HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Toronto hostels

Reviews of The Clarence Park

Hostel | 7 Clarence Square, Toronto, Ontario, Canada ON M5V 1H1

89.1% Overall Rating

60 out of 63 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/07/2014)

"On my way to the hostel I didn't really know how to get there. Members of staff were exceptionally helpful and one of the staff at the front desk even came to pick me up and helped me with my luggage! I arrived late and…"

Read all The Clarence Park reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please Note: Total Cost DOES NOT include taxes or fees. 13% will be charged for each bed booked. This amount will be added to your total bill and will be charged upon check in.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Toronto?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Toronto

Canadiana Backpackers Inn
24.84 USD

Hostel 90.5% 700 reviews
Chinatown Travelers Home
32.20 USD

Hostel 56.8% 307 reviews
University Apartment
27.60 USD

Hostel 46.4% 131 reviews
Grange Hotel
45.54 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 74.7% 43 reviews
Alexandra Hotel
46.00 USD

Hotel 1 star Not yet rated
Toronto Travellers Home
34.96 USD

Hostel 49.6% 493 reviews
Urban Living Suites
78.20 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Planet Traveler
28.52 USD

Hostel 92.2% 187 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.1%

Overall Rating

60 out of 63 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Clarence Park'

Atmosphere
88.8%
Location
97.6%
Facilities
86.4%
Cleanliness
76.8%
Staff
94.4%
Value
88.0%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 48 of 62 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Family Holiday

14 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: On my way to the hostel I didn't really know how to get there. Members of staff were exceptionally helpful and one of the staff at the front desk even came to pick me up and helped me with my luggage! I arrived late and there was someone there for me. The place was extremely welcoming and very clean. My stay was great and I will really like to thank The management team for being so helpful to me.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

30 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff. Lots of social space for guests to meet each other.

Disliked: Few electrical outlets in each room, so each guest can only charge one device at a time.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Jana Cerna

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

29 June 2014 Jana would recommend this property

Liked: There is a big, well-equipped kitchen that allows you to cook virtually anything, and I guess, not just because of that, that this hostel would be great for a long stay. It must have been recently renovated as it all looks very new, although our bathroom would use some more care in terms of cleanliness.

Disliked: Generally nothing to dislike. Go for it

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

03 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is new and very well located in centertown of Toronto.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

09 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location of the hostel was perfect, really easy walking distance from Union train station and the major sites in Toronto. The staff were really welcoming and helpful. The hostel facilities were excellent and our double room (with ensuite) was great. Really comfortable and we loved the stylish décor throughout the whole hostel. The French café/bakery next door was fab too - the almond pain au chocolats are to die for... Would definitely recommend this place.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

18 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clarence Park was great! It was within walking distance of the Via Rail station, close to transport and great bars and pubs. The staff were very helpful and even carried bags to our room! The room was great. Warm. Bed was comfortable and the shower was spacious.

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great & super helpful stuff & freshly renewed hostel itself. Ikea style...

Disliked: Male style cleaning ;-)

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

24 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that it was mostly updated in character and the location was great.

Disliked: I didn't get much sleep, but am not sure if it was due to the hostel.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

16 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really good location and very friendly and helpful staff. I only stayed one night, so I didn't really meet any people, but the atmosphere was nice and there are nice (and free) computers, tv (with games and dvd:s etc) Kitchen seemed good although I didn't use it. The beds were very good (with curtains for a little more privacy).

Disliked: Noise travelled straight from the common areas to our room when people pre-partied and after-partied there. But I heard you can get ear plugs from the reception. Otherwise everything was good, and the staff was very helpful and nice.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katie Gassett

With friends / other travellers

City break

16 December 2013 Katie would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was great!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

15 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Just a great place to stay!

Disliked: None.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

11 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location! location!! location!!! Friendly staff. Decent equipment for the price.

Disliked: They did not take Credit Cards for the payment. Website says they do, but they did not. The staff were aware of that but they seemed to have no intention to correct the wrong information on the website. Room maintenance can be improved. Dust and hair everywhere, 2 out of 3 light bulbs gone, the window facing the street was not shut in the cold weather. Linen provided for duvet only, couldn't tell how clean (or dirty) the mattress was.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place! Walking distance to the City!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

19 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Spacious bedrooms and good location

Disliked: Could be a little cleaner

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Stefanie Becker

Alone

Business / conference

17 November 2013 Stefanie would recommend this property

Liked: Stayed there 11/2013 for a couple of days in a private room. For the price, the room was really well-equipped (aircon, fan, heater, TV); much better than I had hoped. The hostel itself also features a kitchen and living room which I didn't use. The staff is very friendly, it's a great location and the other guests were also all friendly -- and quite quiet!. Overall, highly recommended (for the budget-conscious traveller).

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I enjoyed my stay and was very comfortable. Friendly staff!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Paula Gilroy

Alone

Work / volunteering

13 November 2013 Paula would recommend this property

Liked: I have stayed at hostels in Toronto and this has been a lot better than most hostels in Toronto.

Disliked: that it was cold for a few days

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Vilhem Rothe

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 August 2013 Vilhem would recommend this property

Liked: Location, beds, showers, tv-room, kitchen, filtered water, fast wifi, and some of the nicest hostelworkers ever. I've rarely stayed in a nicer place.

Disliked: When explaining how to get to the hostel from the airport, please mention that it can be sone by public transportation, and how. I spent quite a lot on the airport express, as suggested.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

31 July 2013

Liked: Location

Disliked: Very dirty rooms and kitchen

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Noamaan Nadeem

Alone

City break

27 July 2013 Noamaan would recommend this property

Liked: good location, cheap for toronto, fast internet.

Disliked: Noamaan left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Aparecida Favaron

With a large group / tour

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2013 Aparecida would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, Safe and excelent localization.

Disliked: Private Room for 6 people a little bit small and no access to wi-fi inside the room.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were friendly. Location was quiet especially night. price is good. Bathroom and common area( kitchen, living room) was clean. I totally like this hostel.

Disliked: bathroom has only one in 6 female doom. I couldn't use that morning when someone is taking shower.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

11 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location in a beautiful, quiet square, really close to fabulous restaurants and bars. Walking distance to all the top attractions. Very friendly, helpful staff. A real pleasure!

Disliked: Would be great if breakfast was provided.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very central, nice clean hostel and my room was pretty big.

Disliked: Nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Price

Disliked: Lockers not in rooms


See all Toronto hostels