We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Toronto hostels

Reviews of St. Lawrence Residences and Suites

Apartment | 135 Jarvis Street, Toronto, Ontario, Canada M5C 2H6

61.0% Overall Rating

7 out of 12 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/09/2012)

"In all honesty, the only redeemable features of this "accommodation" are its location and the fact it has 2 locking security doors on the way in."

Read all St. Lawrence Residences and Suites reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Concierge
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Room service (limited hours)
  • Communal kitchen

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 86.65
  • Luggage Room USD 18.24
  • Breakfast USD 9.11

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Front desk hours 2 PM to 6 PM, Monday to Friday. 1 PM to 4 PM Satudays, Sundays and holidays closed. Self check-in available for other hours, please ask for details at least 24 hours prior to arrival.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Toronto?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Toronto

HI - Toronto
25.54 USD

Hostel 89.3% 485 reviews
central hotel
22.80 USD

Hotel 0.5 star 50.3% 5 reviews
Toronto Garden Inn Bed&Breakfast
91.21 USD

Guesthouse 86.7% 6 reviews
Downtowner Inn Toronto
63.85 USD

Hotel 1 star 67.1% 410 reviews
Neill-Wycik Summer Hotel
31.92 USD

Hotel 3 star 66.9% 172 reviews
Comfy GuestHouse and Suites
36.03 USD

Guesthouse 88.6% 22 reviews
House on McGill
47.88 USD

Guesthouse 89.6% 11 reviews
City Guesthouse
29.19 USD

Guesthouse 86.1% 31 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
61.0%

Overall Rating

7 out of 12 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'St. Lawrence Residences and Suites'

Atmosphere
53.3%
Location
81.7%
Facilities
53.3%
Cleanliness
63.3%
Staff
65.0%
Value
50.0%
Safety
60.0%
Refine your results Showing 9 of 10 reviews
Reset filter
25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

13 September 2012

Liked: In all honesty, the only redeemable features of this "accommodation" are its location and the fact it has 2 locking security doors on the way in.

Disliked: Hoo boy. Where to begin? Having stayed in hostels around the world, I can honestly say it is rare to come across a place as generally poor and ridiculously over-priced as the St. Lawrence Residences and Suites in Toronto. As all good tales do, I will start at the beginning. From the off, the owner was rude, unaccommodating and prying. We had sent a message to the owner beforehand saying that we would be arriving outside his insanely restrictive office hours (he said this would be fine in his reply) but on arriving the same guy was quick to make rude, unhelpful comments about our time of arrival (it was only 7:30pm). Great start. He then proceeded to take a keen interest in our personal details and made several copies of our ID and credit cards, which again from previous travel experience I would say is unusual and worrying behaviour. Finally before leaving for our room, he made rude comments about our surnames before leaving us standing bewildered and shocked in the empty entrance hall. When we finally got to the room, we found it to be decidedly average despite the 'deluxe' description and big-spender price tag (more on this later). The bed sheets had a 'funky-at-best' smell to them and the off-white towels were visibly stained with some very dubious looking substances. There were a few utilities in the room such as a smelly fridge, a small kitchen counter and a few pots and pans, although we didn't use them. There was also an air-con unit, which while appreciated, did sound like an air-raid siren in the night and woke us up more than a few times. The room had one window which gave us a nice view of the bin-raiding raccoons on a night but also, thanks to an uncoverable gap between it and the curtain, gave outsiders a nice view of the bed we slept in. Finally and most offensively, the price for 2 nights was nothing short of extortionate considering the state of the room. It was by far the most expensive "accommodation" that we stayed in during our time in Canada and the price really did not reflect upon the quality of the room or the service given by the staff. If it was half the price we paid, I would just shrug my shoulders and write the episode off as 'get-what-you-pay-for' experience There was also an unexplained surcharge added to the bill which, combined with the keen interest in our personal details, helped contribute to the feeling that the owner was indeed a rip-off merchant at large. I honestly believe that many of the overly-positive reviews on this page are fake and would in all seriousness not recommend this place to anyone travelling in Canada, regardless of budget, or indeed to anyone at all for that matter. Avoid this place!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jade O'Sullivan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 August 2012 Jade would recommend this property

Liked: I thought the facilities were very clean and the communal spaces very welcoming. They weren't huge rooms... if you shared, but clean and well maintained and good quality.

Disliked: You could only get one or two rooms that had 2 beds that were rented individually. If you are a solo traveller, you might have to book the whole room. The office hours are pretty sparse: 2pm - 6pm (Mon - Fri) and 1pm - 4pm on Sat... with the option to call management and they will send someone down. This is not a BIG gripe, but it is the little things that can sometimes annoy you.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 September 2011

Liked: The front desk person was helpful.

Disliked: I severely disliked that the owner was not accommodating. I severely disliked how the owner did not stick with his limited scheduled hours in order to offer guests the services he advertised.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good central location, free internet

Disliked: Kinda old school

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Small but very comfortable rooms with storage room, a small refrigerator, excellent heating, large shared lounge area with internet available on a communal computer. Large kitchen with room to prepare and store food and several bathrooms.

Disliked: Everything was good.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

29 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Every room got his own tv, fridge, mircrowave, mirror, clima, internet.

Disliked: No atmosphere, but I think that's not necessary, because this place is more a hotel.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

marco scaramuzzi

21 May 2010 marco would recommend this property

Liked: the location is realy good: 4 mins walking from the main center area. there's nothing more of a room, clean privat bathroom and bed. It was exactly what i needed, so if u don't expect too much it is good place at good price. i was there just one night so i don't know if during the day u can manage to meet people or whatever;what i can say is that i've no met anyone in the corridor during the night.

Disliked: marco left no negative feedback.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

20 May 2010

Liked: The owner tried to give my bicycle away to his staff as a bonus. In general a very disappointing and dodgy place to stay. I would rather have stayed at any other hotel and payed the higher rate.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Kanokpon Suriya

03 January 2010 Kanokpon would recommend this property

Liked: It is a great hotel

Disliked: Kanokpon left no negative feedback.


See all Toronto hostels