We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Toronto hostels

Reviews of Planet Traveler

Hostel | 357 College Street, Toronto, Ontario, Canada ON M5T 1S5

93.5% Overall Rating

194 out of 200 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/11/2014)

bukky omotosho thinks…

"What I loved most about this place was it's proximity to most downtown major locations...I virtually walked down to the places I wanted to go, like chinatown and spadina Avenue! Plus there are lots…"

Read all Planet Traveler reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Note: The latest check in time is at 12 AM. Please note that from May to October the hostel don't accept bookings OVER 5 PEOPLE. They reserve the rights to cancel your booking and the deposit paid will be lost.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Toronto?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Toronto

kaisar Guest House
49.23 USD

Guesthouse 78.6% 27 reviews
University of Toronto Residences - New College
25.96 USD

Hostel 82.1% 49 reviews
Toronto Travellers Home
34.01 USD

Hostel 49.6% 493 reviews
Grange Hotel
39.83 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 74.7% 43 reviews
Urban Living Suites
76.08 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Alexandra Hotel
42.07 USD

Hotel 1 star Not yet rated
University Apartment
26.85 USD

Hostel 48.0% 133 reviews
Chinatown Travelers Home
31.33 USD

Hostel 59.0% 308 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.5%

Overall Rating

194 out of 200 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Planet Traveler'

Atmosphere
91.2%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
93.6%
Cleanliness
92.8%
Staff
94.4%
Value
92.0%
Safety
96.0%
Refine your results Showing 145 of 198 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

13 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to downtown, good breakfast until 1pm, checkout at noon, secure luggage storage.

Disliked: Rooms were a bit cramped for everyone's luggage.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

30 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean, free breakfast.

Disliked: Internet very slow.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Marilou Campeau

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

29 September 2013 Marilou would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, good location, really good breakfast, nice terrace on the roof and eco-friendly.

Disliked: The room was a little bit small and Wi Fi is not working well.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

20 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and nice facilities. Perfect location. Very eco friendly. Plenty of nice clean bathrooms. Wonderful roof top deck. very nice common rooms. clean bedding.

Disliked: The rooms where too small there was hardly any floor space between the bunk beds crammed into the closet sized room. The breakfast was a tad unhealthy 98% bread and cereal the only non carb/grain option was bananas....I lived off of those as my nutritionist has me on a strict plan and a single bagel eats up 2/3 my days allotted grains/carbs. some more fruit and veggie options would be nice.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joseph Driesen

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 September 2013 Joseph would recommend this property

Liked: Planet traveller Toronto I the best hostel I've ever stayed in bar none... I rather stay here then a hotel.. Great atmosphere. And incredible staff. Love it. Can't wait to come back here gain.

Disliked: Joseph left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference

10 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a nice place with nice staff. They are helpful and seems to bond with each other which affects the atmosphere positively. The place is probably the nicest hostel I have ever stayed in. They have free breakfast from 8 am to 1 pm, which is really nice. Free coffee and tea, and rice for dinner. They can store your bags and you can wash your clothes for only $2. There are a lot of activities in the hostel, e.g. pubcrawls and movie nights.

Disliked: It wasn't possible to rearrange rooms to be in the same room as my friend, even though we were there for 14 days. A lot of people arrived and left during this period but the system seemed too rigid in this respect. There is a lot of noise and activity in the lobby/common areas, which can be both nice and annoying. The staff talking to each other seemed to be the most noisy of all. The internet didn't work very well, was slow or not working at all for very long periods. As a person looking for more permanent accommodation from this place, this was a huge disadvantage. Otherwise, it was the nicest hostel I have ever stayed in.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

20 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome location and excellent staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emily Syme

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 July 2013 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: - Great free breakfast -Pretty good wifi - Clean -Great desk staff - Tour when you first arrive - Laundry - Nice kitchen

Disliked: - Small rooms - Seemed to be some people hanging around which knew the staff but were not staying the hostel - There was some trouble amonst the staff

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

BAOHUA WANG

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

21 July 2013 BAOHUA would recommend this property

Liked: good times when We stayed there.

Disliked: nothing

60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Work / volunteering

16 July 2013

Liked: The rooftop was nice and it was very clean. Free breakfast, saturday bbq and free popcorn was good.

Disliked: General friendliness of the guests/staff was lacking. Didn't feel like I was made welcome by either. Strict curfue of 12pm for hostel facilities which I felt was ridiculous because if you weren't going out you were forced to go to bed. The hostel is also right next to a firestation so you can expect to hear firetrucks coming and going at all hours. Also from my room I could constantly hear people outside when I was going to sleep well in to the early hours of the morning. Trying to use the kitchen is also a nightmare as you're constantly moving to meet other peoples needs which just leads to badly cooked food. I don't think I'd ever go back there it was just an awkward 2 and a half weeks.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 July 2013

Liked: modern, good breakfast

Disliked: staff was not friendly and helpful at all, were not honest about cleaning procedures, were rude when we asked them to change our sheets which were full of stains and hair, it took them an hour to make the beds although they knew we had been waiting for hours to get into the room after a night on the bus. and the bathroom wasn't cleaned until 6pm, 3 hours after check-in, and then still cleaned very poorly, not cool

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa
Shopping

08 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Chill atmosphere; great music in morning over breakfast; lots of common areas including rooftop patio

Disliked: In female dorm, travellers staying in thhhw dorm leave their cosmetics, shampoos etc in the bathroom, leaving it congested for those that don't, and just bring theirs in. I don't feel it is necessary or appropropriate to leave them there. Some don't dry off in shower hence wet floor in bathroom, and they leave their wet towel on bathroom hooks - so othwers either have to remove toqel and put where? Or put their clotwes elsewhere. I think there cmaybe there needs to be Hostelling 101!! In July room 24 too hot to sleep

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: They have so many different activities for trying that people get involved on a friendly enviroment. They think in all tourists needs such as buying spices for cooking, coffe all day, barbecues at Saturdays and all without not extra cost.

Disliked: The check in is at 3, it should be a earlier

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice hostel with good standards throughout. Very clean and extremely friendly staff and owner.

Disliked: Our room was facing the street and was next to a bar so bring your earplugs as it's quite noisy! Charged extra as they claimed hostel bookers took 100% of the deposit which was the first time this has ever happened to me. Made it more expensive than the advertised price.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elaine O'Keeffe

With friends / other travellers

City break

23 June 2013

Liked: Great location, friendly staff and really appreciated the late breakfast:)

Disliked: Elaine left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

18 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good hostel, they just thought about everything you could wish for in a hostel. Nice staff. Great rooftop terrace.

Disliked: -

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the great selection of breakfast and the time breakfast is available 7am till 1pm. Very clean helpful staff. Nice area. We got of to a rocky start when trying to check in. The girl on reception said we were not booked in. Despite having confirmation she would not accept the paperwork I had as being confirmation. She was a little argumentative. however when we were eventually booked in she shook our hand and relented. To her credit she did investigate the problem we had experienced with another member of staff, immediately. They found our booking and had overcharged us by a small amount -which we did nt realise. they refunded the amount straight away and gave us an apology. So hats off to them for their honesty. The next day their appeared to be some kind of staff training looking at the computer system/booking in system. So clearly they are very proactive with tacking problems and challenges. very impressedwith this. the owner was on site regularly and appeared to take a genuine interest in the guest.

Disliked: The wi-fi was turned off all night midnight to 7am.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great and it is clean and offers a nice free breakfast of tea/coffee, cereal, toast, and bananas. Internet access is free and the place even offers $2 per load laundry with free detergent. The staff is helpful even if some are not the friendliest (some language barriers did exist). The staff did go out of their way to try and find an open two-bed room for me and my friend (so we wouldn't have to share a full bed). When that didn't work, they moved a mattress into the room. That was nice. Overall, if you want a clean and subdued hostel experience, this is a good bet.

Disliked: While the hostel advertises its large rooftop patio overlooking the city, I want to warn travelers that it closes at midnight, precluding most opportunities to gather with other travelers and have a good time. I didn't like the fact that the downstairs common area also closes at this time. Most hostels keep some type of common area open 24 hours to quiet conversation at the least. I also didn't like that the hostel would not let you book one bed in the four-bed rooms. To do so you would have to pay for all four or have three other people with you at the time of booking. I have never seen this at any other hostel (and I have stayed at a lot of hostels). My final minor complaint is that they didn't accept AmEx. That seems unusual for hostels as well.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel! Staff is always around and helpful, breakfast till 1 pm and includes higher quality hostel breakfast foods (seed breads, various bagels, 10+ cereals, real coffee), check out is later than normal-noon-great for hungover travelers like me. VERY CLEAN, parking right next to the hostel (for a fee much cheaper than an area parking lot, communal bathroom (for 5 bed suites) were modern and ,always clean. Kitchen was tidy, well equipped and set up well for travelers. Easy place to meet people or keep to yourself. yes, its on the expensive side, but totally worth the money!

Disliked: Rooftop bar is not functioning with working taps-but rooftop area is amazing! Front desk help was slow at times, but accurate. Internet/wifi was sometimes down for a few minutes. Only 3 parking spots-we got the last one for the weekend, and we arrived early!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sarah Perkins

Alone

Work / volunteering

11 May 2013 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Rooftop bar and showers in rooms! Very clean and secure. Lockers included. Fluffy towels!

Disliked: Unfortunately the lobby closes at noon. :(

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Mattia Gridelli

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference
Visiting friends or family

05 May 2013 Mattia would recommend this property

Liked: People are friendly, the location is amazing and last but not least, the rooftop BBQ (also vegetarian alternative available) that takes place every saturday night is a nice opportunity to meet other travellers & it's for free (just bring some beer:) Laundry is for 2C$ plus 2C$ for dryer.

Disliked: Dorms are small that you couldn't unpack your luggage and stay there for long it might be difficult, it depends on one's expectations

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

21 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: free bbq

Disliked: far from downtown

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

31 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and fairly clean (rooms vacuumed every day), good facilities, great location next to Kensington markets, friendly helpful staff

Disliked: Private room is expensive when paying for two people, considering how basic the room is. Cost would be reasonable if only one person was saying there.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

11 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Located near some cool neighborhoods (Koreatown, U. Toronto, Little Italy) and nearby restaurants. Very cool rooftop room and terrace (wish we spent more time up there).

Disliked: A little tough lugging baggage up and down the stairs. Rooms could benefit from trash bins. Wifi connection in room was iffy. The windows pull a lot of heat from the room at night.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Juanita Rodriguez Melo

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference

07 March 2013 Juanita would recommend this property

Liked: Incredible installations, really clean. The best hostel I have ever stayed in!

Disliked: Juanita left no negative feedback.


See all Toronto hostels