HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Toronto hostels

Reviews of Sherbourne House Toronto

Guesthouse | 572 Sherbourne Street, Toronto, Ontario, Canada M4X1L3

72.2% Overall Rating

90 out of 110 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/06/2013)

"Not bad for the price. We had what we booked, double bedroom with private bathroom. The place wasn't very clean, with hair on the sheets and in the bathroom. The room itself was simple and good for what we paid, not in…"

Read all Sherbourne House Toronto reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Toronto?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Toronto

All Days
20.01 USD

Hostel 81.0% 186 reviews
Jacob 22 Bed and Breakfast
38.66 USD

Guesthouse 80.7% 13 reviews
City Guesthouse
24.56 USD

Guesthouse 87.2% 27 reviews
House on McGill
47.75 USD

Guesthouse 89.6% 11 reviews
Neill-Wycik Summer Hotel
31.84 USD

Hotel 3 star 72.0% 164 reviews
Downtowner Inn Toronto
63.67 USD

Hotel 1 star 67.1% 410 reviews
Comfy GuestHouse and Suites
33.20 USD

Guesthouse 88.6% 20 reviews
Toronto Garden Inn Bed&Breakfast
36.38 USD

Guesthouse 86.7% 6 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
72.2%

Overall Rating

90 out of 110 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Sherbourne House Toronto'

Atmosphere
62.4%
Location
84.8%
Facilities
64.0%
Cleanliness
59.2%
Staff
77.6%
Value
76.0%
Safety
81.6%
Refine your results Showing 94 of 106 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Not bad for the price. We had what we booked, double bedroom with private bathroom. The place wasn't very clean, with hair on the sheets and in the bathroom. The room itself was simple and good for what we paid, not in a loud neighbourhood or anything dodgy. It's no luxury but good if you're on a budget!

Disliked: Could be cleaner!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alex Matheson

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2013 Alex would recommend this property

Liked: exellent location, clean, quiet, secure.

Disliked: no kitchen.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping

19 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very nice and comfy, staff was helpful and location was great

Disliked: it was a bit empty at times

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

City break

01 January 2013

Liked: The location is good. It's only a few minutes to the subway.

Disliked: Hard bed; dingy, grubby washroom. Very little privacy - you could a lot from next door. Cramped room. Uncomfortable night. I was glad to leave.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 November 2012

Liked: Friendly staff

Disliked: Not as clean as it could be.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jill Uecker

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

23 October 2012 Jill would recommend this property

Liked: Inexpensive without being a dive. Good location. Only two blocks from the subway. A few blocks farther and you are right downtown. It was quiet and clean. Easy to get to from the airport if you are familiar with transit.

Disliked: Never saw staff again after they took my money.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Work / volunteering

04 October 2012

Liked: Location, is able to cook your own food.

Disliked: Not clean.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's very cosy and comfortable as it's more like renting out a room in a house rather than a hotel room. The kitchen and internet were great. Good clean bathroom.

Disliked: Found some hair on our sheets but seemed otherwise clean.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Aaron Pym

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

24 September 2012

Liked: Private room, reasonable price

Disliked: Room was not cleaned when I checked in (although subsequently was), had to be moved to another property nearby, a sketchy character of business, thin walls which transmit noise

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 September 2012

Liked: It was very close to a subway station and also with a convenient major drug store across the road. TV had a lot of channels. It was good for what I needed, just a quiet place to stay overnight.

Disliked: It was slightly dirty. Such as the bed, it was like as if they didn't change the sheets but simply just remade the bed. Also the basin had some spit marks in it, and 2 half bottles of leftover body wash. Whether it was complimentary or someone had left it behind by accident, I still wouldn't touch it.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Visiting friends or family

16 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: as advertised, the location is really convenient indeed. the owned is really flexible

Disliked: the rooms are neat (kinda) but i found obvious amount of hair on the bottom of my shower. bed was not comfortable at all; it was skewed to the side.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Vanessa Weir

As a family with children

City break
Sightseeing & culture

08 September 2012 Vanessa would recommend this property

Liked: price

Disliked: distance from the centre

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

03 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very simple and cheapest we found. Very friendly owner, in a nice neighborhood, parking available private for $10. Quiet. Clean. Would stay there again!

Disliked: We arrived and there is no reception at this budget hostel. There is a sign with a phone number, but it somehow works fine and we called the guy who just showed up to let us in. Non-traditional, but fine for those looking for bare minimum.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 August 2012

Liked: location, free wifi, quietness

Disliked: the room was very dirty, the towels had brown stains, the whole house was smelly

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is located far from TD, Sub, MC.

Disliked: Stairs

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Visiting friends or family

21 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Family room was clean and spacious. The location is central and the rate is reasonable (all things considered).

Disliked: There is no one present to answer questions. The manager was not particularly helpful or friendly and does not provide tourist maps or volunteer other advice. There are no signs or welcome package outlining hostel rules and services. For example, there were no fridge use guidlines and as a result there was rotting food left in the fridge. The building and facilities were lacking in general upkeep.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

20 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in a private double-room with private bathroom and were very satisfied with the quality of our room for the price we paid (decently sized bed, TV, large mirror). Our stay was pleasant and the guesthouse was quiet and secure (two doors with number codes).

Disliked: Although located near a subway station, we ended up cabbing everywhere. The walking distance is further than described on their hostebookers page so we cabbed to and from the bus terminal.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

20 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great accomodation! Very efficient and friendly service, nice little room with own cute bathroom included for a great price, wifi, fully equipped huge kitchen downstairs and a free pc to use for everyone. I'd recommend it to any traveler who appreciates a safe, tidy and affordable stay in a good location.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Szu Han Liu

With friends / other travellers

City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

17 August 2012

Liked: The location is ok, near subway station.

Disliked: The building is old, room is dirty, Every furniture is covered with dust. After took out the comforter, we even can see hair on the bed.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Louis Bourgeois

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 August 2012 Louis would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet, near the subway, free washing machine and dryer

Disliked: They should hire someone to clean the washrooms properly. You will have to call them (with their phone though) if you need assistance.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The property was very quite and quaint. I hardly saw other people coming and going. The AC kept the place cool, but was a little cold for me at times. The kitchen was nice and the room was clean upon arrival.

Disliked: Sometimes the AC was too chili for my liking. I felt like the bathroom and room overall could have been cleaned a little better as there was hair on the bathroom floor, the toilet was not cleaned out although the toilet seat was clean just not the toilet bowl, and it looked like someone had splattered a little coffee on the wall and door. I will say that all the linens were clean though.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

James Iing C M

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

23 July 2012 James would recommend this property

Liked: it is close to skytrain or Subway and walking distance to yonge and bays st at busy shopping area. It is a good price to stay a nite or 2 for younger dude and it isn't suitalbe for a family .

Disliked: Do not have a lift or ascalator in hte building and the building itself is old and you can hear all the noise from everysingle floors.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the private room w/ its own bath, the cleanliness, the central location (also very close to public transportation) and most of all, the value.

Disliked: Honestly, there wasn't much to dislike, especially considering the low cost.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Preston Woodside

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

12 July 2012 Preston would recommend this property

Liked: The house is Quiet (central air) & easy to enter & leave 3 doors, 2 with electronic locks) & 1 room key. The room has double bed,. TV with cabinet / dresser,, clock radio, chair, 2 night stands and a coat rack. Thje private bath is TIGHT 3PC maybe 2' x 4' (does the job). other things not used were internet etc.

Disliked: It's states that the house is by the TTC subway station (but is 1-2 short blocks away). The directions to walk there are ok but only if you call 20 minute walk a short direction. The privite bath is in a closet 2x4 feet, does the job (3 pcs shower, sink the size of drinking fountain).

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

08 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Interesting little place. Friendly staff, parking was available at a reasonable rate. They let us check out late. Close to the parks and jogging.

Disliked: The first room we were led to smelled like cat urine as did the halls of the 3rd floor. They offered us a different room on the 2nd floor which was smaller but smelled much better. I will say they seemed caught off guard by our discovery and were very apologetic.


See all Toronto hostels