HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Toronto hostels

Reviews of University Apartment

Hostel | 16 Willison Square, Toronto, Ontario, Canada M5T 1E8

47.8% Overall Rating

50 out of 113 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/02/2014)

"The location in Chinatown is pretty good. On the main road there are trams and buses that can take you into town otherwise a 30min walk to the CN tower."

Read all University Apartment reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 45.43

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

PLEASE NOTE THAT THE REMAINING BALANCE IS TO BE PAID IN CASH ON ARRIVAL. IT IS VERY IMPORTANT TO LET US KNOW WHAT TIME YOU WILL BE HERE. Please COUNT ALL CHILDREN WHEN YOU BOOK THE ROOMS. IF YOU CAN NOT COME HERE ON TIME, PLEASE DO LET US KNOW. YOUR BOOKING IS CONFIRMED by agency for us. PRINT OUT AND SHOW THE HOUSE MANAGER. 10% of the total price of each customer booking is a non-refundable deposit. we can not refund the deposit for you for any reasons. You can only use the deposit to your rent. you can only use for the days you booked. if you book for 10 days, the deposit you paid only use it 1/10 of every day rent. you can not use the deposit to pay your one day rent for any reasons.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Toronto?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Toronto

Toronto Travellers Home
13.63 USD

Hostel 50.9% 486 reviews
Chinatown Travelers Home
13.63 USD

Hostel 55.5% 297 reviews
Grange Hotel
35.89 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 78.9% 40 reviews
Alexandra Hotel
40.89 USD

Hotel 1 star Not yet rated
Planet Traveler
28.17 USD

Hostel 92.0% 151 reviews
Canadiana Backpackers Inn
19.99 USD

Hostel 87.4% 675 reviews
kaisar Guest House
49.97 USD

Guesthouse 78.5% 26 reviews
The Clarence Park
22.71 USD

Hostel 89.8% 57 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
47.8%

Overall Rating

50 out of 113 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'University Apartment'

Atmosphere
37.6%
Location
75.2%
Facilities
38.4%
Cleanliness
32.8%
Staff
54.4%
Value
47.2%
Safety
48.8%
Refine your results Showing 79 of 99 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 April 2011

Liked: Location was central. Own room. The bathroom was nice.

Disliked: When I affived the room smelled of the chineese food that was left to stink up the room. The room was too hot and stuffy with no ventalation. Im not a clean freak but somedays I was showering twice a day and still sweaty. The bed looked like it was somewhat made of shipping pallets. One of the fireescape windows was just sealed with a black bag. not secure. On arival I was not greated and eventualy found an old Chineese man with no English who rang the manager and I waited until the manager arived. Who gave me the key and look my money + unexpected tax though this seems to be the norm in canada. The room itself seemed more like an add on to the very nice and sizable bathroom. but it was more sauna then bedroom. I would not recomend it.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

27 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: the doorbell doesn't work, and there is an additional tax for staying there which is not indicated on the website.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ryan Lister

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

15 April 2011 Ryan would recommend this property

Liked: The room I recieved was a fantastic size. It included places to cook when you didnt feel like eating out and a fridge-freezer. The television had lots of channels which came in handy for quiet nights, especially seens as it was NHL playoff season and it had coverage of nearly every game. It's location is the center of Chinatown but 10 minute walk of Dundas Square, CN Tower, Rogers Center, etc. Try and find anything as good around downtown Toronto for this price and you've done a great job!

Disliked: Beds could've been comfier with thicker duvets. Cooking equipment could be better and decently cutlery and crockery could be provided but all in all thats being pretty petty.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Raymond Higgins

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 February 2011 Raymond would recommend this property

Liked: we booked a twin room and ending up getting an apartment which was great had its own kitchen bathroom and tv with free wireless. great location right on spadina avenue and very quiet.... great value for money we booked to stay two additional weeks

Disliked: we were in the basement and a really bad smell we gave the place a good clean and its worked out fine for us

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

30 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was bigger than I expected. Heated nicely for the winter. Close to a lot of things.

Disliked: The room wasn't ready and had to wait for it to be "cleaned". There are ants or some type of bugs in the room. No toilet paper or soap which luckily I come prepared.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the proximity

Disliked: shared bathroom

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

31 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent value for money. Well heated (it's December), warm shower, washer + dryer, basic kitchen (relatively clean), close to everything, TV in the rooms and (relatively) quiet at night.

Disliked: Not enough plates, cups, knives, etc. No common space to eat.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good place nice staff free wifi local call clean rooms i like it thank you

Disliked: q

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good place nice staff free wifi local call clean rooms i like it thank you

Disliked: w

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good place nice staff free wifi local call clean rooms i like it thank you

Disliked: sd

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good place nice staff free wifi local call clean rooms i like it thank you

Disliked: dd

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: locationprice

Disliked: not very clean

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

09 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was the best of this hostel. Situated in downtown Toronto, close to everything! The staff was very friendly and helpful, and I loved the privacy. I stayed in the top floor room it was almost like having my own appartment (without the kitchen, but with fridge and microwave facilities). bathroom and hot water too! Laundry also available downstairs...and if you dont have a towel, its also available! Cosy, at home feeling with the basics for a fair price!

Disliked: nothing

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a cheap stay, which was reflected in the accommodation. We were expecting it to be on the grotty/dodgy side, and that was what we got. if you are looking for a spotlessly clean, well equipped and homely place to stay it is definitely not for you, but if you are used just want somewhere cheap but central to crash and don't mind about much else then this is fine. The first room we were put in was particularly bad though, with a broken lock on the door, no air con or fan and a cooker which sparked when it was not in use, but we kicked up a fuss and got moved to a vacant room within a few hours, and that one was of a more acceptable standard.

Disliked: The noise of rats running around in the ceiling at night and dodgy electrics, but this is Chinatown so it comes with the territory. Also, the building was not great for meeting people if you don't speak Chinese.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2010

Liked: Solo la localización: en Chinatown, muy cerca de todo.

Disliked: Muy sucio todo. La puerta de la habitación no cerraba bien. En la cocina había una cama!!!! con lo que no había sitio para estar en la cocina y el frigorífico estaba delante de la cocina. No había personal desk y los que nos atendieron eran de origen chino y casi no hablaban inglés. Solo estuvimos dos noches, pero si hubiésemos tenido que estar mas hubiésemos cambiado de sitio. Nos hemos sentido engañados, pensando que era realmente un alojamiento tipo residencia universitaria y no era así.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Relaxation/spa
Shopping

15 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: For this being my first hostel experience I did not know what to expect. The location is great! Its right in the middle of Chinatown, only a few blocks from Queen Street, few blocks from the subway and Kensington Market right around the corner. The subway is hardly nessessary as you can walk to anywhere in downtown Toronto. The hostel is not staffed 24/7 but the lady who was there to greet us was very friendly, just a little bit of a language barrier.The room came with a TV, Microwave and a mini fridge, which became very handy! We were provided 2 towels even though it was noted on the website there was none to be provided. The cost was excellent, you cannot stay anywhere downtown for the same price, the hotel down the street was$100+ a night! Overall I would definitely come back here.

Disliked: There was confustion as to when we got there we were put into a 2 person ensuite when we had booked an apartment (with Kitchen) for 2. It was no problem as they moved us to the apartment, but we went right back down to the ensuite once we saw all the mold on the ceiling of the bathroom of the apartment. The room we stayed in was clean except for a few sparatic hairs on the tiles and marks on the wall.The room was air conditioned, which was a noisy at night, but its like that at most hotels too. The room was cozy, but we only slept there so it was all we needed. Also big deal that was not mentioned on this site, TAXES ARE NOT INCLUDED into the price. So it was an extra 13% unexpected.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

eric maher

30 August 2009

Liked: l;eaving it...would not recommend

Disliked: eric left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Roi Villar

24 August 2009

Liked: Hot water but not in the morning, changing suddenly the temperature, placed in the heart of chinatown,

Disliked: Roi left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

19 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: loved the location and good price for having a bathroom in the room, also very quiet even though in the center.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Stefan Kallinka

12 August 2009

Liked: We are certainly not the type of people who like to complain, or expect particularly high standards for a low price, but this was just too much: we booked the room a few weeks in advance, and still, nobody knew about our reservation. As a result, we ended up in a basement room. In principle, no problems about that, but: it was really dirty (big spider in the bath tub, garbage bin spilling over, looked like nobody had cleand the floors for months, let alone the windows)!!!!!! Area is creepy at night-time. Only advantage: possibility to make long-distance calls for CAD 1 from your room (this is, once the line is free, which may require some patience!!!). Just don't go there.

Disliked: Stefan left no negative feedback.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

06 August 2009

Liked: nothing. terrible place to stay. mold on the walls.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

05 August 2009

Liked: A horrible experience. The place was a bit dodgy. No so clean. When we came, we rang the bell like a million times, but still the door won't open. Called the number on the door, still no response. Please DO FIND A BETTER PLACE TO STAY.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

10 July 2009

Liked: There's a TV in every room which was great. Cheap international phone calls.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Lilli Salomaki

16 May 2009 Lilli would recommend this property

Liked: Great location-right in chinatown, able to walk to many downtown tourist attractions. I stayed in basement room-however bathroom wasn't very nice but worked ok. Our room was quiet most nights. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Airport pick up and drop off was safe and efficient. I would recommend this hostel to those on a budget.

Disliked: Lilli left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

19 April 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Prime location, close to restaurants, shops, etc. Doesn't look like much on the outside but is very comfortable and clean.Apartments include a fridge and stove, but no small cutlery, so if you plan to cook, bring a set and a knife!The building entrance locks so it is fairly secure.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Toronto hostels