HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Cambie International Hostel - Gastown

Hostel | 300 Cambie Street, Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada V6B 2N3

68.8% Overall Rating

95 out of 145 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/07/2012)

"I liked the location, so close to downtown but in a much cooler area. I liked the building.. was cool. Lockers in the rooms were great and the mattresses were real ones.. and big! Cleanliness was really good, the…"

Read all The Cambie International Hostel - Gastown reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Bookings of 2 or more persons made in dormitory rooms are NOT guaranteed to be in the same room at the time of check in. There is a minimum charge of 2 night's stay arriving on the 30th or 31st of December. Rates are subject to change without notice.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Vancouver?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Vancouver

St. Clair Hotel - Hostel
21.15 USD

Hostel 70.3% 259 reviews
The Urban Hideaway Guesthouse
36.79 USD

Guesthouse 95.3% 204 reviews
The Cambie International Hostel - Seymour
28.97 USD

Hostel 73.9% 190 reviews
YWCA Hotel
46.44 USD

Hotel 3 star 94.3% 3 reviews
Days Inn Hotel Downtown
52.65 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
C and N Backpackers - Vancouver
25.75 USD

Hostel 67.3% 284 reviews
C and N backpackers (Central Station Hostel)
22.99 USD

Hostel 64.7% 117 reviews
The Budget Inn Patricia Hotel
32.19 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 67.0% 65 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
68.8%

Overall Rating

95 out of 145 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Cambie International Hostel - Gastown'

Atmosphere
72.0%
Location
84.8%
Facilities
55.2%
Cleanliness
54.4%
Staff
80.8%
Value
65.6%
Safety
68.8%
Refine your results Showing 77 of 78 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Richard Bastey

Alone

Business / conference

29 July 2013

Liked: Helpful Staff

Disliked: The room was like a sauna, no air conditioning, no fan, no nothing. Only 3 shower stalls and toilets for a floor with at least 30-40 beds

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 November 2012

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Everything.....the smells of rotten food was probably the worst on top of the fear of bed bugs!!!!!

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

30 October 2012

Liked: central location, the bar downstairs

Disliked: not clean, old old furniture, small bathrooms (2 showers and 2 WC per floor), not intimacy at all in the bathroom, smell pot everywhere

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location and bar downstairs

Disliked: The small kitchen

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 September 2012

Liked: Location.

Disliked: ABSOLUTELY RANK, everywhere stinks of weed and there were mice.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 July 2012

Liked: Not much to be very honest.The breakfast was good value.

Disliked: I think most ,if any investment has been dedicated to the bar first accommodation a poor second.The rooms are filthy, when we checked in the bed was unmade,there was food left on the floor and the bin was full.To top it off both ladies toilets flooded and when I went to the floor below these were also flooded and the ceiling was leaking from the bathroom above. Naturally with toilet water all over the place I didn't use any of the showers,so with no toilet or shower facilities I was extremely eager to leave ASAP.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the location, so close to downtown but in a much cooler area. I liked the building.. was cool. Lockers in the rooms were great and the mattresses were real ones.. and big! Cleanliness was really good, the cleaners do a great job nothing ever has enough time to get dirty!

Disliked: The bathrooms are not practical at all.. There were two toilets and 2 showers in the girls bathroom but the showers are so small and have nowhere to put your clothes etc.. not even a hook. The girls next door at the bakery werent very friendly either.. Can get a bit loud at night on the first floor.. not just the people at the bar downstairs but the kitchen as well i think.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Fernanda Faria Santos

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

25 June 2012

Liked: O Atendimento foi bom.

Disliked: Localizacao e conservacao. Principalmente a conservacao, muito ruim,

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

David Engelhardt

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 October 2011

Liked: - Breakfast was alright - Location is okay

Disliked: - The bathrooms were the worst I have ever seen in a hostel (and I have seen really bad bathrooms before). It was impossible to take a shower as the water was extremly hot or extremley cold. It was dirty, the toilets broken and very old. - The facility needs renovation - There is a huge bar on the first floor. So it's noisy and full of drunken people (I dont mind small cozy bars, but that to much)

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Thomas Duncan

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

26 September 2011 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: The Pub downstairs

Disliked: There was only one shower working out of three

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

21 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Love the old school ness of the building, its very art deco

Disliked: The very small showers and no privacy to get changed

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2011

Liked: Good situation in town centre and near the Gastown steam clock Free Computer and wifi access free Good breakfast with small additonal charge or free muffin and coffee Friendly staff

Disliked: Big private room but the duvet was very dirty (hair and stains) Very very noisy because of the bar downstairs Only 1 shower available on the floor because the other one was out of order

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2011

Liked: The beds are comfortable.

Disliked: It was very dirty in the washrooms :(

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Karina Jewell

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 June 2011

Liked: Internet & laundry facilities good.

Disliked: Above the pub so rather noisy. Also the toilets were being used by the pub customers, so drunk people were hanging around the hostel rooms. Bathrooms were small, dirty, disgusting & a long way from the room. The rooms were very old. Worst hostel I've ever stayed at.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was really clean and the staff were really friendly and helpful with stuff I needed to know and even charging my phone for me! The rooms are big and the beds are really comfortable with lockers to safely store your stuff. The free breakfast from the cafe next door was a real bonus too :) and delicious!

Disliked: I was only here for two nights but being on my own I found it hard to meet people. The bar downstairs was already full when I arrived and it didn't seem like there were alot of people from the hostel there, they all seemed to be people from the area who weren't that approachable.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Asuka Sekiguchi

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

21 March 2011 Asuka would recommend this property

Liked: reception was so friendly and kind!! You can go everywhere in Vancouver from Cambie.

Disliked: if you wanna have quiet sleep, I dont recomend because bar is down stears...except for this, there were much fun!!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Helder Duarte

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

22 July 2010 Helder would recommend this property

Liked: Good zone

Disliked: Helder left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Geoff Cremasco

13 June 2010 Geoff would recommend this property

Liked: Location is everything. Close to public transport and great shopping only 10 mins walk away.

Disliked: Geoff left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marcus Giffin

08 June 2010 Marcus would recommend this property

Liked: Great Location.

Disliked: Marcus left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

03 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Stayed only one short night, breakfast could be upgraded to an awesome English breakfast, which was great.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

29 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I think the location is great, ok the Pub downstairs is noisy all the time, but if you are a partypeople then it is ok. And I could sleep even I was living on floor one. Really shit was the broken mens bathroom in floor one. And really disgusting is that the hostel takes 45 dollar for the bed in a dorm from 9th feb-12th march (olympics).... that is NOT nice.Anyway I hope the paint the kitchen and rooms before the 9th feb.But the breakfast is good and I saw other hostels in Vancouver and this is still one of the better hostels.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Ashley Hunt

13 January 2010 Ashley would recommend this property

Liked: everything

Disliked: Ashley left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Christopher Murray

07 January 2010 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: Very fun, and in one of the best locations you can hope for. The pub was excellent and the rooms so secure that even the guests have trouble getting the doors to unlock! Friendly staff and an all around great hostel.

Disliked: Christopher left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

07 January 2010

Liked: Location as a bit dodge with lots of bums and druggos around the area but security was good in the hostel. The location is close though to central vancouver. The bar downstairs is good unless you want an early night. I'd go there for a night out rather than stay there...

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

04 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: You get what you pay for, overall its a great deal if you need to stay for a couple of days.. I stayied with a friend in a private room and everything was great, the hostel is located in the edge of the old part of the city so its kinda of a ugly place, but two blocks to the other side and you're in a good spot...

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.