HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Neill-Wycik Backpackers Hotel Toronto Hostel

96 Gerrard Street East, Toronto, Ontario, Toronto, Canada

Atmosphere 62%

Cleanliness 53%

Facilities 54%

Location 87%

Safety 72%

Staff 81%

Value 70%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • BBQ
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Reading Light
  • Steam room
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine

Important Information

Please note that check-in time is 4PM. Check-out: 10 AM
If you arrive earlier we have luggage storage and lockers to store your bags before check-in. We have 24 hour reception so you may check in any time during the evening/night. Ontario tax is not included in the room rates and will be added upon check in.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Toronto?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 62%

Cleanliness 53%

Facilities 54%

Location 87%

Safety 72%

Staff 81%

Value 70%

Showing 11-13 of 13 reviews

26% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
26% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Checking out of it.

Disliked: Everywhere being dirty

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Relatively close to nearby shopping mall.

Disliked: Poor cleanliness. There was no microwave in the kitchen for the units in my section of rooms. You had to use the one downstairs in the cafe. The water fountain was down. One staff member (the security guard) could not do check outs for people so there was a bit of a wait to check out.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The mix of people staying at the property

Disliked: Parking in the neighborhood is becoming more difficult (and more expensive) each time I stay here.

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The breakfast was good

Disliked: The rooms were far too hot and we were on the supposed cool side. No fans or air-con. The shower was in desperate need of a clean, hardly anyone was in our block but still it was a state. I feel sorry for the students who have to go here.

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: location is great

Disliked: not very clean, saw a small mouse as well, could use a little TLC

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing

Liked: The location was great.

Disliked: The rooms were unbearably hot. I had to leave my room on the 12th floor so that I could find an air conditioned room.

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: 1) The hostel has a professional frontdesk appearance, with staff manning the frontdesk like in a hotel setting. I liked the sense of professionalism projected as a first impression.2) I was able to get discount tickets for some of the Toronto attractions from the hostel. Will be good if they expand the discount into more attractions.3) The bedsheet and pillowcase were clean.

Disliked: 1) The hostel room I stayed in does not come with air-conditioning. I can understand the intent to, most probably, limit captial cost. So maybe the hostel can install a ceiling fan, or at least be able to provide a small portable fan. It can be searing hot staying in the room at the height of summer.2) The facilities (the table and shelves) in my room seemed rather old. The only chair there was creaky. At least the bed was alright, but maybe get a new pillow as the one I had was quite "limpy".

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It was nice and clean and the rooftop view to die for

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: - Fantastic location- Clean- Affordable with a great value free breakfast

Disliked: - No air-con

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Single occupancy room

Disliked: Shared bathroom and Internet only available in lounge

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability