We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of C and N Backpackers - Vancouver

Hostel | 927 Main Street, Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada V6A 2V8

65.7% Overall Rating

209 out of 288 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/08/2014)

"Basic and budget but does what it says on the tin! A handy location at an affordable rate."

Read all C and N Backpackers - Vancouver reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note that 6% tax on top of the rate will be added to your total price at the hostel. Check in from 8 a.m. To 3 a.m.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Vancouver?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Vancouver

C and N backpackers (Central Station Hostel)
25.06 USD

Hostel 62.3% 120 reviews
The Budget Inn Patricia Hotel
17.90 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 68.5% 66 reviews
The Cambie International Hostel - Gastown
25.06 USD

Hostel 68.8% 145 reviews
YWCA Hotel
36.70 USD

Hotel 3 star 96.0% 5 reviews
Best Western Plus Vancouver Uptown Hotel
40.28 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
St. Clair Hotel - Hostel
20.59 USD

Hostel 75.0% 271 reviews
The Urban Hideaway Guesthouse
31.33 USD

Guesthouse 93.9% 212 reviews
The Cambie International Hostel - Seymour
28.20 USD

Hostel 73.9% 190 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
65.7%

Overall Rating

209 out of 288 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'C and N Backpackers - Vancouver'

Atmosphere
60.0%
Location
71.2%
Facilities
60.8%
Cleanliness
54.4%
Staff
78.4%
Value
72.8%
Safety
62.4%
Refine your results Showing 183 of 212 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

16 August 2014

Liked: Location

Disliked: Not vey clean and lumpy bed

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

11 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Basic and budget but does what it says on the tin! A handy location at an affordable rate.

Disliked: Too few bathroom and toilet facilities.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

09 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Price and location

Disliked: Kitchen was closed upon my arrival at midnight and was unable to get water other than from the bathroom tap.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Jenny Waterhouse

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 July 2014

Liked: Handy to train station

Disliked: Lack of Cleanliness.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 April 2014

Liked: The shower had good water pressure

Disliked: The staff new nothing and we're not In The least helpful, it was soooo dirty, there was no atmosphere to speak of, it has people living there for years, the rooms were cold.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Takuro Ikeda

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 October 2013 Takuro would recommend this property

Liked: One of the desk officer was so friendly and kind, which I liked this backpackers' hotel. When I stayed there, it was a Thanksgiving national holiday, so I got delicious big turkey for free.

Disliked: The kitchens close time is 9:30, so I have to keep my drink out of fridge to drink something at night.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Chen Nien

Alone

Work / volunteering

27 September 2013 Chen would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location, good staff, and very fair price!!!

Disliked: mix bed, security concerned, facilities are a little bit old, but ok to use.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

26 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Generally a friendly atmosphere. Good location, near food, Skytrain, and the bus/train station. The guy at check-out had a pretty good beard. I was able to check-in around midnight (much later than I had planned on arriving) with no issues. Free, fast wifi.

Disliked: There were no secure lockers. The check-in guy wasn't very polite and I had trouble understanding his accent. He never gave me any bedsheets or told me where to find them, just disappeared. They didn't have any cats.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Beryl Gale

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 September 2013 Beryl would recommend this property

Liked: Plenty of communal space, nice thick blankets!

Disliked: Apparently bus no 100 (as in 'directions') hasn't been running for over a year! Only one shower for whole floor. Kitchen shuts 9.30

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap and affordable place with a good location. Would recommend if staying a short amount of time in Vancouver.

Disliked: Internet access is not the best and there were a fair few bugs in my room. Hostel could definitely invest in some new pillows too!!

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

13 September 2013

Liked: The price

Disliked: Location is a little inconvenient for tourist, if it'd be clean is worth money

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was incredibly nice and helpful, suggesting a plan of what to see while we were in Vancouver. There's a computer and kitchens available as well as wifi in the lobby. The hostel had a lot of common area space, aside from the lobby, there was a TV room and a small library room aside from the two kitchens.

Disliked: For some reason the kitchens got locked up relatively early (9pm?), which meant we had to throw out our leftovers when we came back from dinner. There was only 2 bathrooms per floor which of course were crowded in the morning. Also, despite an attentive cleaning staff, the bathrooms tended to be soaking wet from the showers and dirty as a result.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Remi Cabral

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 August 2013

Liked: Safe and convenient

Disliked: Something they don`t tell you when you give them the deposit is that there is no staff before 8am. Only a box to drop you key. They pretty much make profit from travelling in a hurry for an early flight. I`m pretty sure they make it on purpose

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 August 2013

Liked: The hostel is cheap (compared to other places in Vancouver). There's a really good pizza place in the same building.

Disliked: The whole place is just really run down and cramped. There only seem to be three showers for all the 40+ rooms so get used to queuing every morning! Quite a walk away from everything.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

steve horwood

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

13 July 2013 steve would recommend this property

Liked: Best price of all hostal options for that night.

Disliked: Only one shower room for entire floor.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cody Wisniewski

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2013 Cody would recommend this property

Liked: It was extremely close to the skytrain and chinatown which was really cool. It was exactly what I needed for my short stay in Vancouver.

Disliked: Nothing.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Denise Faulhaber

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 April 2013 Denise would recommend this property

Liked: - perfect location, close to pacific central station and in walking distance to downtown and china town - nice room, enough space with sink in the room - really clean

Disliked: no complimentary breakfest hostel is upstairs so you have to bring all your luggage up a narrow stairs

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cheep and near chinatown

Disliked: toilets are broken

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ruth S F Landmark

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 December 2012 Ruth S F would recommend this property

Liked: A very nice and friendly hostel. Quit, clean and comfortable beds.Close to buses and trains. You can walk to Chinatown and Downtown.

Disliked: There are no single rooms with bathroom, so you have to share. Luckily there where several on each floor, and always some vacant.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 September 2012

Liked: Location is good.

Disliked: Small kitchen. Place is crowded and internet very weak. Reception desk works from 8am to 10pm only. Kitchen is closed over night. Rooms are small. Only a few utensils etc. in the kitchen for so many people.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: close to train/bus station. close to bus station and skyrail for Vancouver as well as atm.

Disliked: The added prices, 6 ppl in 4 person room even though it was never said, never locked

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

joseph joanblanq

Alone

Family Holiday

26 July 2012 joseph would recommend this property

Liked: the prize and close to the bus station

Disliked: the surrounding dodgy

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
City break

16 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was very easy to reach and the the staff was very friendly and hellpful. We really enjoyed the stay!

Disliked: It was a bit dirty

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: joe on reception is brilliant, when we arrived we didnt know what there was to do in Vancouver and 'he spent 10 minutes telling us the best places to go and where the tourist traps were and told us what we would personally enjoy the most. the hostel is nice and in a fantastic location. safe and secure and good atmosphere and good value for money

Disliked: kitchen needs more cutlery, dishes pots and pans. no sofas, lots of chairs but so many people not enough for everyone to sit down, computer is below average. not enough bathrooms for the amount of people staying. 4 bathrooms for about 40 rooms. hard to spot from the street

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Price is good. The staff are helpful. Buses stop across the street. I like having a sink in the room. Toilets were kept clean.

Disliked: The location is near the rougher end of town so just keep your eyes open. No outside area to chill in. Only one washing machine and dryer which are only available 4pm-10pm. Kitchen was cramped and not much cutlery and pans etc. worth gettin some cheap kitchen stuff off your own.