HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Toronto hostels

Reviews of University of Toronto Residences - New College

Hostel | 40 Willcocks Street, Toronto, Ontario, Canada M5S 1C6

80.8% Overall Rating

30 out of 35 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/07/2013)

Dennis Wade thinks…

"I enjoyed being so close to downtown and also to all of the restaurants on College Street."

Read all University of Toronto Residences - New College reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Washing machines
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 7.25

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Toronto?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Toronto

Planet Traveler
28.10 USD

Hostel 92.7% 152 reviews
kaisar Guest House
49.86 USD

Guesthouse 78.5% 26 reviews
Global Guest House of Toronto
35.81 USD

Guesthouse 74.3% 3 reviews
Toronto Travellers Home
13.60 USD

Hostel 50.9% 486 reviews
University Apartment
13.60 USD

Hostel 48.9% 114 reviews
Grange Hotel
35.81 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 78.9% 40 reviews
Chinatown Travelers Home
13.60 USD

Hostel 55.5% 297 reviews
Alexandra Hotel
41.70 USD

Hotel 1 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.8%

Overall Rating

30 out of 35 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'University of Toronto Residences - New College'

Atmosphere
71.2%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
63.2%
Cleanliness
77.6%
Staff
88.0%
Value
84.0%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 28 of 34 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dennis Wade

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 July 2013 Dennis would recommend this property

Liked: I enjoyed being so close to downtown and also to all of the restaurants on College Street.

Disliked: It wasn't as close to Union Station or the Greyhound station as I thought it was.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Just a large dorm building, quiet and empty feeling at the time... Fine overall:-)

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

17 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great and the atmosphere is cheery. I like the grounds and the building design is pretty unique.

Disliked: There were no on-site breakfast options during the weekend. Also staff were not too knowledgeable about parking, places for breakfast. Perhaps these details could be given to them on an information sheet. As I was discovering these things on my own, I relayed it to the workers at the front desk. They seemed grateful.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. Close to downtown and you can get there from the airport on public transport cheaply and quite easily.

Disliked: Hard to find toliets

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 June 2013

Liked: It's in a safe area, reasonably close to downtown and most of the staff are very pleasant and helpful. There are lots of cute little squirrels who run around outside.

Disliked: We were rudely awakened at 7am on the first morning by workmen on the roof: they were drilling right above our ceiling for 2-3 hours and earplugs didn't help. Would have been nice to be forewarned of this! Night 2, the power was out for about 3 hours and we encountered one of the most unpleasant cretinous humans I've ever come across, complaining that we were making too much noise and that we should go to bed (note this was another 'guest' and security was pleasant enough, but we were still told to move despite it not being quiet hours and our room still without power). The beds are as noisy as a Boeing 747 on take off. Breakfast is like $8 extra a day or something ridiculous - all other budget accomm we've stayed in has offered at least a basic breakfast for free. The towels provided just about cover the groin area and nothing else. The communal toilets are not cleaned often and several were filled with human waste, so it's like a really not-fun game of musical chairs whenever you need to go. There is no WiFi at all and the TVs in the common rooms (I tried them all) did not work

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Diane Morin

Alone

Work / volunteering

05 June 2013 Diane would recommend this property

Liked: Easy access to downtown Toronto and Hospitals to pick up patients.I had to leave early because patient was sent home

Disliked: Did not get refund for leaving early

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: All in all it's a really fair prize for what you're getting. The location is great. Downtown Toronto, close to all major sightseeing locations. Rooms are exactly what they look like on the pictures. Every room has ac, desk, bed and a closet. Bathrooms are alright although depending on where you're room is, it's quite a bit of a walk. Friendly and helpfull staff.

Disliked: It could be a little cleaner.. rooms and bathrooms. Found 2 spiders in my room. urgh. It's not like your usual hostel where you'll meet a lot of people and hang out. Since it's mostly university students living here people tend to keep to themselves.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

20 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location. Feels very safe and secure.

Disliked: The walk to the men's washroom and the absence of Wi-fi.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

William Robinson-Smith

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2012 William would recommend this property

Liked: Being on the 8th floor, I had a great view of the city at night and the room was exactly what I wanted.

Disliked: It would've been nice if I had had access to a WiFi channel while I was there.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Harsh Pareek

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

28 June 2012 Harsh would recommend this property

Liked: Price

Disliked: Kitchens did not have pots and pans so it is of no use. Location was not very convenient compared to other places I stayed in Toronto. The bathrooms and toilets were very dirty.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

23 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: quaint university dorm room in the heart of Downtown Toronto. Secure location perfect alternative to a hotel for the single traveler.

Disliked: The elevator had a sensor mechanism I couldn't figure out how to use on the first try.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Visiting friends or family

23 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to everything and cheap

Disliked: The rooms could look a little more nice. Not bad though. And the welcome desk should offer a map of the buss and road in toronto.. It would of been very helpful cause we dont all think of asking for one. Also it would be nice to have a fridge

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Vince Bacalan

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 June 2012 Vince would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the fact that this property was secure in all places. Was my first stay at a non-hotel, hostel-like environment and this set up was perfect with its nice private rooms with a view! For one person it's really a good size, not sure how big others want it if they complain. The staff were friendly and located in a nice part of town, close to a streetcar station across the road. Love the fact that linen and towel are provided. Also, there's a nice breakfast place on College St (Margies). Check it out, def worth the money and nice people.

Disliked: Not a lot to complain other than the fact that it was farther from the downtown area than I thought it would be. As mentioned above, public transportation is nearby, but if you want to do mostly walking around town then this is def a bit far. Was a bit disappointed they weren't offering breakfast on weekends (definitely one of the reasons why I booked this place). Last, I didn't really like the whole internet connection process. Very tedious and no wifi. Thank goodness I was able to connect eventually. I know you're reading this and might be hesitant but just things to expect.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

18 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very helpful and friendly. The location is perfect and the room was comfortable.

Disliked: The washrooms could have been cleaner.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

06 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, very informal

Disliked: not much

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Susan Hie

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

05 June 2012 Susan would recommend this property

Liked: Location is excellent for getting around the city - public transportation - walking.

Disliked: Susan left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

03 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location - close to subway and Bloor Street and, the University of Toronto where we can walk around the campus.

Disliked: no wifi

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Work / volunteering

01 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: price, good place (beautiful campus, Chinatown, public transport)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Yehia Mahfouz

Alone

Shopping
Work / volunteering

17 May 2012

Liked: Nice place, close to downtown, china town , CN Tower, subway

Disliked: No Room Service. Common Bathrooms Bathrooms are not clean sometimes Breakfast is not included

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

robin husslage

As a family with children

Work / volunteering

13 May 2012 robin would recommend this property

Liked: Great location - close to subway and Bloor Street and, the University of Toronto where my daughter was attending summer courses. It was a lifesaver to be able to stay on campus for her 9am classes. We arrived at 2am and the staff was very helpful and they were open!

Disliked: It's a dorm and I'm not big on dorms and communal bathrooms, however they did separate the men from the women which was nice.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

reine lebel

Alone

Business / conference

07 May 2012 reine would recommend this property

Liked: on campus ! cool and simple!

Disliked: no wifi,no cafeteria for a bite

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location, best value!

Disliked: noisily rooms, every night some students/guests made a lot of noise

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff

Disliked: nothing

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Tara Brohman

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2011

Liked: The beds were comfortable, it was not too far from the action.

Disliked: Parking is quite expensive, and very tricky to figure out. Right across the street is paid parking, but then at midnight it turns into permit only parking until 7 am. There is a parking lot about a 2 minute walk away, but that will cost you minimum 6$ for the night, and only if you are getting up early. There is only one bathroom per gender per floor. Our room happened to be very far, about a 1 minute walk to the men's washroom. Very inconvenient if you need it in the middle of the night, or if you simply want to wash your hands. We were able to get a slow wireless connection, thank goodness, otherwise you need to bring your own ethernet cable or pay for one at the front desk. The price was way too high for the quality, but unfortunately it was the cheapest we could find in the whole city at the last minute.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
City break

03 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice room; clean, big and quiet. Perfect location, near the city centre, local shops, public transport. The price is excellent.

Disliked: For this price, it was perfect


See all Toronto hostels