HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Toronto hostels

Reviews of All Days

Hostel | 5 Selby St, Toronto, Ontario, Canada M4Y1W3

80.6% Overall Rating

177 out of 195 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/05/2014)

Karen Gillmore thinks…

"The location was excellent, a block and a half from the subway, and a reasonable walk to the areas I needed to go downtown. The staff was really friendly and helpful.The bed was good quality and…"

Read all All Days reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 41.45

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Toronto?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Toronto

Sherbourne House Toronto
23.03 USD

Guesthouse 72.2% 110 reviews
Jacob 22 Bed and Breakfast
39.15 USD

Guesthouse 80.7% 13 reviews
City Guesthouse
31.32 USD

Guesthouse 87.1% 30 reviews
House on McGill
48.36 USD

Guesthouse 89.6% 11 reviews
Neill-Wycik Summer Hotel
32.24 USD

Hotel 3 star 66.9% 172 reviews
Downtowner Inn Toronto
64.47 USD

Hotel 1 star 67.1% 410 reviews
Comfy GuestHouse and Suites
36.38 USD

Guesthouse 88.6% 22 reviews
central hotel
23.03 USD

Hotel 0.5 star 55.7% 4 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.6%

Overall Rating

177 out of 195 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'All Days'

Atmosphere
73.6%
Location
77.6%
Facilities
80.8%
Cleanliness
84.0%
Staff
73.6%
Value
83.2%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 124 of 168 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

10 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: character, cleanliness

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Linda FitzPatrick

Alone

Business / conference
City break
Sightseeing & culture

22 May 2014 Linda would recommend this property

Liked: Really clean rooms with plenty of outlets and wardrobe space.

Disliked: A fuss was made over even dropping my bags in in the morning before I could check in despite coming off a night bus.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cash only

Disliked: Cash only, they told me their machine is broken, which i don't believe.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Karen Gillmore

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

17 May 2014 Karen would recommend this property

Liked: The location was excellent, a block and a half from the subway, and a reasonable walk to the areas I needed to go downtown. The staff was really friendly and helpful.The bed was good quality and comfortable. The place was cozy and homey, and the common room very comfy. My price for a private room was very affordable. There always seemed to be enough showers and washrooms to go around, and the kitchen was modern and spotless.

Disliked: I have stayed in other hostels where the private rooms had their own bathroom (though I knew in advance that this one did not); that would have been nice. The kitchen could have used a bit more counter space for when multiple people were using it. I thought the decor could have used a bit more art, but then, I'm an artist and I always think that about anyplace that has a blank wall or two!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner was very friendly and welcoming. I liked that I had a power plug on my bed, even though it was a bit hard to reach. It was good value or money and seemed safe. Also the area it is in seems safe. Enough showers and toilets, a kitchen and two fridges. I enjoyed my stay and would have extended it, but I was too late.

Disliked: nothing

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Jay Keates

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

04 May 2014

Liked: Wifi no worki

Disliked: Wifi no worki

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

13 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Towels and hair dryer were provided.

Disliked: Location was a bit far out of the way

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

10 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and well maintained. Excellent kitchen facilities, very clean and plentiful showers and toilets - I never had to wait for either. Good location with very easy access to the subway.

Disliked: Generally very good property except my room was in the basement and was tiny. You couldn't open the closet doors fully and putting luggage on the floor you couldn't open the door to the room fully either. But it's a hostel and it's cheap and it works. There is virtually no natural light in that room either because there's only one small window and it's partially obstructed, so try to get a room upstairs if one is available. And they need to get that credit card machine fixed.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Yaron Orenstein

Alone

Business / conference

18 November 2013 Yaron would recommend this property

Liked: It is cheap. You get a decent private room. No one bothers you.

Disliked: The room smelled a bit.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the center of town

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

04 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I FELT SAME LIKE AT HOME

Disliked: NOTHING MUCH

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

maria alexandris

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 September 2013 maria would recommend this property

Liked: I had a great stay at the hostel. It is a very clean place and it's pretty close to the centre, it was also easily accesible with a metro. It also had a kitchen that we could use and also leave our food there.

Disliked: maria left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and price. Friendly staff at desk

Disliked: Single room was small and in the basement with no outside window that could be opened

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to subway station, very tidy and clean.

Disliked: Visa/MasterCard machine was not working

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was perfect. To the closest subway station is less than 5 minutes walk. The closest grocery store is also very close. The room I stayed in was clean. In the kitchen there were two big freezers to use and everything you could need to make you're own meals. The staff was very helpful and they offer a ride from/to airport only for $45. There is free wifi and two computers for the guests to use.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

Visiting friends or family

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and modern kitchens, enough bathrooms, suprmarket around the corner

Disliked: AC was quite outdated and leaking, toilets have problems sometimes. Our room was quite small since we had also a baby sleeping there.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Visiting friends or family

18 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a good deal. In a city where budget hotel rooms are $150+/night, paying $55 to have a private room, living room, and 2 kitchens at my disposal was a good deal. My first room had a little issue, so I requested another room and the manager (owner?) was very accommodating and gave me no problem with changing the room. The kitchens are very clean and functional and bathrooms are also very clean. It's a little over a block to the subway, and there's a grocery store down the street. They have quiet hours at night, which was good for me because I was there for work and had to be up early.

Disliked: Not many good restaurant options really close by, but having a grocery store a short walk away was great!

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 June 2013

Liked: price is not too bad

Disliked: Incredibly small room! Probably 1.5m x 2.5m...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location - near subway but perfectly walkable too. Helpful staff.

Disliked: Bit noisy sometimes. Rooms a little dated.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Dirk Brugman

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 May 2013 Dirk would recommend this property

Liked: Charming old building, large rooms.

Disliked: A bit of a hike from the centre of town.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

11 April 2013

Liked: Location

Disliked: Thin walls. Ignorant staff - couldn't provide us with information on the facilities around the hostel. Couldn't find any dustbin in the kitchen.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

24 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was good.

Disliked: -

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

20 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Covered above.

Disliked: Covered above.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nancy Cowan

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

18 December 2012 Nancy would recommend this property

Liked: The location was terrific. It was clean and updated.

Disliked: The bed wasn't great. We had a room next to the common/tv room, which was a little loud.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

17 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean and felt safe and cosy

Disliked: We booked a double bed and ended up in a room with twin beds... not ideal of a couple's weekend getaway! Asked about it and got told to just push the beds together. Not really helpful staff. The room was way too warm and there was no way to turn the heating down.


See all Toronto hostels