We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Toronto hostels

Reviews of Canadiana Backpackers Inn

Hostel | 42 Widmer Street, Toronto, Ontario, Canada ON M5V 2E9

88.2% Overall Rating

681 out of 727 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/06/2015)

"Really friendly and helpful staff. Good facilities and common area. Central location."

Read all Canadiana Backpackers Inn reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Tax rate is 13% , payable upon arrival will be added to your booking. We accept cash, visa or mastercard. Government issued photo ID is required to check-in and guests must be from outside the GTA (Greater Toronto Area).

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Toronto?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Toronto

The Clarence Park
19.16 USD

Hostel 89.1% 64 reviews
Chinatown Travelers Home
15.33 USD

Hostel 59.1% 313 reviews
University Apartment
22.22 USD

Hostel 48.7% 135 reviews
Toronto Travellers Home
26.82 USD

Hostel 49.8% 496 reviews
Grange Hotel
37.93 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 74.7% 43 reviews
Alexandra Hotel
38.31 USD

Hotel 1 star Not yet rated
Planet Traveler
23.75 USD

Hostel 95.3% 225 reviews
kaisar Guest House
42.15 USD

Guesthouse 78.4% 28 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.2%

Overall Rating

681 out of 727 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Canadiana Backpackers Inn'

Atmosphere
86.4%
Location
99.2%
Facilities
78.4%
Cleanliness
84.0%
Staff
92.8%
Value
87.2%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 502 of 574 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 20 | 21   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly and helpful staff. Good facilities and common area. Central location.

Disliked: A bit noisy with slamming doors and nearby building works.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Visiting friends or family

22 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The secret balcony attached to a room 5611 was a most pleasant surprise! Loved the day long free tea and limited hours of free coffee, quite the bonus.

Disliked: Unfortunately this room adjoined the bathroom so there was some bathroom traffic noise, minor really, in the big picture

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location in the very center of Toronto !!! Free tea and coffee all the day Good possibility of luggage storage.

Disliked: Breakfast could be better.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing location downtown ! Only a few minutes away from the CN Tower, Rogers Center, Chinatown, cinema and many restaurants. The hostel is clean : i've seen a lot of housekeepers cleaning the common areas and the bathrooms multiple times a day. There are a lot or activities, making it easier to meet people. Plus, the hostel is well organised (they have food baskets and lockers for everyone)

Disliked: The Wifi connexion was very good in the reception bulding, but it wasn't good in my room (#48 building). I found it very difficult to sleep sometimes, because some people were too noisy and were yelling even when it was over midnight. There was only one washing machine that I could use during my stay. I had to wait over 1 hour in front of the machine to wash my clothes and reserve my spot, which isn't great. Great staff, great people and great price.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent value for money!

Disliked: The property is a bit old an needs some renovation.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff , great atmosphere

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

21 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The people were great (staff and guests alike). All the amenities were just as described and the staff went out of their way to help me. Definitely would stay there again!

Disliked: ...

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

26 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly Staff. Location is very central. Had lockers in each room and even on the floor, which was nice. My flight got cancelled and I went back to the hostel and could even stay in the same room for one more night.

Disliked: Bathrooms could have been cleaner and it din't have a lot of them

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

03 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I LOVED the community aspect. My bf and I stayed in a private room but then spent our meals in the communal area and made so many friends. We loved the themed nights and went on the bar crawl and made so many friends. I love how clean and organized this place is. Parking is great too!

Disliked: That it may be closing! The shower water was a tad cold.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elizabeth Gleisner

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 February 2015 Elizabeth would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, easy to find. this was my first experience of the back packers lifestyle and I felt that the staff where friendly and always ready to help. Great breakfast and the daily activities where great and free or low cost. Rooms clean and the common room big

Disliked: Being on a main street is can be noisy at night

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Warm and cosy, comfortable and friendly. Good location.

Disliked: No handtowels in the bathrooms you had to use toiletpaper to dry your hands or take your towel with you. It said there was fee breakfast but that was just a bagel and hot drinks. They make uo for this with friendly helpful staff.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jaeho (a.k.a. Jenny) Kim

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 December 2014 Jaeho (a.k.a. Jenny) would recommend this property

Liked: cozy & friendly atmosphere!! great location, too!

Disliked: the only bad thing is the washrooms are not enough. :(

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

01 December 2014

Liked: Great location and good layout meant that it was generally quiet and never had to queue for shower / WC

Disliked: Hostelbookers quoted a price for my stay but this was not honoured by the hostel - cost me 30% more than I was quoted on hostelbookers - a not insignificant sum!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ahmed Yahia KHiari

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Family Holiday

15 October 2014 Ahmed Yahia would recommend this property

Liked: It's location was very suitable for my interests.

Disliked: Too much drinking, and pretty much most hostel activities involve alcohol some way or another.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

francesco stufano

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 October 2014 francesco would recommend this property

Liked: staff, location, atmosphere, people

Disliked: francesco left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Dirk van Erve

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

07 October 2014 Dirk would recommend this property

Liked: It's a complete and nice place to come home to after a day of acting like a tourist.

Disliked: We could hear the neighbouring rooms too well.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

16 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: price

Disliked: noisy doors

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

alison green

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 September 2014 alison would recommend this property

Liked: everything. intantly felt at home and welcome.location is awsome and an easy walk from bus terminal

Disliked: alison left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

10 September 2014

Liked: free wifi

Disliked: -

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, really friendly staff - who not only gave recommendations of where to find food/wander around when I arrived, but also let me use the kitchen and showers after I had checked out, but before a long overnight bus journey :)

Disliked: The directions on their webpage about how to find them didn't seem to help a lot!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and very friendly staff.

Disliked: The room was warm.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The communal areas were really homely , the breakfast was good and the staff were super friendly!

Disliked: A few more showers would make this hostel even better.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yuqing Lin

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 August 2014 Yuqing would recommend this property

Liked: People there are very friendly and helpful. The location is convinient.

Disliked: None.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very nice, I met great people and the hostel is very well located.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gareth Richards

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2014 Gareth would recommend this property

Liked: Central location, helpful staff, affordable.

Disliked: Gareth left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...


See all Toronto hostels