We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Toronto hostels

Reviews of Planet Traveler

Hostel | 357 College Street, Toronto, Ontario, Canada ON M5T 1S5

93.8% Overall Rating

200 out of 206 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/02/2015)

"The staff were extremely nice and helpful. The location was good too & the Wifi was handy."

Read all Planet Traveler reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Note: The latest check in time is at 12 AM. Please note that from May to October the hostel don't accept bookings OVER 5 PEOPLE. They reserve the rights to cancel your booking and the deposit paid will be lost.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Toronto?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Toronto

kaisar Guest House
44.01 USD

Guesthouse 78.4% 28 reviews
University of Toronto Residences - New College
23.21 USD

Hostel 82.1% 49 reviews
Toronto Travellers Home
16.00 USD

Hostel 48.8% 494 reviews
Grange Hotel
43.61 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 74.7% 43 reviews
Urban Living Suites
68.02 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Alexandra Hotel
36.01 USD

Hotel 1 star Not yet rated
University Apartment
16.00 USD

Hostel 48.0% 133 reviews
Chinatown Travelers Home
16.00 USD

Hostel 59.0% 308 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/02/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/02/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.8%

Overall Rating

200 out of 206 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Planet Traveler'

Atmosphere
91.2%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
93.6%
Cleanliness
92.8%
Staff
95.2%
Value
92.0%
Safety
96.8%
Refine your results Showing 149 of 204 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

21 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: free bbq

Disliked: far from downtown

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

31 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and fairly clean (rooms vacuumed every day), good facilities, great location next to Kensington markets, friendly helpful staff

Disliked: Private room is expensive when paying for two people, considering how basic the room is. Cost would be reasonable if only one person was saying there.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

11 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Located near some cool neighborhoods (Koreatown, U. Toronto, Little Italy) and nearby restaurants. Very cool rooftop room and terrace (wish we spent more time up there).

Disliked: A little tough lugging baggage up and down the stairs. Rooms could benefit from trash bins. Wifi connection in room was iffy. The windows pull a lot of heat from the room at night.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Juanita Rodriguez Melo

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference

07 March 2013 Juanita would recommend this property

Liked: Incredible installations, really clean. The best hostel I have ever stayed in!

Disliked: Juanita left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

07 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved it! The location was great, right by Kensington Market and a 506 streetcar stop. We felt like we could walk to lots of restaurants and bars, super cool area. The hostel itself was very clean and new. The breakfast was good sized, free, and served until 1pm! The common rooms were nice and free wifi is always appreciated. What we liked the most was that our 6 person dorm had its own bathroom and shower, with additional on each floor. Felt like I was staying in a hotel room (with 6 other girls). Big and comfy beds.

Disliked: Wifi was a little weak a couple of the days, and the rooms were small, but not a big deal

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Albert Rosa

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping

06 March 2013 Albert would recommend this property

Liked: Everything is clean, and the place is amazing. They have computers for public use and there is a very cool lace on the rooftop where people can hang out. It's the best hostel i've been to.

Disliked: The breakfast was good but it could be better. In my private room there were no shelves.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference

03 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms and kitchen were spotless. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. I would recommend this hostel highly.

Disliked: There was nothing to dislike.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

24 February 2013

Liked: Clean and well located. Nice kitchen. Door locks are great, u can access with a card from outside, no need to ring a bell even very lare, however the hostel looses many points on safety with the lockers issue.

Disliked: Staff. I might be wrong, but there was kind of a reversed peer pressure phenomenon. 2 staff members I dealt with seemed close friends, and a lot of what seemed like customers in the hostel seemed also to be their friends. (or maybe it's because they were all French?) I have no problem with them being friends, except if it creates a complete absence of pressure to do a good job and offer good service. here is what happened : 1. The 6 lockers in our dorm (6 beds) were all taken. We were 2, and we asked for the keys. The staff told us if the keys aren't there, means the lockers are being used, even if they were inside the room. They suggested we could just put our bags under the bad, and didn't bother much more, asking us to trust our roommates (which we did, except that the hostel is still liable with providing the lockers they said they'd provide). They said they were sorry, as keys are available on lockers, and it's kind of self service, but an alternate solution should have bee offered, as 1 bed is meant to go with 1 locker. I suggest they put number stickers on both lockers and keys, and keep keys to be handed out at check-in. 2. Towels. They clearly advertise that they provide a towel found on the bed. There again, I guess the roommates who took the lockers didn't feel bothered by using the "extra" towels. Staff didn't verify, or whatever, and reception closes at 12:00am (we arrived at 11:00pm), so surprise, no towels for the morning shower. We weren't very happy. Staff was friendly though, they just could do better with a bit more professionalism and more sense of responsability, when you are at work, you are at work!! The 2 problems above can be easily avoided with good management. If you do not like very small rooms, this place isn't for you, regardless of the atmosphere, the location etc. Baically, 6 beds are stuffed in what could be a 4 or even 3 beds room instead. I knew from reviews rooms were small, so I wouldn't complain much about it. I was still surprised.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

19 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and nice hostel. You need a key card to get it, and I felt safe.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cathy Tzu-Yi Chiu

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 February 2013 Cathy Tzu-Yi would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location

Disliked: Cathy Tzu-Yi left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

30 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely clean & modern facilities, great friendly staff, very cool and warm hang out area and a very nice breakfast selection.

Disliked: The rooms are a bit small but this is a non-factor considering all the positives.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

19 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent!

Disliked: No private bathrooms.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Salvatore Testa

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 January 2013 Salvatore would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere in a perfect location. The view from the rooftop was breathtaking. The staff were very friendly and even give a full tour when you check in. There were plenty of activities on offer. Free lockers with provided locks. Free towels. Free breakfast. I was there for their second birthday, so they had a party with free champaign, cake and ice cream. Best of luck for the many years to come!

Disliked: Nothing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

17 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was perfect and the facilities were clean, modern, and comfortable.

Disliked: The price was higher than expected.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bhavesh Paradkar

Alone

Work / volunteering

19 November 2012 Bhavesh would recommend this property

Liked: Very Very friendly staff The place is clean Pub crawling event helps bond with other hostel mates In the heart of Toronto downtown Cheap

Disliked: Wireless Internet connectivity poor in the rooms

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, place is still new-ish which is great, its nice and clean, beds are comfy and breakfast is available till 1pm - so great for those of us that like a bit of a sleep in!

Disliked: Rooms can be a bit tight when full!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

13 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Super friendly staff. Extremely clean facilities. Great location.

Disliked: The WiFi was a little weak, but given all the other excellent qualities, this was minor.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pau Carlas Ponce

Alone

Work / volunteering

06 November 2012 Pau would recommend this property

Liked: ¡¡¡AWSOME HOSTEL!!! Someone told me that is impossible to find a good hostel in Toronto. But that's not true! Planet traveller is excellent. I booked for a week and I extended one month! Why? Is CLEAN, well located, CLEAN, good atmosphere, CLEAN, they give you breakfast and saturday free bbq, CLEAN, great kitchen, living room and rooftop, among other facilities. And again, CLEAN. But above all they have a fascinating group of young employees: charming Ana, Yafa, Dana, Carl, among others... 100% advisable.

Disliked: Pau left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean rooms, lots of common space, excellent free breakfast

Disliked: a little out of the way

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Holly Young

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 October 2012 Holly would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing hostel. Everything was brand new, clean and it had an awesome vibe to it. Brilliant location in Chicago (though I do tend to walk a lot!). The kitchen was great too, lovely touch with the free popcorn.

Disliked: Only downside was the tiny size of the rooms. Peoples luggage could hardly fit in it and it blocked the locker room outside. Made it very difficult to maneuver and avoid waking people up when getting up early in the morning.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tina Lin

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

25 September 2012 Tina would recommend this property

Liked: We loved our stay here, it's one of the best hostels I have ever stayed in. Staff were friendly and knowledgable, the free breakfast and the kitchen was fantastic, the rooms were secure, the upstairs deck was beautiful, the location was fantastic (right near Chinatown, the cool Kensington Markets and walking distance to Little Italy, the universities and the Annex) and it was value for money.

Disliked: There was no bin within the rooms - my only gripe about this place!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

24 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The roof top party on saturday and free breakfast!

Disliked: nothing at all.. place was great!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jennifer Mcilwaine

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

18 September 2012 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: its greenness!

Disliked: a bit far from the city centre. but great view!!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Anna Piasecka

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

04 September 2012 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: Eco-friendliness and atmosphere.

Disliked: Very, very small stuff like squeaky bed (only heard on the second night) and the neighbors doors in the morning :P

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrea Vontobel

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

25 August 2012 Andrea would recommend this property

Liked: best hostel ever! nice and friendly staff.......aaaaand best rooftop ever! I gonna miss it and I'll definitely come back!

Disliked: Andrea left no negative feedback.


See all Toronto hostels