We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Toronto hostels

Reviews of Canadiana Backpackers Inn

Hostel | 42 Widmer Street, Toronto, Ontario, Canada ON M5V 2E9

89.5% Overall Rating

671 out of 717 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/02/2015)

"Friendly Staff. Location is very central. Had lockers in each room and even on the floor, which was nice. My flight got cancelled and I went back to the hostel and could even stay in the same room for one more night."

Read all Canadiana Backpackers Inn reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Tax rate is 13% , payable upon arrival will be added to your booking. We accept cash, visa or mastercard. Government issued photo ID is required to check-in and guests must be from outside the GTA (Greater Toronto Area).

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Toronto?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Toronto

The Clarence Park
19.81 USD

Hostel 89.1% 63 reviews
Chinatown Travelers Home
11.89 USD

Hostel 59.0% 308 reviews
University Apartment
15.85 USD

Hostel 48.0% 133 reviews
Toronto Travellers Home
14.27 USD

Hostel 48.8% 494 reviews
Grange Hotel
43.19 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 74.7% 43 reviews
Alexandra Hotel
35.66 USD

Hotel 1 star Not yet rated
Planet Traveler
24.57 USD

Hostel 94.4% 210 reviews
kaisar Guest House
43.59 USD

Guesthouse 78.4% 28 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/03/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/03/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.5%

Overall Rating

671 out of 717 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Canadiana Backpackers Inn'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
99.2%
Facilities
79.2%
Cleanliness
84.8%
Staff
91.2%
Value
89.6%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 495 of 564 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 19 | 20   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

26 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly Staff. Location is very central. Had lockers in each room and even on the floor, which was nice. My flight got cancelled and I went back to the hostel and could even stay in the same room for one more night.

Disliked: Bathrooms could have been cleaner and it din't have a lot of them

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

03 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I LOVED the community aspect. My bf and I stayed in a private room but then spent our meals in the communal area and made so many friends. We loved the themed nights and went on the bar crawl and made so many friends. I love how clean and organized this place is. Parking is great too!

Disliked: That it may be closing! The shower water was a tad cold.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elizabeth Gleisner

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 February 2015 Elizabeth would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, easy to find. this was my first experience of the back packers lifestyle and I felt that the staff where friendly and always ready to help. Great breakfast and the daily activities where great and free or low cost. Rooms clean and the common room big

Disliked: Being on a main street is can be noisy at night

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Warm and cosy, comfortable and friendly. Good location.

Disliked: No handtowels in the bathrooms you had to use toiletpaper to dry your hands or take your towel with you. It said there was fee breakfast but that was just a bagel and hot drinks. They make uo for this with friendly helpful staff.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jaeho (a.k.a. Jenny) Kim

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 December 2014 Jaeho (a.k.a. Jenny) would recommend this property

Liked: cozy & friendly atmosphere!! great location, too!

Disliked: the only bad thing is the washrooms are not enough. :(

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

01 December 2014

Liked: Great location and good layout meant that it was generally quiet and never had to queue for shower / WC

Disliked: Hostelbookers quoted a price for my stay but this was not honoured by the hostel - cost me 30% more than I was quoted on hostelbookers - a not insignificant sum!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ahmed Yahia KHiari

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Family Holiday

15 October 2014 Ahmed Yahia would recommend this property

Liked: It's location was very suitable for my interests.

Disliked: Too much drinking, and pretty much most hostel activities involve alcohol some way or another.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

francesco stufano

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 October 2014 francesco would recommend this property

Liked: staff, location, atmosphere, people

Disliked: francesco left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Dirk van Erve

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

07 October 2014 Dirk would recommend this property

Liked: It's a complete and nice place to come home to after a day of acting like a tourist.

Disliked: We could hear the neighbouring rooms too well.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

16 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: price

Disliked: noisy doors

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

alison green

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 September 2014 alison would recommend this property

Liked: everything. intantly felt at home and welcome.location is awsome and an easy walk from bus terminal

Disliked: alison left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

10 September 2014

Liked: free wifi

Disliked: -

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, really friendly staff - who not only gave recommendations of where to find food/wander around when I arrived, but also let me use the kitchen and showers after I had checked out, but before a long overnight bus journey :)

Disliked: The directions on their webpage about how to find them didn't seem to help a lot!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and very friendly staff.

Disliked: The room was warm.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The communal areas were really homely , the breakfast was good and the staff were super friendly!

Disliked: A few more showers would make this hostel even better.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yuqing Lin

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 August 2014 Yuqing would recommend this property

Liked: People there are very friendly and helpful. The location is convinient.

Disliked: None.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very nice, I met great people and the hostel is very well located.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gareth Richards

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2014 Gareth would recommend this property

Liked: Central location, helpful staff, affordable.

Disliked: Gareth left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Darren Flanagan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 July 2014 Darren would recommend this property

Liked: The bed was comfortable, staff extremely helpful and common areas welcoming. The pancake breakfast was also excellent.

Disliked: During my stay it was extremely hot which mean the downstairs kitchen/ washing area was also very hot. Having foods stored outside of the fridge resulted in them being spoiled. So some form of temperature management would have been beneficial.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

TRANG Julie

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 July 2014

Liked: Well located, 20 min by walk from Toronto coach terminal, 10 min by walk from the nearest subway (Osgood) Staff is very friendly and helpful Kitchen is well equipped and clean

Disliked: Internet connection is bad Beds are not clean, my eyes were red every morning and I slept very bad during my trip because of the dirtiness Only 3 showers and 3 toilets, which are a bit far from the rooms

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laura Norman

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 July 2014 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: I absolutely loved my stay here! The atmosphere was so relaxed and friendly, with the great communal areas both inside and out, I've made some very good friends from only 5 nights! Breakfast was great, and being in such a good location, it made my trip even easier. Activities we're put on every night, but amazingly friendly staff, overall the perfect stay for me and I would highly recommend!

Disliked: Laura left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I know you have to be lucky for that, but when i was there people were exactly as open and friendly as I hoped they'd be. Washing will cost you about 4 Dollars with soap and dryer. The all-youcan-eat pancakes are amazing. Free computer use. Let youself put on the waitinglist, if you did not get a bed for all of the nights you needed.

Disliked: The Bagel breakfast on weekends is very poor... One bagel with butter and 1 tiny pack of marmelade or 2 packs without butter.. The coffee comes from a machine which often doesn't work at all and is really bad. The toilets could be cleaned more often, since in an 8-bed room, apperently it gets dirty fastly.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Mikael Olezeski

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 June 2014 Mikael would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: No AC

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

06 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...


See all Toronto hostels