HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Planet Traveler Toronto

Hostel

357 College Street, Toronto, Ontario, Toronto, Canada

Atmosphere 93%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 94%

Location 92%

Safety 91%

Staff 93%

Value 90%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meeting Room
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Towels Included

Important Information

Note: The latest check in time is at 12 AM.
Please note that from May to October the hostel don't accept bookings OVER 5 PEOPLE.

They reserve the rights to cancel your booking and the deposit paid will be lost.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Toronto?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 93%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 94%

Location 92%

Safety 91%

Staff 93%

Value 90%

Showing 11-20 of 126 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Business / conference, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: This is the second time I've stayed here and I wish every city had a hostel like this. It really has everything you'd wish to have whilst travelling. It's clean, the staff helpful and beautifully located near downtown with a stunning view over the Toronto Skyline. More than that, it is really stylish, held in grey and green colors. Three big iMacs downstairs allow you to plan your next trip on a bigger screen than your smartphone. Breakfast takes place from 7am to 1pm so you can still enojy it although you came back really late last night. Probably the best thing here are the social events which they organize such as movie nights, quiz nights, pub crawls. Don't miss the free burger night on saturday. Anthony, the (amazing!) owner himself will prepare delicious burgers on the (amazing!) rooftop for everyone.Again, I've seen numerous hostels before but this is by far the best I've ever stayed. In summer, rooms are booked out fast (especially on the weekends) so make sure to book in advance.

Disliked: The only thing where I see room for improvement would be breakfast. It truly is rich but it could be a bit "broader" too. So instead of 15 kinds of cereals, 8 kinds of bagles and 5 kinds of jam it'd be nice to have some eggs, apples and oranges too. Though this is critics on a high level. We bought said things ourselves and it was perfect.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: Very clean, really good breakfast choice. Great environment, excellent location Kensington market behind the building is a proper cool funky place

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The roof top !!!!

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: the location is very good, many attractions are within walking distancetheres activity every night on the rooftop, where you can have fun and meet people, plus the view up there is really nice

Disliked: no

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Breakfast included and location

Disliked: Common area closing between midnight and 0700

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The best hostel and crew ever. Has everything a good hostel needs and it's deliver:)

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff. Nice new and clean hostel.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: The roof top deck; the beautiful washrooms,

Disliked: In the common areas such as the kichen and open area dining & Mac computer stations there was ALWAYS music being played in the background, and sometimes it would have been nice to not have that playing especially when you are trying to make a call in the phone booths that are provided (I do not have a cell and/or any privacy to make a personal, noise free call). Also, they do not provide ANY paper towels, napkins in the kitchen or bathrooms so everyone is forced to use the same 'wash cloth' in the communal bathrooms and the soaking wet 'wash cloth' that is used as a 'kitchen towel' in the kitchen. When I brought this to the staff's attention, they basically brushed me off as though I was making a ridiculous request and told me it's because they are a 'Green' Hostel...Yah, I am aware the hostel received an award for being the 'greenest' hostel in North America - which is one of the reason's why I chose to book here, HOWEVER, it still doesn't make sense to provide only 1 wash cloth per communal bathroom when EVERYONE is constantly using them and as far as the kitchen is concerned - providing napkins which BTW, are 'recyclable' makes sense! I mean, what does every one use to wipe their mouths and hands with - their sleeves???? Other than that, this place is fantastic!!! Thanks Antony for doing such a bang up job with this hostel!!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: Best hostel I've ever stayed in. No flaws,

Disliked: See above comment.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Friendly staff, clean rooms, excellent free breakfast, great location

Disliked: a little bit expensive, reception area, kitchen and hall is closed after midnight

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability