We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Toronto hostels

Reviews of Planet Traveler

Hostel | 357 College Street, Toronto, Ontario, Canada ON M5T 1S5

93.5% Overall Rating

194 out of 200 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/11/2014)

bukky omotosho thinks…

"What I loved most about this place was it's proximity to most downtown major locations...I virtually walked down to the places I wanted to go, like chinatown and spadina Avenue! Plus there are lots…"

Read all Planet Traveler reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Note: The latest check in time is at 12 AM. Please note that from May to October the hostel don't accept bookings OVER 5 PEOPLE. They reserve the rights to cancel your booking and the deposit paid will be lost.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Toronto?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Toronto

kaisar Guest House
49.23 USD

Guesthouse 78.6% 27 reviews
University of Toronto Residences - New College
25.96 USD

Hostel 82.1% 49 reviews
Toronto Travellers Home
34.01 USD

Hostel 49.6% 493 reviews
Grange Hotel
39.83 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 74.7% 43 reviews
Urban Living Suites
76.08 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Alexandra Hotel
35.80 USD

Hotel 1 star Not yet rated
University Apartment
26.85 USD

Hostel 48.0% 133 reviews
Chinatown Travelers Home
31.33 USD

Hostel 59.0% 308 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.5%

Overall Rating

194 out of 200 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Planet Traveler'

Atmosphere
91.2%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
93.6%
Cleanliness
92.8%
Staff
94.4%
Value
92.0%
Safety
96.0%
Refine your results Showing 145 of 198 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

bukky omotosho

Alone

Business / conference

07 November 2014 bukky would recommend this property

Liked: What I loved most about this place was it's proximity to most downtown major locations...I virtually walked down to the places I wanted to go, like chinatown and spadina Avenue! Plus there are lots of nearby places to have meals at, which you wouldn't be needing till midday or later as the lodge offers free breakfast which was quite okay to me. Getting a cab or a road rail was easy peasy too coz the lodge is right on the main street.

Disliked: Well the back end staircase did have too much stuff stacked therein, almost like it was used in place of a store room they din't have. Besides that all was great.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Isabel Löffelsender

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break

25 September 2014 Isabel would recommend this property

Liked: Great, almost perfect, Hostel ! Very close to royal Ontario museum and casa loma, two of the main attractions in Toronto. Short way to CN tower and downtown Toronto. The staff is really nice and the breakfast really good for a hostel with a lot of different stuff to choose from. The rooftop is plain amazing and we really enjoyed our free bbq on Saturday night up there! Rooms are very clean, same with the bathrooms which are all modern. We really loved planet traveler.... Best hostel we've styed in so far !

Disliked: Nothing everything was great !

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amy Darby

Alone

Events / festivals

18 September 2014 Amy would recommend this property

Liked: The roof terrace is amazing, most beautiful views of Toronto! The staff are all lovely and really friendly and helpful. Cleanest hostel rooms I've ever stayed in and en suites! The breakfast goes on until 1pm. I have endlessly positive things to say about this hostel, it's the nicest one I've stayed at and I couldn't possibly reccomend it more! You won't find a nicer one in Toronto!!!!

Disliked: Nothing, this hostel is perfect!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Work / volunteering

17 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's the best hostel I've ever stayed in in Toronto. Definitely the cleanest - and still has a very 'new' feel to it. Events are run 3 times in a week, meaning it's perfectly sociable without being an overly 'party' hostel. Free breakfast each morning is excellent. And the ability to be able to use the phone boxes in the communal area FOR FREE is ideal.

Disliked: There's sometimes a bit of a struggle to access the washing machines.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Eco-friendly and green, great selection for breakfast and they give you a tour when you arrive which was great. The shared bathroom was awesome as it is in your room

Disliked: The rooms were very narrow so not much room for luggage

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was clean n friendly.breakfast offer till 1pm,it was awesome !!

Disliked: the room is kinda small.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great hostel ("green" policy), nice activities (especially the barbecue!!)

Disliked: -

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was a really cool base point. The staff were hilarious and great to talk to during the day (especially dominic), and the extra long breakfast was super handy. Wednesday night pub crawl was pretty awesome, and a great way to meet other hostellers. Showers were clean, Wi-Fi worked everywhere, and the location is excellent. Thanks planet traveller!

Disliked: More events would have been cool, even if it were just a walking tour around the city.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Caroline Proverbs

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 September 2014 Caroline would recommend this property

Liked: Location was great. Staff generally helpful (though some could do with learning more about getting around and where to go in the city). Free pop corn great idea. Room clean & comfortable.The free BBQ is ace as is the film show.

Disliked: The kitchen was too small to allow so many people to cook all at one (the central table makes it difficult to get around when the place is crowded). Some staff music tastes are crap & they play the music too load - it seems more to entertain themselves rather than the guests. They could do more to promote options on trips including Niagara but they seem tied to one operator who's not the cheapest or best - check out TA guys you'll get a much better deal.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Liyu Cao

Alone

Visiting friends or family

04 September 2014 Liyu would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and very nice

Disliked: Liyu left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely clean bed Very secure inside property Luggage storage service after checkout Nice view at the rooptop

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free breakfast with a lot of choices and check out at 12 was a really nice break. I loved the convenient location close to the market.. Private rooms available.

Disliked: It was hot and at some point the air conditioning kicked in and it got very very cold. No happy medium.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, huge breakfast selection with cereal and fruit, nice soft blanket, PLUGS RIGHT NEXT TO EVERY BED, showers with soap and hotel quality. The environment was like hotel quality.

Disliked: Not much to complain about. Only an oddity: most Canadians I've met in travels were so jovial, but the staff seemed stressed and square except for the French girl who had smiles and was warm. But this does not matter too much.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location,cleanliness,staff

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

28 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic hostel. Beautiful, clean and a rooftop terrace! And breakfast is included, what more do you want?

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was incredibly friendly and the facilities were nice. Big Kitchen, TV common area, computers available for use and a BEAUTIFUL rooftop terrace. Loved the stay here!

Disliked: It's a little far train stations but within acceptable walking distance (20-30 min)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cagan Burrows

Alone

Work / volunteering

20 July 2014 Cagan would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, close to a lot of bars and on a major streetcar line. Awesome rooftop patio, best breakfast out of all the hostels in the city. They organize events on most night too. They even offer luggage storage.

Disliked: There is very little room for bags in the dorm. Not sure this would pass fire safety regs.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Immo Syrjäläinen

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2014 Immo would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast and free tea and coffee are a bonus for a hostel.

Disliked: Immo left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Soham Singh

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

15 July 2014 Soham would recommend this property

Liked: It was an amazing short stay. I recommend everyone to stay here. Amazing people, at the best location possible in Toronto.

Disliked: Soham left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Super clean, very friendly, TV in the lobby with world cup, free BBQ!

Disliked: Horrible parking spot, but I guess at least they have some. Got a parking ticket because I had to park somewhere else while waiting for my reserved spot to clear up.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

30 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooftop porch and the view is pretty nice. The building is green .

Disliked: The bed squeaks and makes too much noise at every turn of the body. The mattress is uncomfortable.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

29 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: All of the common areas were nice. The roof top lounge in the summer time is worth the price of admission. Great views, and an awesome place to enjoy an adult beverage. Outlets inside the lockers is pretty cool too.

Disliked: The beds were average, not as glamorous as the description makes them sound. There was nothing to prevent roommates from taking multiple lockers, so you could end up without one. The lockers didn't seem too sturdy, and I would highly recommend bringing your own padlock even though they come with keys. Breakfast was also a feature that made me interested in this property, but it was pretty plain (bagels with margarine, cereal, and bananas). There was a problem with the hot water while we were there too... icy showers. Still, I would recommend it anyways.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

23 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great staff, great people, great location, clean rooms!

Disliked: nothing at all

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emily Russell

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break

16 June 2014 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, brilliant facilities, super clean, amazing roof terrace, great bathrooms! All fab!!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michelle Hopkins

Alone

Work / volunteering

06 June 2014 Michelle would recommend this property

Liked: This is my first hostel experience and I have to say its bn amazing.. The services and hostel are fantastic. The owner goes above and beyond from BBQ on Saturday night to movie nite on a Tuesday. The staff or lovely the people you met here are so amazing. I would recommend this hostel to everyone

Disliked: Only issue was the pillows


See all Toronto hostels