HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of C and N backpackers (Central Station Hostel)

Hostel | 1038 Main Street, Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada V6A 2W1

62.3% Overall Rating

73 out of 120 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (31/08/2014)

TIBOR NAGY thinks…

"Location is superb as just next to Skytrain and Greyhound station. The hostel joint to a little restaurant and a big pub downstairs. You can play free pool in the pub while you having a few drinks."

Read all C and N backpackers (Central Station Hostel) reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note that 14% taxes are not included in the price. The amount will be paid directly to the property upon arrival

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Vancouver?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Vancouver

C and N Backpackers - Vancouver
25.06 USD

Hostel 65.7% 288 reviews
The Budget Inn Patricia Hotel
17.90 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 68.5% 66 reviews
The Cambie International Hostel - Gastown
25.06 USD

Hostel 68.8% 145 reviews
YWCA Hotel
36.70 USD

Hotel 3 star 96.0% 5 reviews
Best Western Plus Vancouver Uptown Hotel
40.28 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
St. Clair Hotel - Hostel
20.59 USD

Hostel 76.7% 270 reviews
The Urban Hideaway Guesthouse
31.33 USD

Guesthouse 94.4% 211 reviews
The Cambie International Hostel - Seymour
28.20 USD

Hostel 73.9% 190 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
62.3%

Overall Rating

73 out of 120 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'C and N backpackers (Central Station Hostel)'

Atmosphere
54.4%
Location
73.6%
Facilities
54.4%
Cleanliness
49.6%
Staff
72.0%
Value
66.4%
Safety
65.6%
Refine your results Showing 84 of 88 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

TIBOR NAGY

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 August 2014 TIBOR would recommend this property

Liked: Location is superb as just next to Skytrain and Greyhound station. The hostel joint to a little restaurant and a big pub downstairs. You can play free pool in the pub while you having a few drinks.

Disliked: The main street can be very noisy, so you better to keep closed the windows during the night.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Lydia Bevington

With friends / other travellers

City break
Visiting friends or family

21 August 2014

Liked: The welcome from staff was great, but there is nothing to like about the property itself.

Disliked: It's extremely run down and pretty disgusting in all areas (bedrooms, kitchen, bathrooms). The beds are awful, you can feel every spring in the mattress. The wifi only works in the lobby (although it is free). The whole building smelled like urine, even the elevator. There is not enough bathrooms or showers per floor, and they offer no privacy at all really. The whole bathroom needs to be locked in order to shower so people have to wait. The place is really gross to be honest, we could only make it one night and had to leave, we felt very unsafe and unclean.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 August 2014

Liked: um?

Disliked: The employees were horrible. Unfriendly, unhelpful. Overcharged me. There are "shady" sources of income at this place, and until that changes you can count on NO CUSTOMER SERVICE. I have been to many, many hostels, and this sits with the worst of the worst

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Next door to the station, perfect for catching a bus/train.

Disliked: The shower and kitchen could have been cleaner

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 June 2014

Liked: The staff was friendly and the location was great (so close to the greyhound station).

Disliked: It was not very clean, it lacks a living room/common space where people could hang out (there is the lobby but it's small and not really cosy).

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 May 2014

Liked: It was close to the bus/train station.

Disliked: They didn't have my booking from hostelbookers. I was the only female in the whole hostel. I felt very unsafe. The men on the desk was very rude after I mentioned to him that his cleaning man came into my room 3 times before check out to try and make my bed (while I was still in it!) He then said that he shouldn't of given me my key deposit back as I checked out at his desk at 11:03... The place is full of middle aged men. NOT a friendly and traveller type place to stay. Was quite dirty, floor was really dusty.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

12 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

04 March 2014

Liked: The staff on reception were helpful and friendly. They were always in a good mood, and knowledgeable about the area. Wifi was good, although not available in the rooms. However, this meant you had to go to the lobby to use the internet, and you met other people doing the same.

Disliked: Not clean. Dodgy location, however it is near a train station so that is to be expected. Minimal self catering facilities - bring your own dishes and cutlery. I would pay a little bit more and stay at the HI hostel next time

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Adam Plante

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

27 July 2013

Liked: It was inexpensive and walking distance to Rogers Arena.

Disliked: We were informed upon arriving that all guest must show photo ID. I booked on this site and saw nothing about that. Even though my son is only 17 I had to argue with the manager for ten minutes at 12 o'clock at night just to get into our reserved room. I was also charged the full price even after paying the 10% up front Online.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

CAROLINE RENATA JUANITA

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

05 July 2013 CAROLINE RENATA would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, near bus station, name national avenue. Bus no 3, no 8, no 19 to stanley park. Bus go to china town and waterfront station sky train. If you want to granville island. Bus no 50. From waterfront sky train. Hostel have lift, kitchen, good view. I stay at level 5. My room no 503. See good view .

Disliked: Nothing.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Dana Batelkova

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2013 Dana would recommend this property

Liked: lift, place

Disliked: Dana left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 May 2013

Liked: very close to greyhound and train terminal. Above a pub. Good sized dorms and not overcrowded. free internet

Disliked: very little equipment in kitchen, nowhere to sit in kitchen. Lockers not in the rooms but in corridor and anybody could walk into the corridor. No common room. one shower per floor with about 20 dorms per floor

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Xiaoliang Weng

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 January 2013

Liked: the location is close to the train and grey hound station

Disliked: the property is very old.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Work / volunteering

03 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, price, space.

Disliked: Character, characters in the hostel, condition.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Valda Dewitt

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 September 2012

Liked: The location

Disliked: The smell, the condition of the bedding but what do you expect for $20.00. If you stay anywhere for that price you are delusional if you expect 1 star service

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Christine John

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 September 2012 Christine would recommend this property

Liked: considering the downtown location and excellent price, it is a good deal.it was really quiet at night, too.i recommend this place

Disliked: the kitchen is very basic, but for the price it is ok

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Tim Harding

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

30 August 2012 Tim would recommend this property

Liked: It was simple accomodation There was a fridge and TV in the room! There was free wifi.

Disliked: Like most of Vancouver, it was a bit smokey (read dopey), the guests that is. But each to their own. There was only one male shower on our floor that worked. But we only had to wait a few minutes one morning.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 August 2012

Liked: there was all

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location if you are traveling via bus or train Close to False Creek which is a beautiful part of vancouver Staff very friendly and helpful - the guy at the desk made sure myself and other female friend new where the unsafe areas were and how to avoid them

Disliked: Bordering on an unsafe part of Vancouver with some 'unsavoury' characters hanging around. On our floor there was only 1 female shower which didnt have its own lockable door - just a see-through screen so anyone else going to the toilets got an eye full No utensils in kitchen

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

andreas chavanne

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2012 andreas would recommend this property

Liked: location, location, location!

Disliked: cleanliness

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Sara Given

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2012

Liked: It was centrally located to downtown, gas town and very close to train station and other public transport

Disliked: near the city's skid row staff was unfriendly and the place itself had rats outside and roaches inside

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Work / volunteering

24 July 2012

Liked: Staff were very friendly

Disliked: Dirty, lots of bugs and the kitchen had absolutely nothing to cook or eat with. Also, the girls bathroom shower and toilets were all in one so no where to change as you step out into full view of everyone.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

21 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean, proper. easy to locate

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Barbara Heinz

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

20 September 2011 Barbara would recommend this property

Liked: Location was great... right next to the bus and train terminal and just some minutes walk from downtown! Everything else is exactly what you can expect for the price! Not awesome nor totally awful!! for that price and the location I would stay there again!

Disliked: was not really clean, does just have a lobby not really a room to spend some time outside your room in the evening!!

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 September 2011

Liked: The location

Disliked: rooms and bathrooms