HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Toronto hostels

Reviews of Chinatown Travelers Home

Hostel | 31 Grange Avenue, Toronto, Ontario, Canada M5T 1C6

57.4% Overall Rating

174 out of 305 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/07/2014)

Matthew Robison thinks…

"The basement single room was clean and very small. The bed was comfortable and the air conditioning kept the room comfortable all the time. The sounds from above were noticeable, but minimal. The…"

Read all Chinatown Travelers Home reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 46.55

What's Included

  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Toronto?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Toronto

University Apartment
13.97 USD

Hostel 50.3% 126 reviews
Toronto Travellers Home
32.59 USD

Hostel 51.5% 491 reviews
Canadiana Backpackers Inn
25.14 USD

Hostel 89.7% 688 reviews
Grange Hotel
46.09 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 75.8% 42 reviews
The Clarence Park
25.14 USD

Hostel 89.1% 63 reviews
Alexandra Hotel
43.76 USD

Hotel 1 star Not yet rated
Planet Traveler
28.86 USD

Hostel 92.6% 172 reviews
University of Toronto Residences - New College
27.00 USD

Hostel 83.5% 48 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
57.4%

Overall Rating

174 out of 305 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Chinatown Travelers Home'

Atmosphere
42.4%
Location
76.0%
Facilities
45.6%
Cleanliness
47.2%
Staff
57.6%
Value
61.6%
Safety
71.2%
Refine your results Showing 236 of 270 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Next
Reset filter
40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Raphael Moreira de Farias

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

13 July 2014

Liked: The only advantage is the localization.

Disliked: Staff charged me with american dollars, and they don't come back to give me refunds. Bathroom isn't There's no one available in case of emergency

60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

02 July 2014

Liked: Location

Disliked: Too many people in small rooms. Not much natural light. No common space. Just a place to sleep, nothing more.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Matthew Robison

Alone

Events / festivals

01 July 2014 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: The basement single room was clean and very small. The bed was comfortable and the air conditioning kept the room comfortable all the time. The sounds from above were noticeable, but minimal. The clean, well-equipped bathroom was shared with only one other room. It seems like a great value for the money.

Disliked: 13% tax was added to the amount quoted here.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Josh Sagriff

Alone

Work / volunteering

07 June 2014 Josh would recommend this property

Liked: The ability to come and go as please

Disliked: Nothing

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 April 2014

Liked: Close to city

Disliked: It stunk. Wasn't clean when I arrived. Staff were rude. Cool lacation !

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Chinese language is OK.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

24 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: a single room for 25$

Disliked: dirty bathroom, They moved me to anoher building!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: -

Disliked: -

34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

su ping chong

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 February 2014

Liked: I honestly don't remember liking this place, it was the worst stay of my life. The place is filthy!

Disliked: Everything, especially the washroom!

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

02 December 2013

Liked: good location.

Disliked: not a hostel atomosphere. more of a long term rooming house.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anne Marie LaLiberte

Alone

Business / conference
City break
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

20 November 2013 Anne Marie would recommend this property

Liked: I love chinatown so I love the district. My room (#25) was not only large but right next to the bathroom and was a room with a view (south exposure view of First Canadian Place and the CN Tower) It was 24 hour access, clean and quiet.

Disliked: Didn't dislike anything particular but thought ad could be worded in a way to ensure you bring a travel pillow. towel and toiletries. (toilet paper included) It's not so much of a hostel but a victorian house that allows you to rent a room by the night and experience it. (instead of having to rent by the month) The owner is very kind as this was a very reasonable price for one of the most convenient areas of Toronto. (shops, restaurants, etc.)

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

John Stormonth-Darling

Alone

Visiting friends or family

25 October 2013 John would recommend this property

Liked: If you want a roof over your head in Toronto you cannot do cheaper than this. It is entirely adequate and if that is all you want then it's perfect. Do not expect any frills, not even one frill. I stayed in a single room which contained a sufficiently comfortable bed, table, a lamp and a clothes hanger. It was clean and quiet and the shared bathroom was clean, had toilet paper most of the time and 2 out of 3 of the showers I had were warm. I did not see a single member of staff except briefly when I arrived and I saw no sign of a common area, but I didn't really look. It's not the most social of places, but if all you want is somewhere to sleep and leave your stuff for a few days, but can't afford the ridiculous prices in Toronto then look no further. This place was exactly what I needed, just don't expect anything fancy.

Disliked: Difficult to find staff if you need them, but you probably don't need them. They just let you get on with it and that's cool.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

16 October 2013

Liked: In Downtown

Disliked: I checked in but they sent me to another hostel at 588 Dundas street. My room ceiling was leaking on last day but I was short of time, so could not complain.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 September 2013

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: -very dirty -unfriedly staff - furniture is selfmade and realy bad - a very!! Small window in the room - i asked for a second linen, never received one - I waited 1 1/2 houres until someone came for check in, after I had to cal them - rooms are not cleared for new visitors - our room neighbours complained about a mouse in their room

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amber Lamb

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 September 2013 Amber would recommend this property

Liked: Clean room, good bathroom, friendly staff and everything you would expect for its very low price.

Disliked: we are staying in a building a short walk away from the main building which was a bit annoying to start with.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

benoit trudel

Alone

City break
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 September 2013 benoit would recommend this property

Liked: very calm and quiet

Disliked: chemistry

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 September 2013

Liked: Very good wifi, able to use facetime without interruption. Location OK 15-20 minute walk to Dundas Square.

Disliked: Small room, not very clean, we were woken during the night by a mouse in our room! Would not stay here again. But I suppose it was very cheap so shouldnt expect too much.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Genevieve Ho

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 September 2013 Genevieve would recommend this property

Liked: The location was very central, near to Chinatown and Kesington market. Walking distance from the coach terminal and train station. This hostel was one of the cheapest for the selected weekend in September, needless to say, we can't expect too much from it. We came mentally prepared after reading its poor reviews. Well, it was as bad as described.

Disliked: Service was mediocore, there was no official reception area. Upon arrival, you have to make a call for the part time staff to attend to you. The place is small, a house converted to a hostel. Some signages were in Chinese/Madarin. Amenities are basic, bathroom, double decker beds etc. For the low price paid, we can't expect too much.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Ingo Ludwig

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 August 2013

Liked: The travelers home is on a Quiet street with Good location close to AGO and Chinatown at Dundas and Spadina.

Disliked: Old TV and Fridges in the rooms.WI-FI average and rather slow. The hostel is not clean and not well maintained. They have no cleaning personnel. Only the manager/receptionist (who is only there when you call him) runs through the building for some minutes and tries to clean only the worst. Bad unorganized impolite management.Not helpful and sometimes rude to guests. A kitchen is there but empty and disconnected. No common or dining room.No hostel atmosphere.Rather cramped and small. Bed bugs and Miskito at night. Old dirty mattresses and furniture. Smelly old common fridge. Stressed/rushed staff. 1 star out of 5

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adrian Francis

Alone

Work / volunteering

08 August 2013 Adrian would recommend this property

Liked: Nice, clean and safe - typically Toronto. Lots of friendly young people. The location is right in the middle of Chinatown, which I particularly liked. My favourite thing was doing Taiji in Grange Park just 4 blocks away, and receiving a compliment on my technique from a diplomatic elderly Chinese man.

Disliked: Some of the fixtures and fittings need some repairs.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

05 August 2013

Liked: My partner and I wanted a private room with a private bathroom, and this hostel was able to provide that.

Disliked: The hostel staff was not on site when we arrived, and we were unsure that we were going to be able to stay there. When they arrived, they were confused about our reservation. They were unable to take our payment by credit card. Bring slippers to wear, as you are not allowed to wear any outside footwear past the front door. Our room was FILTHY, and we did not want to touch anything. For the rest of our two-week trip, we were paranoid that we had picked up bedbugs. The sheets were clean, but the blanket had not been recently washed. There were no garbage cans in any of the rooms or the bathrooms; you had to take all of your garbage to the cans outside on the street. There was a mini fridge provided in the room, however it had been left closed and unplugged and was therefore smelly and unusable. There was a small television in the room, with a remote control covered in two tied up plastic bags, so that you could not see the buttons. We did not see the staff or any other hostel patrons for the rest of our stay there, including upon check-out. For check-out, there was a sign asking us to strip our bed and put the laundry into bags that were supposed to be provided. There were no bags provided. We were instructed to leave the key in a box by the door on the way out.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Colette Morgan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 July 2013 Colette would recommend this property

Liked: We arrived and they didn't seem to have our reservation, after a short wait we were driven to a different building where we would stay. We had an 'apartment' which was two large beds, a fridge and table - with private bathroom. All ok! A little noisy due to the window being over a fire escape where people were sat out. Woke up to a flood due to a dodgy fridge, but nothing disastrous! For a one night crash, it was fine

Disliked: Being moved hostels wasn't great, but they looked after us ok!

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 July 2013

Liked: The location

Disliked: The non cleanness

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Konstantin Felkner

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

18 July 2013

Liked: The good thing was, that there was a bed were you were able to sleep.

Disliked: The dirty room, with garbage inside and even a dirty refrigator, the fact, that we did not stayed at the recommendet and booked location.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

17 July 2013

Liked: NOTHING !!!

Disliked: I just spent a night at Chinatown Travellers Hostel, in Toronto, on the night of July 10th to July, 11th. It was a nightmare !!! My worst nightmare !!! My single room happened to be in the basement, with no windows, (no, there was an extremely small one oriented inside, on the kitchen for customers). It was also next to the Laundry which was busy until 11:45pm, this room being such a mess, sheets on the floor, plastic bags... In the roon, nothing was clean, the table was so desgusting with dirt and hair, I just couldn't put anything on it. There was as furniture this table, two old chairs and a double bed (oh... the mattress...). The floor was more than doubtfull... not to talk about the sheets which I doubt were really clean and if clean the oldest you may find. Only a light from the top. What it really was : a dirty cupbaord with a dirty bed ! I paid for 4 nights but decided to stay only one night. It was too late to find anything else that's why I stayed... I haven't been shown the room before my payment... In that case, of course, I wouldn't have spent one single minute in that space. And worse, I think, when I mentioned to the so-called Assistant of the Manager that I was claustrophobiac, she left without any consideration of that fact., saying : "we will see tomorrow !" And didn't even offer me to show me other rooms. I wanted to be by myself but I would have rather slept in a dorm than in any room of that kind !!! And ALL bathrooms are dirty... not to say awfully dirty... gabages falling from full garbage bins and the floors dirty with hair and everything... all of them ! There is noone at the reception, never !!! Just assistants on call but showing up only for check in and out, when they happen to be on time... On the morning after the night I spent there, I called the night manager (a phone number scribbled on a piece of paper on the reception desk's door) to complain about the situation and to mention that I wanted to speak to the manager. I waited from 7am until 11:30am to see someone !!! And, as the inside line to call the manager or his assistants didn't work, I had to use my cell phone many times to tell them I was still waiting, doing long distance phone calls... adding extra charges to my already bad experience. SO, I would advise NOONE to spend one minute in this place ! You want to save money but that just spoil your all experience of Toronto !!! There are probably other places, more respectable, to save money !!! NEVER GO THERE !!! NEVER !!!!


See all Toronto hostels