HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Toronto hostels

Reviews of Canadiana Backpackers Inn

Hostel | 42 Widmer Street, Toronto, Ontario, Canada ON M5V 2E9

88.1% Overall Rating

665 out of 711 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/10/2014)

Dirk van Erve thinks…

"It's a complete and nice place to come home to after a day of acting like a tourist."

Read all Canadiana Backpackers Inn reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Tax rate is 13% , payable upon arrival will be added to your booking. We accept cash, visa or mastercard. Government issued photo ID is required to check-in and guests must be from outside the GTA (Greater Toronto Area).

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Toronto?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Toronto

The Clarence Park
22.38 USD

Hostel 89.1% 63 reviews
Chinatown Travelers Home
31.33 USD

Hostel 59.0% 308 reviews
University Apartment
26.85 USD

Hostel 48.0% 133 reviews
Toronto Travellers Home
34.01 USD

Hostel 49.6% 493 reviews
Grange Hotel
39.83 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 74.7% 43 reviews
Alexandra Hotel
42.96 USD

Hotel 1 star Not yet rated
Planet Traveler
27.75 USD

Hostel 93.3% 199 reviews
kaisar Guest House
49.23 USD

Guesthouse 78.6% 27 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.1%

Overall Rating

665 out of 711 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Canadiana Backpackers Inn'

Atmosphere
87.2%
Location
98.4%
Facilities
79.2%
Cleanliness
80.0%
Staff
91.2%
Value
88.8%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 490 of 558 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 19 | 20   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ahmed Yahia KHiari

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Family Holiday

15 October 2014 Ahmed Yahia would recommend this property

Liked: It's location was very suitable for my interests.

Disliked: Too much drinking, and pretty much most hostel activities involve alcohol some way or another.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

City break

14 October 2014

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: This is the worst hostel I've ever seen. The rooms were so untidy and stank of sweat. Bathrooms looked like they hadn't been cleaned for days possibly even weeks. I refused to stay and found somewhere better and much cleaner to stay

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

francesco stufano

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 October 2014 francesco would recommend this property

Liked: staff, location, atmosphere, people

Disliked: francesco left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Dirk van Erve

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

07 October 2014 Dirk would recommend this property

Liked: It's a complete and nice place to come home to after a day of acting like a tourist.

Disliked: We could hear the neighbouring rooms too well.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

16 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: price

Disliked: noisy doors

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

alison green

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 September 2014 alison would recommend this property

Liked: everything. intantly felt at home and welcome.location is awsome and an easy walk from bus terminal

Disliked: alison left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

10 September 2014

Liked: free wifi

Disliked: -

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, really friendly staff - who not only gave recommendations of where to find food/wander around when I arrived, but also let me use the kitchen and showers after I had checked out, but before a long overnight bus journey :)

Disliked: The directions on their webpage about how to find them didn't seem to help a lot!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and very friendly staff.

Disliked: The room was warm.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The communal areas were really homely , the breakfast was good and the staff were super friendly!

Disliked: A few more showers would make this hostel even better.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yuqing Lin

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 August 2014 Yuqing would recommend this property

Liked: People there are very friendly and helpful. The location is convinient.

Disliked: None.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very nice, I met great people and the hostel is very well located.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gareth Richards

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2014 Gareth would recommend this property

Liked: Central location, helpful staff, affordable.

Disliked: Gareth left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Darren Flanagan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 July 2014 Darren would recommend this property

Liked: The bed was comfortable, staff extremely helpful and common areas welcoming. The pancake breakfast was also excellent.

Disliked: During my stay it was extremely hot which mean the downstairs kitchen/ washing area was also very hot. Having foods stored outside of the fridge resulted in them being spoiled. So some form of temperature management would have been beneficial.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

TRANG Julie

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 July 2014

Liked: Well located, 20 min by walk from Toronto coach terminal, 10 min by walk from the nearest subway (Osgood) Staff is very friendly and helpful Kitchen is well equipped and clean

Disliked: Internet connection is bad Beds are not clean, my eyes were red every morning and I slept very bad during my trip because of the dirtiness Only 3 showers and 3 toilets, which are a bit far from the rooms

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laura Norman

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 July 2014 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: I absolutely loved my stay here! The atmosphere was so relaxed and friendly, with the great communal areas both inside and out, I've made some very good friends from only 5 nights! Breakfast was great, and being in such a good location, it made my trip even easier. Activities we're put on every night, but amazingly friendly staff, overall the perfect stay for me and I would highly recommend!

Disliked: Laura left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I know you have to be lucky for that, but when i was there people were exactly as open and friendly as I hoped they'd be. Washing will cost you about 4 Dollars with soap and dryer. The all-youcan-eat pancakes are amazing. Free computer use. Let youself put on the waitinglist, if you did not get a bed for all of the nights you needed.

Disliked: The Bagel breakfast on weekends is very poor... One bagel with butter and 1 tiny pack of marmelade or 2 packs without butter.. The coffee comes from a machine which often doesn't work at all and is really bad. The toilets could be cleaned more often, since in an 8-bed room, apperently it gets dirty fastly.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Mikael Olezeski

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 June 2014 Mikael would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: No AC

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

06 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

30 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central location, close to culture and restaurants. Great rooms and friendly staff. Large storage lockers.

Disliked: Bathroom floors with showers are constantly wet.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

05 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice atmosphere; big lounge for haging out during the day; lots of hostel activities; awesome location in the city centre

Disliked: the heating in the rooms was weirdly regulated (at night our room turned into a sauna); there are no separate lights for dorm beds (just one light for the whole room) which means its impossible for some to sleep and others to still read or do stuff

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Borja Igual

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 March 2014 Borja would recommend this property

Liked: Great environment at the hostel. The staff are friendly and helpful, and the activities they organized every night are perfect in order to meet people. The hostel is clean and in a good location.

Disliked: If I would say something, it should be that it could be more showers. In the morning there could be a queue to take a shower!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Danny Gutierrez

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 March 2014 Danny would recommend this property

Liked: The liveliness

Disliked: Some construction going on in the vicinity, but not a big deal.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hannah Bird

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 February 2014 Hannah would recommend this property

Liked: The people there are very friendly, with quite a numbrr of long term lodgers. It is well within walking distance from food, entertainment and the downtown attractions. Very nice social space and free tea is exactly what you need after a cold tour of the city.

Disliked: Not many easily accessible power points in my room, but made up for with plenty in common room and everywhere else.


See all Toronto hostels