We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Toronto hostels

Reviews of City Guesthouse

Guesthouse | 306 Wellesley St E, Toronto, Ontario, Canada M4X1H1

86.1% Overall Rating

30 out of 31 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (31/07/2014)

"The room and bathroom were both big and clean. The kitchen was well stocked. The shower was powerful enough and the bed was comfortable. You can come and go whenever you like once you have checked-in. The neighbourhood…"

Read all City Guesthouse reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Communal kitchen

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

**Our cancellation policy is 48 hours prior to arrival and in case of no show or late cancellation there is a charge for one night** Note: Please send us an email after you made the booking stating your estimated time of arrival Our Check-in time is 1 PM - 11 PM. please note that customers are informed that full payment is due at check in by cash or Traveller's cheques only,and that we do not accept any credit cards.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Toronto?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Toronto

Comfy GuestHouse and Suites
32.67 USD

Guesthouse 88.6% 22 reviews
Sherbourne House Toronto
22.38 USD

Guesthouse 72.2% 110 reviews
Downtowner Inn Toronto
62.66 USD

Hotel 1 star 67.1% 410 reviews
All Days
26.85 USD

Hostel 80.0% 197 reviews
Toronto Garden Inn Bed&Breakfast
89.51 USD

Guesthouse 86.7% 6 reviews
Neill-Wycik Summer Hotel
31.33 USD

Hotel 3 star 66.9% 172 reviews
House on McGill
46.99 USD

Guesthouse 89.6% 11 reviews
Jacob 22 Bed and Breakfast
38.04 USD

Guesthouse 80.7% 13 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.1%

Overall Rating

30 out of 31 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'City Guesthouse'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
79.2%
Facilities
78.4%
Cleanliness
76.8%
Staff
94.4%
Value
92.0%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 26 of 31 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

10 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very helpful and friendly owner

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Eliska Skorepova

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 August 2014 Eliska would recommend this property

Liked: Very kind and helpfull hosts :-)

Disliked: Our room looked tiny bit grubby.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room and bathroom were both big and clean. The kitchen was well stocked. The shower was powerful enough and the bed was comfortable. You can come and go whenever you like once you have checked-in. The neighbourhood felt safe.

Disliked: This is not really a hostel. There was no signage outside to let you know what the building was, no general reception area, and we barely saw any of the other guests. The only time we saw any staff was when we checked-in. The location, while pretty good for the subway, is not as close to the main attractions (i.e. CN Tower) as is suggested on the HostelBookers page: you'll need to use the subway a fair bit.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Sabrina Hoffmann

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2014 Sabrina would recommend this property

Liked: Close to bus and subway, loads of shops and restaurants nearby, big room with tv, loads of storage, comfy bed, free wifi

Disliked: Not that clean as I like it...quite warm in rooms upstairs, window open all day & night

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

25 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: this place is certainly a gem amongst the accommodation of Toronto. perfectly ideal for couples of all ages, lone travellers (-very- safe place) and small groups of people here to see the sights in and around the city. As previously mentioned this place is NOT suitable for party groups and rowdy kids (its a guest house after all, not a hostel. Also the walls of the house are paper-thin and the floors are pretty creeky, but it is an old house afterall). Fantastic kitchen with almost every appliance you can think of, a lovely bathroom with a huge bath) and you can easily walk to the city centre from there (subway nearby and bus stop not a minutes walk). This is a fantastic place for a short or long stay, highly recommend it, and i would certainly tell my friends & family.

Disliked: i can confirm that the bathrooms do lack towels, but this is a non-issue personally as you can easily pick one up at dollarama/bring your own. the floorboards are creeky and the walls thin and you can hear a fair amount of activity above/below your rooms, so light sleepers may want to think of bringing some earplugs.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and cozy room and house

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Visiting friends or family

22 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked the character of the hostel. It was more like a house with some guest rooms in it rather than a traditional hostel. It's a nice old house with great character (eg wooden panelling on the staircases and bottom floors). The kitchen is very modern and my (private) room was very nice, with a good bed, a desk, a small TV, and lots of space. Even a view of the downtown since I was on the top floor. I was very happy, especially given the price. The cabbagetown neighbourhood is full of nice old victorian brown brick houses as well, which I thought was cool.

Disliked: Some people might find the property a little out of the way (far from Union Station, CN Tower, etc), but I didn't mind. Another potential issue is that there are only 2 bathrooms (that I was aware of) but this was never an issue for me as it is a smaller hostel. Not a party hostel, but great if you're looking for a nice cheap place to stay for a couple nights. Also, there's no signage out front of the house which could lead to some slight confusion, but again I had no problems.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Larissa Edurot

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Visiting friends or family

28 October 2013 Larissa would recommend this property

Liked: it was awesome for staying there for one night! such a peaceful place to stay in :)

Disliked: Larissa left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

16 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome location, beautiful house, and the owner is incredibly friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Loved it!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

15 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly and were helpful with directions.

Disliked: n/a

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner is very helpful, and know Toronto very well. The Guesthouse is located very close to public transport, however it is far enough that you do not hear any motor vehicle noise.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

22 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. It is a really nice plade and the people are friendly.

Disliked: Parkring is quiet difficult, because you have to move your car in the evening (9 pm) and aga in in the morning (8 am).

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mary-Catherine DeNoble

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 March 2013 Mary-Catherine would recommend this property

Liked: The room was large and clean, the bed was comfortable, and the man who greeted us was very friendly and welcoming.

Disliked: Mary-Catherine left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

01 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good value for money. Staff was accommodating. Very nice room; the building is beautiful. The hostel is fairly well located: 10 minutes walk to the downtown subway system, and a nice variety of restaurants and good grocery stores nearby.

Disliked: No towel! Kitchen was a bit messy.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff, secure, big room.

Disliked: A litle far away from all attraction. No towel. Could be more clean

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

19 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly owner. We had a very nice room and privacy. And for a great price. Had a big TV in our room as well! :)

Disliked: The location is not super-downtown; although you can well make it to Dundas Square etc by walking, you're better of taking buses there.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

12 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely owner, the house is in a nice tree lined street with loads of good restaurants.

Disliked: It was a bit cold a night, not adequate heating (we were there in October.)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked everything. The room was spacey, had stained glass windows, the bed was good and perfectly clean.The neighbourhood is excellent: lots of cafes, restaurants, easy to get to by public transport, yet quiet. I had a wonderful time and would warmly recommend it to anyone. The landlords were flexible with check-out time and would let me leave my luggage there.

Disliked: There was absolutely nothing I disliked.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

eric Vanier

Alone

Business / conference

05 October 2012 eric would recommend this property

Liked: The place is very quiet, the owner very awesome. I will recommend this property to everybody without hesitating.

Disliked: This is a detail but missing a tower in bathroom to dry our hands. This is not particular of this properly, you will find this tiny issue through a lot of places.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

06 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a very good place for the price we payed. The bedroom was clean and nice. The kitchen is clean and it has electrical appliance for cooking. The location its ok, about 25 minutes from downtown in a nice neighbourhood. Supermarket, restaurants and others just one block from the hostel.

Disliked: The bathroom needs to be clean more often. It was ok when we arrived, but after 12 hours it became a bit dirty till we left.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Work / volunteering

16 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's more of a B&B than a hostel. Which is great for vacationing but hard if you're trying to meet people moving to Toronto.

Disliked: No towels!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

michaele moffett

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

12 June 2012 michaele would recommend this property

Liked: The location (Wellesley st and Parliament) is ideal. It is in an area known as Cabbagetown and is very diverse. Here you will find many different restaurants and a colorful atmosphere. The house is a beautiful Victorian. Zia, the property manager and his family were very nice and he went out of his way to make sure my time in Toronto was a good one. I was able to come and go as I pleased with no problem whatsoever. Public transportation is all around you.

Disliked: The bathroom could have been cleaner. I found myself washing the floor and shower every other day because of the filth and massive amounts of hair left by other hostelers. Also, the towel placed on the floor as a bathmat was not clean at all.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved it here ! Perfect location , can't wait to come back

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

27 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I love the place. The house is located in downtown of Toronto, clean and simple, no towels and other things are provided but very clean. The staff is nice, I was able to park free on the main street nearby because it was a weekend. My room is on the third floor, Quite enough for this downtown location. I love the environment and atmosphere,

Disliked: Nothing.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

17 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful owner, great vale, free internet access, reasonably close to Downtown Toronto, large bedroom, bathroom and kitchen, and a building with character. Would happily stay there again.

Disliked: The entrance hall could be more inviting (but this is only a minor grumble)


See all Toronto hostels