HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Canadiana Backpackers Inn Toronto

Hostel

42 Widmer St., Toronto, Toronto, Canada

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 81%

Facilities 82%

Location 93%

Safety 87%

Staff 92%

Value 80%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Pool Table
  • Reading Light
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine

Important Information

Tax rate is 13% , payable upon arrival will be added to your booking. We accept cash, visa or mastercard. Government issued photo ID is required to check-in and guests must be from outside the GTA (Greater Toronto Area).

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Toronto?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 81%

Facilities 82%

Location 93%

Safety 87%

Staff 92%

Value 80%

Showing 1-10 of 98 reviews

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:

Liked: The atmosphere of the property, its location and kindness of the staff.

Disliked: A little too expansive for what it is : very small room and separate bathroom.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great atmosphere, friendly staff, nice (cheap) events, free coffee in the morning, free tea all day, very nice communal area.

Disliked: Pancakes for breakfast is fun - but a healthier alternative would have been greatly appreciated by many. Just some cereals or something.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Romantic getaway

Liked: Great location, fantastic staff, large showers.

Disliked: The breakfast (included) consists of relatively stale bagels, but the coffee is good!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Shopping, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Really great location (right in the centre of Toronto), great atmosphere, friendly and helpful staff, great facilities. I stayed here twice (at the beginning and end of my trip) and both experiences were brilliant.

Disliked: Nothing about the property was bad, but I wouldn't recommend anyone go on the Niagara trip booked through the hostel. For a day trip to the falls for $60, we only had two hours actually at the falls and the tour company spent 5hours taking us to wineries and pointless roadside "attractions". It was a disappointing and frustrating day and I definitely felt rushed at the falls. You can get to Niagara with megabus for two thirds of the price and with no ridiculous roadside attractions!

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: The hostel is really central and the staff is very helpful. They organize a lot of events to bring people together. There's also a kitchen and washer/dryer to wash your clothes.

Disliked: The breakfast is a joke. Pancakes every day and they're honestly not even good. Joined the "feast" once and after that day we went brunching instead. Seriously, for what we pay, you could at least offer some cereals or bagles. Fruit would be nice too, also suits the pancakes.And although our room appeared to be clean, we had hairs in the drawer which was a bit gross. So we actually didn't use them and put our things on top of the shelf instead. A bit inconvenient though.Appart from that, the hostel is very good and I would stay again since the location is awesome and all in all it's a good hostel.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: yummy pancakes for breakfast

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: staff, room, bed, simple bagel breakfast, wifi, bathroom

Disliked: wine and cheese was not available at 9pm and it was too loud outside so I went to bed, the pancakes were not available at the weekend

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It was conviently located.

Disliked: The room was incredibly hot. And I paid for a female room but was placed in a mixed room.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: From the moment I arrived, jet-lagged, I had any fears removed when dealing with the fabulously intuitive desk staff. The Canadiana has well drilled practices in place: Clean and daily provision of towels, comfortable, air-con'd rooms, interesting evening and daily events/tours & represent the Canadian ethos well - most people I've encountered seem to respect the polite, friendly atmosphere created by the hostel.

Disliked: I can only say that this was case specific to one guy who enjoyed his beers too much, spilling some in my room and the smell was there temporarily. However, to turn this into a positive, the staff had this cleaned up in no time! Reassuringly quick!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for the fantastic feedback! We’re glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: location

Disliked: stuff isn't really kind

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability