We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Toronto hostels

Reviews of Planet Traveler

Hostel | 357 College Street, Toronto, Ontario, Canada ON M5T 1S5

93.5% Overall Rating

194 out of 200 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/11/2014)

bukky omotosho thinks…

"What I loved most about this place was it's proximity to most downtown major locations...I virtually walked down to the places I wanted to go, like chinatown and spadina Avenue! Plus there are lots…"

Read all Planet Traveler reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Note: The latest check in time is at 12 AM. Please note that from May to October the hostel don't accept bookings OVER 5 PEOPLE. They reserve the rights to cancel your booking and the deposit paid will be lost.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Toronto?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Toronto

kaisar Guest House
49.23 USD

Guesthouse 78.6% 27 reviews
University of Toronto Residences - New College
25.96 USD

Hostel 82.1% 49 reviews
Toronto Travellers Home
34.01 USD

Hostel 49.6% 493 reviews
Grange Hotel
39.83 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 74.7% 43 reviews
Urban Living Suites
76.08 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Alexandra Hotel
42.07 USD

Hotel 1 star Not yet rated
University Apartment
26.85 USD

Hostel 48.0% 133 reviews
Chinatown Travelers Home
31.33 USD

Hostel 59.0% 308 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.5%

Overall Rating

194 out of 200 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Planet Traveler'

Atmosphere
91.2%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
93.6%
Cleanliness
92.8%
Staff
94.4%
Value
92.0%
Safety
96.0%
Refine your results Showing 145 of 198 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

07 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved it! The location was great, right by Kensington Market and a 506 streetcar stop. We felt like we could walk to lots of restaurants and bars, super cool area. The hostel itself was very clean and new. The breakfast was good sized, free, and served until 1pm! The common rooms were nice and free wifi is always appreciated. What we liked the most was that our 6 person dorm had its own bathroom and shower, with additional on each floor. Felt like I was staying in a hotel room (with 6 other girls). Big and comfy beds.

Disliked: Wifi was a little weak a couple of the days, and the rooms were small, but not a big deal

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Albert Rosa

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping

06 March 2013 Albert would recommend this property

Liked: Everything is clean, and the place is amazing. They have computers for public use and there is a very cool lace on the rooftop where people can hang out. It's the best hostel i've been to.

Disliked: The breakfast was good but it could be better. In my private room there were no shelves.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference

03 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms and kitchen were spotless. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. I would recommend this hostel highly.

Disliked: There was nothing to dislike.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

24 February 2013

Liked: Clean and well located. Nice kitchen. Door locks are great, u can access with a card from outside, no need to ring a bell even very lare, however the hostel looses many points on safety with the lockers issue.

Disliked: Staff. I might be wrong, but there was kind of a reversed peer pressure phenomenon. 2 staff members I dealt with seemed close friends, and a lot of what seemed like customers in the hostel seemed also to be their friends. (or maybe it's because they were all French?) I have no problem with them being friends, except if it creates a complete absence of pressure to do a good job and offer good service. here is what happened : 1. The 6 lockers in our dorm (6 beds) were all taken. We were 2, and we asked for the keys. The staff told us if the keys aren't there, means the lockers are being used, even if they were inside the room. They suggested we could just put our bags under the bad, and didn't bother much more, asking us to trust our roommates (which we did, except that the hostel is still liable with providing the lockers they said they'd provide). They said they were sorry, as keys are available on lockers, and it's kind of self service, but an alternate solution should have bee offered, as 1 bed is meant to go with 1 locker. I suggest they put number stickers on both lockers and keys, and keep keys to be handed out at check-in. 2. Towels. They clearly advertise that they provide a towel found on the bed. There again, I guess the roommates who took the lockers didn't feel bothered by using the "extra" towels. Staff didn't verify, or whatever, and reception closes at 12:00am (we arrived at 11:00pm), so surprise, no towels for the morning shower. We weren't very happy. Staff was friendly though, they just could do better with a bit more professionalism and more sense of responsability, when you are at work, you are at work!! The 2 problems above can be easily avoided with good management. If you do not like very small rooms, this place isn't for you, regardless of the atmosphere, the location etc. Baically, 6 beds are stuffed in what could be a 4 or even 3 beds room instead. I knew from reviews rooms were small, so I wouldn't complain much about it. I was still surprised.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

19 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and nice hostel. You need a key card to get it, and I felt safe.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cathy Tzu-Yi Chiu

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 February 2013 Cathy Tzu-Yi would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location

Disliked: Cathy Tzu-Yi left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

30 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely clean & modern facilities, great friendly staff, very cool and warm hang out area and a very nice breakfast selection.

Disliked: The rooms are a bit small but this is a non-factor considering all the positives.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

19 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent!

Disliked: No private bathrooms.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Salvatore Testa

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 January 2013 Salvatore would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere in a perfect location. The view from the rooftop was breathtaking. The staff were very friendly and even give a full tour when you check in. There were plenty of activities on offer. Free lockers with provided locks. Free towels. Free breakfast. I was there for their second birthday, so they had a party with free champaign, cake and ice cream. Best of luck for the many years to come!

Disliked: Nothing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

17 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was perfect and the facilities were clean, modern, and comfortable.

Disliked: The price was higher than expected.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bhavesh Paradkar

Alone

Work / volunteering

19 November 2012 Bhavesh would recommend this property

Liked: Very Very friendly staff The place is clean Pub crawling event helps bond with other hostel mates In the heart of Toronto downtown Cheap

Disliked: Wireless Internet connectivity poor in the rooms

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, place is still new-ish which is great, its nice and clean, beds are comfy and breakfast is available till 1pm - so great for those of us that like a bit of a sleep in!

Disliked: Rooms can be a bit tight when full!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

13 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Super friendly staff. Extremely clean facilities. Great location.

Disliked: The WiFi was a little weak, but given all the other excellent qualities, this was minor.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pau Carlas Ponce

Alone

Work / volunteering

06 November 2012 Pau would recommend this property

Liked: ¡¡¡AWSOME HOSTEL!!! Someone told me that is impossible to find a good hostel in Toronto. But that's not true! Planet traveller is excellent. I booked for a week and I extended one month! Why? Is CLEAN, well located, CLEAN, good atmosphere, CLEAN, they give you breakfast and saturday free bbq, CLEAN, great kitchen, living room and rooftop, among other facilities. And again, CLEAN. But above all they have a fascinating group of young employees: charming Ana, Yafa, Dana, Carl, among others... 100% advisable.

Disliked: Pau left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean rooms, lots of common space, excellent free breakfast

Disliked: a little out of the way

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Holly Young

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 October 2012 Holly would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing hostel. Everything was brand new, clean and it had an awesome vibe to it. Brilliant location in Chicago (though I do tend to walk a lot!). The kitchen was great too, lovely touch with the free popcorn.

Disliked: Only downside was the tiny size of the rooms. Peoples luggage could hardly fit in it and it blocked the locker room outside. Made it very difficult to maneuver and avoid waking people up when getting up early in the morning.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tina Lin

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

25 September 2012 Tina would recommend this property

Liked: We loved our stay here, it's one of the best hostels I have ever stayed in. Staff were friendly and knowledgable, the free breakfast and the kitchen was fantastic, the rooms were secure, the upstairs deck was beautiful, the location was fantastic (right near Chinatown, the cool Kensington Markets and walking distance to Little Italy, the universities and the Annex) and it was value for money.

Disliked: There was no bin within the rooms - my only gripe about this place!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

24 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The roof top party on saturday and free breakfast!

Disliked: nothing at all.. place was great!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jennifer Mcilwaine

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

18 September 2012 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: its greenness!

Disliked: a bit far from the city centre. but great view!!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Anna Piasecka

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

04 September 2012 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: Eco-friendliness and atmosphere.

Disliked: Very, very small stuff like squeaky bed (only heard on the second night) and the neighbors doors in the morning :P

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrea Vontobel

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

25 August 2012 Andrea would recommend this property

Liked: best hostel ever! nice and friendly staff.......aaaaand best rooftop ever! I gonna miss it and I'll definitely come back!

Disliked: Andrea left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I've been to many hostels and this is definitely one of the best. The beds are comfortable, bathrooms are modern and clean, big lockers are available and the free breakfast is really good. What makes it so special though, is the rooftop patio where you'll find a great view and a free Saturday BBQ that is totally worth it. Also, the friendliness of the staff seals the deal. They proposed a tour of the hostel upon check-in and were always available to answer our questions. I'll be back for sure and I'll recommend this hostel to anyone visiting Toronto.

Disliked: You really have to be fussy to find anything bad about this hostel. The only thing I can think of, is that the pillows could be thicker and I'm mentionning it only because I can't come up with anything else.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent hostel, the location is not perfect but it is certainly very good, things are within walking distance if you're willing to put in a little effort. The people there are very friendly, the free BBQ on Saturday nights is a great way to meet and get to know people (and lose some inhibitions around them!). There are a number of long term residets (at least when I was there) but they were fellow travellers who were relocating to the city and used it as a first place to stay whilst finding apartments or just as thier base. This made the place have a 'family' which was at first a little intimidating but in the end was nice to see the same few faces when you return from your day out/in the evenings, and everyone was friendly. Oh...and free, decent, breakfast!

Disliked: My only negative about the property is the size of the rooms. I came there from a hostel in NYC where the 6 bunk rooms were huge to here, there just didnt seem to be enough room for everyones stuff and little free floor space. Part of the issue here was the amount of long termers staying there, as they obviously had a lot of things. I was in a full room, 2 of the other 5 were long termers and so it was very cramped. Once one of them moved on it was a little easier. Not the end of the world and it did encourage you to go to the lounge to relax which in turn encouraged you to socialise, so all in all not a terrbile thing....more inconvenient.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel I've ever stayed in and I've stayed in a LOT of hostels!! Staff were amazing and friendly, clean and very nice social areas downstairs and gorgeous views from rooftop patio. free bbq on the weekend on the patio was great. games and books available. also free popcorn. loved it.

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Modern, clean, smart. Specifically: - Secure lockers with built-in wall sockets. - Roof terrace with bar. - Breakfast, linen, towel and shampoo included. - Excellent wifi. - Free and very good computers in the common area.

Disliked: Location could be slightly better (although it only takes 45 minutes or so to walk there from the train station). Very modestly advertised - I walked past it without seeing it the first time.


See all Toronto hostels