We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Toronto hostels

Reviews of University of Toronto Residences - New College

Hostel | 40 Willcocks Street, Toronto, Ontario, Canada M5S 1C6

84.3% Overall Rating

53 out of 60 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/08/2015)

"It's located by U of T, which is a beautiful place to wander about if you have the time. The rooms are somewhat nice, there was a few stains on the wall but I don't expect much from a college dorm."

Read all University of Toronto Residences - New College reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Washing machines
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 5.26

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Toronto?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Toronto

Planet Traveler
23.28 USD

Hostel 91.9% 236 reviews
kaisar Guest House
41.31 USD

Guesthouse 78.4% 28 reviews
Global Guest House of Toronto
31.55 USD

Guesthouse 83.5% 9 reviews
Toronto Travellers Home
26.29 USD

Hostel 51.7% 500 reviews
University Apartment
21.78 USD

Hostel 50.1% 136 reviews
Grange Hotel
40.93 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 74.7% 43 reviews
Chinatown Travelers Home
21.78 USD

Hostel 60.0% 314 reviews
Alexandra Hotel
45.07 USD

Hotel 1 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.3%

Overall Rating

53 out of 60 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'University of Toronto Residences - New College'

Atmosphere
80.8%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
72.0%
Cleanliness
81.6%
Staff
89.6%
Value
88.8%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 47 of 59 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

21 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's located by U of T, which is a beautiful place to wander about if you have the time. The rooms are somewhat nice, there was a few stains on the wall but I don't expect much from a college dorm.

Disliked: The washrooms aren't the best. You only have access to a communal shower, so I'd recommend bringing a pair of flip flops to avoid fungal infections. The washrooms also have a weird smell to them sometimes.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Bernardine Thompson

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

11 August 2015 Bernardine would recommend this property

Liked: The location to transit, close to downtown and close the hostel my son is star.

Disliked: Found it difficult to get into the bathtub was how to have a nice soak

62.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

04 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The main college is near the TTC, nice trees and grass. Pretty clean

Disliked: I was in a different building Wetworth which I don't want to stay in again I wanted to be in the main building with no stairs due to my challenges, very inconveinent. I will not come on a holiday weekend again no one to fix a/c

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Will McDonald

Alone

City break

01 July 2015 Will would recommend this property

Liked: UofT campus is beautiful and New College is well-located.

Disliked: Will left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

16 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and quiet. If u are just looking for a cheap and clean place this is the place. If you are looking for a hostel, which this is not, go elsewhere.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Hana Jung

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

09 June 2015 Hana would recommend this property

Liked: Room with a chair and a desk. Big window. Safe. Only one doller for laundry machine.

Disliked: noise from other rooms and hallway. Little bit cold.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Sofya Kulikova

Alone

Business / conference

08 June 2015 Sofya would recommend this property

Liked: It was the cheapest available choice. Good internet connection with access to lots of scientific journals.

Disliked: The elevator was broken during the whole week. The rooms were not properly cleaned before arrival. Noisy at nights.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

aidan franics NUNAN

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

25 May 2015 aidan franics would recommend this property

Liked: The proximity to downtown and public transit like the TTC subway and trollies

Disliked: The common rooms were a little too common no rules for who gets the TV and which channel eg. first come first serve? Also how late you can cook a meal and common room kitchen had not any general utensils like a can opener ??? No public use computers they assume you will bring your own lap top or tablet device .

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff. Very close to transit. Fairly quiet for a downtown location.

Disliked: You do need all of your cooking utensils. There is a kettle, microwave, fridge and stove. However, there were no cooking utensils, dishes or cutlery.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the affordability, the location and ambience, the feeling of safety, cleanliness, and relative privacy I enjoyed.

Disliked: I found the air conditioning noisy and very drying, sometimes finding it hard to get to sleep.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference

16 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel feeling.

Disliked: Very small rooms.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

15 June 2014

Liked: The price

Disliked: No cooking utensils for guests

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

13 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, secure

Disliked: Uncomfortable bed

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Andrea Falk

Alone

City break

08 June 2014 Andrea would recommend this property

Liked: It is on the streetcar line. Cheap, safe, and clean.

Disliked: Had to pay $5 for an ethernet cable to get online.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Visiting friends or family

05 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap place to get some sleep, quiet and generally no problems.

Disliked: Shared bathrooms can be a drag sometimes.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

28 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, price, and staff were all incredible. I couldn't ask for a better deal in the heart of a big city.

Disliked: It's a college dorm so nothing fancy at all. No hostel atmosphere if that is what someone is looking for.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ernest Khoo

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

12 May 2014 Ernest would recommend this property

Liked: Location was perfect for sightseeing, dining and entertainment.

Disliked: Washroom facilities can be improved.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

lynn stervinou

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

11 May 2014 lynn would recommend this property

Liked: Serene and clean. Peaceful and safe atmosphere. Will definitely think of U of T residences first next time.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike but wifi would be awesome!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Phil Greene

Alone

Work / volunteering

11 May 2014 Phil would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderful location, modern, kitchen facilities.

Disliked: No air conditioning.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dennis Wade

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 July 2013 Dennis would recommend this property

Liked: I enjoyed being so close to downtown and also to all of the restaurants on College Street.

Disliked: It wasn't as close to Union Station or the Greyhound station as I thought it was.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Just a large dorm building, quiet and empty feeling at the time... Fine overall:-)

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

17 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great and the atmosphere is cheery. I like the grounds and the building design is pretty unique.

Disliked: There were no on-site breakfast options during the weekend. Also staff were not too knowledgeable about parking, places for breakfast. Perhaps these details could be given to them on an information sheet. As I was discovering these things on my own, I relayed it to the workers at the front desk. They seemed grateful.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. Close to downtown and you can get there from the airport on public transport cheaply and quite easily.

Disliked: Hard to find toliets

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 June 2013

Liked: It's in a safe area, reasonably close to downtown and most of the staff are very pleasant and helpful. There are lots of cute little squirrels who run around outside.

Disliked: We were rudely awakened at 7am on the first morning by workmen on the roof: they were drilling right above our ceiling for 2-3 hours and earplugs didn't help. Would have been nice to be forewarned of this! Night 2, the power was out for about 3 hours and we encountered one of the most unpleasant cretinous humans I've ever come across, complaining that we were making too much noise and that we should go to bed (note this was another 'guest' and security was pleasant enough, but we were still told to move despite it not being quiet hours and our room still without power). The beds are as noisy as a Boeing 747 on take off. Breakfast is like $8 extra a day or something ridiculous - all other budget accomm we've stayed in has offered at least a basic breakfast for free. The towels provided just about cover the groin area and nothing else. The communal toilets are not cleaned often and several were filled with human waste, so it's like a really not-fun game of musical chairs whenever you need to go. There is no WiFi at all and the TVs in the common rooms (I tried them all) did not work

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Diane Morin

Alone

Work / volunteering

05 June 2013 Diane would recommend this property

Liked: Easy access to downtown Toronto and Hospitals to pick up patients.I had to leave early because patient was sent home

Disliked: Did not get refund for leaving early


See all Toronto hostels