HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of C and N Backpackers - Vancouver

Hostel | 927 Main Street, Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada V6A 2V8

67.3% Overall Rating

207 out of 284 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/10/2013)

Takuro Ikeda thinks…

"One of the desk officer was so friendly and kind, which I liked this backpackers' hotel. When I stayed there, it was a Thanksgiving national holiday, so I got delicious big turkey for free."

Read all C and N Backpackers - Vancouver reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note that 6% tax on top of the rate will be added to your total price at the hostel. Check in from 8 a.m. To 3 a.m.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Vancouver?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Vancouver

C and N backpackers (Central Station Hostel)
23.13 USD

Hostel 64.7% 117 reviews
The Budget Inn Patricia Hotel
32.38 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 67.0% 65 reviews
City Centre Motor Hotel
24.28 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
The Cambie International Hostel - Gastown
28.68 USD

Hostel 68.8% 145 reviews
YWCA Hotel
46.72 USD

Hotel 3 star 94.3% 3 reviews
Best Western Plus Vancouver Uptown Hotel
41.63 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
St. Clair Hotel - Hostel
21.28 USD

Hostel 71.3% 258 reviews
The Urban Hideaway Guesthouse
37.00 USD

Guesthouse 95.3% 204 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
67.3%

Overall Rating

207 out of 284 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'C and N Backpackers - Vancouver'

Atmosphere
64.0%
Location
68.8%
Facilities
64.0%
Cleanliness
56.8%
Staff
81.6%
Value
73.6%
Safety
62.4%
Refine your results Showing 180 of 208 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Joanne Small

25 August 2009

Liked: Please note that they DO NOT have any mixed dorms, even though this is not mentioned on their listing. We are a couple and had to sleep in seperate rooms for the duration of our stay, as we have been traveling for 4 months we share a lot of things so not easy. Also note that there are a lot of long term stayers at this hostel and you may be placed in one of their rooms which they have obviously made their own however it makes you feel like you are staying in their house!

Disliked: Joanne left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Thomas Egan

08 August 2009 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to find. Staff very helpful. Not the Ritz but a great budget deal.

Disliked: Thomas left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

08 July 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: i'm satisfied wiz cost!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

07 July 2009

Liked: The staff were super helpful and really nice. They went out of their way to help us out and ensure we were looked after.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Sam Cousins

05 July 2009

Liked: I feel our experience could be down to just a few select people/events.We were put in room 19, word of advice if you do choose to stay here and get put in 19 ask to move. The window in the room looks out onto the smoking balcony...Night 1: A terrible guitar player (common in most hostels) playing and singing from 12-4am Night 2: Said guitar player started his usual set with another guy chatting to him outside our window till randomly the guitarguy started laying into him. You could here a lot of commotion struggling (a one sided fight) Night 3: Guitarguy now a loner decides to shout at people on the street telling them they can come and join him until about 4am.This in addition to us making the maintenance guy aware that there was a leak dripping onto the electrics outside our door, but nothing was done about it.During our stay it was more like a retirement home and no one was particularly social. There isn't a great communal area, its more like a waiting room.The only positive point is that the staff warned us not to go up one end of the street at night as it was dangerous. So the location was great!

Disliked: Sam left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

04 July 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very handy for the stations.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

02 July 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed there couple days.Overall its a good place for budget traveler, bathrooms clean, helpful staff, kitchen,free wifi and one desktop with internet.Close to Chinatown where you can buy groceries and skytrain station.I rented a bike for 10$ a day. Cons, i would say: neighborhood (if you get closer to main@hastings),kitchen is locked after 22:30.I didn't meet lots of travelers, some ppl live there on permanent basis,so they are kind of bonded.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

ROMAN VITEK

30 June 2009 ROMAN would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is near to the bus and train station.

Disliked: ROMAN left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

19 June 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was cheap and the staff were very friendly.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ales vanous

15 June 2009 ales would recommend this property

Liked: atmosphere, friendly and helpfull staff, nice and clean private room

Disliked: ales left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

15 June 2009

Liked: Not too expensive, but the location is not very good : not a great or interesting area and it's close to East hastings (crack town), so it's not very safe. The taxi driver was concerned about dropping me off here and so were my friends when I told them in which area I was staying. The staff is pretty friendly, but the people staying here are not very friendly, they don't even say hello.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Monika Lewalska

04 June 2009 Monika would recommend this property

Liked: Extreme value for location and what you get! Friendly and helpful staff, home away from home atmosphere and feel. Great location - 10 min walk from downtown or 2 min walk from Skytrain.Fantastic! I plan to stay there again!

Disliked: Monika left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Robin Moore

04 June 2009 Robin would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great. Vancouver is very walkable, and its nice to be close to the middle of it all.

Disliked: Robin left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Désiré-Marina Vandendorpe-Driessens

03 June 2009 Désiré-Marina would recommend this property

Liked: het was voor ons ok

Disliked: Désiré-Marina left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

02 June 2009

Liked: Location provided a quick walk to town, but not safe at night

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

01 June 2009

Liked: The hostel was OK but it was full of people living there full time and not so many travellers. Also a bit further from the center of town than they said in there ad. Not really the nicest area in Vancouver either.....surrounded by homeless people. But the staff were nice, except one, and the hostel was reasonably clean. And cheap!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

01 June 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice atmosphere, very good place to stay. the location is not the best available, but acceptable.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

19 May 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really great staff - so friendly and knowledgeable about the city.Good location, really short walk to buses/skytrain and main bus station and short walk to downtown/waterfront.Great value for money, we are a couple and stayed in a private room which had everything we needed. Access to kitchens, multiple bathrooms and free internet.Would reccommend to anyone - we were so happy with our stay we booked in for another night when we went back to Vancouver!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Sarah Tallett-Williams

18 May 2009

Liked: The people were really friendly but not in a good location for anything but the train station. East Hastings is the main drug district and you have to walk through there to get to town!!!

Disliked: Sarah left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

13 May 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff were very helpfull, and the bathrooms were cleaned daily

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

05 May 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location! Within walking distances to local buses, Skytrain & Greyhound. It is said that the Chinatown nearby is not a particularly safe place. But it seems to be O.K. at least before 9pm. The down side of that is my room by the Main St. is noisy all day & night due to traffic. My solution is to use earplugs & to have my head far away from the window.Friendly & hardworking staff. The common areas are cleaned everyday.For improvements, I'd prefer more than one set of power outlets per room.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Evelyne Fischer

24 April 2009 Evelyne would recommend this property

Liked: It's a nice place to stay because the location is close to Downtown Vancouver and it's very affordable. However, you have to get used to the fact, that a lot of people are living, or better staying for a long time there, so you won't find only backpackers. The hostel itself is comfortable, only the lockers don't work properly, but you can give your valuables to the staff.

Disliked: Evelyne left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Harrison Wei

09 March 2009 Harrison would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was super friendly. Hector and Joe were so accommodating, and I would visit them again. The price was also very affordable. The hostel is conveniently close to social locations such as the Night Club Gossip.

Disliked: Harrison left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

11 January 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff ,but very close to crack town ,nice place though china town also local with cheap eats

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

20 December 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice guy on the front desk, free internet, goodish kitchens, heating

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.