We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Toronto hostels

Reviews of University of Toronto Residences - New College

Hostel | 40 Willcocks Street, Toronto, Ontario, Canada M5S 1C6

82.1% Overall Rating

42 out of 49 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/06/2014)

"I loved the affordability, the location and ambience, the feeling of safety, cleanliness, and relative privacy I enjoyed."

Read all University of Toronto Residences - New College reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Washing machines
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 6.27

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Toronto?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Toronto

Planet Traveler
27.75 USD

Hostel 93.5% 200 reviews
kaisar Guest House
49.23 USD

Guesthouse 78.6% 27 reviews
Global Guest House of Toronto
30.88 USD

Guesthouse 83.5% 9 reviews
Toronto Travellers Home
34.01 USD

Hostel 49.6% 493 reviews
University Apartment
26.85 USD

Hostel 48.0% 133 reviews
Grange Hotel
39.83 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 74.7% 43 reviews
Chinatown Travelers Home
31.33 USD

Hostel 59.0% 308 reviews
Alexandra Hotel
42.07 USD

Hotel 1 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.1%

Overall Rating

42 out of 49 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'University of Toronto Residences - New College'

Atmosphere
74.4%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
66.4%
Cleanliness
79.2%
Staff
88.8%
Value
85.6%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 38 of 48 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the affordability, the location and ambience, the feeling of safety, cleanliness, and relative privacy I enjoyed.

Disliked: I found the air conditioning noisy and very drying, sometimes finding it hard to get to sleep.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference

16 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel feeling.

Disliked: Very small rooms.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

15 June 2014

Liked: The price

Disliked: No cooking utensils for guests

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

13 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, secure

Disliked: Uncomfortable bed

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Andrea Falk

Alone

City break

08 June 2014 Andrea would recommend this property

Liked: It is on the streetcar line. Cheap, safe, and clean.

Disliked: Had to pay $5 for an ethernet cable to get online.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Visiting friends or family

05 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap place to get some sleep, quiet and generally no problems.

Disliked: Shared bathrooms can be a drag sometimes.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

28 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, price, and staff were all incredible. I couldn't ask for a better deal in the heart of a big city.

Disliked: It's a college dorm so nothing fancy at all. No hostel atmosphere if that is what someone is looking for.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ernest Khoo

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

12 May 2014 Ernest would recommend this property

Liked: Location was perfect for sightseeing, dining and entertainment.

Disliked: Washroom facilities can be improved.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

lynn stervinou

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

11 May 2014 lynn would recommend this property

Liked: Serene and clean. Peaceful and safe atmosphere. Will definitely think of U of T residences first next time.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike but wifi would be awesome!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Phil Greene

Alone

Work / volunteering

11 May 2014 Phil would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderful location, modern, kitchen facilities.

Disliked: No air conditioning.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dennis Wade

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 July 2013 Dennis would recommend this property

Liked: I enjoyed being so close to downtown and also to all of the restaurants on College Street.

Disliked: It wasn't as close to Union Station or the Greyhound station as I thought it was.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Just a large dorm building, quiet and empty feeling at the time... Fine overall:-)

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

17 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great and the atmosphere is cheery. I like the grounds and the building design is pretty unique.

Disliked: There were no on-site breakfast options during the weekend. Also staff were not too knowledgeable about parking, places for breakfast. Perhaps these details could be given to them on an information sheet. As I was discovering these things on my own, I relayed it to the workers at the front desk. They seemed grateful.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. Close to downtown and you can get there from the airport on public transport cheaply and quite easily.

Disliked: Hard to find toliets

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 June 2013

Liked: It's in a safe area, reasonably close to downtown and most of the staff are very pleasant and helpful. There are lots of cute little squirrels who run around outside.

Disliked: We were rudely awakened at 7am on the first morning by workmen on the roof: they were drilling right above our ceiling for 2-3 hours and earplugs didn't help. Would have been nice to be forewarned of this! Night 2, the power was out for about 3 hours and we encountered one of the most unpleasant cretinous humans I've ever come across, complaining that we were making too much noise and that we should go to bed (note this was another 'guest' and security was pleasant enough, but we were still told to move despite it not being quiet hours and our room still without power). The beds are as noisy as a Boeing 747 on take off. Breakfast is like $8 extra a day or something ridiculous - all other budget accomm we've stayed in has offered at least a basic breakfast for free. The towels provided just about cover the groin area and nothing else. The communal toilets are not cleaned often and several were filled with human waste, so it's like a really not-fun game of musical chairs whenever you need to go. There is no WiFi at all and the TVs in the common rooms (I tried them all) did not work

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Diane Morin

Alone

Work / volunteering

05 June 2013 Diane would recommend this property

Liked: Easy access to downtown Toronto and Hospitals to pick up patients.I had to leave early because patient was sent home

Disliked: Did not get refund for leaving early

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: All in all it's a really fair prize for what you're getting. The location is great. Downtown Toronto, close to all major sightseeing locations. Rooms are exactly what they look like on the pictures. Every room has ac, desk, bed and a closet. Bathrooms are alright although depending on where you're room is, it's quite a bit of a walk. Friendly and helpfull staff.

Disliked: It could be a little cleaner.. rooms and bathrooms. Found 2 spiders in my room. urgh. It's not like your usual hostel where you'll meet a lot of people and hang out. Since it's mostly university students living here people tend to keep to themselves.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

20 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location. Feels very safe and secure.

Disliked: The walk to the men's washroom and the absence of Wi-fi.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

William Robinson-Smith

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2012 William would recommend this property

Liked: Being on the 8th floor, I had a great view of the city at night and the room was exactly what I wanted.

Disliked: It would've been nice if I had had access to a WiFi channel while I was there.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Harsh Pareek

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

28 June 2012 Harsh would recommend this property

Liked: Price

Disliked: Kitchens did not have pots and pans so it is of no use. Location was not very convenient compared to other places I stayed in Toronto. The bathrooms and toilets were very dirty.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

23 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: quaint university dorm room in the heart of Downtown Toronto. Secure location perfect alternative to a hotel for the single traveler.

Disliked: The elevator had a sensor mechanism I couldn't figure out how to use on the first try.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Visiting friends or family

23 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to everything and cheap

Disliked: The rooms could look a little more nice. Not bad though. And the welcome desk should offer a map of the buss and road in toronto.. It would of been very helpful cause we dont all think of asking for one. Also it would be nice to have a fridge

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Vince Bacalan

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 June 2012 Vince would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the fact that this property was secure in all places. Was my first stay at a non-hotel, hostel-like environment and this set up was perfect with its nice private rooms with a view! For one person it's really a good size, not sure how big others want it if they complain. The staff were friendly and located in a nice part of town, close to a streetcar station across the road. Love the fact that linen and towel are provided. Also, there's a nice breakfast place on College St (Margies). Check it out, def worth the money and nice people.

Disliked: Not a lot to complain other than the fact that it was farther from the downtown area than I thought it would be. As mentioned above, public transportation is nearby, but if you want to do mostly walking around town then this is def a bit far. Was a bit disappointed they weren't offering breakfast on weekends (definitely one of the reasons why I booked this place). Last, I didn't really like the whole internet connection process. Very tedious and no wifi. Thank goodness I was able to connect eventually. I know you're reading this and might be hesitant but just things to expect.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

18 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very helpful and friendly. The location is perfect and the room was comfortable.

Disliked: The washrooms could have been cleaner.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

06 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, very informal

Disliked: not much


See all Toronto hostels