HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Toronto hostels

Reviews of kaisar Guest House

Guesthouse | 372A College Street, Toronto, Ontario, Canada M5T 1S6

78.5% Overall Rating

22 out of 26 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (05/01/2014)

"We loved the old building, it had quite a bit of character. It was nice to be able to come and go as we pleased. Ideal location for Kensington Market."

Read all kaisar Guest House reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Communal kitchen
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 4.66

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Note: A 5% surcharge applies when paying using credit cards on arrival.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Toronto?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Toronto

Planet Traveler
28.87 USD

Hostel 92.7% 173 reviews
University of Toronto Residences - New College
27.01 USD

Hostel 83.5% 48 reviews
Urban Living Suites
79.17 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Toronto Travellers Home
32.60 USD

Hostel 51.5% 491 reviews
Grange Hotel
46.11 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 75.8% 42 reviews
Alexandra Hotel
46.57 USD

Hotel 1 star Not yet rated
University Apartment
13.97 USD

Hostel 48.5% 127 reviews
Global Guest House of Toronto
36.79 USD

Guesthouse 81.7% 5 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
78.5%

Overall Rating

22 out of 26 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'kaisar Guest House'

Atmosphere
68.8%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
73.6%
Cleanliness
76.8%
Staff
80.8%
Value
80.0%
Safety
80.0%
Refine your results Showing 21 of 25 reviews
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

05 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We loved the old building, it had quite a bit of character. It was nice to be able to come and go as we pleased. Ideal location for Kensington Market.

Disliked: The armchairs and sofa were not very clean. The bathrooms were rather small and the kitchen utensils were very very lacking (it specified fully equipped). We would recommend bringing own utensils.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I had originally booked a single room however they put me I a double room, which was great! There was heaps of space in the room with a desk and wardrobe and a small tv. The staff were super friendly and it was in a really good location however quite far from downtown but easy if you don't mind walking.

Disliked: Although I enjoyed my stay here I would have to say that the guest house is quite old and rundown however that didn't bother me so much and even though I told them what time I was checking out there was no one at reception so I had to just leave the keys on the desk.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

TING YAN WONG

Alone

Business / conference
Work / volunteering

20 August 2013 TING YAN would recommend this property

Liked: The reception is nice.

Disliked: TING YAN left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, clean, good location.

Disliked: No air conditioning -- but the fan was fine.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, very heplfull staff.

Disliked: None.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

06 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean

Disliked: Had to take your shoes off :) which would be fine if there were slippers in everyone's size.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

01 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing location for sightseeing. Great value. Not noisy. Obviously nothing fancy but comfortable and clean.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location and safe area.

Disliked: walls are a little thin, but no big deal

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

30 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was a clean, well-run guest house in a great location in downtown Toronto. The staff was incredibly friendly and willing to be on call, and even let me stow my bags for a few hours after I checked out while I explored the city. There was a TV in the room, free wifi, and a full shared kitchen to use. For the price, I couldn't be happier.

Disliked: There's barely anything to complain about. Be aware that you can't wear shoes inside (but they provide slippers if you need them), can't eat in the rooms (but there's a kitchen for you to use), and that the front desk is not always staffed (but you can always call them if you need somebody).

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place is in an incredible location; 25 min walk to the downtown core, Little Italy and Kensington is at your doorstep and it is perfect for young travellers who will be out adventuring most of their stay!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

11 May 2012

Liked: The rooms were decent enough and the staff were helpful, if not that friendly.

Disliked: Everyone staying here seemed aloof and stressed out. It has a weird atmosphere and I didn't get a single good night's sleep because of the noise from the bar, the construction and other guests.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 March 2012

Liked: friendly staff

Disliked: blood on walls, sketchy neibourhood

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Peter Van Der Eecken

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

01 February 2012 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: Location is great. In the middle off downtown, only a street away from chinatown.

Disliked: Carpet in the rooms, towels not automatically renewed.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

05 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was excellent and the hostel was nice and quiet. The staff members were super friendly.

Disliked: The shower's pressure was quite weak.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Visiting friends or family

04 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was perfect. Very close to transportation, shopping, dining, and Kensington Market. The staff are very friendly and it is easy to get to your room no matter the time of day (or night).

Disliked: The bathrooms are a little cramped.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
City break

14 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The bathrooms were clean.

Disliked: Shabby and run down with zero character or atmosphere. But that was ok for us since at least the bathrooms were clean. The rooms and facilities could use a new layer of paint and some renovation in general.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

05 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's quiet, the staff is friendly, very good location

Disliked: If you are in a regular room with a double bed, the walls are very very thin and you can hear every movement of the people in the room next to you.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Rory Scott

Alone

Business / conference

16 November 2011 Rory would recommend this property

Liked: Its close proximity to businesses in the downtown area.

Disliked: The lack of parking facilities

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

02 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Room was very clean. We booked a shared bathroom but they upgraded us to an ensuite when we arrived for no extra charge - because they had that room available. Location was pretty good, about a block away from Kensington Market.

Disliked: Nothing.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

29 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location close to Kensinton market & Little Italyclean & quiet room

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Idan Alterovici

Alone

City break

06 August 2010 Idan would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very helpful and the location is great. The streetcars can take you right up to Yonge street or to one of the subway lines in no time. The place is clean and the rooms are very comfy. There is wifi in the rooms for free which was a great plus and they have rooms for long stays as well.

Disliked: It wasn't so bad but they only have fans in the rooms though the corridors are air conditioned. The staff is not always there and soemtimes you have to use the phone to call them (I mean it's ok but I felt uncomfortable to call them on the phone if I needed them :)))


See all Toronto hostels