We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Toronto hostels

Reviews of University Apartment

Hostel | 16 Willison Square, Toronto, Ontario, Canada M5T 1E8

48.0% Overall Rating

56 out of 133 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/02/2014)

"The location in Chinatown is pretty good. On the main road there are trams and buses that can take you into town otherwise a 30min walk to the CN tower."

Read all University Apartment reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 44.75

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

PLEASE NOTE THAT THE REMAINING BALANCE IS TO BE PAID IN CASH ON ARRIVAL. IT IS VERY IMPORTANT TO LET US KNOW WHAT TIME YOU WILL BE HERE. Please COUNT ALL CHILDREN WHEN YOU BOOK THE ROOMS. IF YOU CAN NOT COME HERE ON TIME, PLEASE DO LET US KNOW. YOUR BOOKING IS CONFIRMED by agency for us. PRINT OUT AND SHOW THE HOUSE MANAGER. 10% of the total price of each customer booking is a non-refundable deposit. we can not refund the deposit for you for any reasons. You can only use the deposit to your rent. you can only use for the days you booked. if you book for 10 days, the deposit you paid only use it 1/10 of every day rent. you can not use the deposit to pay your one day rent for any reasons.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Toronto?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Toronto

Toronto Travellers Home
34.01 USD

Hostel 49.6% 493 reviews
Chinatown Travelers Home
31.33 USD

Hostel 59.0% 308 reviews
Grange Hotel
39.83 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 74.7% 43 reviews
Alexandra Hotel
42.07 USD

Hotel 1 star Not yet rated
Planet Traveler
27.75 USD

Hostel 93.5% 200 reviews
Canadiana Backpackers Inn
22.38 USD

Hostel 89.3% 710 reviews
kaisar Guest House
49.23 USD

Guesthouse 78.6% 27 reviews
The Clarence Park
22.38 USD

Hostel 89.1% 63 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
48.0%

Overall Rating

56 out of 133 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'University Apartment'

Atmosphere
36.0%
Location
70.4%
Facilities
42.4%
Cleanliness
39.2%
Staff
48.0%
Value
48.8%
Safety
51.2%
Refine your results Showing 88 of 115 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference

07 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Price

Disliked: Clenliness. The bathroom floor was a mess, full of hair and dirty. There were some french fries on the floor of the bedroom too...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

05 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and that it had private rooms.

Disliked: The alley way I had to walk down to get to it and the not so clean floors in my room.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Proximity to downtown

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

17 November 2012

Liked: It was cheap, and not far from the centre

Disliked: The room was really small, in the basement of the building. The neighbour didn't feel very secure, there's almost no light in the street of the "hostel". The security was 0

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

10 October 2012

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Kept getting moved to different rooms, got accused of not paying, place is dirty and not secure at all - do not stay here.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 September 2012

Liked: price

Disliked: red dots on your skin = bed bugs

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Serge BRAYER

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 September 2012 Serge would recommend this property

Liked: In China Town and 5 min away from Kensington Market. 10 min away from a skate park and a pool. Great location, in a very bad looking street :o)

Disliked: The guy at the entrance is all but nice. Go there, because it's well located and not that expensive for Toronto (which is an expensive city, especially if yougo there by car) but don't hope to make party. Go to International or Global to do that :o)

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

19 September 2012

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: This is the worst hostel. Please think 100 times before you book this hostel. So that bad this hostel. No safe at all.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

17 September 2012

Liked: Location security was good

Disliked: Too noisy from traffic shower curtain was moldy Washroom toilet, shower not in a separate room.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

14 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: right in the downtown of Chinatown

Disliked: nothing I can think of

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was quiet and in a great location.

Disliked: There is only one bathroom for te whole floor, and there are no kitchen facilities, just a microwave.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 September 2012

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: DO NOT STAY HERE!!! I booked for 4 rooms and 10 beds. When we arrived they only had 2 rooms for us, one without electricity at the beginning. When speaking with the staff, they would not give us a cheaper price for the 2 less rooms and they would not give us the rooms we had booked. The manager who was present sat at his desk with his back to us ignoring us while we talked to the girl at the front desk. When we had had enough and walked out the door the manager finally acknowledged us and followed us out saying we had made a booking and we had to take the rooms and pay the money owed. We told him where to go and to treat his customers with more respect and left and we walked off down the street with him yelling abuse at us in Chinese. Apart from that, the place is in a back alley of China town, is dirty, unfriendly, and in general a horrible place to stay. Be warned!

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

09 September 2012

Liked: Bed is big, though I got itchy the entire day. Not sure if there are bed bugs or mites.

Disliked: Price increase upon entry. Rooms too small and cramped. Not enough place for suitcases. No storage facility for suitcases and/or valuables. No main gate key. Anyone can enter as door is open 24/7. So is bedroom door as other roommates come in and out. Rooms in basement with no windows. Poor ventilation. Lots of stuff objects blocking hallways, and lots of stuff damaged and broken. Hallways fire hazard.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

01 September 2012

Liked: hard to think one, perhaps, it's cheap price I got.

Disliked: It's not very secure and you will probably ended up living in the basement.It's alright to stay for 1-2 days but i wouldn't recommend you if you want to have a nice vacation

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

xinji lu

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 July 2012

Liked: its very cheap...and close to chinatowan...just too dirty

Disliked: VERY VERY DIRTY

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

11 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and cheaply priced compared to most other hostels.

Disliked: Not much opportunity for socialising - no communal area.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location

Disliked: My reservation seemed to be ignored and I ended up in a makeshift bed for the first night, it was like they didn't know I was coming

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

DENVER MARCHIORI

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Visiting friends or family

23 April 2012

Liked: N/a

Disliked: Not organized at all. I booked a room throgh HostelBookers website but there was no room reserved for me when I arrived there.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Business / conference
Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

07 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The price is cheap.It is very convenient when you go to the mall or shopping centers.It's in the heart of China Town and you have all the choices if you want to eat asian foods and buy souvenir items.It's a walking distance to go to the CN Tower.Museum,and to the US embassy.The hostel in charge is so warm,kind,friendly and very accommodating and she is always ready to all our concerns.Parking is just beside the building but it;s so stressful checking the time in checking in and out and the payment by the hour.

Disliked: When we arrived to the place,my son didn't liked to get off from the car and we had a hard time to stop him from crying because he said it's an old building and he was scared.The internet connection was too slow and we had difficulty to do our work in the computer.When I checked the pillowcases,bed covers and blankets,it smells no good and it was like used already,so my husband complained to the hostel in charge and she was so humble enough to apologized and changed the stuffs.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

17 March 2012

Liked: it was cheap and there was a tv and hot water

Disliked: - always too hot, impossible to turn off the heater - small bed for 2 - nobody was here so we had to wait a long time - the area sucks - no free parking possibilitys - extra tax

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eslam Magdy Shalaby

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

05 February 2012 Eslam Magdy would recommend this property

Liked: Secure

Disliked: Price, i think it should be a little less.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

10 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good price, considering it was in Downtown Toronto and it was a private room with cable TV. Great location with easy access to the TTC.

Disliked: The kitchen was lacking in basic items such as a can opener, cutting board, and pots. I'm also concerned about the level of security - half the time the main door was left open.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Wray

Alone

Visiting friends or family

08 October 2011 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Good location,friendly staff. Had very good time when staying there. Would recommend to the other travellers who want to see Toronto.

Disliked: None

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 September 2011

Liked: I was happy the moment that I left this place

Disliked: This is the worst place I ever been in my life, and I am normally going to cheap places. The manager opened the door for us, took the money and left in a car, so there was nobody to contact or complain to. Floor really dirty, the AC machine was so dirty that we did not dare to touch it, there was mold in the sink. The first night we killed 5 cockroaches, in the freezer there were around 7 more cockroaches already frozen-dead. None of us took a shower for it was quite disgusting to go inside. Obviously the people ranking “University Apartments” as 100% are the building owners and hostelbookers should do something regarding this abuse of the website and a quite high ranking for such a shitty place . The apartments are very dirty and you have to be brave to walk barefoot. Also to get to sleep is quite tricky since you don`t stop thinking if any cockroach will find its way to your mouth while you are sleeping. Besides the price is more than it says for the taxes (14% more) are not included. I uploaded some of my pictures of this place in youtube under the tags " Willinson University apartments Toronto".

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

17 September 2011

Liked: Location

Disliked: Cleanliness & internet connection


See all Toronto hostels