HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Toronto hostels

Reviews of Planet Traveler

Hostel | 357 College Street, Toronto, Ontario, Canada ON M5T 1S5

91.7% Overall Rating

170 out of 176 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/07/2014)

"Fantastic hostel. Beautiful, clean and a rooftop terrace! And breakfast is included, what more do you want?"

Read all Planet Traveler reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Note: The latest check in time is at 12 AM. Please note that from May to October the hostel don't accept bookings OVER 5 PEOPLE. They reserve the rights to cancel your booking and the deposit paid will be lost.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Toronto?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Toronto

kaisar Guest House
50.82 USD

Guesthouse 78.5% 26 reviews
University of Toronto Residences - New College
26.80 USD

Hostel 83.5% 48 reviews
Toronto Travellers Home
32.34 USD

Hostel 48.7% 492 reviews
Grange Hotel
45.74 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 74.7% 43 reviews
Urban Living Suites
78.54 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Alexandra Hotel
43.43 USD

Hotel 1 star Not yet rated
University Apartment
13.86 USD

Hostel 48.5% 127 reviews
Chinatown Travelers Home
27.72 USD

Hostel 57.4% 305 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.2%

Overall Rating

169 out of 175 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Planet Traveler'

Atmosphere
96.8%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
88.0%
Cleanliness
90.4%
Staff
93.6%
Value
88.8%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 131 of 174 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean rooms, lots of common space, excellent free breakfast

Disliked: a little out of the way

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Holly Young

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 October 2012 Holly would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing hostel. Everything was brand new, clean and it had an awesome vibe to it. Brilliant location in Chicago (though I do tend to walk a lot!). The kitchen was great too, lovely touch with the free popcorn.

Disliked: Only downside was the tiny size of the rooms. Peoples luggage could hardly fit in it and it blocked the locker room outside. Made it very difficult to maneuver and avoid waking people up when getting up early in the morning.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tina Lin

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

25 September 2012 Tina would recommend this property

Liked: We loved our stay here, it's one of the best hostels I have ever stayed in. Staff were friendly and knowledgable, the free breakfast and the kitchen was fantastic, the rooms were secure, the upstairs deck was beautiful, the location was fantastic (right near Chinatown, the cool Kensington Markets and walking distance to Little Italy, the universities and the Annex) and it was value for money.

Disliked: There was no bin within the rooms - my only gripe about this place!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

24 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The roof top party on saturday and free breakfast!

Disliked: nothing at all.. place was great!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jennifer Mcilwaine

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

18 September 2012 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: its greenness!

Disliked: a bit far from the city centre. but great view!!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Anna Piasecka

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

04 September 2012 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: Eco-friendliness and atmosphere.

Disliked: Very, very small stuff like squeaky bed (only heard on the second night) and the neighbors doors in the morning :P

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrea Vontobel

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

25 August 2012 Andrea would recommend this property

Liked: best hostel ever! nice and friendly staff.......aaaaand best rooftop ever! I gonna miss it and I'll definitely come back!

Disliked: Andrea left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I've been to many hostels and this is definitely one of the best. The beds are comfortable, bathrooms are modern and clean, big lockers are available and the free breakfast is really good. What makes it so special though, is the rooftop patio where you'll find a great view and a free Saturday BBQ that is totally worth it. Also, the friendliness of the staff seals the deal. They proposed a tour of the hostel upon check-in and were always available to answer our questions. I'll be back for sure and I'll recommend this hostel to anyone visiting Toronto.

Disliked: You really have to be fussy to find anything bad about this hostel. The only thing I can think of, is that the pillows could be thicker and I'm mentionning it only because I can't come up with anything else.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent hostel, the location is not perfect but it is certainly very good, things are within walking distance if you're willing to put in a little effort. The people there are very friendly, the free BBQ on Saturday nights is a great way to meet and get to know people (and lose some inhibitions around them!). There are a number of long term residets (at least when I was there) but they were fellow travellers who were relocating to the city and used it as a first place to stay whilst finding apartments or just as thier base. This made the place have a 'family' which was at first a little intimidating but in the end was nice to see the same few faces when you return from your day out/in the evenings, and everyone was friendly. Oh...and free, decent, breakfast!

Disliked: My only negative about the property is the size of the rooms. I came there from a hostel in NYC where the 6 bunk rooms were huge to here, there just didnt seem to be enough room for everyones stuff and little free floor space. Part of the issue here was the amount of long termers staying there, as they obviously had a lot of things. I was in a full room, 2 of the other 5 were long termers and so it was very cramped. Once one of them moved on it was a little easier. Not the end of the world and it did encourage you to go to the lounge to relax which in turn encouraged you to socialise, so all in all not a terrbile thing....more inconvenient.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel I've ever stayed in and I've stayed in a LOT of hostels!! Staff were amazing and friendly, clean and very nice social areas downstairs and gorgeous views from rooftop patio. free bbq on the weekend on the patio was great. games and books available. also free popcorn. loved it.

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Modern, clean, smart. Specifically: - Secure lockers with built-in wall sockets. - Roof terrace with bar. - Breakfast, linen, towel and shampoo included. - Excellent wifi. - Free and very good computers in the common area.

Disliked: Location could be slightly better (although it only takes 45 minutes or so to walk there from the train station). Very modestly advertised - I walked past it without seeing it the first time.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Catherine Beck

Alone

Business / conference

11 July 2012 Catherine would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great and the dorms are very clean. The bathrooms are beautifully designed and very functional. The hostel uses GEOTHERMAL and SOLAR energy, which is great. People were friendly and the breakfast decent (except for the coffee). I will defeintely use this hostel again soon.

Disliked: I didn't dislike the property...I disliked the coffee. Ugh. They used Maxwell House and ithe coffee tasted like dishwater even though it was perked I had a few sips and had to throw the rest out. I recommend using a better quality of coffee.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ian Oliver

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2012 Ian would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast is good, staff are very helpful & it is kept clean.

Disliked: The rooms are too small for 6 beds per room in my opinion.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

09 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything about this hostel was amazing. Especially the great bbq dinner on Saturday nights and the location near kensington market was superb

Disliked: N/A

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Catia Tavares

Alone

City break

06 July 2012 Catia would recommend this property

Liked: Very pleasant place to be for a single traveller all the amenities near by, very helpful staff great place to meet people!!!!

Disliked: nothing really!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mathieu Vaillancourt

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

27 June 2012 Mathieu would recommend this property

Liked: Le fait qu'ils fonctionnent à l'énergie renouvelable uniquement, la beauté et la propreté de l'auberge, le personnel symptahique.

Disliked: Mathieu left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hammer Hostel....kann ich nur weiter empfehlen

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Raphaëlle Diss

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 June 2012 Raphaëlle would recommend this property

Liked: La propreté, la sécurité, les espaces communs et la gentillesse du personnel de l'auberge.

Disliked: Très moderne, voir trop au risque de perdre le côté "convivial" des espaces communs.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and tidy and new facilities, staff extremely helpful and willing to answer any questions. Great lockers in room for storing valuables. Great view of the city from the rooftop.

Disliked: Lot of stairs

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kamila Gorka

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

18 June 2012 Kamila would recommend this property

Liked: It's the best hostel I've ever stayed in! It's clean, modern and located downtown. Hostel stuff was amazing- very friendly and helpful. When we got there it turned out they have bands playing on the top of the roof and bbq, for free :) For breakfast they had many choices. Its a great place to stay while in Toronto :)

Disliked: Kamila left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Douglas DeAndrea

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 June 2012 Douglas would recommend this property

Liked: The rooftop deck offers a beautiful view of the city and the chance to meet your fellow travelers. I also liked the fact that the building stressed green design.

Disliked: Douglas left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

03 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Just as described!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, awesome staff, beautiful rooftop view. This hostel is in the trendy Kensington Market neighborhood and there are a bunch of good restaurants (we really liked Spicy Grill and The Grilled Cheese) within short walking distance, just down Augusta. Very convenient to street cars. Each floor has to be accessed by key and there are free lockers in the rooms. Breakfast is awesome.

Disliked: Room was a bit cramped when all six of us were in the room but it was fine since we spent most of the time out. It was tiring being on the third floor with no elevator, but this isn't really anything to complain about.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

adam bishop

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 May 2012 adam would recommend this property

Liked: good staff, good breakfast and beds, lockers in rooms and location was good

Disliked: rooms a little small a bit big and hard to meet people


See all Toronto hostels