HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Toronto hostels

Reviews of Planet Traveler

Hostel | 357 College Street, Toronto, Ontario, Canada ON M5T 1S5

91.7% Overall Rating

170 out of 176 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/07/2014)

"Fantastic hostel. Beautiful, clean and a rooftop terrace! And breakfast is included, what more do you want?"

Read all Planet Traveler reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Note: The latest check in time is at 12 AM. Please note that from May to October the hostel don't accept bookings OVER 5 PEOPLE. They reserve the rights to cancel your booking and the deposit paid will be lost.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Toronto?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Toronto

kaisar Guest House
50.88 USD

Guesthouse 78.5% 26 reviews
University of Toronto Residences - New College
26.83 USD

Hostel 83.5% 48 reviews
Toronto Travellers Home
32.38 USD

Hostel 48.7% 492 reviews
Grange Hotel
45.79 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 74.7% 43 reviews
Urban Living Suites
78.63 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Alexandra Hotel
43.48 USD

Hotel 1 star Not yet rated
University Apartment
13.88 USD

Hostel 48.5% 127 reviews
Chinatown Travelers Home
27.75 USD

Hostel 57.4% 305 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.2%

Overall Rating

169 out of 175 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Planet Traveler'

Atmosphere
96.8%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
88.0%
Cleanliness
90.4%
Staff
93.6%
Value
88.8%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 131 of 174 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

28 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic hostel. Beautiful, clean and a rooftop terrace! And breakfast is included, what more do you want?

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was incredibly friendly and the facilities were nice. Big Kitchen, TV common area, computers available for use and a BEAUTIFUL rooftop terrace. Loved the stay here!

Disliked: It's a little far train stations but within acceptable walking distance (20-30 min)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cagan Burrows

Alone

Work / volunteering

20 July 2014 Cagan would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, close to a lot of bars and on a major streetcar line. Awesome rooftop patio, best breakfast out of all the hostels in the city. They organize events on most night too. They even offer luggage storage.

Disliked: There is very little room for bags in the dorm. Not sure this would pass fire safety regs.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Immo Syrjäläinen

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2014 Immo would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast and free tea and coffee are a bonus for a hostel.

Disliked: Immo left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Soham Singh

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

15 July 2014 Soham would recommend this property

Liked: It was an amazing short stay. I recommend everyone to stay here. Amazing people, at the best location possible in Toronto.

Disliked: Soham left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Super clean, very friendly, TV in the lobby with world cup, free BBQ!

Disliked: Horrible parking spot, but I guess at least they have some. Got a parking ticket because I had to park somewhere else while waiting for my reserved spot to clear up.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

30 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooftop porch and the view is pretty nice. The building is green .

Disliked: The bed squeaks and makes too much noise at every turn of the body. The mattress is uncomfortable.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

29 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: All of the common areas were nice. The roof top lounge in the summer time is worth the price of admission. Great views, and an awesome place to enjoy an adult beverage. Outlets inside the lockers is pretty cool too.

Disliked: The beds were average, not as glamorous as the description makes them sound. There was nothing to prevent roommates from taking multiple lockers, so you could end up without one. The lockers didn't seem too sturdy, and I would highly recommend bringing your own padlock even though they come with keys. Breakfast was also a feature that made me interested in this property, but it was pretty plain (bagels with margarine, cereal, and bananas). There was a problem with the hot water while we were there too... icy showers. Still, I would recommend it anyways.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

23 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great staff, great people, great location, clean rooms!

Disliked: nothing at all

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emily Russell

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break

16 June 2014 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, brilliant facilities, super clean, amazing roof terrace, great bathrooms! All fab!!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michelle Hopkins

Alone

Work / volunteering

06 June 2014 Michelle would recommend this property

Liked: This is my first hostel experience and I have to say its bn amazing.. The services and hostel are fantastic. The owner goes above and beyond from BBQ on Saturday night to movie nite on a Tuesday. The staff or lovely the people you met here are so amazing. I would recommend this hostel to everyone

Disliked: Only issue was the pillows

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Alexandra Moulin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 June 2014 Alexandra would recommend this property

Liked: Good hostel with everything you need, good breakfast, a terrace with free burgers on Sunday when I was there. The room are not big but that's enough for a couple of days. Friendly staff. Grocery stores close

Disliked: Crowded of children/teenager. Bad timing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jason Cotas

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 May 2014 Jason would recommend this property

Liked: The location and the staff was amazing! All such nice people!

Disliked: The mattress cover was stained and had some hair.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Right next to Kensignton Market. Best thing for me personally: Breakfast goes till 1:00pm! Finally a hostel that understands the needs of a traveller who also likes to enjoy the nights of a city! Also, checkout-time is 12:00 which is very convinient. Other nice features: Breakfast included, free pop-corn, tea and coffee all day long, free food shelf, laundry, free national calls, lockers have keys - I didnt need to buy a lock.

Disliked: The internet in my room was non-existent. Had to go downstairs all the time. Would have liked to have a power plug on my upper bed.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Every thing, I could not belive the breakfast starts at 7am and goes on until 1pm. Free popcorn, coffee/tea all day, Saturday night free BBQ on roof top was excellent.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere , friendly staff and great free breakfast

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
City break
Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Common area, variety of restaurants in vicinity

Disliked: No cream cheese for breakfast bagels, no elevator.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mathieu PREAu

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 April 2014 Mathieu would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, clean place, fun staff and nice bathroom

Disliked: the rooms are quite small

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

19 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It creates a good atmosphere where everyone interacts with each other regardless of the fact that we were all strangers. I recommend it to anyone.

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ricky Hall

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

17 April 2014 Ricky would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, love the accommodations, planning another trip and will def stay with them!

Disliked: Ricky left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

11 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were very friendly & welcoming, very convienient location and relaxed atmosphere Rooftop terrace provides an awesome view of the city, so it's a must!!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Annabel Pearce

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break

10 April 2014 Annabel would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic hostel! Breakfast is until 1 which is a real bonus (plus free pasta dinner on Saturdays!), the bathrooms in the rooms were clean and bright and modern, the beds were wide and comfortable, the locks on the lockers in the rooms were provided for free, the roof terrace is a plus, the staff were really friendly and gave excellent advice for nearby bars, pubs and clubs! My friend and I walked around Toronto all day and it was in the perfect location to do this from. Could sing its praises all day!

Disliked: No complaints what so ever!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are so wonderful, really friendly and give great suggestions on places for you to visit. Hostel itself is very clean and modern and the atmosphere is great for meeting other travellers. Each dorm also has an en suite which is a nice change from having to walk all the way down the hall to a communal bathroom. It's also really close to Little Italy and a block away from some nice coffee shops!

Disliked: There aren't any metro stops nearby so it's quite a long walk from the metro station (but there is a tram).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Janis Sankowski

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

10 March 2014 Janis would recommend this property

Liked: You can not beat the price or accommodations. Our room was about 80.00 a night in the downtown area, near the public transportation so there was no need to have a car. Planet Traveler is a "green" facility, I think in fact the only green hostel in North America. It is very clean and modern. The view from the rooftop is incredible. Breakfast is served from 7 to 1 which is awesome! I do not know how many times I have missed out on a breakfast while traveling because I did not want to get out of bed. The staff is very friendly and helpful. I spoke with the Anthony, the owner several times and I could tell that it is his goal to meet the needs of all his guests. Most of the guests are college aged kids but there were a few of us that have been around the sun more times. I did not feel out of place or un-welcomed. I highly recommend Planet Traveler.

Disliked: The wifi reception is a bit sporadic in the rooms. Works fine in the common areas.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Weimann

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

26 February 2014 David would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was so nice! The staff, the location, the people i met. The owner works in the hostel too, is really friendly to everyone and also treats his staff nicely. The hostel has two common areas and they organize a lot of social events (e.g. pasta/BBQ dinner every saturday).

Disliked: I can't think of anything bad besides maybe that they could offer a slightly bigger breakfast. But that's a detail.


See all Toronto hostels