We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Toronto hostels

Reviews of University Apartment

Hostel | 16 Willison Square, Toronto, Ontario, Canada M5T 1E8

48.0% Overall Rating

56 out of 133 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/02/2014)

"The location in Chinatown is pretty good. On the main road there are trams and buses that can take you into town otherwise a 30min walk to the CN tower."

Read all University Apartment reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 44.75

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

PLEASE NOTE THAT THE REMAINING BALANCE IS TO BE PAID IN CASH ON ARRIVAL. IT IS VERY IMPORTANT TO LET US KNOW WHAT TIME YOU WILL BE HERE. Please COUNT ALL CHILDREN WHEN YOU BOOK THE ROOMS. IF YOU CAN NOT COME HERE ON TIME, PLEASE DO LET US KNOW. YOUR BOOKING IS CONFIRMED by agency for us. PRINT OUT AND SHOW THE HOUSE MANAGER. 10% of the total price of each customer booking is a non-refundable deposit. we can not refund the deposit for you for any reasons. You can only use the deposit to your rent. you can only use for the days you booked. if you book for 10 days, the deposit you paid only use it 1/10 of every day rent. you can not use the deposit to pay your one day rent for any reasons.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Toronto?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Toronto

Toronto Travellers Home
34.01 USD

Hostel 49.6% 493 reviews
Chinatown Travelers Home
31.33 USD

Hostel 59.0% 308 reviews
Grange Hotel
39.83 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 74.7% 43 reviews
Alexandra Hotel
42.07 USD

Hotel 1 star Not yet rated
Planet Traveler
27.75 USD

Hostel 93.5% 200 reviews
Canadiana Backpackers Inn
22.38 USD

Hostel 89.3% 710 reviews
kaisar Guest House
49.23 USD

Guesthouse 78.6% 27 reviews
The Clarence Park
22.38 USD

Hostel 89.1% 63 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
48.0%

Overall Rating

56 out of 133 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'University Apartment'

Atmosphere
36.0%
Location
70.4%
Facilities
42.4%
Cleanliness
39.2%
Staff
48.0%
Value
48.8%
Safety
51.2%
Refine your results Showing 88 of 115 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

11 September 2011

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: All !!!!!

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's reasonably cheap, close to the main attractions like CN Tower and Harbourfront. Our room was nice and comfortable.

Disliked: We had problems with booking, because the staff wasn't prepared for guests. We had to wait about 4 hours for a room and manage everything on our own.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

02 September 2011

Liked: location

Disliked: bit scruffy...dingy...bad management!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

16 August 2011

Liked: Near the city center, cheap and rather clean

Disliked: 1) The smell. It is everywhere. 2)many things do not work - f.e. door lockers 3)staff - hardly could be found, not friendly, bad english

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Helen Hornby

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

22 July 2011 Helen would recommend this property

Liked: It was nice to have our own space and being right in china town, the area is always busy and I felt safe there.

Disliked: Even though the apartment had been cleaned, we found plates in the cupboard which still had food on them, plus old, opened food in the lower cupboards. There is a serious mold problem in the bathroom and kitchen/main bedroom. Even though we were told it was for 4 people, it wasn't explained that it was in the set up of 1 double bed and 2 single beds. It was SOOOO hot in there and the aircon/fan did not work so we had to buy our own fans. There is quite a problem with cockroaches which is obviously ongoing from the place not being kept clean properly. The main lock on our door was broken, so we only had use of the smaller lock on the door handle, which was not very secure and I think anyone could have easily broken in should they have wanted to. Also, they put up the price with no notice while we were staying there. The place was ok and live-able for the cheaper price, but I wouldnt recommend it now the prices have gone up.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Adam Mattison

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2011

Liked: I like the very central location. It is very close to Downtown Toronto, as well as several nice shopping streets and the Kensington Market. They offer parking for $10 a night behind the hostel, out of the way but easy to access if needed. The rooms were very clean, and easy to access, and the price was far better than the others offered nearby. Also, the rooms we stayed in were in a really cool old building, a block away from an AWESOME bakery (Butterfly Bakery).

Disliked: The taxes weren't included in the online price, so it ended up being about $15 or $20 dollars more than advertised online. The main office advertised was several blocks away from the rooms where we actually stayed, so the desk clerk had to ride with us give us directions as we drove over. Also, there was no sign or advertisement outside of the hostel, so we weren't sure at first if we were in the right place until an attendant at a nearby Parking Garage told us where to go.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

30 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The aparment has good security set up. Also the price was very affordable for a twin room.

Disliked: Bit of booking confusion, but able to sort it out. No door on the bathroom in private room.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping

29 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: safe

Disliked: no sink in the room

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 May 2011

Liked: Clean

Disliked: No greeting! Nothing!

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 April 2011

Liked: Location was central. Own room. The bathroom was nice.

Disliked: When I affived the room smelled of the chineese food that was left to stink up the room. The room was too hot and stuffy with no ventalation. Im not a clean freak but somedays I was showering twice a day and still sweaty. The bed looked like it was somewhat made of shipping pallets. One of the fireescape windows was just sealed with a black bag. not secure. On arival I was not greated and eventualy found an old Chineese man with no English who rang the manager and I waited until the manager arived. Who gave me the key and look my money + unexpected tax though this seems to be the norm in canada. The room itself seemed more like an add on to the very nice and sizable bathroom. but it was more sauna then bedroom. I would not recomend it.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

27 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: the doorbell doesn't work, and there is an additional tax for staying there which is not indicated on the website.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ryan Lister

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

15 April 2011 Ryan would recommend this property

Liked: The room I recieved was a fantastic size. It included places to cook when you didnt feel like eating out and a fridge-freezer. The television had lots of channels which came in handy for quiet nights, especially seens as it was NHL playoff season and it had coverage of nearly every game. It's location is the center of Chinatown but 10 minute walk of Dundas Square, CN Tower, Rogers Center, etc. Try and find anything as good around downtown Toronto for this price and you've done a great job!

Disliked: Beds could've been comfier with thicker duvets. Cooking equipment could be better and decently cutlery and crockery could be provided but all in all thats being pretty petty.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Raymond Higgins

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 February 2011 Raymond would recommend this property

Liked: we booked a twin room and ending up getting an apartment which was great had its own kitchen bathroom and tv with free wireless. great location right on spadina avenue and very quiet.... great value for money we booked to stay two additional weeks

Disliked: we were in the basement and a really bad smell we gave the place a good clean and its worked out fine for us

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

30 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was bigger than I expected. Heated nicely for the winter. Close to a lot of things.

Disliked: The room wasn't ready and had to wait for it to be "cleaned". There are ants or some type of bugs in the room. No toilet paper or soap which luckily I come prepared.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the proximity

Disliked: shared bathroom

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

31 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent value for money. Well heated (it's December), warm shower, washer + dryer, basic kitchen (relatively clean), close to everything, TV in the rooms and (relatively) quiet at night.

Disliked: Not enough plates, cups, knives, etc. No common space to eat.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good place nice staff free wifi local call clean rooms i like it thank you

Disliked: q

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good place nice staff free wifi local call clean rooms i like it thank you

Disliked: w

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good place nice staff free wifi local call clean rooms i like it thank you

Disliked: sd

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good place nice staff free wifi local call clean rooms i like it thank you

Disliked: dd

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: locationprice

Disliked: not very clean

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

09 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was the best of this hostel. Situated in downtown Toronto, close to everything! The staff was very friendly and helpful, and I loved the privacy. I stayed in the top floor room it was almost like having my own appartment (without the kitchen, but with fridge and microwave facilities). bathroom and hot water too! Laundry also available downstairs...and if you dont have a towel, its also available! Cosy, at home feeling with the basics for a fair price!

Disliked: nothing

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a cheap stay, which was reflected in the accommodation. We were expecting it to be on the grotty/dodgy side, and that was what we got. if you are looking for a spotlessly clean, well equipped and homely place to stay it is definitely not for you, but if you are used just want somewhere cheap but central to crash and don't mind about much else then this is fine. The first room we were put in was particularly bad though, with a broken lock on the door, no air con or fan and a cooker which sparked when it was not in use, but we kicked up a fuss and got moved to a vacant room within a few hours, and that one was of a more acceptable standard.

Disliked: The noise of rats running around in the ceiling at night and dodgy electrics, but this is Chinatown so it comes with the territory. Also, the building was not great for meeting people if you don't speak Chinese.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2010

Liked: Solo la localización: en Chinatown, muy cerca de todo.

Disliked: Muy sucio todo. La puerta de la habitación no cerraba bien. En la cocina había una cama!!!! con lo que no había sitio para estar en la cocina y el frigorífico estaba delante de la cocina. No había personal desk y los que nos atendieron eran de origen chino y casi no hablaban inglés. Solo estuvimos dos noches, pero si hubiésemos tenido que estar mas hubiésemos cambiado de sitio. Nos hemos sentido engañados, pensando que era realmente un alojamiento tipo residencia universitaria y no era así.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Relaxation/spa
Shopping

15 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: For this being my first hostel experience I did not know what to expect. The location is great! Its right in the middle of Chinatown, only a few blocks from Queen Street, few blocks from the subway and Kensington Market right around the corner. The subway is hardly nessessary as you can walk to anywhere in downtown Toronto. The hostel is not staffed 24/7 but the lady who was there to greet us was very friendly, just a little bit of a language barrier.The room came with a TV, Microwave and a mini fridge, which became very handy! We were provided 2 towels even though it was noted on the website there was none to be provided. The cost was excellent, you cannot stay anywhere downtown for the same price, the hotel down the street was$100+ a night! Overall I would definitely come back here.

Disliked: There was confustion as to when we got there we were put into a 2 person ensuite when we had booked an apartment (with Kitchen) for 2. It was no problem as they moved us to the apartment, but we went right back down to the ensuite once we saw all the mold on the ceiling of the bathroom of the apartment. The room we stayed in was clean except for a few sparatic hairs on the tiles and marks on the wall.The room was air conditioned, which was a noisy at night, but its like that at most hotels too. The room was cozy, but we only slept there so it was all we needed. Also big deal that was not mentioned on this site, TAXES ARE NOT INCLUDED into the price. So it was an extra 13% unexpected.


See all Toronto hostels