HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Toronto hostels

Reviews of Planet Traveler

Hostel | 357 College Street, Toronto, Ontario, Canada ON M5T 1S5

91.7% Overall Rating

179 out of 185 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/07/2014)

"Fantastic hostel. Beautiful, clean and a rooftop terrace! And breakfast is included, what more do you want?"

Read all Planet Traveler reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Note: The latest check in time is at 12 AM. Please note that from May to October the hostel don't accept bookings OVER 5 PEOPLE. They reserve the rights to cancel your booking and the deposit paid will be lost.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Toronto?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Toronto

kaisar Guest House
50.25 USD

Guesthouse 78.6% 27 reviews
University of Toronto Residences - New College
26.50 USD

Hostel 82.1% 49 reviews
Toronto Travellers Home
31.98 USD

Hostel 49.6% 493 reviews
Grange Hotel
45.23 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 74.7% 43 reviews
Urban Living Suites
77.66 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Alexandra Hotel
50.25 USD

Hotel 1 star Not yet rated
University Apartment
18.27 USD

Hostel 46.7% 130 reviews
Chinatown Travelers Home
27.41 USD

Hostel 57.9% 306 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.7%

Overall Rating

179 out of 185 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Planet Traveler'

Atmosphere
95.2%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
90.4%
Cleanliness
92.8%
Staff
92.0%
Value
89.6%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 132 of 180 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Weimann

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

26 February 2014 David would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was so nice! The staff, the location, the people i met. The owner works in the hostel too, is really friendly to everyone and also treats his staff nicely. The hostel has two common areas and they organize a lot of social events (e.g. pasta/BBQ dinner every saturday).

Disliked: I can't think of anything bad besides maybe that they could offer a slightly bigger breakfast. But that's a detail.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good kitchen, generally clean, free breakfast, easy to talk to fellow travelers

Disliked: Dorm rooms are very cramped, no curtains across dorm beds, when busy its hard to find quiet space if you want to call, skype etc. Rooftop parties can be quite loud

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Johanna Mick

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 February 2014 Johanna would recommend this property

Liked: - clean - friendly atmosphere - great breakfast - very new - comfy beds - wonderful warm blanket :)

Disliked: That I didn't stay longer!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

31 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly staff, free pasta dinner on Saturday, nice roof-top bar

Disliked: shared room very cramped with 6 people and luggage

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

05 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The beds were good and the breakfast and common rooms were nice! The view from the rooftop also was very nice!

Disliked: The halls are really narrow and the rooms are too small if you have a big suitcase and especially sharing a room with5 other girls with big suitcases doesnt really work. I also dislike sleeping on top of a bunkbed but thats more personal ;)

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

31 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a great location, clean, and the free coffee was a plus. The atmosphere and common area was a great place to hang out and meet people.

Disliked: The Internet was very spotty and didn't work in the upstairs rooms.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Visiting friends or family

31 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very clean, out of expectation; iMac is available for internet browsing. I liked the interior design of the hostel too.

Disliked: check-in is not available after midnight.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Richard Griffith

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 December 2013 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast runs until 1PM so you can sleep in. Every dorm has it's own bathroom so you don't have to wander the corridors in your PJs very morning only to find all the shower stalls are occupado. The rooftop bar is f'ing sweet. The rooftop barbecue/pasta night is also f'ing sweet and a great way of making new friends It's clean. It's well maintained It's in a FANTASTIC location at Kensington Market. Biut the best thing about the place is the staff, they're helpful, friendly and a lot of fun. Cheers guy!

Disliked: That I'll probably never find another hostel quite so good.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

25 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This property was ideally located for access to Toronto's main tourist spots. The bedrooms and bathrooms were of a much higher standard than I would expect from most hostels.

Disliked: Bagels are provided for breakfast but I would prefer if fruit was an option..but obviously that's not a deal breaker:)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ellen Dick

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 November 2013 Ellen would recommend this property

Liked: Really enjoyed staying at Planet Traveler, really nice staff, great wifi throughout the hostel. Breakfast was the best I've EVER had at a hostel!!! So many options and finishing at 1pm is the greatest. Would stay again if I returned to Toronto

Disliked: I didn't dislike anything.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicolas Carter

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

27 October 2013 Nicolas would recommend this property

Liked: Great rooms, amazing roof terrace and a decent free breakfast

Disliked: Not enough seats in the common room....

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff very good atmosphere like staying at home close to bus station

Disliked: wifi doesn't work

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

13 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to downtown, good breakfast until 1pm, checkout at noon, secure luggage storage.

Disliked: Rooms were a bit cramped for everyone's luggage.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

30 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean, free breakfast.

Disliked: Internet very slow.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Marilou Campeau

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

29 September 2013 Marilou would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, good location, really good breakfast, nice terrace on the roof and eco-friendly.

Disliked: The room was a little bit small and Wi Fi is not working well.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

20 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and nice facilities. Perfect location. Very eco friendly. Plenty of nice clean bathrooms. Wonderful roof top deck. very nice common rooms. clean bedding.

Disliked: The rooms where too small there was hardly any floor space between the bunk beds crammed into the closet sized room. The breakfast was a tad unhealthy 98% bread and cereal the only non carb/grain option was bananas....I lived off of those as my nutritionist has me on a strict plan and a single bagel eats up 2/3 my days allotted grains/carbs. some more fruit and veggie options would be nice.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joseph Driesen

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 September 2013 Joseph would recommend this property

Liked: Planet traveller Toronto I the best hostel I've ever stayed in bar none... I rather stay here then a hotel.. Great atmosphere. And incredible staff. Love it. Can't wait to come back here gain.

Disliked: Joseph left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference

10 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a nice place with nice staff. They are helpful and seems to bond with each other which affects the atmosphere positively. The place is probably the nicest hostel I have ever stayed in. They have free breakfast from 8 am to 1 pm, which is really nice. Free coffee and tea, and rice for dinner. They can store your bags and you can wash your clothes for only $2. There are a lot of activities in the hostel, e.g. pubcrawls and movie nights.

Disliked: It wasn't possible to rearrange rooms to be in the same room as my friend, even though we were there for 14 days. A lot of people arrived and left during this period but the system seemed too rigid in this respect. There is a lot of noise and activity in the lobby/common areas, which can be both nice and annoying. The staff talking to each other seemed to be the most noisy of all. The internet didn't work very well, was slow or not working at all for very long periods. As a person looking for more permanent accommodation from this place, this was a huge disadvantage. Otherwise, it was the nicest hostel I have ever stayed in.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

20 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome location and excellent staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emily Syme

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 July 2013 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: - Great free breakfast -Pretty good wifi - Clean -Great desk staff - Tour when you first arrive - Laundry - Nice kitchen

Disliked: - Small rooms - Seemed to be some people hanging around which knew the staff but were not staying the hostel - There was some trouble amonst the staff

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

BAOHUA WANG

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

21 July 2013 BAOHUA would recommend this property

Liked: good times when We stayed there.

Disliked: nothing

60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Work / volunteering

16 July 2013

Liked: The rooftop was nice and it was very clean. Free breakfast, saturday bbq and free popcorn was good.

Disliked: General friendliness of the guests/staff was lacking. Didn't feel like I was made welcome by either. Strict curfue of 12pm for hostel facilities which I felt was ridiculous because if you weren't going out you were forced to go to bed. The hostel is also right next to a firestation so you can expect to hear firetrucks coming and going at all hours. Also from my room I could constantly hear people outside when I was going to sleep well in to the early hours of the morning. Trying to use the kitchen is also a nightmare as you're constantly moving to meet other peoples needs which just leads to badly cooked food. I don't think I'd ever go back there it was just an awkward 2 and a half weeks.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 July 2013

Liked: modern, good breakfast

Disliked: staff was not friendly and helpful at all, were not honest about cleaning procedures, were rude when we asked them to change our sheets which were full of stains and hair, it took them an hour to make the beds although they knew we had been waiting for hours to get into the room after a night on the bus. and the bathroom wasn't cleaned until 6pm, 3 hours after check-in, and then still cleaned very poorly, not cool

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa
Shopping

08 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Chill atmosphere; great music in morning over breakfast; lots of common areas including rooftop patio

Disliked: In female dorm, travellers staying in thhhw dorm leave their cosmetics, shampoos etc in the bathroom, leaving it congested for those that don't, and just bring theirs in. I don't feel it is necessary or appropropriate to leave them there. Some don't dry off in shower hence wet floor in bathroom, and they leave their wet towel on bathroom hooks - so othwers either have to remove toqel and put where? Or put their clotwes elsewhere. I think there cmaybe there needs to be Hostelling 101!! In July room 24 too hot to sleep

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: They have so many different activities for trying that people get involved on a friendly enviroment. They think in all tourists needs such as buying spices for cooking, coffe all day, barbecues at Saturdays and all without not extra cost.

Disliked: The check in is at 3, it should be a earlier


See all Toronto hostels