giordano left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Cooke

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 June 2015 James would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff,good bar/restaurant large TV for sports reasonably priced beers/food,good wi fi & dorm rooms.

Disliked: The only negative I think is the kettle took forever to boil & I think this large hostel should invest in a boiler.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Varoutsos

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

30 May 2015 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the common room and kitchen area. Great atmosphere. Also the staff were very friendly.

Disliked: The kitchen closed between 2pm and 4pm, it was a bit annoying if you had beers in the fridge or wanted to make a quick bite to eat between those hours.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Sarah Schwerdtfeger

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 May 2015 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: i have met a lot of nice people, i never saw so many travellers on their own. I joined their activities which are quite good! I liked the breakfast, especially the bagels.

Disliked: There was so much dust under the bed.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jonathan Collier

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 May 2015 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing breakfast - one of the best I've ever had. Secure lockers and a variety of great daily activities.

Disliked: Facilities could do with renewal

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jonathan Collier

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 May 2015 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing breakfast - one of the best I've ever had. Secure lockers and a variety of great daily activities.

Disliked: Facilities could do with renewal

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

27 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to everything

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Hong Ching Chow

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 May 2015 Hong Ching would recommend this property

Liked: Good.

Disliked: The bathroom is a bit far away from several rooms.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Samanta Nikovska

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

27 April 2015 Samanta would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location , good atmosphere , friendly staff ,, really lovely hostel would def stay again

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Daily activities offered, normally foc, to get you out and about if you're not familiar with the city and good food and drinks deals daily in the bar

Disliked: NA

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paul Woodward

Alone

City break
Work / volunteering

16 April 2015 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: Staff very pleasant and willing to talk to you. Beds were very comfortable. Showers hot. Really good free breakfast. Great place for the $.

Disliked: Paul left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

16 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Tours organised by the hostel and the breakfast.

Disliked: Noisy

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Juan Pablo Stein

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

05 April 2015 Juan Pablo would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel in the city center. Value for money.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Simon Hingston

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 March 2015 Simon would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location. Literally couldn't be in a better spot in Vancouver. All staff have most information you could ask for available to them. Special mention for the dude who works the reception on a morning - incredibly helpful, knowledgeable and friendly. Seems genuinely interested in talking to guests and in offering advice and tips. A credit to an all round great hostel.

Disliked: WiFi was a bit sketchy anywhere above the 2nd floor, not a big deal.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kyle Jessiman

Alone

Business / conference

23 February 2015 Kyle would recommend this property

Liked: Walking distance in good area - rented a bike just down the street, good Irish pub on the corner, Granville Island is not too far, could walk to Stanley Park in 20 mins or so.

Disliked: Kyle left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Preston Edde

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 February 2015 Preston would recommend this property

Liked: I enjoyed the free breakfast, the service of the employees as well as the hostels location down town. The location was convenient for visiting multiple locations.

Disliked: I felt as though checkout time came too early.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Romantic getaway

09 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The common areas and lobbies heartily encouraged a social atmosphere. Very easy to make new friends.

Disliked: It was generally great. I booked a private room with my girlfriend, and we chose that over a hotel, so we expect a difference, that it isn't a hotel, and we enjoyed the heck out of it.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Justin Hofman

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 February 2015 Justin would recommend this property

Liked: The staff at Samesun backpackers where very helpful in helping me set up my new life in Vancouver. Every question I asked they had the answer for. For someone that is moving to Vancouver this is the place you want to stay at. All the information you want, good price and good location.

Disliked: That I got asked for ID at the bar haha.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the location the staff where friendly and very helpful. Great day trips and good open spaces

Disliked: Being on a maim street it can be noisie.. tip bring ear pugs!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice location to go everywhere. And kindly staff was perfect:) Thank you!

Disliked: A pout of water was weak..when i took a shower...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

25 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, well setup rooms with person fans, lights, powerpoints and lockers.

Disliked: Nothing to not like.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

17 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and friendly staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 September 2014

Liked: Free breakfast was good and Vancouver was brilliant

Disliked: A) opted for the mix dorm room and got out in a room full of blokes. B) if I pulled a bird on a night out I wasn't allowed to bring them back to the room for a hop on C) adult content blocked on the wifi D) ultimately left absolutely blue ballsed

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Christine Teh

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

03 September 2014 Christine would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: no curtains for each bed in the room for additional privacy and to avoid disruption should someone else come in later and turns on the light.