We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Toronto hostels

Reviews of Planet Traveler

Hostel | 357 College Street, Toronto, Ontario, Canada ON M5T 1S5

95.3% Overall Rating

219 out of 225 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/06/2015)

Russell Stringfellow thinks…

"It's so amazing and really friendly exactly what you need when you arrive off a long flight and arrive in your hostel, you get a tour of the building and are made to feel at home. It's easily located…"

Read all Planet Traveler reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Note: The latest check in time is at 12 AM. Please note that from May to October the hostel don't accept bookings OVER 5 PEOPLE. They reserve the rights to cancel your booking and the deposit paid will be lost.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Toronto?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Toronto

kaisar Guest House
42.01 USD

Guesthouse 78.4% 28 reviews
University of Toronto Residences - New College
26.73 USD

Hostel 84.7% 57 reviews
Toronto Travellers Home
26.73 USD

Hostel 49.8% 496 reviews
Grange Hotel
49.27 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 74.7% 43 reviews
Urban Living Suites
120.68 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Alexandra Hotel
42.01 USD

Hotel 1 star Not yet rated
University Apartment
22.15 USD

Hostel 48.7% 135 reviews
Chinatown Travelers Home
19.10 USD

Hostel 59.1% 313 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
95.3%

Overall Rating

219 out of 225 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Planet Traveler'

Atmosphere
96.8%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
95.2%
Cleanliness
96.0%
Staff
97.6%
Value
95.2%
Safety
96.0%
Refine your results Showing 162 of 223 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Russell Stringfellow

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

30 June 2015 Russell would recommend this property

Liked: It's so amazing and really friendly exactly what you need when you arrive off a long flight and arrive in your hostel, you get a tour of the building and are made to feel at home. It's easily located if you get off one of the subway stops and transfer to a street car it's a very short walk and the street car along college street stops by the hostel. The events try provide bring single travellers together and the staff always happy to help. The free breakfast runs till 1pm so you can have a lay in and fill up to explore the city ! It's not located "down town" but it's close to little Italy and a market so there is so much on its door step you'd miss it if you were within the skyscrapers ! Will defiantly come back some time :)

Disliked: I never had a bad moment whilst in the company of the hostel guests or staff

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

21 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great rooftop terrace!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

09 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were super friendly and helpful, hostel was very clean and modern. The top floor patio has an awesome view of the city, and the free breakfasts in the morning were great. Overall a good atmosphere and a good base for exploring toronto.

Disliked: The dorm I was in was a little small and there wasn't a whole lot of space for everyone's baggage.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. The staff, the atmosphere, the other guests, the location, the breakfast. Literally could not say a bad word about the place

Disliked: Nothing - if I was to nit pick, I didn't know how to use the air conditioning in the room but that's hardly the hostels fault.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katie Lyons

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 June 2015 Katie would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent rooftop 'bar' area and outdoor space.

Disliked: Would have liked the wash room's that were outside of the dorm rooms but in the sleeping corridors to have showers as well.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

angela borens

With a large group / tour

City break
Sightseeing & culture

26 May 2015 angela would recommend this property

Liked: Location, location, location

Disliked: No elevator

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Romantic getaway

25 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent hostel and generally modern decor and furnishings. I had a private room and it was an excellent value. The outdoor space was excellent and featured nice view of downtown. The location was pretty good as well - right around the corner from Kensington market, hostel right in front of a tram stop and you're only minutes away from king street west. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. The owner hosted a bbq and there are regularly scheduled hostel events.

Disliked: The private room had no storage space or hangers. I had to leave everything on ground. Maybe add a table or some hangers?

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Munira kagalwala

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 May 2015 Munira would recommend this property

Liked: excellent location, friendly staff, safe and clean place. They offer discount if you book the niagara falls tour through them. I was very pleased with my stay and would definitely recommend them to other travellers.

Disliked: Nothing that I really disliked. A hot breakfast would be nice. the rooms are really small for 5 beds though. With everyones luggage it did become cramped. 4 beds in a room is more better.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Carolin Temps

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

29 April 2015 Carolin would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome view from the roof terrace Nice and clean kitchen, rooms are clean Very modern furniture Free lockers inc. keys in the rooms Staff was very friendly

Disliked: It does NOT HAVE SHARED BATHROOMS but only bathrooms in the rooms plus toilets on the hallway. Rooms are tiny and crammed with beds, not a single table or surface to put something down. My room was clearly meant to be a 4 person room but an extra bed was put in which blocked the ladder for the bunk beds. No nightstands or night lights on the beds. Kitchen, common areas and roof terrace not accessible from midnight to 7am. Bathrooms are clean but poorly lit, giant clean shower but drain was blocked.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was so clean and properly ...

Disliked: The music in the lobby was a little bit to loud and sometimes annoying.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lots of free things, homey lounge area, beautiful roof deck.

Disliked: Housekeeping was a bit on and off, it was also often very loud

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kayla Gregoire

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Work / volunteering

06 March 2015 Kayla would recommend this property

Liked: This was one of the best hostels I've been to. The rooms and bathrooms were thoroughly cleaned every day, the rooftop patio has an amazing view of the CN tower, it was easy to meet people in the common areas, and the lockers in the rooms were free and a decent size.

Disliked: Too bad it's not located a bit closer to downtown, but the street car is just a two minute walk away.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, really clean and new facilities

Disliked: Nothing!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were extremely nice and helpful. The location was good too & the Wifi was handy.

Disliked: It was a little expensive.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

18 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it is so friendly

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic facilities, all the staff are super friendly and helpful, and the hostel has a great atmosphere. Love that the hostel runs free events and provide a great breakfast for weary travellers. One of the most secure hostels I've stayed in. 10/10!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ASHLEE OSWALD

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 December 2014 ASHLEE would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is amazing! One of the best Ive stayed in :) Great location, close walking distance to the CBD and local restaurants e.g. chinatown area Staff were really friendly and helpful offering advice on things to do and places to stay in other cities. Free breakfast was great, so many choices - very rare to see this And there was a free pasta night with vegeterian options which was great

Disliked: Only thing I could say is the 6 person room I stayed in was a bit small with 5 people in there, had to store my backpack in the entrance to the room. But I was hardly in there, and apart from that everything was great :)

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

bukky omotosho

Alone

Business / conference

07 November 2014 bukky would recommend this property

Liked: What I loved most about this place was it's proximity to most downtown major locations...I virtually walked down to the places I wanted to go, like chinatown and spadina Avenue! Plus there are lots of nearby places to have meals at, which you wouldn't be needing till midday or later as the lodge offers free breakfast which was quite okay to me. Getting a cab or a road rail was easy peasy too coz the lodge is right on the main street.

Disliked: Well the back end staircase did have too much stuff stacked therein, almost like it was used in place of a store room they din't have. Besides that all was great.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Isabel Löffelsender

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break

25 September 2014 Isabel would recommend this property

Liked: Great, almost perfect, Hostel ! Very close to royal Ontario museum and casa loma, two of the main attractions in Toronto. Short way to CN tower and downtown Toronto. The staff is really nice and the breakfast really good for a hostel with a lot of different stuff to choose from. The rooftop is plain amazing and we really enjoyed our free bbq on Saturday night up there! Rooms are very clean, same with the bathrooms which are all modern. We really loved planet traveler.... Best hostel we've styed in so far !

Disliked: Nothing everything was great !

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amy Darby

Alone

Events / festivals

18 September 2014 Amy would recommend this property

Liked: The roof terrace is amazing, most beautiful views of Toronto! The staff are all lovely and really friendly and helpful. Cleanest hostel rooms I've ever stayed in and en suites! The breakfast goes on until 1pm. I have endlessly positive things to say about this hostel, it's the nicest one I've stayed at and I couldn't possibly reccomend it more! You won't find a nicer one in Toronto!!!!

Disliked: Nothing, this hostel is perfect!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Work / volunteering

17 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's the best hostel I've ever stayed in in Toronto. Definitely the cleanest - and still has a very 'new' feel to it. Events are run 3 times in a week, meaning it's perfectly sociable without being an overly 'party' hostel. Free breakfast each morning is excellent. And the ability to be able to use the phone boxes in the communal area FOR FREE is ideal.

Disliked: There's sometimes a bit of a struggle to access the washing machines.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Eco-friendly and green, great selection for breakfast and they give you a tour when you arrive which was great. The shared bathroom was awesome as it is in your room

Disliked: The rooms were very narrow so not much room for luggage

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was clean n friendly.breakfast offer till 1pm,it was awesome !!

Disliked: the room is kinda small.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great hostel ("green" policy), nice activities (especially the barbecue!!)

Disliked: -

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was a really cool base point. The staff were hilarious and great to talk to during the day (especially dominic), and the extra long breakfast was super handy. Wednesday night pub crawl was pretty awesome, and a great way to meet other hostellers. Showers were clean, Wi-Fi worked everywhere, and the location is excellent. Thanks planet traveller!

Disliked: More events would have been cool, even if it were just a walking tour around the city.


See all Toronto hostels