HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of C and N Backpackers - Vancouver

Hostel | 927 Main Street, Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada V6A 2V8

65.7% Overall Rating

209 out of 288 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/08/2014)

"Basic and budget but does what it says on the tin! A handy location at an affordable rate."

Read all C and N Backpackers - Vancouver reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note that 6% tax on top of the rate will be added to your total price at the hostel. Check in from 8 a.m. To 3 a.m.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Vancouver?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Vancouver

C and N backpackers (Central Station Hostel)
25.76 USD

Hostel 62.3% 120 reviews
The Budget Inn Patricia Hotel
32.20 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 68.5% 66 reviews
City Centre Motor Hotel
24.15 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
The Cambie International Hostel - Gastown
25.76 USD

Hostel 68.8% 145 reviews
YWCA Hotel
46.46 USD

Hotel 3 star 96.0% 5 reviews
Best Western Plus Vancouver Uptown Hotel
41.40 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
St. Clair Hotel - Hostel
21.16 USD

Hostel 73.8% 265 reviews
The Urban Hideaway Guesthouse
36.80 USD

Guesthouse 94.4% 209 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
65.7%

Overall Rating

209 out of 288 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'C and N Backpackers - Vancouver'

Atmosphere
60.0%
Location
71.2%
Facilities
60.8%
Cleanliness
54.4%
Staff
78.4%
Value
72.8%
Safety
62.4%
Refine your results Showing 183 of 212 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

14 May 2012

Liked: Its pretty clean

Disliked: The bad neighbourhood

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

GARY LOWE

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

01 May 2012 GARY would recommend this property

Liked: How a hostel should be, homely, spacious, 2 clean kitchens, clean bathrooms, staff manage people to room ratio rather than having it at full capacity, friendly and helpful longterm Statefarm,, longer stay discounts, all round nice and comfortable stay at a bargain price.

Disliked: If you want a party hostel, choose another. Kitchen closes too early (21:30).

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jonathan Brinkeback

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 April 2012 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is like one block from the trainstation. It is not in center of everything but it is easy to walk to False creek and Stanley park from the hostel. I have heard rumors that the security isent that great but I have not noticed anything or anyone stealing anyting. The staff is awesome and very helpful.I whould recommend to stay here.

Disliked: Nothing really.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 November 2011

Liked: It is an old building. Location and cleanliness are not the best yet not the worst either.

Disliked: Building was old. Sheet and room were not clean. A pipe was limy. It needs to be replaced as it will leak. My comments on aside: Certain staff was rude and unhelpful, others were better at communication and quite helpful. I will most likely not going to stay there again.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was super helpful and nice. Especially the chap with the curly hair called Joe. Overall it was a pretty good hostel..clean...good location...etc.

Disliked: Our room was beside the outside smoking area so you could hear people chatting at various times of the night. The outside door was not locked after hours.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

26 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap price for the city Helpful staff Free computer access, if a bit slow at times! Sinks in the rooms!

Disliked: The location wasn't great, either a 15/20 minute walk to downtown or 2 stops on the skytrain. Some of the facilities offered (kitchen and computer) closed inexplicably at 10pm Security doesn't normally concern me, but it wasn't in the best part of town and the outer doors didn't lock, my room however had a good lock.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Roxanna Salceda

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 September 2011 Roxanna would recommend this property

Liked: My boyfriend and I came rather early to check in because, well, that's the time we arrived in Vancouver. All we wanted to do is drop off our stuff if it was possible. We were to stay each in a female/male 4 bed room, but we got upgraded to a private 2 bed room because we came so early and I guess they didn't see it much of a hassle just to check us in permanently :] I loved that the hostel had a kitchen. We were also allowed to keep our bikes inside (we just had to lock them to the railing).

Disliked: The computers are extremely slow. I really don't care if hostels have internet access or not, but I can see how it can be in convenient when one really needs to have access.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

dario hernandez

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 September 2011 dario would recommend this property

Liked: bueno no es precisamente el Hilton, pero es muy comodo y limpio, el bano impecable asi como todas las instalaciones en general, solo el tercer piso es muy caluroso,casi imposible permanecer en el lobby,todo esta muy bien ,de la ubicacion ni se diga ,muy cerca de las principales rutas de bus,tren y para comer barato y bueno el mercado chino.

Disliked: mucho calor en el tercer piso ,no lo recomiendo y la cocina cierra muy temprano , muy reducido el espacio en el frezzer

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff nice

Disliked: Pretty run down rooms

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 August 2011

Liked: They accomodated us when we were delayed at their hostel across the street as their check in was closed.

Disliked: Cleanliness of bathrooms, not enough of them for the number of people on each floor.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, close to everything in Vancouver when travelling by foot. Even the rough areas which the staff were good to highlight for us so we could avoid.

Disliked: Extremely creaky beds.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Appearance

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 August 2011

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Everything

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The friendly atmosphere and staff

Disliked: The small lounge rooms, however short of knocking down walls it was not that bad

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

10 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is nice, very close to downtown of Vancouver, friendly and helpful front desk. You get to make friends as soon as you get here as there are many people from different countries present at a time.

Disliked: Rooms don't have any closets and there is no place to hang your stuff. There are no lockers in rooms to put your precious stuff. And I think every room at-least should have a simple fan specially when it's summer time.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Elisabeth Forby

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2011 Elisabeth would recommend this property

Liked: Kindley athmosphare and easy to live. Easy to get contact with the other people who lived there.

Disliked: Nothing.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Douglas Hall

Alone

City break

18 July 2011 Douglas would recommend this property

Liked: Location was pretty good. 2 (small) kitchens. Surprisingly quiet when I was there on a weekend.

Disliked: No in-room lockers and reception recommended to not use external lockers. Ended up lugging my stuff around. Bed was amazingly old and uncomfortable. No air conditioning.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, very near to amtrak which was useful for me. The rooms were simple but clean, plenty of showers on each floor which was good.

Disliked: Very near to quite a dodgy area, there were drug deals going on behind the hostel but, in saying this, I never felt in danger.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is good, directly in Chinatown and only walking minutes away from Greyhound and Amtrak. Joe was very very helpful, friendly and supportive with planning and tipps.

Disliked: It´s much to less washrooms for all the rooms and they are not very clean. One of the staff guys is a bit crampy but all in all ok. There is onlý limited space for cooking and especially for eating in the common room which is located in the hallway.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Karina Jewell

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 June 2011 Karina would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap place, close to train station.

Disliked: Basic kitchen & no breakfast provided, limited bedding provided

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break

13 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great atmosphere, friendly staff and guests.

Disliked: slight worries about the area around the hostel... seemed to be some hostile people on the streets

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Helen Cran

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Visiting friends or family

08 May 2011 Helen would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were very helpful.

Disliked: Location. Wasnt in the nicest neighbourhood.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the price :P

Disliked: nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: close to the city, friendly staff with good adviceses

Disliked: need more place to sit down for eating and have a rest (chairs...), beds are too noisy

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Katrina Sorbello

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 February 2011

Liked: That we only booked one night.

Disliked: The common area spelt like urine.