HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Toronto hostels

Reviews of University Apartment

Hostel | 16 Willison Square, Toronto, Ontario, Canada M5T 1E8

47.8% Overall Rating

50 out of 113 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/02/2014)

"The location in Chinatown is pretty good. On the main road there are trams and buses that can take you into town otherwise a 30min walk to the CN tower."

Read all University Apartment reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 45.52

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

PLEASE NOTE THAT THE REMAINING BALANCE IS TO BE PAID IN CASH ON ARRIVAL. IT IS VERY IMPORTANT TO LET US KNOW WHAT TIME YOU WILL BE HERE. Please COUNT ALL CHILDREN WHEN YOU BOOK THE ROOMS. IF YOU CAN NOT COME HERE ON TIME, PLEASE DO LET US KNOW. YOUR BOOKING IS CONFIRMED by agency for us. PRINT OUT AND SHOW THE HOUSE MANAGER. 10% of the total price of each customer booking is a non-refundable deposit. we can not refund the deposit for you for any reasons. You can only use the deposit to your rent. you can only use for the days you booked. if you book for 10 days, the deposit you paid only use it 1/10 of every day rent. you can not use the deposit to pay your one day rent for any reasons.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Toronto?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Toronto

Toronto Travellers Home
13.66 USD

Hostel 50.9% 486 reviews
Chinatown Travelers Home
13.66 USD

Hostel 55.5% 297 reviews
Grange Hotel
35.96 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 78.1% 39 reviews
Alexandra Hotel
41.88 USD

Hotel 1 star Not yet rated
Planet Traveler
28.23 USD

Hostel 91.9% 150 reviews
Canadiana Backpackers Inn
20.03 USD

Hostel 87.4% 675 reviews
kaisar Guest House
50.08 USD

Guesthouse 78.5% 26 reviews
The Clarence Park
22.76 USD

Hostel 89.8% 57 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
47.8%

Overall Rating

50 out of 113 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'University Apartment'

Atmosphere
37.6%
Location
75.2%
Facilities
38.4%
Cleanliness
32.8%
Staff
54.4%
Value
47.2%
Safety
48.8%
Refine your results Showing 79 of 99 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

14 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: right in the downtown of Chinatown

Disliked: nothing I can think of

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was quiet and in a great location.

Disliked: There is only one bathroom for te whole floor, and there are no kitchen facilities, just a microwave.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 September 2012

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: DO NOT STAY HERE!!! I booked for 4 rooms and 10 beds. When we arrived they only had 2 rooms for us, one without electricity at the beginning. When speaking with the staff, they would not give us a cheaper price for the 2 less rooms and they would not give us the rooms we had booked. The manager who was present sat at his desk with his back to us ignoring us while we talked to the girl at the front desk. When we had had enough and walked out the door the manager finally acknowledged us and followed us out saying we had made a booking and we had to take the rooms and pay the money owed. We told him where to go and to treat his customers with more respect and left and we walked off down the street with him yelling abuse at us in Chinese. Apart from that, the place is in a back alley of China town, is dirty, unfriendly, and in general a horrible place to stay. Be warned!

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

09 September 2012

Liked: Bed is big, though I got itchy the entire day. Not sure if there are bed bugs or mites.

Disliked: Price increase upon entry. Rooms too small and cramped. Not enough place for suitcases. No storage facility for suitcases and/or valuables. No main gate key. Anyone can enter as door is open 24/7. So is bedroom door as other roommates come in and out. Rooms in basement with no windows. Poor ventilation. Lots of stuff objects blocking hallways, and lots of stuff damaged and broken. Hallways fire hazard.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

01 September 2012

Liked: hard to think one, perhaps, it's cheap price I got.

Disliked: It's not very secure and you will probably ended up living in the basement.It's alright to stay for 1-2 days but i wouldn't recommend you if you want to have a nice vacation

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

xinji lu

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 July 2012

Liked: its very cheap...and close to chinatowan...just too dirty

Disliked: VERY VERY DIRTY

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

11 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and cheaply priced compared to most other hostels.

Disliked: Not much opportunity for socialising - no communal area.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location

Disliked: My reservation seemed to be ignored and I ended up in a makeshift bed for the first night, it was like they didn't know I was coming

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

DENVER MARCHIORI

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Visiting friends or family

23 April 2012

Liked: N/a

Disliked: Not organized at all. I booked a room throgh HostelBookers website but there was no room reserved for me when I arrived there.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Business / conference
Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

07 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The price is cheap.It is very convenient when you go to the mall or shopping centers.It's in the heart of China Town and you have all the choices if you want to eat asian foods and buy souvenir items.It's a walking distance to go to the CN Tower.Museum,and to the US embassy.The hostel in charge is so warm,kind,friendly and very accommodating and she is always ready to all our concerns.Parking is just beside the building but it;s so stressful checking the time in checking in and out and the payment by the hour.

Disliked: When we arrived to the place,my son didn't liked to get off from the car and we had a hard time to stop him from crying because he said it's an old building and he was scared.The internet connection was too slow and we had difficulty to do our work in the computer.When I checked the pillowcases,bed covers and blankets,it smells no good and it was like used already,so my husband complained to the hostel in charge and she was so humble enough to apologized and changed the stuffs.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

17 March 2012

Liked: it was cheap and there was a tv and hot water

Disliked: - always too hot, impossible to turn off the heater - small bed for 2 - nobody was here so we had to wait a long time - the area sucks - no free parking possibilitys - extra tax

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eslam Magdy Shalaby

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

05 February 2012 Eslam Magdy would recommend this property

Liked: Secure

Disliked: Price, i think it should be a little less.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

10 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good price, considering it was in Downtown Toronto and it was a private room with cable TV. Great location with easy access to the TTC.

Disliked: The kitchen was lacking in basic items such as a can opener, cutting board, and pots. I'm also concerned about the level of security - half the time the main door was left open.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Wray

Alone

Visiting friends or family

08 October 2011 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Good location,friendly staff. Had very good time when staying there. Would recommend to the other travellers who want to see Toronto.

Disliked: None

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 September 2011

Liked: I was happy the moment that I left this place

Disliked: This is the worst place I ever been in my life, and I am normally going to cheap places. The manager opened the door for us, took the money and left in a car, so there was nobody to contact or complain to. Floor really dirty, the AC machine was so dirty that we did not dare to touch it, there was mold in the sink. The first night we killed 5 cockroaches, in the freezer there were around 7 more cockroaches already frozen-dead. None of us took a shower for it was quite disgusting to go inside. Obviously the people ranking “University Apartments” as 100% are the building owners and hostelbookers should do something regarding this abuse of the website and a quite high ranking for such a shitty place . The apartments are very dirty and you have to be brave to walk barefoot. Also to get to sleep is quite tricky since you don`t stop thinking if any cockroach will find its way to your mouth while you are sleeping. Besides the price is more than it says for the taxes (14% more) are not included. I uploaded some of my pictures of this place in youtube under the tags " Willinson University apartments Toronto".

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

17 September 2011

Liked: Location

Disliked: Cleanliness & internet connection

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

11 September 2011

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: All !!!!!

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's reasonably cheap, close to the main attractions like CN Tower and Harbourfront. Our room was nice and comfortable.

Disliked: We had problems with booking, because the staff wasn't prepared for guests. We had to wait about 4 hours for a room and manage everything on our own.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

02 September 2011

Liked: location

Disliked: bit scruffy...dingy...bad management!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

16 August 2011

Liked: Near the city center, cheap and rather clean

Disliked: 1) The smell. It is everywhere. 2)many things do not work - f.e. door lockers 3)staff - hardly could be found, not friendly, bad english

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Helen Hornby

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

22 July 2011 Helen would recommend this property

Liked: It was nice to have our own space and being right in china town, the area is always busy and I felt safe there.

Disliked: Even though the apartment had been cleaned, we found plates in the cupboard which still had food on them, plus old, opened food in the lower cupboards. There is a serious mold problem in the bathroom and kitchen/main bedroom. Even though we were told it was for 4 people, it wasn't explained that it was in the set up of 1 double bed and 2 single beds. It was SOOOO hot in there and the aircon/fan did not work so we had to buy our own fans. There is quite a problem with cockroaches which is obviously ongoing from the place not being kept clean properly. The main lock on our door was broken, so we only had use of the smaller lock on the door handle, which was not very secure and I think anyone could have easily broken in should they have wanted to. Also, they put up the price with no notice while we were staying there. The place was ok and live-able for the cheaper price, but I wouldnt recommend it now the prices have gone up.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Adam Mattison

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2011

Liked: I like the very central location. It is very close to Downtown Toronto, as well as several nice shopping streets and the Kensington Market. They offer parking for $10 a night behind the hostel, out of the way but easy to access if needed. The rooms were very clean, and easy to access, and the price was far better than the others offered nearby. Also, the rooms we stayed in were in a really cool old building, a block away from an AWESOME bakery (Butterfly Bakery).

Disliked: The taxes weren't included in the online price, so it ended up being about $15 or $20 dollars more than advertised online. The main office advertised was several blocks away from the rooms where we actually stayed, so the desk clerk had to ride with us give us directions as we drove over. Also, there was no sign or advertisement outside of the hostel, so we weren't sure at first if we were in the right place until an attendant at a nearby Parking Garage told us where to go.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

30 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The aparment has good security set up. Also the price was very affordable for a twin room.

Disliked: Bit of booking confusion, but able to sort it out. No door on the bathroom in private room.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping

29 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: safe

Disliked: no sink in the room

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 May 2011

Liked: Clean

Disliked: No greeting! Nothing!


See all Toronto hostels