HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Toronto hostels

Reviews of Planet Traveler

Hostel | 357 College Street, Toronto, Ontario, Canada ON M5T 1S5

91.0% Overall Rating

173 out of 179 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/07/2014)

"Fantastic hostel. Beautiful, clean and a rooftop terrace! And breakfast is included, what more do you want?"

Read all Planet Traveler reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Note: The latest check in time is at 12 AM. Please note that from May to October the hostel don't accept bookings OVER 5 PEOPLE. They reserve the rights to cancel your booking and the deposit paid will be lost.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Toronto?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Toronto

kaisar Guest House
50.44 USD

Guesthouse 78.6% 27 reviews
University of Toronto Residences - New College
26.59 USD

Hostel 83.5% 48 reviews
Toronto Travellers Home
32.10 USD

Hostel 48.7% 492 reviews
Grange Hotel
45.39 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 74.7% 43 reviews
Urban Living Suites
77.95 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Alexandra Hotel
50.44 USD

Hotel 1 star Not yet rated
University Apartment
13.76 USD

Hostel 48.5% 127 reviews
Chinatown Travelers Home
22.93 USD

Hostel 57.4% 305 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.0%

Overall Rating

173 out of 179 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Planet Traveler'

Atmosphere
96.8%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
88.0%
Cleanliness
89.6%
Staff
92.8%
Value
88.8%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 132 of 177 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice hostel with good standards throughout. Very clean and extremely friendly staff and owner.

Disliked: Our room was facing the street and was next to a bar so bring your earplugs as it's quite noisy! Charged extra as they claimed hostel bookers took 100% of the deposit which was the first time this has ever happened to me. Made it more expensive than the advertised price.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elaine O'Keeffe

With friends / other travellers

City break

23 June 2013

Liked: Great location, friendly staff and really appreciated the late breakfast:)

Disliked: Elaine left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

18 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good hostel, they just thought about everything you could wish for in a hostel. Nice staff. Great rooftop terrace.

Disliked: -

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the great selection of breakfast and the time breakfast is available 7am till 1pm. Very clean helpful staff. Nice area. We got of to a rocky start when trying to check in. The girl on reception said we were not booked in. Despite having confirmation she would not accept the paperwork I had as being confirmation. She was a little argumentative. however when we were eventually booked in she shook our hand and relented. To her credit she did investigate the problem we had experienced with another member of staff, immediately. They found our booking and had overcharged us by a small amount -which we did nt realise. they refunded the amount straight away and gave us an apology. So hats off to them for their honesty. The next day their appeared to be some kind of staff training looking at the computer system/booking in system. So clearly they are very proactive with tacking problems and challenges. very impressedwith this. the owner was on site regularly and appeared to take a genuine interest in the guest.

Disliked: The wi-fi was turned off all night midnight to 7am.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great and it is clean and offers a nice free breakfast of tea/coffee, cereal, toast, and bananas. Internet access is free and the place even offers $2 per load laundry with free detergent. The staff is helpful even if some are not the friendliest (some language barriers did exist). The staff did go out of their way to try and find an open two-bed room for me and my friend (so we wouldn't have to share a full bed). When that didn't work, they moved a mattress into the room. That was nice. Overall, if you want a clean and subdued hostel experience, this is a good bet.

Disliked: While the hostel advertises its large rooftop patio overlooking the city, I want to warn travelers that it closes at midnight, precluding most opportunities to gather with other travelers and have a good time. I didn't like the fact that the downstairs common area also closes at this time. Most hostels keep some type of common area open 24 hours to quiet conversation at the least. I also didn't like that the hostel would not let you book one bed in the four-bed rooms. To do so you would have to pay for all four or have three other people with you at the time of booking. I have never seen this at any other hostel (and I have stayed at a lot of hostels). My final minor complaint is that they didn't accept AmEx. That seems unusual for hostels as well.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel! Staff is always around and helpful, breakfast till 1 pm and includes higher quality hostel breakfast foods (seed breads, various bagels, 10+ cereals, real coffee), check out is later than normal-noon-great for hungover travelers like me. VERY CLEAN, parking right next to the hostel (for a fee much cheaper than an area parking lot, communal bathroom (for 5 bed suites) were modern and ,always clean. Kitchen was tidy, well equipped and set up well for travelers. Easy place to meet people or keep to yourself. yes, its on the expensive side, but totally worth the money!

Disliked: Rooftop bar is not functioning with working taps-but rooftop area is amazing! Front desk help was slow at times, but accurate. Internet/wifi was sometimes down for a few minutes. Only 3 parking spots-we got the last one for the weekend, and we arrived early!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sarah Perkins

Alone

Work / volunteering

11 May 2013 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Rooftop bar and showers in rooms! Very clean and secure. Lockers included. Fluffy towels!

Disliked: Unfortunately the lobby closes at noon. :(

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Mattia Gridelli

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference
Visiting friends or family

05 May 2013 Mattia would recommend this property

Liked: People are friendly, the location is amazing and last but not least, the rooftop BBQ (also vegetarian alternative available) that takes place every saturday night is a nice opportunity to meet other travellers & it's for free (just bring some beer:) Laundry is for 2C$ plus 2C$ for dryer.

Disliked: Dorms are small that you couldn't unpack your luggage and stay there for long it might be difficult, it depends on one's expectations

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

21 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: free bbq

Disliked: far from downtown

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

31 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and fairly clean (rooms vacuumed every day), good facilities, great location next to Kensington markets, friendly helpful staff

Disliked: Private room is expensive when paying for two people, considering how basic the room is. Cost would be reasonable if only one person was saying there.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

11 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Located near some cool neighborhoods (Koreatown, U. Toronto, Little Italy) and nearby restaurants. Very cool rooftop room and terrace (wish we spent more time up there).

Disliked: A little tough lugging baggage up and down the stairs. Rooms could benefit from trash bins. Wifi connection in room was iffy. The windows pull a lot of heat from the room at night.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Juanita Rodriguez Melo

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference

07 March 2013 Juanita would recommend this property

Liked: Incredible installations, really clean. The best hostel I have ever stayed in!

Disliked: Juanita left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

07 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved it! The location was great, right by Kensington Market and a 506 streetcar stop. We felt like we could walk to lots of restaurants and bars, super cool area. The hostel itself was very clean and new. The breakfast was good sized, free, and served until 1pm! The common rooms were nice and free wifi is always appreciated. What we liked the most was that our 6 person dorm had its own bathroom and shower, with additional on each floor. Felt like I was staying in a hotel room (with 6 other girls). Big and comfy beds.

Disliked: Wifi was a little weak a couple of the days, and the rooms were small, but not a big deal

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Albert Rosa

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping

06 March 2013 Albert would recommend this property

Liked: Everything is clean, and the place is amazing. They have computers for public use and there is a very cool lace on the rooftop where people can hang out. It's the best hostel i've been to.

Disliked: The breakfast was good but it could be better. In my private room there were no shelves.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference

03 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms and kitchen were spotless. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. I would recommend this hostel highly.

Disliked: There was nothing to dislike.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

24 February 2013

Liked: Clean and well located. Nice kitchen. Door locks are great, u can access with a card from outside, no need to ring a bell even very lare, however the hostel looses many points on safety with the lockers issue.

Disliked: Staff. I might be wrong, but there was kind of a reversed peer pressure phenomenon. 2 staff members I dealt with seemed close friends, and a lot of what seemed like customers in the hostel seemed also to be their friends. (or maybe it's because they were all French?) I have no problem with them being friends, except if it creates a complete absence of pressure to do a good job and offer good service. here is what happened : 1. The 6 lockers in our dorm (6 beds) were all taken. We were 2, and we asked for the keys. The staff told us if the keys aren't there, means the lockers are being used, even if they were inside the room. They suggested we could just put our bags under the bad, and didn't bother much more, asking us to trust our roommates (which we did, except that the hostel is still liable with providing the lockers they said they'd provide). They said they were sorry, as keys are available on lockers, and it's kind of self service, but an alternate solution should have bee offered, as 1 bed is meant to go with 1 locker. I suggest they put number stickers on both lockers and keys, and keep keys to be handed out at check-in. 2. Towels. They clearly advertise that they provide a towel found on the bed. There again, I guess the roommates who took the lockers didn't feel bothered by using the "extra" towels. Staff didn't verify, or whatever, and reception closes at 12:00am (we arrived at 11:00pm), so surprise, no towels for the morning shower. We weren't very happy. Staff was friendly though, they just could do better with a bit more professionalism and more sense of responsability, when you are at work, you are at work!! The 2 problems above can be easily avoided with good management. If you do not like very small rooms, this place isn't for you, regardless of the atmosphere, the location etc. Baically, 6 beds are stuffed in what could be a 4 or even 3 beds room instead. I knew from reviews rooms were small, so I wouldn't complain much about it. I was still surprised.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

19 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and nice hostel. You need a key card to get it, and I felt safe.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cathy Tzu-Yi Chiu

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 February 2013 Cathy Tzu-Yi would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location

Disliked: Cathy Tzu-Yi left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

30 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely clean & modern facilities, great friendly staff, very cool and warm hang out area and a very nice breakfast selection.

Disliked: The rooms are a bit small but this is a non-factor considering all the positives.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

19 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent!

Disliked: No private bathrooms.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Salvatore Testa

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 January 2013 Salvatore would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere in a perfect location. The view from the rooftop was breathtaking. The staff were very friendly and even give a full tour when you check in. There were plenty of activities on offer. Free lockers with provided locks. Free towels. Free breakfast. I was there for their second birthday, so they had a party with free champaign, cake and ice cream. Best of luck for the many years to come!

Disliked: Nothing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

17 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was perfect and the facilities were clean, modern, and comfortable.

Disliked: The price was higher than expected.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bhavesh Paradkar

Alone

Work / volunteering

19 November 2012 Bhavesh would recommend this property

Liked: Very Very friendly staff The place is clean Pub crawling event helps bond with other hostel mates In the heart of Toronto downtown Cheap

Disliked: Wireless Internet connectivity poor in the rooms

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, place is still new-ish which is great, its nice and clean, beds are comfy and breakfast is available till 1pm - so great for those of us that like a bit of a sleep in!

Disliked: Rooms can be a bit tight when full!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

13 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Super friendly staff. Extremely clean facilities. Great location.

Disliked: The WiFi was a little weak, but given all the other excellent qualities, this was minor.


See all Toronto hostels