We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Toronto hostels

Reviews of Planet Traveler

Hostel | 357 College Street, Toronto, Ontario, Canada ON M5T 1S5

93.5% Overall Rating

194 out of 200 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/11/2014)

bukky omotosho thinks…

"What I loved most about this place was it's proximity to most downtown major locations...I virtually walked down to the places I wanted to go, like chinatown and spadina Avenue! Plus there are lots…"

Read all Planet Traveler reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Note: The latest check in time is at 12 AM. Please note that from May to October the hostel don't accept bookings OVER 5 PEOPLE. They reserve the rights to cancel your booking and the deposit paid will be lost.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Toronto?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Toronto

kaisar Guest House
49.23 USD

Guesthouse 78.6% 27 reviews
University of Toronto Residences - New College
25.96 USD

Hostel 82.1% 49 reviews
Toronto Travellers Home
34.01 USD

Hostel 49.6% 493 reviews
Grange Hotel
39.83 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 74.7% 43 reviews
Urban Living Suites
76.08 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Alexandra Hotel
35.80 USD

Hotel 1 star Not yet rated
University Apartment
26.85 USD

Hostel 48.0% 133 reviews
Chinatown Travelers Home
31.33 USD

Hostel 59.0% 308 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.5%

Overall Rating

194 out of 200 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Planet Traveler'

Atmosphere
91.2%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
93.6%
Cleanliness
92.8%
Staff
94.4%
Value
92.0%
Safety
96.0%
Refine your results Showing 145 of 198 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Alexandra Moulin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 June 2014 Alexandra would recommend this property

Liked: Good hostel with everything you need, good breakfast, a terrace with free burgers on Sunday when I was there. The room are not big but that's enough for a couple of days. Friendly staff. Grocery stores close

Disliked: Crowded of children/teenager. Bad timing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jason Cotas

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 May 2014 Jason would recommend this property

Liked: The location and the staff was amazing! All such nice people!

Disliked: The mattress cover was stained and had some hair.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Right next to Kensignton Market. Best thing for me personally: Breakfast goes till 1:00pm! Finally a hostel that understands the needs of a traveller who also likes to enjoy the nights of a city! Also, checkout-time is 12:00 which is very convinient. Other nice features: Breakfast included, free pop-corn, tea and coffee all day long, free food shelf, laundry, free national calls, lockers have keys - I didnt need to buy a lock.

Disliked: The internet in my room was non-existent. Had to go downstairs all the time. Would have liked to have a power plug on my upper bed.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Every thing, I could not belive the breakfast starts at 7am and goes on until 1pm. Free popcorn, coffee/tea all day, Saturday night free BBQ on roof top was excellent.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere , friendly staff and great free breakfast

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
City break
Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Common area, variety of restaurants in vicinity

Disliked: No cream cheese for breakfast bagels, no elevator.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mathieu PREAu

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 April 2014 Mathieu would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, clean place, fun staff and nice bathroom

Disliked: the rooms are quite small

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

19 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It creates a good atmosphere where everyone interacts with each other regardless of the fact that we were all strangers. I recommend it to anyone.

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ricky Hall

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

17 April 2014 Ricky would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, love the accommodations, planning another trip and will def stay with them!

Disliked: Ricky left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

11 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were very friendly & welcoming, very convienient location and relaxed atmosphere Rooftop terrace provides an awesome view of the city, so it's a must!!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Annabel Pearce

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break

10 April 2014 Annabel would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic hostel! Breakfast is until 1 which is a real bonus (plus free pasta dinner on Saturdays!), the bathrooms in the rooms were clean and bright and modern, the beds were wide and comfortable, the locks on the lockers in the rooms were provided for free, the roof terrace is a plus, the staff were really friendly and gave excellent advice for nearby bars, pubs and clubs! My friend and I walked around Toronto all day and it was in the perfect location to do this from. Could sing its praises all day!

Disliked: No complaints what so ever!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are so wonderful, really friendly and give great suggestions on places for you to visit. Hostel itself is very clean and modern and the atmosphere is great for meeting other travellers. Each dorm also has an en suite which is a nice change from having to walk all the way down the hall to a communal bathroom. It's also really close to Little Italy and a block away from some nice coffee shops!

Disliked: There aren't any metro stops nearby so it's quite a long walk from the metro station (but there is a tram).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Janis Sankowski

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

10 March 2014 Janis would recommend this property

Liked: You can not beat the price or accommodations. Our room was about 80.00 a night in the downtown area, near the public transportation so there was no need to have a car. Planet Traveler is a "green" facility, I think in fact the only green hostel in North America. It is very clean and modern. The view from the rooftop is incredible. Breakfast is served from 7 to 1 which is awesome! I do not know how many times I have missed out on a breakfast while traveling because I did not want to get out of bed. The staff is very friendly and helpful. I spoke with the Anthony, the owner several times and I could tell that it is his goal to meet the needs of all his guests. Most of the guests are college aged kids but there were a few of us that have been around the sun more times. I did not feel out of place or un-welcomed. I highly recommend Planet Traveler.

Disliked: The wifi reception is a bit sporadic in the rooms. Works fine in the common areas.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Weimann

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

26 February 2014 David would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was so nice! The staff, the location, the people i met. The owner works in the hostel too, is really friendly to everyone and also treats his staff nicely. The hostel has two common areas and they organize a lot of social events (e.g. pasta/BBQ dinner every saturday).

Disliked: I can't think of anything bad besides maybe that they could offer a slightly bigger breakfast. But that's a detail.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good kitchen, generally clean, free breakfast, easy to talk to fellow travelers

Disliked: Dorm rooms are very cramped, no curtains across dorm beds, when busy its hard to find quiet space if you want to call, skype etc. Rooftop parties can be quite loud

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Johanna Mick

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 February 2014 Johanna would recommend this property

Liked: - clean - friendly atmosphere - great breakfast - very new - comfy beds - wonderful warm blanket :)

Disliked: That I didn't stay longer!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

31 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly staff, free pasta dinner on Saturday, nice roof-top bar

Disliked: shared room very cramped with 6 people and luggage

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

05 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The beds were good and the breakfast and common rooms were nice! The view from the rooftop also was very nice!

Disliked: The halls are really narrow and the rooms are too small if you have a big suitcase and especially sharing a room with5 other girls with big suitcases doesnt really work. I also dislike sleeping on top of a bunkbed but thats more personal ;)

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

31 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a great location, clean, and the free coffee was a plus. The atmosphere and common area was a great place to hang out and meet people.

Disliked: The Internet was very spotty and didn't work in the upstairs rooms.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Visiting friends or family

31 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very clean, out of expectation; iMac is available for internet browsing. I liked the interior design of the hostel too.

Disliked: check-in is not available after midnight.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Richard Griffith

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 December 2013 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast runs until 1PM so you can sleep in. Every dorm has it's own bathroom so you don't have to wander the corridors in your PJs very morning only to find all the shower stalls are occupado. The rooftop bar is f'ing sweet. The rooftop barbecue/pasta night is also f'ing sweet and a great way of making new friends It's clean. It's well maintained It's in a FANTASTIC location at Kensington Market. Biut the best thing about the place is the staff, they're helpful, friendly and a lot of fun. Cheers guy!

Disliked: That I'll probably never find another hostel quite so good.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

25 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This property was ideally located for access to Toronto's main tourist spots. The bedrooms and bathrooms were of a much higher standard than I would expect from most hostels.

Disliked: Bagels are provided for breakfast but I would prefer if fruit was an option..but obviously that's not a deal breaker:)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ellen Dick

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 November 2013 Ellen would recommend this property

Liked: Really enjoyed staying at Planet Traveler, really nice staff, great wifi throughout the hostel. Breakfast was the best I've EVER had at a hostel!!! So many options and finishing at 1pm is the greatest. Would stay again if I returned to Toronto

Disliked: I didn't dislike anything.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicolas Carter

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

27 October 2013 Nicolas would recommend this property

Liked: Great rooms, amazing roof terrace and a decent free breakfast

Disliked: Not enough seats in the common room....

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff very good atmosphere like staying at home close to bus station

Disliked: wifi doesn't work


See all Toronto hostels