HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Canadiana Backpackers Inn Toronto

Hostel

42 Widmer St., Toronto, Toronto, Canada

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 81%

Facilities 82%

Location 93%

Safety 87%

Staff 92%

Value 80%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Pool Table
  • Reading Light
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine

Important Information

Tax rate is 13% , payable upon arrival will be added to your booking. We accept cash, visa or mastercard. Government issued photo ID is required to check-in and guests must be from outside the GTA (Greater Toronto Area).

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Toronto?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 81%

Facilities 82%

Location 93%

Safety 87%

Staff 92%

Value 80%

Showing 81-90 of 97 reviews

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: Low price, excellent location near Rogers Centre and waterfront, great staff, multiple resources available (laundry, breakfast, lockers, etc.)

Disliked: My only suggestion (not complaint) would be that there were not a lot of on-site entertainment options, such as karaoke, game nights, etc. It would also be nice for them to work out some kind of discount deal with a local bar or two.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for the review! We are glad you had an enjoyable stay! We do have events going on every night of the week! There is an events board by reception which tells you what is going on each day. Every night we have activities such as Free BBQ, Karaoke, Quiz Nights, Pub Crawls, Bowling, Pool Tournaments and Movie Nights.

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: nice roofpatio, very friendly staff - really helpful and cooperate. All in all, a nice hostel !

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for taking the time to review us! Glad you enjoyed your time here and we hope to see you again soon!

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 May 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: location/ price/ friendliness of the staff

Disliked: too much crowd =) but it is logical, as they are popular =)

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for the great review! Be sure to visit us again soon!

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I liked the atmosphere and friendly staff

Disliked: It is very big.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your review! We are very proud of our amazing staff. Together with our guests we create an atmosphere that feels like home!

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: i liked the free breakfast, sometimes free burgers for dinner, and the louge was really cool for chillin out. the staff was nice too. the bathroom was well kept and clean

Disliked: i was assigned to a 4-bed dorm which was really cramped up. the 6-bed dorm was more spacious. the staircase was a little bit narrow, but i gues still fine..

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for the feedback but our hostel is in a Victorian building, where the rooms are larger than today's so I am surprised that you found the 4 bed dorm small.

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 May 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: atmosphere, friendliness. facilities

Disliked: The keys don't work very well

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for the review. We are known for our great staff and friendly atmosphere! Hope to see you again soon! P.s we are checking the keys and lubricating the locks where required

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Friendly staff

Disliked: Tepid water, not enough showers/bathrooms, not that clean.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Good location!

Disliked: Nothing bad... but nothing so exceptional...

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for the review! Glad you were happy with our location! Come back again soon :)

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Extremely friendly and helpful staff. Incredibly good atmosphere set by long-term, short-term backpackers and the staff. One big happy family, eh?

Disliked: Too many people around all day every day. Anyone can walk in off the street. and your food is not secure in the kitchen area.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for the amazing review! Our goal is to provide travelers with a comfortable atmosphere where they can meet new people. With security we have locks in all the rooms, a locker room, security cameras, and our front door is locked after 11pm. We have also just installed security cameras in our kitchen facilities to provide more security for your food!

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Everything was good, value for money, good location and very comfy

Disliked: Free pancakes, coffee tea, hot chocolate, coffee.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability